Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW K 1200 LT reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

36 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Arthur Bliss

San Antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2012-07-01

Motorcycle reviewed2009 BMW K 1200 LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned nearly a dozen bikes during the last 50 years plus. I have wanted a K1200LT since they came out but could never justify such luxury. I am so sorry I waited. I bought a 1999 with 7,403 miles on it last year from a guy just like me. There is nothing about it that I don't like. It has performed flawlessly and I find myself making excuses to ride it every day. The K1200LT is one of those machines that you can park but you have to look back at it when you are walking away. I really like the way that bike makes me feel. That is surprising at my age. Just don't wait.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (21)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Les

South Florida

Reviewed on 2017-08-10

Motorcycle reviewed2003 BMW K 1200 LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Cons: heavy heavy bike would not recommend for a new rider, repairs and maintenance are not exactly user friendly, top heavy difficult to handle in tight and close quarters. Pros: extremely smooth motorcycle, meant for hundreds of miles a day with no problems, the weight seems to disappear when at speed, "drive it like you stole it"!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don Neukam

Loogootee, Indiana

Reviewed on 2012-02-07

Motorcycle reviewed2009 BMW K 1200 LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought a used 2009 LT with 2,600 miles on the meter. I'm getting ready to retire and was looking for a touring machine - I plan on making some long trips. I traded in a Triumph T-Bird with 15K on the meter. I was originally looking at the 1600GTL but it did not fit my frame. I found this one in the showroom in a like new condition. There is nothing wrong with it - I mean nothing. I was a little overwhelmed by the sheer size at first but was really surprised at how well this bike handles even on the twisties. The quality is superb. It has loads of power, and is wonderfully smooth with all the options. It truely is the ultimate riding machine. I love the hard bags - lots of storage space for the long hauls. It's the first Beemer I have owned but probably wont be the last. I love this bike!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

Fort Worth, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-06-25

Motorcycle reviewed2009 BMW K 1200 LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought mine last summer. I rode it to Las Vegas on September 3, 500 miles in nine days and it was a real joy. I did 2,400 miles to Bike Week in Daytona in March. I had the bike less than a year and put 17,000 miles on it. I don't ride it to work either! At first the bike seems top heavy, and it probably is on gravel roads. On paved roads it cruises as fast as you want, with plenty of reserve to pass other cars. Did I mention this bike has plenty of power to get you out of the way of other cars? With a corded helmet, the stereo sounds great too. I recently completed my first IBA run (1,000 in 24 hours) and was comfortable the whole time. I have had three Harley Ultra Classics, and I won't be going back to them. The Harleys are hot, vibrate, and don't have good wind protection like the LT. I won't buy another bike without reverse either. The reverse, power windshield, and power center stand are just the topping on the cake to a really well engineered bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lee Ross

Rockford , Minnesota

Reviewed on 2010-08-02

Motorcycle reviewed2009 BMW K 1200 LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had a lot of bikes in my 35 years of riding, from Yamaha, Suzuki, Kawasaki and Harley. They were all good bikes with a lot of good features. Then I decided to look at the BMW K1200 LT. It has a lot of standard features that were options on other brands of bikes (ABS brakes, heated grips, heated seats and alarm system). It has some options that I don't think other brands even offer, like power center stand, power windshield and central locking. The BMW is also sleek looking, has great gas mileage, excellent quality and has silky, smooth power. If their is any negative comment to make about the bike, it's the cost of some of the accessories that you could spend on it. I think that the $150.00 cup holder is a little extreme. If anybody knows were I can buy a cup holder cheaper, I would be very happy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Balraj Sandhu

Fairfield, California

Reviewed on 2010-06-20

Motorcycle reviewed2006 BMW K 1200 LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had a great experience purchasing this bike from the dealership and dealing with its sales associate. He was a true professional and a great person. He made every effort to be upfront and honest with me. I would recommend this dealership to anyone without hesitation. Thank you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron Hexum

Boise, Idaho

Reviewed on 2010-06-05

Motorcycle reviewed2009 BMW K 1200 LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding since I was 15 and have had several bikes in the last 50 years. I bought my LT in Nov. '09 after being without a bike for 20 years. My wife and I wanted to do some serious long distance touring and after comparing and testing everything out there for a couple of years, was sure the LT was the only choice. We have not been disappointed. People rave about their purchases (especially expensive ones) as if they are still convincing themselves they made the right choice. With that in mind, I can only say the LT delivers with 5 stars. It's a big, easy to handle, comfortable, fast, dependable, smooth, luxurious, (any compliment will fit) motorcycle investment. It's BMW's best effort. Yes, once you start to move it feels and handles like a dream sport bike. I wouldn't advise taking it out on rough backwood 4X4 roads, but that isn't what it's designed for. German engineering and craftsmanship is superb and every small detail gives pleasure in ownership. I've been passed by crotch rockets in the twisties and just wonder where they would be at the end of the day after several hours of riding while we swooshed by them in comfort. With getting over 51 mpg on the highway, this big black beauty will go 300 miles on a tank of gas.. non-stop.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anon

Ripon, California

Reviewed on 2009-10-16

Motorcycle reviewed2009 BMW K 1200 LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I traded in my 2006 VTX1800R with only 2,000 miles on it and only having been out of the crate for 11 months. Having rode a Harley and other V-Twins there is no comparison between them and the BMW K1200LT. If you're looking for the best of all worlds, do yourself the favor of a life time and take a ride the best handling luxury sport touring bike in the world. There's no returning to the potato-potatopotato-potato for me. I only wish I would have discovered this dream machine decades ago.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JS

lake Placid, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-10-13

Motorcycle reviewed2009 BMW K 1200 LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I traded in my 09 Harley for the my new 09 K1200LT. I was looking for the bike that gave me comfort, power and enough gadgets to keep me interested and on the road. Well I am super satisfied and must say if you want to rumble get a Harley, if you want to ride get a K1200LT and let freedom reign.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Jones

Fresno, California

Reviewed on 2009-02-16

Motorcycle reviewed2009 BMW K 1200 LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first BMW and I have absolutely been impressed with the engineering and thought put into this bike. Having owned an older luxury tourer for 4 years, I can only say there is no comparison. The K1200LT is smooth as silk, has tons of power and is well thought out for being ridden for hours at a time. I am never going to own another bike. This is the pinnacle as far as I'm concerned. Also, my wife loves riding again after being tired after an hour or two on the old bike. Now she feels great even after 3-4 hours in the seat.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 36 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: