BMW K 1200 GT Motorcycles Reviews (22)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW K 1200 GT Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW K 1200 GT Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-01-09 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many motorcycles, some tourers and other cruisers. I have never experienced a motorcycle so well balanced in handling, power, quality of fit and finish and ride ability under all conditions. This K1300GT has it all. At first, I was a little intimidated by the massive amounts of power this bike lays out, but got used to it in short order. When cruising on the freeway and going 80 mph. the engine hums at 5k rpm. but you never feel it because it is vibration free (or almost). It has such great balance on the engine and it pulls away from anything at highway speeds, making it a great "get out of the way" machine. Riding two up couldn't be easier with the ESA II suspension system that allows you to adjust your ride to any condition and number of passenger and/or bags. This bike purrs in mountain riding and handles the wickedest turns with ease.
- Mike A, Murrieta, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-05 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finally got my new K1200 GT. It is a used 2007 with less than 2900 miles and was significantly less than the original new' sale price. After riding motorcycles for over 30 years and currently riding a BMW R1100 RT for a State Police Department, I can give some experienced opinions about the K1200 GT. Best bike ever? Who can really make that claim? Best bike I've ever ridden? Without question, yes. Over the last 3 decades having owned and ridden more than 20 varied models from a long favorite 1974 Honda CB 750 Four I crossed the country on after college, through various sport bikes, FJs, Gold Wings, Harleys (both for work and play), this bike is the answer to what I wanted. Being close to 50 years old now and still a professional rider as a highway patrol, and survivor of a few unfortunate impacts with cars and roads, this bike has the attributes I wanted. Looks, which are of course subjective, speed which is undeniable, handling beyond what anyone short of a professional racer on a closed track could fully utilize and most importantly for me... long distance comfort while still feeling the essence of being on a high performance motorcycle. I cannot name flaws worth mentioning when talking about this bike. Perfect? For me, yes. It is remarkably stable at speeds reserved for closed courses (130+). It has precise rock steady handling, ideal wind protection and is adjustable as desired. It also has amenities like no other. I can't imagine who could ride this bike and then choose another to buy... except for the price, which like I said, I got at a significant discount. If you can afford it, buy it now... otherwise save up for it. If you don't you are settling for something short of it. Sometimes that's OK; I've had to do that for years and enjoyed most every bike I've had before. Now I'm spoiled, ruined for anything else. Ride safe, enjoy what you have, live within your means.
- Steve, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-15 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my 1997 K 1100 LT to buy this bike and I couldn't be happier. My dealer has always serviced my bikes and without a doubt these guys have always been top shelf. As far as the bike and performance, I feel like I died and went to heaven. It corners like a dream, it has more juice than I will ever need and the acceleration just makes me remember the old muscle cars I had when I was a teen. It is just darn fun to ride and it meets the inbetween requirement when I feel like riding a sport bike and when I want to have a passenger and tour a bit. I can't say enough good things about this bike
- Patrick J, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-05 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 40 years. I am not a hard core rider, but love to ride (about 5-8000 per year). There is no one bike that fulfills all things for all people, however of all bikes, the K-GT comes closer than any bike I have known. The handling, power, comfort, safety, looks, and reliability are all fantastic. It is just a plain pleasure to ride.
- Charlie Hall, Bellevue,, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-07 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In recent years I have owned or ridden extensively a CBR600, VFR 800, Monster 900, VStar 650, Magna 750, SV100S, ST1300A, Tiger 1050 and most recently purchased the K1200GT. I still own the Tiger 1050 and if I could only have one bike, the Tiger would win hands down. It is the best all around bike I have ever ridden and is reasonably priced. However, when I really want to put some miles on the added amenities and storage of a bike like the K1200GT are nice. Prior to the K1200GT I had the ST1300A and was quite happy with the ST with the exception of the heft of the bike and lack of cruise control. With a bike designed to really cover the miles, cruise control is great. Though it was possible to add aftermarket cruise to the ST, I decided to look at other options. The R1200RT and FJR1300 were appealing but overall package of the K1200GT ideal for me and worth the extra cost compared to the FJR. I was very hesitant to get rid of the ST that I was pretty happy with, but after getting the K12GT I was very glad I did. The ESA, heated grips & seat, cruise control, ideal power delivery and many of the other features of the K12GT get a lot of attention but for me one of my favorite features of the bike is the ability to adjust the handle bars. With any bike I get fatigued by staying in the same seating position for hours. The ability to change the handlebar height in the middle of a trip coupled with the cruise control make this bike just wonderful for eating up miles. I must admit I do like the Tiger a bit better for being an all around bike, but to cover a lot of miles over several days I'll take the K12GT and enjoy every minute of it! PS, some of the problems you read about with the new K bikes do exist on my bike and I would still buy it all over again.
- R Tuck, Rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-09 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
BMW finally replaced the K1100LT. Good riding position and plenty of power. Not a good seat and the windshield doesn't (but can be replaced). This is a very good bike. Even the wife likes it (we've ordered lower passenger pegs, as it's not made for adult passengers). Worth the money.
- John Lusby, Glen Ivy, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-07 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Warning, this bike is very addictive. I have never ridden a bike this comfortable that offers the performance which is nearing a full out sport bike. It does have a clunk when shifting from first to second gear as has been reported, but it is nothing that isn't quickly forgotten. The ESA is worth it's weight in gold if you ride with a passenger at times. The K1200GT will take you from the store down the street to the other side of the country as fast as you care to go and in total comfort.
- Kurt Granlund, Huntingdon, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-13 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a new owner of the BMW K1200GT. Truly an expression of sleek design and proven quality to be expected from the manufacturer. A proud 20 year owner of its ancestor- the K100RT, this proud offspring has opened my eyes to what a generation of R&D can provide. It is a big bike, with incredible throttle response, yet refined in touring capabilities. With optional cruise control, ESA and an onboard computer, eating daily commuting miles can be achieved at 49 mpg, and even more. Storage capability is at an acceptable minimum, with included sidebags and one small fairing pocket at the front right side. Optional rear bags and tank bag will enhance longer trips and should be considered.
- 2006 GT Owner, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-11 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After trouble with my Pan European involving nasty, costly maintenance, not to mention several recalls, it was time to shop, and shop I did. Enter the BMW K1200 GT. Fresh for '06, this beauty instantly impresses with superior engineering. Climbing aboard reveals great ergonomics. Tapping the starter and tweaking in settings on the computer, suspension, and seat position and we're off. Instantly, the slow speed maneuvering stability and precision are wonderful. Ride is never unsettled, even in tight turns. Gears and engine power combo are buttery smooth. Very little driveline lash too. Wonderful for shaft drive. Speed comes quickly and effortlessly. Cruising at any speed is more than smooth and controlled, it's luxurious. Setting the suspension to comfort means floating over freeway joints with little disturbance. Set it to sport and you're ready to play on the twisties and this bike is serious about playing. The K bike can do it all with no excuses or apologies. If there was any harshness in previous versions it's all gone with the new design. It's as though they took a 5 series car, upped the power to weight ratio and put it all on two wheels in a precise, buttoned down package. And, in BMW tradition, the engine hums a lovely purr but never sounds rough, just creamy smooth. You may plunk down a few extra green stamps but you truly get what you pay for. Life's too short to ride junk. Oh, and the cruise control is a great addition as it lightens the work load. If you want to roll on power, you can do it from just about any gear with no strain or lack. Acceleration is seemingly linear. Starting off with cold engine is every bit as smooth. Not the jerkiness of rice burners. Build quality is flawless. Only nit, and it's a small one, is the heavier than it is feel. Not really a problem but a lower CG would be nice. Still the bike is not tippy and any fear of dropping it is belayed quickly when you get familiar with its manners. It takes just a minute to warm up to the K12. You feel at home immediately, something the rider finds pleasantly surprising and it only gets better. At first ride, I didn't want to give it back. Oh, and they actually let you test ride once you get checked out. The Asian bike dealers make you buy before you ride. If you don't like it, too bad. BMW dealers are user friendly too. Never play games, always on the level. Thanks. I'm here to stay.
- J. Curtis, Baywood Park, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-20 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just returned from a cold afternoon on this great motorcycle that I just purchased. I thought I had the best with my 8 year old K1100LT but BMW engineered a far better bike...they got me! It is the most amazing ride I have ever had with awesome power, a nimble suspension & many creature comforts. One minor improvement...I will order the taller windshield & will now need to install a radar detector.
- Gary Everett, Bend, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-20 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
TOURER, SPORTS BIKE, ONE UP TWO UP, THIS BIKE IS EVERYTHING AND ANYTHING YOU WANT IT TO BE. BOUGHT A PAN EUROPEAN 1300ST, THEN WENT TO MUNICH, HIRED A GT, WENT THROUGH THE ALPS PARTS OF AUSTRIA, SWITZERLAND AND ITALY CAME BACK AND BOUGHT ONE. I AM TOTALLY SOLD AND WOW I AM SO HAPPY. THE POWER AND TORQUE IS AMAZING AND IT'S FULLY LOADED. IT IS REALLY GREAT FOR THE UK WEATHER. IT HAS AN ADJUSTABLE SCREEN, XEON LIGHTS, HEATED SEATS GRIPS, AND A BRILLIANT ON BOARD COMPUTER SYSTEM. IT FEELS SAFE AND PRECISE WITH EXCELLENT HANDLING AND BRAKES.
- ANDREW JEFFREYS, CHEPSTOW, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-14 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so sweet. Tons O' Power and just as smooth as silk. I went from an LT (because my wife never rode with me) to an RT because it was so nice and had a radio. Unfortunately, I got it a year too early without cruise control. Carpal tunnel in both hands plus a shattered elbow injury from dirt biking = loss of feeling in hands after riding 30 minutes. The new GT has cruise control, but even without it, I've had no loss of feeling in my hands with the exception of the 26 degree cold weather riding it in to work. The windshield was replaced though due to the fact that it just wasn't high enough. Cee Bailey's four inch higher and two inch wider is perfect. I will also replace the whimpy horn with an RT or LT model one whichever one will work and make me sound like a Mac truck again. (People don't hesitate at all to correct their course when they hear one of those) :) I'm a BMW fan and have been since the first day I rode one.
- Johnny James, Coats (WooHoo), North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-22 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started off thinking that I would keep my 2004 R1150RT for when the wife wanted to go, and purchase a K1200S just for me. But, then I test rode the K1200GT. I love everything about it! It's faster, more comfortable, handles better, and the wife loves the heated seats. This is the life.
- Robert Overby, Greenville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-18 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought this bike, I have purchased one a 2005 R1200 RT previously. The RT was comfortable and quick but this machine takes it to another level. Standard equipment includes: heated seats, heated hand grips, adjustable windshield, power outlet and some serious horsepower. It took a little getting adjusted to the difference in power, but it is just as comfortable as the RT. The handlebars are adjustable too.
- R. Regent, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-13 2004 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my Orient Blue '04 K1200GT in November of last year and I must say that this is the best of the K12's so far. Having had two previous K12RS's ('99 and '02), this latest version of the K12RS has all the same great features of the RS and then some, making it a fantastic value as well. Let's see, you have the smooth 130hp six speed, twin cam, 16 valve four cylinder of the K12RS so that's good plus now, the GT has a heated seat and grips, as well as cruise control and the electric windshield that is also wider & taller than the RS's. I do not like the Mickey Mouse mirrors on the GT (which were the same ones on the earlier RS's) so I suspect a lot of GT riders will be changing these for the RS's or the R1100S's which are fairing mounted. The GT also has as standard, the wider rear 5.5" wheel. So overall, it's a great bike.
- Cesar Blardony, Monroe , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-29 2004 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Coming back to biking after a couple of decades off, I wanted to get the bike of my dreams (mid-life crisis). Well I found that bike in the BMW K1200GT. Had the opportunity to test ride a R1150RT, but when I took the GT out, the issue was settled. The GT really seems to give one the best of both touring and sport options. You can add extras to make it very suitable for long touring as well as remove the side cases and you have a solo sport bike.
- C. Bruce Heilman, Reading, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-14 2004 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new K12GT in December 2004. I have wanted to own this bike for sometime, but had always steered away from it. I think it was because I was a little hesitant about all of the power it had. Previously, I had owned 2 earlier BMW's (K12LT and R1150RT). Both bikes were great, but not quite what I was looking for. The LT was too heavy and the RT lacked the smooth powerband that K bikes are known for. Before BMW's, I have owned several H-D's. I typically ride 15K-20K miles per year, so I'm looking forward to taking trips on this bike. Since my retirement in 1998, I have ridden over 120,000 miles on motorcycles. I haven't had the K12GT long enough to get thru the 600 mile break-in period, but I expect that will happen within the next few weeks, as I am planning on riding the bike to Daytona for Bike Week and then on down to Key West. I really like the bike as it is and have made very few changes. I added PIAA lights and my GPS. This is the first time I have not felt the need to change the seat. BMW motorcycle seats have not been comfortable to me until now. However the OEM seat on my K12GT is extremely comfortable (it's heated, too for the cold winter riding in NJ). The only accessory I have added for comfort are bar-backs as my arms are not very long. This increased the comfort by reducing my forward lean. When my hands do get tired, I use the cruise control for a few miles, and then back to a normal riding position. Most of all, I love the raw power this bike displays. It is awesome! I hope I don't get any speeding tickets, although I can see that it might be easy to do. The bike is extremely fast in the straight-aways, and with proper riding skills, appears to be very good in the curves. It is somewhat top-heavy at low speeds, but manageable. I'm also planning trips to Nova Scotia and Deals Gap for this year, so I know I'll get some real riding done on this bike. I'll plan to write another review next fall.
- J. Metz, Bridgewater, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-24 2003 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my K1200GT on Oct 1, 2004 and I've been having a great time. The bike is smooth, powerful, refined, and extremely comfortable on 350 mile trips. The heated grips and seat, cruise control and adjustable windshield are fantastic! I just returned from a trip to NJ, and several 3 series BMWs kept coming close to get a better look. I was cruising between 80-90MPH in temperatures around 45 degrees with heavy cross winds - the bike was unperturbed, and solid. It takes those winding roads flawlsessly, and inspires confidence in every situation. I plan to own this bike for years to come!
- Sifu Kai, Severn, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-05 2004 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one of the most exciting motorcycles, period. I have had Honda's most of my life, the last one was an '82 Sabre 750. This bike, I thought was fast but finally made a move to the BMW K1200GT. It is totally awesome!! The responsive handling from start to end - well you just have to take the test ride for yourself. The salesman was a little hesitant saying it's like the K1200RS but, not to me. When I brought it back - I told him it's mine and not going back in the show room. Not used to the ABS braking system that virtually stops you on a dime, I asked my sales rep if he could disconnect the front brake. Just kidding of course. You notice that the bike has a slight hesitation on 87 octane so I would suggest the next higher rating on gas. You can exit the highway at 60 mph leaning hard on those 25 mph exit ramps. I always hope that there is someone in front of me to help me keep my speed down - don't want any speeding tickets which you can get real easy!! BUT - if you need to get around someone quick, it's almost effortless with the slight twist of the handle. As far as comfort goes, you're not crouched over but it takes, at least for me, some time getting use to. The power windshield comes up just enough to keep the wind and bugs off your helmet. The only NEGATIVE thing I can say is watch out for those left turns. If your foot is on the bottom of the shifter and you like to lean, your foot may hit the road like mine did and scare the you know what out of you!! Other then that, I would highly recommend the K1200GT to any motorcycle enthusiast!! Definitely not for beginners!!
- David Graham, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-15 2003 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in Jan 2003 and have put over 5000 miles on it. I have owned Hondas, Ducs, Triumphs, Nortons and Harleys. Nothing compares to the comprehensive engineering that went into this bike - motor, brakes, steering, chassis, suspension, drivetrain - all of it. Ok, maybe the Duc was close. It is by far the smoothest and most powerful machine I have ridden and the power is there across the entire rev range. Yes, the weight is high when compared to other street bikes in this class, but it has 130HP and 85ftlb of torque - suddenly the weight is a non-issue. You can shed 20-30lbs by installing a new exhaust system and if you use a certain manufacturer you can maintain your warranty. This bike steers and tracks with the best of them. The heated grips and seat are a treat when the temp dips below 45*. The windshield provides a good aero pocket on trips for a 6 ft rider. My only minor complaints - the gas tank capacity could be larger for longer range trips to the hinterlands and the oil filter is enclosed in the sump housing - not the easiest oil change.
- Dan, Colts Neck, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-07 2003 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding cruisers and wanted a true sport touring bike that could go the long mile and take the twisties. So far this bike has been incredible. Power, torque,ride,handling,reliability. The only complaint was the short windshield (I'm 6'1") which I replaced with an aftermarket Parabellum which is about 4" taller. Next week is the test as I will go on a two week long 6000 mile trip to the Western U.S.
- Dan Grimmett, Madison, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-29 2003 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 1st BMW and have to say I'm very impressed with the engineering that went into this machine. I primarily ride high performance Harley's and enjoy torque & speed associated with them but now find the noise & vibrations a kind of annoyance. Other than the change in the riding position I'm accustomed to, (I still prefer to sit back further with less weight of my wrists) this is the finest bike I have riden to date. Riding twisites and back country roads is a blast. Speed is is quick and comes on smooth and the bike can really stop on a dime, the ABS is sensational... Each Satuday I ride about 200 miles or so in a day with friends and in comparison with any of the other 3 Harley's I own, I am far less beat up at the end of the day on my KGT1200.
- Chuck Schoenberg, Arlington Hts, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: