Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW K 1200 GT reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

23 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Andre Strydom

Yukon

Reviewed on 2020-10-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW K 1200 GT

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
I'm 6'1", 54yrs having owned ZZR1100, Blackbird, GSXr1100, VFR800, FJ1200 to mention but a few. I bought this BMW with 23kkm on the odo. I've managed to find very good you tube directions to do complete service on her. May I add that I'm not a mechanically minded rider but servicing this bike is a labour of love, quite therapeutic might I add. ito riding...She is heavy regardless! I do not believe this bike commutes well but she is an open road intercontinental joy. I've found many scary stories on the net about the ABS II and yes, I believe that its costly to repair. BMW however do warn that complying with regular servicing with circuit bleeding is a prerequisite. I have to say that this bike is one that you could virtually do most of the work on yourself...the only part that has a dark cloud hang over it is the seal in the clutch. I dread that day as its a major job. On idle, expect to hear that dry clutch sound like a 'thousand tambourines' but its apparently normal. Engine performance: Loads of usable torque makes for a very rewarding ride. Perfectly ratio'd gearing simply makes for great touring. She's not going to scare you performance-wise but these days I'm beyond that. I'm not quite sure what the Bavarian designers were thinking though with the tanksize. Fuel range is below par.... I get about 15-17km/litre which should give me over 300kkm per fillup but the fuelgauge is not linear and things get a little scary as she drops toward 1/4 full. I've subsequently learnt that on a long tour you need to plan re-fuels well but this is a very poor and obvious weakness by designers. The price of spare parts is reasonable but the actual cost of BMW agent servicing is simply shocking...learn to look after as much as possible yourself, its completely do-able and you'll have years of a high quality machine serve you well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike A

Murrieta, California

Reviewed on 2011-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW K 1200 GT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned many motorcycles, some tourers and other cruisers. I have never experienced a motorcycle so well balanced in handling, power, quality of fit and finish and ride ability under all conditions. This K1300GT has it all. At first, I was a little intimidated by the massive amounts of power this bike lays out, but got used to it in short order. When cruising on the freeway and going 80 mph. the engine hums at 5k rpm. but you never feel it because it is vibration free (or almost). It has such great balance on the engine and it pulls away from anything at highway speeds, making it a great "get out of the way" machine. Riding two up couldn't be easier with the ESA II suspension system that allows you to adjust your ride to any condition and number of passenger and/or bags. This bike purrs in mountain riding and handles the wickedest turns with ease.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve

United States

Reviewed on 2009-04-05

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW K 1200 GT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I finally got my new K1200 GT. It is a used 2007 with less than 2900 miles and was significantly less than the original new' sale price. After riding motorcycles for over 30 years and currently riding a BMW R1100 RT for a State Police Department, I can give some experienced opinions about the K1200 GT. Best bike ever? Who can really make that claim? Best bike I've ever ridden? Without question, yes. Over the last 3 decades having owned and ridden more than 20 varied models from a long favorite 1974 Honda CB 750 Four I crossed the country on after college, through various sport bikes, FJs, Gold Wings, Harleys (both for work and play), this bike is the answer to what I wanted. Being close to 50 years old now and still a professional rider as a highway patrol, and survivor of a few unfortunate impacts with cars and roads, this bike has the attributes I wanted. Looks, which are of course subjective, speed which is undeniable, handling beyond what anyone short of a professional racer on a closed track could fully utilize and most importantly for me... long distance comfort while still feeling the essence of being on a high performance motorcycle. I cannot name flaws worth mentioning when talking about this bike. Perfect? For me, yes. It is remarkably stable at speeds reserved for closed courses (130+). It has precise rock steady handling, ideal wind protection and is adjustable as desired. It also has amenities like no other. I can't imagine who could ride this bike and then choose another to buy... except for the price, which like I said, I got at a significant discount. If you can afford it, buy it now... otherwise save up for it. If you don't you are settling for something short of it. Sometimes that's OK; I've had to do that for years and enjoyed most every bike I've had before. Now I'm spoiled, ruined for anything else. Ride safe, enjoy what you have, live within your means.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patrick J

San Jose, California

Reviewed on 2009-03-15

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW K 1200 GT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I sold my 1997 K 1100 LT to buy this bike and I couldn't be happier. My dealer has always serviced my bikes and without a doubt these guys have always been top shelf. As far as the bike and performance, I feel like I died and went to heaven. It corners like a dream, it has more juice than I will ever need and the acceleration just makes me remember the old muscle cars I had when I was a teen. It is just darn fun to ride and it meets the inbetween requirement when I feel like riding a sport bike and when I want to have a passenger and tour a bit. I can't say enough good things about this bike
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charlie Hall

Bellevue,, Washington

Reviewed on 2008-08-05

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW K 1200 GT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding for 40 years. I am not a hard core rider, but love to ride (about 5-8000 per year). There is no one bike that fulfills all things for all people, however of all bikes, the K-GT comes closer than any bike I have known. The handling, power, comfort, safety, looks, and reliability are all fantastic. It is just a plain pleasure to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

R Tuck

Rochester, New York

Reviewed on 2007-08-07

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW K 1200 GT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
In recent years I have owned or ridden extensively a CBR600, VFR 800, Monster 900, VStar 650, Magna 750, SV100S, ST1300A, Tiger 1050 and most recently purchased the K1200GT. I still own the Tiger 1050 and if I could only have one bike, the Tiger would win hands down. It is the best all around bike I have ever ridden and is reasonably priced. However, when I really want to put some miles on the added amenities and storage of a bike like the K1200GT are nice. Prior to the K1200GT I had the ST1300A and was quite happy with the ST with the exception of the heft of the bike and lack of cruise control. With a bike designed to really cover the miles, cruise control is great. Though it was possible to add aftermarket cruise to the ST, I decided to look at other options. The R1200RT and FJR1300 were appealing but overall package of the K1200GT ideal for me and worth the extra cost compared to the FJR. I was very hesitant to get rid of the ST that I was pretty happy with, but after getting the K12GT I was very glad I did. The ESA, heated grips & seat, cruise control, ideal power delivery and many of the other features of the K12GT get a lot of attention but for me one of my favorite features of the bike is the ability to adjust the handle bars. With any bike I get fatigued by staying in the same seating position for hours. The ability to change the handlebar height in the middle of a trip coupled with the cruise control make this bike just wonderful for eating up miles. I must admit I do like the Tiger a bit better for being an all around bike, but to cover a lot of miles over several days I'll take the K12GT and enjoy every minute of it! PS, some of the problems you read about with the new K bikes do exist on my bike and I would still buy it all over again.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Lusby

Glen Ivy, California

Reviewed on 2007-07-09

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW K 1200 GT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
BMW finally replaced the K1100LT. Good riding position and plenty of power. Not a good seat and the windshield doesn't (but can be replaced). This is a very good bike. Even the wife likes it (we've ordered lower passenger pegs, as it's not made for adult passengers). Worth the money.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kurt Granlund

Huntingdon, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW K 1200 GT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Warning, this bike is very addictive. I have never ridden a bike this comfortable that offers the performance which is nearing a full out sport bike. It does have a clunk when shifting from first to second gear as has been reported, but it is nothing that isn't quickly forgotten. The ESA is worth it's weight in gold if you ride with a passenger at times. The K1200GT will take you from the store down the street to the other side of the country as fast as you care to go and in total comfort.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

2006 GT Owner

Columbus, Ohio

Reviewed on 2007-06-13

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW K 1200 GT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am a new owner of the BMW K1200GT. Truly an expression of sleek design and proven quality to be expected from the manufacturer. A proud 20 year owner of its ancestor- the K100RT, this proud offspring has opened my eyes to what a generation of R&D can provide. It is a big bike, with incredible throttle response, yet refined in touring capabilities. With optional cruise control, ESA and an onboard computer, eating daily commuting miles can be achieved at 49 mpg, and even more. Storage capability is at an acceptable minimum, with included sidebags and one small fairing pocket at the front right side. Optional rear bags and tank bag will enhance longer trips and should be considered.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J. Curtis

Baywood Park, California

Reviewed on 2007-02-11

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW K 1200 GT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After trouble with my Pan European involving nasty, costly maintenance, not to mention several recalls, it was time to shop, and shop I did. Enter the BMW K1200 GT. Fresh for '06, this beauty instantly impresses with superior engineering. Climbing aboard reveals great ergonomics. Tapping the starter and tweaking in settings on the computer, suspension, and seat position and we're off. Instantly, the slow speed maneuvering stability and precision are wonderful. Ride is never unsettled, even in tight turns. Gears and engine power combo are buttery smooth. Very little driveline lash too. Wonderful for shaft drive. Speed comes quickly and effortlessly. Cruising at any speed is more than smooth and controlled, it's luxurious. Setting the suspension to comfort means floating over freeway joints with little disturbance. Set it to sport and you're ready to play on the twisties and this bike is serious about playing. The K bike can do it all with no excuses or apologies. If there was any harshness in previous versions it's all gone with the new design. It's as though they took a 5 series car, upped the power to weight ratio and put it all on two wheels in a precise, buttoned down package. And, in BMW tradition, the engine hums a lovely purr but never sounds rough, just creamy smooth. You may plunk down a few extra green stamps but you truly get what you pay for. Life's too short to ride junk. Oh, and the cruise control is a great addition as it lightens the work load. If you want to roll on power, you can do it from just about any gear with no strain or lack. Acceleration is seemingly linear. Starting off with cold engine is every bit as smooth. Not the jerkiness of rice burners. Build quality is flawless. Only nit, and it's a small one, is the heavier than it is feel. Not really a problem but a lower CG would be nice. Still the bike is not tippy and any fear of dropping it is belayed quickly when you get familiar with its manners. It takes just a minute to warm up to the K12. You feel at home immediately, something the rider finds pleasantly surprising and it only gets better. At first ride, I didn't want to give it back. Oh, and they actually let you test ride once you get checked out. The Asian bike dealers make you buy before you ride. If you don't like it, too bad. BMW dealers are user friendly too. Never play games, always on the level. Thanks. I'm here to stay.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 23 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: