BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Motorcycles Reviews (11)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2002-08-02 2000 BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my K1200RSA new in 2000. Have 12,500 on the clock with no problems what so ever. Once or twice a year a few buddies and I go on long trips of 2,500 plus miles. Even with both side bags, truck plus a dry bag full of stuff NOTHING can beat the power of this bike. With 135HP I never worry or think twice to passing traffic in any gear. The ride is smooth and comfortable even on the longest days. My only complaint,, the bike is top heavy around town but get the K1200RSA out of the open road and it's near perfect. The ABS works well, yes I've needed them once or twice. Unfortunately, I have to sell it due to the economy but I will buy another hopefully by next year.... If you're in the market for a bulletproof, smooth, powerful bike, the BMW is worth a serious look.
- John, Everett, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-29 2000 BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One of the many negative aspects is it's weight but also depending on your outlook. This may be heavy compared to japanese bikes but on a highway with a crosswind of 50 mph as your doing 70mph,I'll take all the weight it has and then some. Bikes have the tendency to change lanes all by themselves with very little weight.Not this one. A little countersteering and attention and you can fly.
- Robert Reyes, New York City, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-11 2000 BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When the owner of the BMW dealership (also my friend) told me the K1200RS was like sex on wheels I said Yea Yea save the salepitch because I am going to buy the bike anway. When I took it for a spin with my riding buddies I could'nt get that ear to ear grin off my face. He was right no b/s or sales pitch sex on wheels. It took me all of 10 minutes to get a feel for the bike. I also had my bags painted the same color as my bike. Great personal touch! Could use a stay in tune exhuast and a better seat but who's bitching. It just don't get any better than this.
- Texas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-28 2000 BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Today, September 27 my 2001 K1200RS turned over 10,000 miles. It is five weeks old. After owning it one week I rode it to Colorado to go over some mountain roads, instead of heading home I went to N.M and ran into a BMW rally and stayed a day and headed to California to visit a friend. On the way to Santa Cruz BMW I embarrassed a Triumph 955 Daytona by sitting on his fender up to 130 mph, I had 60 pounds of gear on the bike. He said he was surprised and impressed. I rode some 12-14 hour days back to back, I'm 50 years old. I put Bob's bar backs on (recommend highly) lowered pegs an 1" and have an Air Hawk seat pad. In California I put a Aeroflow windshield on and now call my bike a K1200RS RT. This is an unusual highly refined high speed cross-country sport tourer that is the most rideable bike I've ever owned. I didn't go to work today but did three states instead. Buy this bike to ride.
- Chris Heilman, Portland ,Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-23 2000 BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went to the Deli to get a soda and they were wheeling a Mandarin Yellow 2001 into the showroom. The salesman said they just hit the floors. I drove home with it that night and left my bike there with him. Originally I was steadfast on a Ducati 996. I know this bike is totally different, but it makes totally more sense for the road and it is just a delight to be on top of it. There's a feeling you get from this bike that's indescribable. So friggin' powerful, yet so completely refined. It just knows where you want to go somehow (which is anywhere, as soon as you take off). To ride one is to understand. I haven't gotten any work done all week. All I can do is ride this thing (I think my ass is callusing). I come home only because I need sleep, but not before I stare at it in my garage sipping a martini. Oh, I get it! This is what I worked so damn hard for!!! Well then, LIFE IS GOOD!!!!! (Definitely go for the more comfortable seat and less comfortable exhaust note. They only make the bike flawless)
- Dave, Deer Park, Long Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-14 2000 BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've got over 38,000 miles on my '98 K1200RS now. that's between February of 1998 and June of 2000. I ride every conceivable distance from a 3-mile commute to work, to epic 7,500 mile 20 day vacations. There is no other bike on the planet as versatile as this one! I've scared the snot out of squids on pure sport bikes through the twisties, and out lasted geezers on leadwings too. The bike has been as reliable as a Toyota, and draws as much attention as a Ferrari. The stock ergos are a challenge, but with the comfort bars - now standard - and a wood bead seat pad [50,000 Pakastani cabbies can't be wrong! I have ridden 818 miles in 12 hours, and done 1,000 miles in 15 hours, 46 minutes. Other mods include a Staintune Sport exhaust - because I like the sound of motorcycles more than sewing machines - and a Throttlemeister cruise control so that I can stretch on the longer stints. I do hope the next generation weighs significantly less, but other than the weight, no gripes.
- George Pepper, Washington, DC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-17 2000 BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There is no perfect motorcycle, of course. But this one has to rank in the top five. Others have commented on the smooth power delivery and comfort. I'll add only a couple of comments about the seat and gas mileage. As others have noted, the stock seat doesn't match the quality of the bike. The Corbin on mine is much better (imho), but be prepared to lose the adjustability of the stock seat and the relatively firm character of a Corbin. As for mileage, keep the revs down and the tire pressure up...I've found mileage as bad as 30mpg and as good as 36mpg.... Even the best is not great for a bike that could otherwise go for 300 miles without stopping.
- Steve Hendricks, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-14 2000 BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have, over 18 yrs of riding, ridden just about every bike there is... this one is my favorite. It does it all very, very well. In comfort. In Style. At speed. You can load this bike up and it will go. You can remove the detachable bags and play sportbike all day long, in comfort. This bike inspires so much rider confidence, your riding habits will likely improve as you pound on the miles. There are a few add ons for those needing or wanting a more relaxed position. For those who want a more sport position or exhaust tone, those add-ons are available as well. Either way, this is a bike you can ride all day, for days, and it doesn't even mind a sound thrashing while blasting past the squids through the twistys. I LOVE this bike!
- Shawn Greener, Wilmington, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-12 2000 BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
BMW got one thing right with the K1200RS: the motor. Wanna know what else? Check out: http://www.gunsmoke.com/scot/k1200rs.html 'Nuff said. Scot Marburger
- Scot Marburger, Dublin, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-12 2000 BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is silky smooth; no vibration to be felt at any rpm. It will cruise all day at speeds that will result in you going directly to jail without passing GO and without collecting $200. The tele-lever suspension makes riding even more comfortable, swallowing bumps and ignoring those annoying abnormalities in the pavement. The anti-dive feature of the front suspension takes a little while to get used to but after a while you'll wonder why other bikes still dive upon applying the brakes. The anti-lock brakes work as advertised but if you are a very good braker (practice, practice, practice) you probably won't like the added distance required to bring this bike to a stop. However, on sand or other grunge on the highway, you'll love the ABS. In my opinion there are only two things wrong with this bike. The seat is horrible for long distances and should be replaced. I've heard good things about BMW's Comfort Seat but I haven't tried it myself. The gas mileage is extremely low (high 30s) for a bike of this caliber. I think BMW should work on the fuel injection computer to come up with a few more mpgs.
- Jay Hansen, Santa Monica, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-01-05 2000 BMW K 1200 RS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2000 BMW K1200RS is the latest bike to grace my garage (when I'm not on it of course). I have been an exclusive sport bike rider until the K12's arrival. Having owned and professionally raced Yamaha FZR-600's and raced CBR-600's and owned two GSX-R1100's I am definitely accustomed to straightening the twisties. The BMW has allowed me to straigthen out the same twisties whilst retaining a level of comfort I've never before known. The riding position is certainly relaxed in comparison to a full sportbike but still has a sport feel. There is a full range of adjustability within the cockpit environ that the competition can't touch. Everything your body touches, and I do mean everything, is adjustable to allow a custom fit in every direction. This only furthers the level of comfort you experience. The engine fires immediately, even on the coldest of Northern California mornings where I reside. And we can't forget the optional heated grips which keep your fingers thawed. The fuel injected motor is smooth throughout the entire range with only the slightest bobble if you rapidly roll off and back on the throttle. The power begins from off idle and continues all the way to the 9,000 rpm redline without ever seeming to taper. The broad power band makes the old job of sawing gears a thing of the past regardless of what lies ahead. The brakes are exemplary, if not as precise as the sportbikes of the world. Afterall, this is a 600+ pound sport tourer!! The ABSII systems is a wonderful confidence booster when granny pasadena turns left in front of you unexpectedly. The touring capability of this bike is equally exemplary with the addition of the optional case system. Over fifty liters of stuff can be stowed and locked using the same key as the rest of the bike. And when you do finally pull off for the day, the cases are a breeze to remove and carry with you. The K12 is capable of humbling many sportbike wannabees and allowing you to do it all day long in comfort, let alone style. The K1200RS is worthy of holding the front position in your multi bike stable if you are fortunate enough and is this persons unanimous choice.
- Phil Challinor, Santa Rosa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: