Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW K 1200 LT-C reviews

4.4
Write a review
Reliability
4.4
Overall quality
4.4
Performance
4.4
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

26 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Eric Brinley

Friendswood, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased a 99 K1200LT used with 61k. I have had a great experience with the bike. Moving up from a 97 Honda Magna, I can't believe how smooth, comfortable and fast this big bike is. If you want to get into touring, this is a great ride. It corners with finesse and handles the superslab with ease. Watch those foot pegs, it will fly through the twisties at amazing lean angles. The frame is rigid and doesn't flex like other big bikes do. You can ride this big machine all day long. Love the adjustable windshield. My wife, not a big fan of riding, has turned the corner now that I have this machine and now travels with me frequently. Her high vantage point actually allows her to see the scenery. Wind buffering for the passenger can be strong unless you have the windshield set up high.... My ICON model offers all the comforts necessary for long trips, CD changer, intercom system, cruise, etc.... It just eats up the miles. I looked at used Gold Wings and during these model years, (99 to 01) the LT has it all over the GL1500's in regards to price and value. Only complaints, upfront storage is lacking, pickup a good small tank bag for items you need close by, (toll money, a water bottle, gloves, etc). This thing is heavy, not a beginners bike, low speed handling takes concentration, and dealerships are rare and maintenance is on the expensive side. I can highly recommend the K1200LT to anyone looking for a great long distance bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron S.

Austin, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-06-04

Motorcycle reviewed2003 BMW K 1200 LT-C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2003 K1200LTC used with 1800 miles on it and have about 6800 on it now. This includes a trip from Austin to Arizona and back. This bike is so smooth and comfortable on a long trip and handled the winding highways in OK and AR with amazing dexterity, especially considering we were riding 2 up and loaded with clothing for a 5 day trip. Plenty of power and cross winds are no big deal. The bike does feel top heavy at speeds under 10 mph. Above that speed, the weight disappears and the bike becomes extraodinarily nimble, especially for a bike this size and weight. While the seating position is generally quite comfortable, I need to stretch my legs after about 100 miles in the saddle. Overall, a very well-built, well-engineered machine that delivers a wonderful riding experience.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Berry

Vacaville, California

Reviewed on 2005-03-27

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW K 1200 LT-C

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
After riding Harleys and Hondas for thirty years, I bought this bike for dependability and comfort for both myself and the wife. I have been on two long trips, one to Sturgis and one to Colorado in the last two years. I cruised at 90 mph without breathing hard, and passing Harleys all the way. The bike is very smooth and dependable. The local sevice is excellent. The only complaints are the lack of someplace to put your feet other than straight down on long trips. Highway pegs would be nice.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Merle Schneblin

Grass Valley, California

Reviewed on 2003-06-13

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW K 1200 LT-C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 2002 LTE with 20,000 miles on it and love it. It handles like a dream except at speeds under 5 MPH and has lots of power even with 2 up and bags loaded. It is also extremely quiet and smooth riding, even on rough roads. I also have come to love the braking system which has saved me a few times already. The downside is the weight and high center of gravity which comes with a rather high seat. I am 63 years old, 6 foot tall. Any shorter and it would be too tall for me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary Weaver

Orlando , Florida

Reviewed on 2003-04-21

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW K 1200 LT-C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have riden for over 25 years, all kinds of motorcycles. The last 15yrs have been on Harleys, from Lowriders to full dressers. I finally got tired of all the rude individuals that think just cause they are on a Harley they are hot...I left the "IN CROWD" and now own a 2002 K1200LTC. I love the bike very much. I have never ridden a better motor cycle. Its fast, handles great, and doesn't look like every other bike on the road. Everyone has Harleys now and I really stand out. In a good way.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steven Schenck

Sacramento, California

Reviewed on 2003-02-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
I just purchased one. The test bike was great, but my new bike the back end slips around under low acceleration. This has Metzler marathons that have always performed great on other bikes. The dealer claims there is nothing he can do. After years of wings this is very frustrating.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve

Windsor, Ontario

Reviewed on 2002-11-08

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Highs: Power windshield, heated seats and grips, comfortable seating position, excellent milage when ridden conservatively, excellent9relatively) high speed handling. Lows: Idiotic turn signals, exceptionally poor gas tank filler cap, unacceptable oil check/refill arrangement (unbelievable poor concept of paper oil funnels and ergonomics), poor handlebar control ergonomics, mediocre stereo perfomance and output, skipping CD, takes too much room, inadequate storage up front, poor side stand, poor low speed control, questionable engineering when it comes to weight saving. Pricey. questionable dealers base and attitude. McBride in TO is fine. I keep the bike for long distance riding comfort, but have great doubt in long term value and sensibility of this piece of so claimed "german engineering" (?!) For an average rider- the Goldwing is a better ride.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

tom luckenbill

womelsdorf, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2002-11-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW K 1200 LT-C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
looks like a slug, runs like a slugger. read a lot of reviews, they all say one thing; it is a wolf in sheeps clothing...a touring bike to run with the sport bikes. the only thing loud about it is the stereo, radio, tape, cd changer; and the best sound i ever heard in a vehicle sound system. the suspension is uncanny, there is no nose dive, hammer the front brake at speed in a curve, your car should handle so well. i didn't notice this till a harley rider pointed it out, it is easyer to clean, the clean lines translate to fewer surfaces to wipe. the only thing wrong with it, and you will find this objection time and time again in reviews by owners, it WILL get you in trouble with the wife/girlfriend..."you said you were only going to the store for a paper, you've been gone for five hours!" the features are to numerous to list...check this out, you can throw a tarp over it as soon as you get off, the exaust pipe is not hot. no burning your leg or your passangers leg on it. test ride other bikes, try this one..hah!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Glen

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2002-10-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW K 1200 LT-C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had many bikes over the years including several Harley's and lots of sport bikes. Each has it's own personality and comfort zone. For a number of reasons I am currently a single bike owner and the K1200LTE is a great all around choice. Just completed a 1,000 mile boys weekend tour of the Smokey Mountains with 3 sport bikes. Although I could not quite keep in up in the tight twisties, they were not far ahead. Even in this enviroment the bike has a great feeling due to such good braking, steering and overall feel. Making a big bike go fast in tight corners is very thrilling. Sometimes you feel like you are slow, but a quick glance at the speedo shows that you are moving much faster than it feels. On the more wide open sweepers this bike just loves to pick an agressive line and hold it. This combined with the comfort for the wife on the back and luggage space makes it a great weekender or long haul bike for two. You can easily cruise at 80-90 all day in total comfort. I have just under 7k miles and after a few small quirks with cruise and throttle cables in the beginning, the bike has been perfect. The sound system, headsets, communications and other ammenities make for a great overall motorcycle experiece. I would recomend it to anyone wanting a great two up luxury bike. Think 5 series BMW with no doors.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

beemerhead

Whippany, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2002-10-07

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW K 1200 LT-C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my '99 LTC within six months of its initial release (June '99). I did have some issues with the bike (shorted starter relay, shredded throttle cable, broken exhaust manifold bolts) within the first 12 months of ownership but, even with these problems, it is still the best bike I have ever owned and it is still an absolute pleasure to ride every time I go for a ride. I currently have over 30,000 miles on my bike and it is still as tight and confidence inspiring as the day I brought it home. Yes, it is a bit top heavy (and just plain heavy), but that feeling quickly disappears the moment the bike starts moving. I have test ridden the new Gold Wing several times and while it is truly an impressive bike (killer engine and trans), I still prefer riding the K1200. It just feels right. It also happens to be a much more attractive machine than the Honda. I can't wait for the next K1200LT from BMW! Perhaps a K1500?? Who knows, but one thing is certain. It will raise the level of luxury bikes to new time high!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 26 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: