BMW K 1200 LT Motorcycles Reviews (36)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW K 1200 LT Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW K 1200 LT Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2017-08-10 2003 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Cons: heavy heavy bike would not recommend for a new rider, repairs and maintenance are not exactly user friendly, top heavy difficult to handle in tight and close quarters. Pros: extremely smooth motorcycle, meant for hundreds of miles a day with no problems, the weight seems to disappear when at speed, "drive it like you stole it"!
- Les, South Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-07-01 2009 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned nearly a dozen bikes during the last 50 years plus. I have wanted a K1200LT since they came out but could never justify such luxury. I am so sorry I waited. I bought a 1999 with 7,403 miles on it last year from a guy just like me. There is nothing about it that I don't like. It has performed flawlessly and I find myself making excuses to ride it every day. The K1200LT is one of those machines that you can park but you have to look back at it when you are walking away. I really like the way that bike makes me feel. That is surprising at my age. Just don't wait.
- Arthur Bliss, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-07 2009 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a used 2009 LT with 2,600 miles on the meter. I'm getting ready to retire and was looking for a touring machine - I plan on making some long trips. I traded in a Triumph T-Bird with 15K on the meter. I was originally looking at the 1600GTL but it did not fit my frame. I found this one in the showroom in a like new condition. There is nothing wrong with it - I mean nothing. I was a little overwhelmed by the sheer size at first but was really surprised at how well this bike handles even on the twisties. The quality is superb. It has loads of power, and is wonderfully smooth with all the options. It truely is the ultimate riding machine. I love the hard bags - lots of storage space for the long hauls. It's the first Beemer I have owned but probably wont be the last. I love this bike!!
- Don Neukam, Loogootee, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-25 2009 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine last summer. I rode it to Las Vegas on September 3, 500 miles in nine days and it was a real joy. I did 2,400 miles to Bike Week in Daytona in March. I had the bike less than a year and put 17,000 miles on it. I don't ride it to work either! At first the bike seems top heavy, and it probably is on gravel roads. On paved roads it cruises as fast as you want, with plenty of reserve to pass other cars. Did I mention this bike has plenty of power to get you out of the way of other cars? With a corded helmet, the stereo sounds great too. I recently completed my first IBA run (1,000 in 24 hours) and was comfortable the whole time. I have had three Harley Ultra Classics, and I won't be going back to them. The Harleys are hot, vibrate, and don't have good wind protection like the LT. I won't buy another bike without reverse either. The reverse, power windshield, and power center stand are just the topping on the cake to a really well engineered bike.
- Bob, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-02 2009 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had a lot of bikes in my 35 years of riding, from Yamaha, Suzuki, Kawasaki and Harley. They were all good bikes with a lot of good features. Then I decided to look at the BMW K1200 LT. It has a lot of standard features that were options on other brands of bikes (ABS brakes, heated grips, heated seats and alarm system). It has some options that I don't think other brands even offer, like power center stand, power windshield and central locking. The BMW is also sleek looking, has great gas mileage, excellent quality and has silky, smooth power. If their is any negative comment to make about the bike, it's the cost of some of the accessories that you could spend on it. I think that the $150.00 cup holder is a little extreme. If anybody knows were I can buy a cup holder cheaper, I would be very happy.
- Lee Ross, Rockford , Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-20 2006 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a great experience purchasing this bike from the dealership and dealing with its sales associate. He was a true professional and a great person. He made every effort to be upfront and honest with me. I would recommend this dealership to anyone without hesitation. Thank you.
- Balraj Sandhu, Fairfield, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-05 2009 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding since I was 15 and have had several bikes in the last 50 years. I bought my LT in Nov. '09 after being without a bike for 20 years. My wife and I wanted to do some serious long distance touring and after comparing and testing everything out there for a couple of years, was sure the LT was the only choice. We have not been disappointed. People rave about their purchases (especially expensive ones) as if they are still convincing themselves they made the right choice. With that in mind, I can only say the LT delivers with 5 stars. It's a big, easy to handle, comfortable, fast, dependable, smooth, luxurious, (any compliment will fit) motorcycle investment. It's BMW's best effort. Yes, once you start to move it feels and handles like a dream sport bike. I wouldn't advise taking it out on rough backwood 4X4 roads, but that isn't what it's designed for. German engineering and craftsmanship is superb and every small detail gives pleasure in ownership. I've been passed by crotch rockets in the twisties and just wonder where they would be at the end of the day after several hours of riding while we swooshed by them in comfort. With getting over 51 mpg on the highway, this big black beauty will go 300 miles on a tank of gas.. non-stop.
- Ron Hexum, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-16 2009 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my 2006 VTX1800R with only 2,000 miles on it and only having been out of the crate for 11 months. Having rode a Harley and other V-Twins there is no comparison between them and the BMW K1200LT. If you're looking for the best of all worlds, do yourself the favor of a life time and take a ride the best handling luxury sport touring bike in the world. There's no returning to the potato-potatopotato-potato for me. I only wish I would have discovered this dream machine decades ago.
- Anon, Ripon, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-13 2009 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my 09 Harley for the my new 09 K1200LT. I was looking for the bike that gave me comfort, power and enough gadgets to keep me interested and on the road. Well I am super satisfied and must say if you want to rumble get a Harley, if you want to ride get a K1200LT and let freedom reign.
- JS, lake Placid, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-16 2009 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first BMW and I have absolutely been impressed with the engineering and thought put into this bike. Having owned an older luxury tourer for 4 years, I can only say there is no comparison. The K1200LT is smooth as silk, has tons of power and is well thought out for being ridden for hours at a time. I am never going to own another bike. This is the pinnacle as far as I'm concerned. Also, my wife loves riding again after being tired after an hour or two on the old bike. Now she feels great even after 3-4 hours in the seat.
- David Jones, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-02 2006 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden motorcycles for over 47 years and this K1200LT is the best motorcycle I have straddled. I also have a Harley Davidson Road King which I ride around to be one of the guys but when it comes time to put a cycle on the road for a trip it is time to pack the bags on the LT. The braking system is the best I have ever experienced and the engine power comes on smooth and will wind up as long as you have the guts to hold it open. The power is not rough but is smooth like an expensive touring car line, the BMW or Jaguar. The power is enough to allow you to wave bye-bye to any other touring motorcycle with the mere 1200 cc motor. Gas mileage which is everyone's concern is remarkable also with 60 MPH averages allowing you to have a 56 MPG I received last week on our Tellico breakfast ride. In 2001 I rode my K1200LT to Washington State and a 70 MPH I was averaging 53 MPG on my computer. The Metsler tires are the best motorcycle tires on the market and with the ABS brakes you need their strength and reliability. All the ergonomics of switches and controls have been well engineered and the telelever and paralever suspensions are flawless. This is a warning to anyone looking at a LT, if you ride it you will buy it.
- 1 Lone Rider, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-21 2005 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Three weeks ago I purchased a used 2005 BMW K1200LT with 2900 miles. I was dead set on a new Gold Wing, but at the price, this bike was too good to pass up. I sold my 2006 1600 Nomad within the week and have never looked back. As a tall rider I'm used to spending some money getting comfortable. I spent for a driver's peg lowering kit, Mick O Pegs and for a driver's backrest. Now I'm good to go. I have ridden this bike to work daily and more on the weekends. It gets better and better. It handles like a sport bike. You can cruise down the highway as smooth as silk with a great sound system and perfectly designed ergonomic comfort. My wife loves her seat and never wants to get off. I have averaged 45 miles per gallon and have a range of over 250 miles. The seats are good, but I always ride with my Sheepskin/foam/gel pad combo, so all bikes feel good to me. Everything is well engineered and simple. The lines are beautiful and I draw a lot of comments and questions wherever I travel.
- Jon, Lindale, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-03 2005 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Okay, so I'm 37. My last bike was a Honda Blackbird 1100XX that I rode from the UK to the South of France (top speed, 135MPH), then shipped it to TX and rode to Dallas, Albuquerque, Phoenix, San Diego and Long Beach to ship it home to the UK. Then I moved to Arizona and bought a K1200LT. All my friends said it was an old man's bike. It has an electric windshield, automatic center stand, REVERSE gear, heated seats and grips and CD player. Yes, built for comfort, but WHAT A BIKE! I get just as much fun riding, accelerating and cornering the BMW as I ever did on the Blackbird, but then on the open road, hit cruise, put the windshield up, turn on the CD player, talk to my wife through the intercom, and suddenly it's serious comfort. Get to the windy roads in Northern Arizona and push it from side to side, it feels like a sport bike with excellent handling. A little intimidating at first to push an 800 lb. bike around like that, but it doesn't care. My first day on the bike (I hadn't ridden in a year, so I was a little rusty) I was turning left onto a main street when someone flew out of a gas station on the other side of the street, cut me off and obviously never saw me. Being rusty, I did exactly the wrong thing, I grabbed both of those big brakes with full hand and foot. STUPID! The bike should have low-sided, but it didn't! It stood straight up, chirped a couple of times with the ABS and stopped - amazing! It is heavy, and the reverse comes in useful backing up hill into my garage, but once you're above 10 mph, the weight doesn't take away from handling. It only serves to stabilize the bike in wind and on bad roads. The BMW suspension is 2nd-to-none, no nose-dives with hard braking, and best of all, the wife loves it!
- Andrew, Mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-19 2006 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first motorbike I have ever owned and I am 61 yrs. old. I can't imagine how it could be improved in any way. I look forward to riding it year round.
- Ed C, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-30 2006 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great precision in this machine. Excellent ride and almost zero vibration. Two up is a dream with good accelleration and handles like a sport bike. Braking is second to none. When you're in it for the ride anything else is second best and at the end of the day you will thank yourself for buying this quality product. BMW's GPS is great and much smarter than most people you will get directions from if you can find someone at 1 a.m. in the morning. Instrumentation is clear and easy to read at speed.
- Larry Key, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-06 2006 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike! I've ridden Harleys for years and enough is enough. This bike replaces my Electra Glide H.D. and I couldn't be happier. The fit and finish far exceeds the Harleys. The power is more than ample and again will blow the doors off my Electra Glide and maybe even the V-rod. The comfort again far superior than a Harley. The power Kickstand is cool and works great. B.M.W. did their homework when they designed this one.
- WoW should have bought one sooner !, Tampa Bay, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-14 2005 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
She's the one that got me thinking about a touring bike after owning several metric V-twins. On long rides, she would get uncomfortable, and like they say 'If momma ain't happy, nobody's happy!'. It took a couple of months to get used to the low speed handling of this top-heavy beast, but the ABS brakes, handling, and overall comfort of this machine have spoiled me rotten! Heated seats and grips, electrically adjusted windscreen, cruise control - and best of all, my wife falls asleep riding on the back, so you know she's comfy now!
- Paul Lindewall, Oxford, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-26 2005 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been a long time HD rider and figured it was time to go for a little more comfort, and less vibration and noise. My first car (1969) was a BMW 1600, was in love with it for many years and figured I'd give the BMW motorcycle side of the house a try. In July I got a very good deal on a previously owned LT (less than 1K original miles) and loaded w/ more stuff than I could have afforded were it purchased new. Only problem I'm having is finding a comfortable position for the legs. Used to stretching out my legs on the Harleys and after putting on almost 1200 miles in 3-days I have not yet found that sweet spot. I hope a few more thousand miles will fix that, but until then will try and put as many miles on it as I possibly can. It is one beautiful machine!
- Craig Chretien, Westlake Village, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-15 2005 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for the last 30 years. I have owned dirt bikes, road bikes and dual sport bikes. This bike is awesome. It has the power for a quick acceleration and the the throttle is very responsive. I perform my own maint. and so far have found the bike and service manual both easy to understand. After prepping for a trip it loads very quickly and once loaded the center of gravity is much the same as empty. This bike does not want to run with the crowd....It wants to lead. It handles well in the corners as well as blasting down a straight line. The only drawback I can see so far is the weight and height of the bike. Since I am vertically challenged, both can present a problem when stopping or in stop and go traffic. At the same time, the same drawback turns into a plus once the bike is rolling. The other drawback seems to be the life of the tires, but at the same time, with a harder compound tire I might not take the curves like I do and that would make the fun meter decrease. Bottom line, would I change anything, HMMMMM...I do not think I would. I think the BMW engineers did an awesome job when they designed this bike. It is made for traveling and part of the fun with traveling is being able to experience the road, the curves, hills and mountains and this is one bike that will let you, and then let you push just a little bit more.
- Nick, North Richland Hills, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-09 2006 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After weeks of shopping, reading, and researching the web, I'm confident that I've made the right decision. Only the Beamer, the Hawg, and the 'Wing met my needs for a motorcycle that could stand up to my 100 mile daily commute, and my desire to experience vacations touring North America with my beautiful fianc´┐Ż'. (She made me write that part.) The Honda's low gas mileage (38hwy!) made it impractical. Besides, they're like driving the Accord ...everybody has one. The Harley Davidson Electra-Glide came in a close second. Then there's the lack of comfort options, the noise, the vibration, and the heat in one's "tender regions" ...the BMW met all my wants, needs and desires. Now that she's broken-in, I can attest to the absolute terror of 8000 rpm in third gear. The power of this motorcycle is an awesome and terrible thing. She still leaves me with an irremovable grin like I haven't experienced since high school when I first discovered women.
- Steve W.., Arkadelphia, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-08 2005 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2002 BMW 1200 LT and I love it. I've ridden for 44 years, and I've had everything from a Honda Dream 160 to a six-cylinder Kawasaki Tourer, Goldwings, and Ventures. There's not a question about the performance of this bike. It is awesome...handles like a racer and moves like one too. I have had some problems controlling it in the garage. I dropped it three times in the first three weeks I owned it. This bike is so heavy, that, if it gets a little off-balance, it will go down. There's nothing a 5' 7" guy can do to stop it. I dropped it once trying to get it on its center stand. (I've mastered that since.) Dropped it once going down my driveway, when I stopped at the dip, between the garage and the downhill approach. My feet couldn't reach. I got the kickstand down, but the dip was so deep, the back wheel was off the ground. It rolled forward slightly and collapsed the kickstand. I had one other mishap, when I got slightly off-balance at a stop sign. Down it went. It is virtually impossible for someone my size to right the bike. It takes two or three people, who know what they're doing, to get it up again. I'd like to hear what other short people do with the 1200 LT. I'm starting to think I should have stuck with my old Goldwing. I never once dropped it in over 30,000 miles. My 1200 LT has been refitted with the heated seat, so it is cut down to about two inches below stock, but I still have problems at a standstill. I'd love to hear what your experience has been with this incredible, but incredibly heavy and top-heavy bike.
- Michael Robinson, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-11 2005 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding Harleys for years. I've always had full dress bikes, Road Kings and Ultra Classics. My wife and I went down to pick out an 06 Ultra, the bike was in stock, got a good price, but something was bothering me. You've never experienced heat until you've been on a Harley in the summer. The heat that comes off that engine is unbelievable and it is focused directly "below the belt line". I told her, lets go try a demo ride on a bike I heard about. Well, if you know about Harleys, demo rides are non-existent, they don't allow demos unless the entire demo team happens to be in your state. So we went over to Metuchen, NJ and I walked in and the sales guy throws me the keys to a K1200LT and says "see you in an hour, let me know how you like it." We bought it, flat out, right there. The biggest hangup I had was leaving the "Harley" family, strong feelings there. Secondly, there was no sound on the LT. I had to get used to that. The LT had brakes that actually worked, it cornered like a cat and the response from the engine was awesome. I have every option they make on it and love the LT. Bottom line...money well spent.
- Ernie, South Plainfield, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-11 2005 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike new after a 10 min demo ride on a used LT. I had demo'ed the GW about a week before and the comparison rides made the LT the better bike by far in handling above 5 mph. It is a heavy bike and requires special attention when operating at parking lot speeds so as not to drop the bike when stopping. NEVER use front brake when front wheel is turned!!(How do I know that?!). The bike is great in handling the twisties and on straightaways is super smooth. The engine is very smooth and powerful at high rpms. The stopping power is AWESOME!! Good gas mileage. A little tall for an average height rider but manageable. Stock seat was finally replaced with a custom seat to make the long distance rides more comfortable. Adequate luggage space. Oh, the bike handles very well in x-winds(gusting or steady). Sort of has a built x-wind correction due to the high cg and lower center of pressure that makes the bike lean into the wind automatically. Can be exciting if not expected. All in all, this is one great riding bike. I love it!!
- Roy Crane, Henderson, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-11 2005 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in September 2000 from a dealer in Boise. After 67800 miles, I am still in love!!! My wife even refers to the bike as the "other woman". Lets see, the past 5 1/2 years we have been to Washington, Oregon, California, Idaho, Utah, Arizona, New Mexico, Nevada, Colorado, Wyoming and Montana. From 20 degrees in Idaho to 108 degrees in Laughlin, NV, it has never missed a beat. I have listened to other owners and learned to do the minor maintenance myself which makes it even more enjoyable. There is just so much more to see, while perched on the seat of the ole LT!
- Gene Chapman, Olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-14 2005 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought an 05 after Christmas but had never ridden an LT or even heard the power plant. So I picked it up this last week end and it was windy (25mph) and 64 on Sat and windy and 45 on Sun. First Impressions After reading about the weight and size of the bike this past winter, the biggest thing that had me concerned was all of the talk about dropping the bike. I spent my early 20's riding fully dressed bikes Honda, Kawasaki, Yamaha, HD and never was skittish about the size, weight, not being able to see your front tire when cornering, etc. and kept trying to tell myself I have had a ton of experience, don't freak. While the bike is heavy it is quite easy to balance even at slow speeds. I guess if I drop it I drop it but I was needlessly concerned about the slow speed maneuvering. Within ten minutes I felt very comfortable with the slow speed characteristics...it is true...it's like riding a bike, it came back to me very quickly. I went straight to the Interstate to see if my dreams would come true and I was impressed especially in light of the wind and it was lateral. The first thing that came to mind was the road condition and all of the nasty winter cracks we have in the roads right now and how the bike just stepped across them without a twitch. I had the mono-shock set in the middle and it was perfect. Next, the wind was nasty and of course I had to lean with what it was giving me, but holy crap, I loved the extra weight now. I was not dancing all over my lane at all and was quite comfortable with it. Not bad first impression in light of the conditions and not being on a bike since October let alone this new beastie! I now understand what George Jettisons car ride to work must have felt like! This bike almost feels like a Mag-lift high speed train with an electric motor. I said feels like, but I like the sound of the exhaust. Sounds like a bike! So I put on a couple hundred miles and on Sunday I was really impressed with the heated grips. Thankyou God! After all of the reading about the high speed handling characteristics I have to admit I moderately dialed it up to 100 and this bike is built for speed and stability. Very cool. However, at 4,000 rpm and 80 mph on the speedo, I was still being passed on the I...so what is the speedo off? 5-6 mph at that speed? The braking was just about getting the feel. These brakes really will grab you if you have the touch of Frankenstein. I found that the initial grab of the brake slowing down from highway speed was very kind and easy to feather. It is much more touchy though when you get down to creeping speed as you approach a stop sign, etc. But again, just like the weight issue at slow speeds, if you have any coordination at all, then use your freekin balance and your eye hand coordination with a little touch. All of the electronics were as advertised. Great reception and range on the radio, CB works great, intercom as well. No static or any of the other head aches I've been reading about over the winter. I have the tall wind shield and like it. With an open face helmet I liked being able to hide behind that tall shield and I don't mind the distortion at all. Scared the little neighbor girls when I waved at them and gave them a honk on the horn....yikes! Glad it doesn't have that little pussy buzz my japanese bikes have. Now for the handling. WOW! By Sunday I had all of the confidence in the world in what the bike would do, scuffed in the tires etc. and to be honest I thought the comments about the center stand scrapping was for the nut jobs that trust their tires and public roads way too much. But I can see it would be easy to get carried away and end up scrapping the stand without being a total nut job. I lived on my bikes in HS and college and did MX and have a list of crazy things I've done when on a bike, usually involving too much speed and air time, but now at the sane age of 47 I was reading about the "center stand scrappers" and just chalked them folks up as crazy. Well, bet I scrape that center stand sooner than later cause the bike feels that stable. Loved the push the button and lazily ride the center stand up...loved that one in the parking lot with people watching. I felt like a kid again when we were the first ones in the subdivision with a remote control the size of cigar box for the TV. I'm sure I had the proverbial "watch this " grin on my face when I deployed it. And the reverser, another stroke of genius! At first I was a little leery about going backwards with one finger on the starter but then again, I said just concentrate on the balance and let the freekin bike do the work. Ergonomics At my age I am all about comfort so here is where I have to dick around with my body and getting comfortable. I'm 5'11" 205lbs. 31" inseam and my freekin knees are just screaming at me 45 minutes after leaving the dealer. The bike is just awesome but my gal darn feet are behind my knees and it is stretching my patella tendon. And my hip flexors are not too far behind also in pain. Get off the bike and start adjusting, got the drivers backup back rest adjusted, better. On the bike again so let's try the Jpegs. Ouch! My God, it's like someone put foot rests on a Hippo! Can I spread my legs any further and not be considered the other white meat? Yikes! Let's try it again on Sunday with a little prep. First I stretched for 10 minutes before getting on the bike, took some Aleeve before I got on the bike, and put the seat on the high setting. Much better. I still believe that I would like to move my feet at least even with my knees or slightly in front of would be great, but it doesn't sound like the after market stuff gets you more that a 1/2 inch further forward. Looks like I'll just have to get my dimply white butt in better shape and start my golf stretching exercises now to get my legs and back some flexibility. But I just love this DANG BIKE! P.S. 15 minutes into the ride and I see the third biker of the day coming towards me. It's another BMW. An older one I think an R...(the one with two opposing cylinders? I'm still learning my BMW speak) and while I am doing the ultra cool low hand palm up conservative "what's up waive"...the dude let's go of his left grip and gives me a HUGE FIST PUMP SKYWARD! don't now if it was cause he was diggin my new bike, or that I was a fellow BM'er, or just that it was finally friggin 64 degrees and we live in WISCONSIN! __________________ Vance RD 350 Yamaha KZ 650 Kawasaki KZ 900 Kawasaki V65 Magna (1986) 05 1200LT
- Vance, Brookfield, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: