BMW K 1200 LT-C Motorcycles Reviews (26)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW K 1200 LT-C Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW K 1200 LT-C Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-08-31 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 99 K1200LT used with 61k. I have had a great experience with the bike. Moving up from a 97 Honda Magna, I can't believe how smooth, comfortable and fast this big bike is. If you want to get into touring, this is a great ride. It corners with finesse and handles the superslab with ease. Watch those foot pegs, it will fly through the twisties at amazing lean angles. The frame is rigid and doesn't flex like other big bikes do. You can ride this big machine all day long. Love the adjustable windshield. My wife, not a big fan of riding, has turned the corner now that I have this machine and now travels with me frequently. Her high vantage point actually allows her to see the scenery. Wind buffering for the passenger can be strong unless you have the windshield set up high.... My ICON model offers all the comforts necessary for long trips, CD changer, intercom system, cruise, etc.... It just eats up the miles. I looked at used Gold Wings and during these model years, (99 to 01) the LT has it all over the GL1500's in regards to price and value. Only complaints, upfront storage is lacking, pickup a good small tank bag for items you need close by, (toll money, a water bottle, gloves, etc). This thing is heavy, not a beginners bike, low speed handling takes concentration, and dealerships are rare and maintenance is on the expensive side. I can highly recommend the K1200LT to anyone looking for a great long distance bike.
- Eric Brinley, Friendswood, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-04 2003 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 K1200LTC used with 1800 miles on it and have about 6800 on it now. This includes a trip from Austin to Arizona and back. This bike is so smooth and comfortable on a long trip and handled the winding highways in OK and AR with amazing dexterity, especially considering we were riding 2 up and loaded with clothing for a 5 day trip. Plenty of power and cross winds are no big deal. The bike does feel top heavy at speeds under 10 mph. Above that speed, the weight disappears and the bike becomes extraodinarily nimble, especially for a bike this size and weight. While the seating position is generally quite comfortable, I need to stretch my legs after about 100 miles in the saddle. Overall, a very well-built, well-engineered machine that delivers a wonderful riding experience.
- Ron S., Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-27 2002 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding Harleys and Hondas for thirty years, I bought this bike for dependability and comfort for both myself and the wife. I have been on two long trips, one to Sturgis and one to Colorado in the last two years. I cruised at 90 mph without breathing hard, and passing Harleys all the way. The bike is very smooth and dependable. The local sevice is excellent. The only complaints are the lack of someplace to put your feet other than straight down on long trips. Highway pegs would be nice.
- Jeff Berry, Vacaville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-13 2002 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2002 LTE with 20,000 miles on it and love it. It handles like a dream except at speeds under 5 MPH and has lots of power even with 2 up and bags loaded. It is also extremely quiet and smooth riding, even on rough roads. I also have come to love the braking system which has saved me a few times already. The downside is the weight and high center of gravity which comes with a rather high seat. I am 63 years old, 6 foot tall. Any shorter and it would be too tall for me.
- Merle Schneblin, Grass Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-21 2002 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have riden for over 25 years, all kinds of motorcycles. The last 15yrs have been on Harleys, from Lowriders to full dressers. I finally got tired of all the rude individuals that think just cause they are on a Harley they are hot...I left the "IN CROWD" and now own a 2002 K1200LTC. I love the bike very much. I have never ridden a better motor cycle. Its fast, handles great, and doesn't look like every other bike on the road. Everyone has Harleys now and I really stand out. In a good way.
- Gary Weaver, Orlando , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-03 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased one. The test bike was great, but my new bike the back end slips around under low acceleration. This has Metzler marathons that have always performed great on other bikes. The dealer claims there is nothing he can do. After years of wings this is very frustrating.
- Steven Schenck, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-08 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Highs: Power windshield, heated seats and grips, comfortable seating position, excellent milage when ridden conservatively, excellent9relatively) high speed handling. Lows: Idiotic turn signals, exceptionally poor gas tank filler cap, unacceptable oil check/refill arrangement (unbelievable poor concept of paper oil funnels and ergonomics), poor handlebar control ergonomics, mediocre stereo perfomance and output, skipping CD, takes too much room, inadequate storage up front, poor side stand, poor low speed control, questionable engineering when it comes to weight saving. Pricey. questionable dealers base and attitude. McBride in TO is fine. I keep the bike for long distance riding comfort, but have great doubt in long term value and sensibility of this piece of so claimed "german engineering" (?!) For an average rider- the Goldwing is a better ride.
- Steve, Windsor, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-06 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
looks like a slug, runs like a slugger. read a lot of reviews, they all say one thing; it is a wolf in sheeps clothing...a touring bike to run with the sport bikes. the only thing loud about it is the stereo, radio, tape, cd changer; and the best sound i ever heard in a vehicle sound system. the suspension is uncanny, there is no nose dive, hammer the front brake at speed in a curve, your car should handle so well. i didn't notice this till a harley rider pointed it out, it is easyer to clean, the clean lines translate to fewer surfaces to wipe. the only thing wrong with it, and you will find this objection time and time again in reviews by owners, it WILL get you in trouble with the wife/girlfriend..."you said you were only going to the store for a paper, you've been gone for five hours!" the features are to numerous to list...check this out, you can throw a tarp over it as soon as you get off, the exaust pipe is not hot. no burning your leg or your passangers leg on it. test ride other bikes, try this one..hah!
- tom luckenbill, womelsdorf, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-09 2002 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had many bikes over the years including several Harley's and lots of sport bikes. Each has it's own personality and comfort zone. For a number of reasons I am currently a single bike owner and the K1200LTE is a great all around choice. Just completed a 1,000 mile boys weekend tour of the Smokey Mountains with 3 sport bikes. Although I could not quite keep in up in the tight twisties, they were not far ahead. Even in this enviroment the bike has a great feeling due to such good braking, steering and overall feel. Making a big bike go fast in tight corners is very thrilling. Sometimes you feel like you are slow, but a quick glance at the speedo shows that you are moving much faster than it feels. On the more wide open sweepers this bike just loves to pick an agressive line and hold it. This combined with the comfort for the wife on the back and luggage space makes it a great weekender or long haul bike for two. You can easily cruise at 80-90 all day in total comfort. I have just under 7k miles and after a few small quirks with cruise and throttle cables in the beginning, the bike has been perfect. The sound system, headsets, communications and other ammenities make for a great overall motorcycle experiece. I would recomend it to anyone wanting a great two up luxury bike. Think 5 series BMW with no doors.
- Glen , Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-07 2002 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '99 LTC within six months of its initial release (June '99). I did have some issues with the bike (shorted starter relay, shredded throttle cable, broken exhaust manifold bolts) within the first 12 months of ownership but, even with these problems, it is still the best bike I have ever owned and it is still an absolute pleasure to ride every time I go for a ride. I currently have over 30,000 miles on my bike and it is still as tight and confidence inspiring as the day I brought it home. Yes, it is a bit top heavy (and just plain heavy), but that feeling quickly disappears the moment the bike starts moving. I have test ridden the new Gold Wing several times and while it is truly an impressive bike (killer engine and trans), I still prefer riding the K1200. It just feels right. It also happens to be a much more attractive machine than the Honda. I can't wait for the next K1200LT from BMW! Perhaps a K1500?? Who knows, but one thing is certain. It will raise the level of luxury bikes to new time high!
- beemerhead, Whippany, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-26 2002 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i had ridden harleys for 28yrs. i bought this bike in april o2 its now sept. 02. i have over 13k miles on now. i have had no problems what so ever. this has been the most enjoyment i have had ridding, i can't stay off this bike. it handles great and it runs great, crusing at 90 on the interstate, or traveling on curvey roads. the metzler tires are still in good shape. i would recommend this bike to anyone. the best out there period...
- eddie layton, georgetown, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-07 2002 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought this bike 2 months ago and love it. I've got 4500 miles on it and have not had anything go wrong. The bike is top heavy, and not the sharpest handling machine at parking lot speeds,but once you get going you forget all about it. I haven't had any problems getting it in first,but on cold mornings the shift from 1-2 can be tough, have to exp. with that this winter. I'm 5'9" and the lowered seat is a must. I would recomend this bike to any exp. rider.
- sscaggs, clarksville,, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-07 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was sure that this was the bike for me after years of Harley troubles and with BMW's excellent reputation. My new 2000 K1200LTC was the purfect bike for the first 4,000 miles, then the vibrating started. I was 500 miles from home when the bike started vibrating so bad that I could not feel my hands or my feet; very dangerous situation on a motorcycle. I got no help from the dealership and ended up selling the bike at a $5,000 loss just to get rid of it. My only other complaint is no room for highway pegs, you can only sit for so long with your knees bent so severely. I now ride a new 2001 Electra Glide and will never betray Harley again. Thanks BMW for the rude awakening, Harley is still the best!!
- C-B, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-20 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Good: high speed handling, elctric windshield, heated grips, cruise control, ABS, overall comfort. The mediocre: engine power & smoothness, reliability and quality control, wind protection The Ugly: low speed handling, side stand, stiff throttle spring, speedo accuracy, mirrors that fall off.
- Jimbo, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-17 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is down right fabulous! It does require a degree of rider skill at parking lot speeds, but once you've got K-Legs your comfortable and confident anywhere. This bike truly shines on the open road. Take it out on twisties, flog it, take it through corners unbelievably quickly, and you'll have a grin as wide as Rosie O'Donnell's rear. don't baby this bike. Chrome polish is for Harley's not this. If you've got the custom version, you can make the bike drop dead gorgeous by replacing the chrome mirror housings with plain old black. It beautifies the bike, slenderizes it and makes it look like it means business. The remaining chrome stays in place and adds that extra glitter. In closing, this motorcycle is a near perfect as bike can get. I'm planning a long trip, from Florida to Alaska, and am looking forward to using the heated seats. Yum!
- RLFSurfusa, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-03 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have tried to like this bike. I have had ten BMWs and have an 1150GS, which I adore. But I'm trading my Road King for the new Wing because I cannot warm up to this THING. I keep test riding it. But wind blows it from side to side. It doesn't have enough power. The radio is SO annoying as it adjusts volume to speed, you want to beat it to death. It's just stone dead ugly, a western european's misguided concept of up-to-date cool. And it's a recipe for disaster at low speeds. It wants to tip over so badly, and so you spend the first seconds of your departure, or you whole time maneuvering to park, strong-arming it into staying upright. This is not a pleasant machine, it's downright annoying. Overrated, too.
- Jonathan Shepard, Delray Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-18 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In the past 50 yrs and yes I meant 50.....I have owned and ridden just about everything from Bultaco dirt bikes to the largest Honda's at the time.....I have never ridden anything as nice as my K1200LT-C.....the only draw back I have seen is the top heavy weight at slow speeds....but you can adjust to that by just being careful......also the sidestand is a dangerous way to leave this bike unless your parked on very flat ground or have the rear of the bike pointed downhill.....I will probably never think of buying anything else......but at this age I won't need to....this one will be running way after I am not
- Bob Newcomb, Coarsegold, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-27 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I actually own a 1999 K1200LT, which was delivered to me on the Independence Day weekend of 1999 (after waiting nearly four months). In short, this is the most remarkable machine I've EVER ridden. The specs say this bike weighs about 850-lbs. fully gassed and ready to go. That weight disappears the instant you roll out the throttle and place your feet on the footpegs. It feels light and nimble with instantaneous response to handlebar and throttle input. If you've never ridden a motorcycle equipped with BMW's remarkable Telelever front end, you have no idea how well a motorcycle CAN handle. Full suspension compliance, even when braking hard over rough surfaces. Little to no "bump-steer" when cornering on rough surfaces, either. In less than a year and a half, I already have 30,000 miles on my bike (and it's one of TWO I currently own). This isn't engineering... it's WITCHCRAFT! My only complaint? The communication system (intercom and CB) is a BAD, overpriced JOKE. BMW really should've spent some time on a GoldWing or Venture to see how these items are SUPPOSED to work!
- Jaime Cruz, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-13 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was (WAS) a Harley guy. I've owned several new ones and rode one for a living in a metropolitan area of S. Fla. (police road king) I bought this bike in Aug of 2000. Immediately after the break-in 600 miles and an oil change, I headed to the Smoky Mountains. This is a bike you can ride on the superslab for hours on end and then throw it around in the twisties in the mountains. I put the first 3000 miles on it (after break-in) in four days and the mini-vacation ended too soon. My only problem now is that I still have a job. As soon as I win the lottery, I'm going to ride this thing every day until I die.
- vinny, South Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-29 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got the K1200LTC in Jan 2000, now have 15000 miles on it (Sep). Smooth bike with excellent 50 mpg. My questions are: Why are there 3 switches for the turn signals? Why do you have to get on your hands and knees to check the oil? Why does the trim on the dash crack from the sun? Why does the speedometer indicate 8+ miles per hour faster than the actual speed? (I use a GPS for my speedometer.) Why can't you use radials, BMW says it's a no-no. I do like the heated seat and the electric windshield but it is a very overrated bike.
- Denis, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-29 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 3rd BMW, and I love it. It is well-engineered and handles like a dream. BMW's only flaw was to put on Bridgestone tires, which the bike eats up around 3,000 miles.
- Ted Hleba, Monterey, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-24 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After having my K1200RS totaled (Shortly after posting a review of it here), I decided to go with two bikes: A no-compromise tourer, and a no-compromise sport bike... Being a BMW-only guy for several years now, the K12LTC was a no brainer... I had ridden it before, and knew it was a great handling bike with all the comforts one [Or two] could want... I have put the bike on a diet, however, because I ride solo [Ladies?] and want it to be a bit more RS like... I removed the trunk and replaced it with an aluminum rack, and had the short euro-windscreen installed... Next I'm having the RS foot pegs and foot controllers installed [Pegs scrape too soon], and Remus is working on an exhaust for the LT. I should have a 50-pound lighter bike when I'm done... Just found out that an RS cam and chip set can be put in the LT's motor too!!!... Minus 50 pounds, plus 30 horsepower, and with a bit more ground clearance, and this bike will be an "M-5", not a "7-Series"... ;^) Pep
- George Pepper, Washington D.C. USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-08 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a dozen bikes in as many years, the last two being the Honda Goldwing and the ST1100, both 95 models, I just couldn't find a bike exciting enough for me to ride and comfortable enough for my wife on long hauls. Well, it finally arrived. Its unbelievable how this bike corners, the comfort it can provide for both rider and passenger and fuel efficiency. The audio system is far superior to a Goldwing thru speakers or headphones, [the Goldwing audio system was extremely disappointing] and the BMW goes a lot further on its 25-liter fuel capacity than the Honda ST1100 can on its 28 liter tank. I can't think of a way the BMW can be improved on, so I won't be trading in this bike for a long time.
- Bob Mazdine, Vancouver, British Columbia, CANADA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-26 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had the opportunity to ride the LT last month at the Honda Hoot in Ashville. I only rode it 30 miles (compared to the 25,000 on my wing) but it felt like an extension of my body from the moment it rolled out of the parking lot. It handles like a 600-pound bike, although it weighs in at over 800 just like the Goldwing. There is just no comparison in handling between the LT and the SE. The CD changer is a nice option but it takes up a sizeable portion of the right bag. On a long tour, a few extra pairs of underwear might sound better than that CD. Can it tow a light trailer? I wonder. I'd feel better if first gear was a little lower. If I could tow a light trailer I could have my CD and my wife could still have her hair dryer. All in all, I've got to have one of these bikes. We wear helmets all day! Who needs dry hair?
- Anonymous, Rockville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-02 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After test riding both the top of the line Gold Wing and Harley Ultra, it only took 1 block and the first turn to fall for the K1200LTC. It's superb balance of power and agility for a bike this size is unmatched. You have more than enough power and handling to ride it as a sport tourer with the luxury of a CD player and excellent heated seats/grips. My bike for the last 5 years was a Magna with only 14k miles, I bought the K1200LTC for "weekend" riding, but after only 8 months, the Magna just sat and I already have almost 10k on the "weekend" bike! Styling is very functional and futuristic and I constantly get Nice Bike and thumbs up on the road by both old and young. One short test ride will convince any doubters out there on the quality put into this bike.
- Oscar Marrufo, Dallas,Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: