BMW K 1200 LT-I Motorcycles Reviews (14)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW K 1200 LT-I Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW K 1200 LT-I Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-05-02 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I Bought this bike online. I was going to ship it, but you know how it is. I jumped on the next flight out. Road this bike from Tampa, FL to Minneapolis, MN in three days. I went through 450 miles of pouring rain and 500 miles of a strong cross wind then about 400 miles of sleet and 32 degree frezzing rain, but the bike was glued to the road at 70mph. I was so impressed I road 850 miles in one day in this weather. First time I rode in 2 years. 1950 miles to Minneapolis in 3 days, I even did some sight seeing. Got back home and I'm ready for the next trip. I can't wait to go again. I have been riding for 30 years. I would never attemped to ride this hard on any other bike. I felt safe & like I owned the road. This bike was so smooth it handled like a road race bike and had the comfort of a recliner.
- Mike Michaelson, Bloomington, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-24 2001 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great handling bike. Terrific brakes and a serious touring look about it. I came from a 1991 Yamaha Venture 1300 ( with 101,000 miles and still running) so I am accustom to the top heavy feel. Drawbacks or sqwauks: The gas cover for the gas cap. Clumsy position you get into when the nozzle goes in. Some strange cupping on the front tire but Im running a Bridgestone battlax. Maybe thats how they wear. I figure the bike might be alittle heavy on the starboard side. So what, I'm having a great time going through the gears listening to the Ferrari type howl of the exhaust. Just watch those slow speed turns on lots with stones and a passenger on board. I just leaned the "Liquid Tank" over to the ground when my leg lost traction. Once it leans over just alittle too far its either a hernia or scuffed plastic. (Those black plastic guards work ok!) Ride on...
- jim v, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-25 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a 2003 LT-E. What a great ride!! A little top heavy at the slow speed but oh what a thrill down the road. One negative thought. Imagine having paid for the bike only to learn after taking delivery that the helmet sets are an extra expense.
- Harold Petty, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-23 2001 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning a HD Springer and having a RoadKing on order, I decided to try something different. And am I glad I did. This is by far the most comfortable, responsive touring machine I have ever riden. The quality of materials, mech technology, brakes and styling are 2nd to none. Cant stay off the darn thing and am finding dubious reasons to take it out on the road, according to my wife. You haven't lived until you spend 4-6 hours on this baby.
- steve, apex, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-26 2001 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This past April I purchased a Black 2001 K12 LTC. I have been riding bikes for the last 20 years and I never had a bike that is this much of a pleasure to ride. Once you become familiar with its weight (about 10 minutes) it handles like a dream! This bike is much more sporting than the 2001 Goldwing. My father purchased a new Goldwing, also in Black, in April. We have traveled more than 7000 miles to date. He seems to never be able to catch up to the Beemer on most backroads. As a matter of fact on most Interstates also. Everywhere we travel people always comment on how beautiful our bikes are. I have to proudly say the K12 gets the most attention!
- Mick Smeadle, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-01 2001 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I test drove this bike in the Black Hills of SD. I loved the way the bike performed, and handled... especially the handling on the canyon roads. My wife loved the seat and indicated how you can actually see something other than the back of my helmet. The disappointing part of the bike was it's incredibly high seat and top heaviness. Drop the seat and the top heaviness would be minimal I think. I dang near dumped it when I stopped to turn around. BMW change that seat height so I can own one. Mitch
- Mitch, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-28 2001 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1999 BMW K1200LT with 1800 km on it. I just replaced the front tire for a second time only getting 5000km on this Dunlop. Tire wears out left of centre. BMW says that is normal. I dont think so. I think the bike frame is twisted and the front wheel isnt tracking with the rear. Anybody have similar problems?
- Keith taylor, UK

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-13 2001 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Two weeks old and 1800mi it's a dream only complaint is its a bear with two up and loaded with gear. I dropped it pulling out of the gas station to head for CO. Its so top heavy it took three of us to lift the bike. The plastic bumpers saved me from any expensive damage though. My wife says the seat is more comfortable than a car seat. By the way Independence Pass near Aspen is a must see for all- esp on this bike WOW!!
- scott mcd, Albuquerque New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-19 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 1999 BMW K1200LT-I in November 1999 and I experienced numerous problems during the year I owned this machine. It's a good looking machine but goes down hill rapidly from there. As most have already stated it's difficult to put into first gear or maneuver at slow speeds. The brakes are annoying, it would heat up on hot days in slow moving traffic and the engine sounds harsh at low speeds. Getting up to speed it handles very well and the engine is silky smooth until you encounter a cross wind or need to pass. It's a good thing the windshield is adjustable because the standard setting is unsafe for the average rider. The communication system is in it's 3rd generation and still doesn't work properly. The CD Player never worked the entire year I had it but I apparently the shipping screws were never removed. The speakers were obviously the lowest grade they could find. I wasn't as fortunate as some to have a good dealership either. The two nearby dealers were feuding and complained about the poor service I would receive from the other. They were both right. It took 7 months to get an appointment to fix an Oil leak they caused on the 600 mile service and I was charged again. When I was told it would probably take 6 months to a year for the next Communication system to be developed I considered trading the K1200LT for an 1100RT. Thank you BMW Corporate for being so nasty and making me decide to never buy another machine labeled BMW. I purchased another Goldwing and can you say quality, no recalls, and superior service. To the guy thinking of trading his Goldwing, not unless you're buying the 1800.
- Anonymous, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-16 2001 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Three months ago I purchased a new LT and have had troubles with the bike and dealer ever since. On the first occasion I went to start my LT sitting in my heated garage to go for a ride and the bike was completely devoid of power. The bike had been sitting for three days. Battery dead? I called the dealer (Mortons BMW) They said recharge. I did and it did not work. I had it towed to the dealer. They said an electrical relay went bad. Very rare! fixed it. When i got the bike home I discovered that somebody had dropped my LT and there was damage to the fairing and other parts. I called the dealer and they admitted they had dropped the bike. Now I have a repeat of the same rare electrical problem and my bike dead again. I now have no confidence that I can take a long trip on this machine without a high risk of being stranded. By the way, when it runs it's a great bike. I give it 1 star. JBHawkr
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-20 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am the proud owner of a 1999 K12LTI with about four thousand miles on the clock. The machine is very well behaved for the most part now, but I did have some problems just after I took delivery. The battery was defective and wouldn't hold a charge, which left me stranded a time or two. The rear brake pads squealed like a banshee from day one with even the slightest brake application. My local dealer was great and fixed the problems in no time, under warranty, of course. It was explained to me that my K12 was one of the first off the assembly line and that these are common complaints for those early examples. In all fairness, I've spoken with a few other owners of the same year/model and have heard of no complaints at all. The machine has been fine ever since these early hiccups and I couldn't be happier with its performance and road manners. Be cautious of crosswinds, however, as they will have you all over the road. Getting into first gear just after a cold start was tricky at first; just double clutch a time or two and you'll be fine. This is my fourth new BMW and the seventh bike in my garage and I couldn't be happier with my choice. If you're looking for a true long-range touring rig with the ultimate in comfort, a heated seat, great looks and a fantastic sound system, look no further.
- William H. Sparks, III, Hillsboro, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-21 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been looking for this bike for 10 years. It has the right combination of performance, comfort, and features. I have had the bike four months and now have 8,500 miles on it, with everything from around town daily traffic duty in San Antonio, Texas, traffic to several 300 mile one day runs and a 1200mi 3 day jaunt. I still have not found its limits. Complaints: shifting too first can be a pain. It took a while to get used to the soundtoo quiet. I'm unhappy about the quality of vinyl on seats. I nicked them with my boot -- too easy to do, and recovering in leather. It's heavy in parking lot cruising. I would like just a tad more top end. Around 125 it feels like I'm at the end. Compliments: It exceeds my ability in the twisties. Ride all day in 100-plus degree temp, and still feel good. It takes 250-plus miles or more stop to stop. I love the heated grips, CD, power windscreen, first-rate cruise control. It has great brakes, and much more. More bike for the money than anything I've looked at. Go ride it!
- Lucky Judd, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-07 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I liked my Harley Electra Glide Ultra. I LOVE my K1200LT-I. Most impressive is the handling, which is more akin to my VFR750 than the Ultra. When I picked it up at the dealer (and left them the Ultra), I took the saddlebag and trunk inserts, which were filled to the brim, and packed 'em into the Beemer. All comments about the CD changer taking up too much room aside, the full Harley bags fit just fine into the K bike. I'm ecstatic! Think the power windshield's a gimmick? Ask my wife! With the windshield down, she bitched about the turbulence. With it up, she was riding practically in still air (although in the up position at 80-85 mph the windshield whistles like a freight train). Speaking of wind, I find the K bike to be very susceptible to crosswinds, despite what other reviews have stated. The Harley was MUCH more stable in that respect. I also take issue with comments about smooth shifting. It can be tough to get this beast into 1st gear from neutral (a couple of pulls first on the clutch usually workaround the problem). Also, 1st to 2nd is a bitch, and after two weeks I still struggle for smoothness. But 2/3, 3/4, and 4/5 and back down are as smooth as everyone else says. Maybe the fact that it's only two week's old with 1400 miles on the clock have something to do with it. I hope so! I'd like to see about 200 watts instead of 120 for the stereo. I like it LOUD, thank you. Nonetheless, if you're into music, the Beemer tops the competition. It is truly full featured, with all the functions you expect from a premium stereo system. Hitch Doc makes a hitch for the K1200LT, and I have a Time-Out camper just waiting to come along for a ride. I'm not sure how it's going to work out without the low end grunt of the Harley, but I'm anxious to see. Look for future updates! Overall impression: WOW. Now THIS is a touring bike.
- Neil Forker, San Pedro, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-20 2000 BMW K 1200 LT-I Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After leaving a Harley for a BMW R1100RT, I thought I'd seen it all, then the K1200 arrived, I thought I'd died and gone to heaven. The K bike is large but handles like the R bike, well worth the price of admission.
- Graham Williams, Plymouth, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: