BMW K 1200 RS Motorcycles Reviews (22)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW K 1200 RS Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW K 1200 RS Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-07-26 1999 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second KRS, the first was a 2000. I am a long time rider and have owned many from dirt bikes to cruisers to sport tourers. This bike has it all. It's sexy, fast and comfortable. When people ask me about it they are shocked when I tell them it's a 1999 model. It has a timeless look about it that is still sought after. BMW has built a magnificent machine that just continues to last. I ride it to work every day about 80 miles round trip. The newer K's are very nice but I tend to gravitate to the classic lines of the early K1200RS.
- Ken, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-23 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the wonder of a K1200RS with the GT options all installed. It was equipped for the comfort and performance of the New Zealand Police and is only one of two in this little gem of a country. The bike has 157 horses (normal is 147) and with the extra side fairings, electric screen, heated grips and such, it is a total dream to ride. When you throttle up to pass a car, it almost climbs over the thing before you get a chance to pull out and pass. And, (I'm 57) when the young dudes rip past you on their crotch rockets, it's a breeze just twisting the grip and flying past them to put them in their place. The torque is super and she pulls away with full grunt from about 2000 rpm. I had the same torque on my 1300, but this bike beats the 1300 hands down. The 1300 really does feel like riding an old man's machine now, and she hardly ever gets out on the road, poor thing. But when the BMW key is turned on she just sits their and purrs until I take her out. You've got to take a real ride. Get the K1200RS with the GT options and lift your sport touring to the limit.
- Mr. Pizzazz, Red Beach, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-29 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in May of 2002. The first year saw numerous long distance rides through the mid-west and New England. I also commuted regularly. This year I finished my first Saddle Sore and I enjoy this bike as much now as when it was new. Pros include rock-solid stability, cruise control for long mileage days, integrated luggage, heated grips, easy to adjust suspension, adjustable windscreen; seat; and footpegs, and overall reliability. The bike is heavy but in my opinion this just adds to the overall stability. Slow manuevering is not difficult but does take some practice. There is a slight delay (half second) in the ABS braking from the time you initiate the brake and braking occurs. I have not found this to be an issue and frankly, the ABS has saved my bacon a few times - the bike stops very quickly and without drama. Maintenence can be expensive - My service intervals have ranged from $120 - $500 the latter including tires. I have run a range of tires including Michelin Macadam, Bridgestones BT020 and Metzeler RoadTec Z6. The Michelins were very stable on long slabs and big sweepers, but were a bit of a work out in the twistys. The Bridgestones for me were the opposite - great handling in twistys but at the expense of stability on the highway/freeway. The Metzelers have been the best of both worlds - stability and fun when the curves hit. Power is what you would expect from a 1200cc bike, but there are faster bikes for sure but I've never felt I didn't have enough power for sport-touring which is what most of my riding consists of. The best way to sum up this bike after four years in the saddle is elegant. There are other bikes that have caught my eye, but this one will always be in my garage.
- Bruce, Castle Rock, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-05 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At age 43, I decided to get back into riding after being away for over 14 yrs. Yes, I know it's been a while. Let me just say you never forget how to ride, you just get rusty but it comes back very quickly, with me it did anyway!BMW K1200rs is not a whimpy bike & it let me know that right away upon test riding it at the dealership. It has raw power, comfort, style, pizzaz, incredible handling for its large & heavy size, basicly it kicks major butt! It's ready for you, the question you must ask yourself is - are you ready for it? Trust me, I've riden many bikes in the past and this one I'm keeping.
- THE SAVAGE, cortlandt manor, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-21 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was at the shop servicing my R1150GS and test drive a K 1200 RS. I sold my GS the next week and immediately purchased one. It is so much faster and smoother than anything I have ridden. No more watching my friends pull away in the straight away.
- Tom, Washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-30 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased the ice blue/red oct of 02, I was in for the 1150rt service - so to kill time I test drove the mighty k. The rest is all history, no more searching for the perfect bike-this is it, then naturally my wife had to have the k12gt we are totally pleased nothing is finer on 2 wheels.
- terry, boaz, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-31 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Used to own a 96 RT and had no want to get rid of it. I've owned crotch rockets. love the power, hate the power band. Fell in love with my RT from the first moment I rode it. That was until my local dealer sugested I ride the K1299RS. OH MY GOD!!! I've got to get me one of these. Smooth power, all day long comfort, and much better weather protection that the Jap bikes. Did I mention the side cases... I love this bike, and while it's not the best 2up sport touring ride out there, it's close enough for me. It's not about the destination. It's all about the ride.
- Re' Schlitt, Dover, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-14 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 50 years old and have owned numerous bikes,and this one is just incredible. When I got this bike I wasn't sure I would like it always had the bmw r series and now I am sold on the k1200 rs. No longer an airhead.
- terry davison, austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-07 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The ultimate. Sell everything you own to obtain one. Mines a 03. Black of course. Complaints ? BMW: Get rid of that ugly rear fender ! Make one a little sportier will you ? And lighten it up a little while your at it.
- The Best Rider, Randolph, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-08 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
that's what I keep telling my friends. This bike is so powerful and fun to ride I have a grin permanently plastered to my face when I riding it. Even with all this power the bike is incredibly stable and comfortable for longer rides. The fit and finish is second to none, everything works smooth as silk. There are only two complaints I have and they are the same ones I have read on most reviews. The darn thing is heavy and there is a little vibration at around 4000 rpm that quickly disappears at about 4500 rpm. The price is high too, but worth it. Beg borrow or steal, whatever you need to do but you got to get you one of these!
- Mike, Greensboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-27 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Test ride on 3/21 bought it 3/22 its sooo smooth still breaking it in wish it sounded a little better. Bought the blue and white looks good put 300 miles on it in 3 days. All I can say is Im a happy man.
- Mr Wright, Greensboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-04 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned about 20 Harley's in the past 12 years and have enjoyed each very much and still do. However, I just purchased a 1999 BMW K1200RS and I love it. It has sexy looks, it has awesome power especially over 5000 RPM's, and is fun to pilot (it's almost like flying). I now own the 2 best bikes made, a Harley Deuce and a BMW K1200RS.
- James Anderson, Appling, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-15 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in with my HONDA CB750. I went for a test ride and fell in love with it for the first time because of its effortless power and didnt take long to decide to buy it. Very smooth, handles well on curvy roads, exceptionally good break. Dislike is the engine heat. Maybe because of the weather I have here! Otherwise, go for it is my word for those who are looking to buy one! Setting up a website for now. http://myk12rs.tripod.com/ coming very soon. Only 400K so far. Not 400 thousands K<grin>
- Theticus, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-01 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had a cruiser for the past year and traded it in on the K1200RS a few weeks ago. I put about 200 miles on it the following weekend and loved every mile. Very comfortable, fast and nimble. It's a heavy bike, but so well balanced you'll never know it. I had the wife on the back and it was much easier to handle than my Yamaha cruiser. I'm still breaking in the engine, but I can tell it has lots of power and very smooth. The cruise control and hand warmers sold me. The only draw back I've had is no helmet locks for when you're off the bike.
- mheflin, Cape Coral, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-27 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike, and second BMW. I am so in love with this motorcycle. My only complaint: My hands ache after a ride, need to get bar backs. Used to sitting straight up and down on my RT. Otherwise... I would sell my house first!
- Steve, Seatte, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-17 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First things first; this bike is unbelievable. I owned a '99 BMW R1100RT and traded for that for a new 2002 1200 RS.I traded because I wanted more power and a sportier ride. I got all that, plus a very comfortable bike that makes riding all day effortless. The power is so smooth all you feel is the acceleration. And talk about balance! Anyone who says this bike is heavy doesn't have a clue about how BMW builds its motorcycles. Especially this one. I highly recommend that any true bike enthusiast own at least one in their lifetime. I have owned many bikes, Jap and European, but this one sets THE standard for sport-touring hands down.
- Rob, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-29 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With 1,000 miles on it, I did a Bun Burner 1000. The first six hundred miles of which were two lane roads, down the Washington and Oregon coasts on Highway 101 to Crescent City, CA and back north through the Redwoods. The last 400 miles were on Interstate 5. NO FATIGUE! Just ride it and point it. It goes where you tell it with more available power than most of us are capable of using. Stops unbelievably and in-between just eats up miles and miles of twisties while you try to stop grinning. Even in some 35-45 knot crosswinds from the ocean, at a very aggressive pace, I didn't feel a thing but a wonderful machine begging to be ridden. I'm in my mid 50's and after a lifetime of cruisers I wasn't sure how the bit more aggressive riding position would be. I can barely muster the enthusiasm to get back on my cruiser. It's on the market. I'll never go back.
- Matrices, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-06 2001 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had a one week loan of the a 2001 model K1200Rs from BMW NZ, for a magazine write up. I can gush about it here, more measured when it goes to print. Anyhow, it hauls blindingly, only those that have ridden Blackbirds, Hyabusas and ZX12R's could find it providing anything other than mindblowing power. When it is time to slow the power assisted linked brakes are simply miles better at it than me and make the thought of returning to non power assisted and independant wheel braking like visiting your Aunty Ethel - old boring and in need of more than eight pot callipers. There is no pitching and unsettling dive under brakes just enormous strength and remarkable composure. Better than the VFR800 system I'd venture. I've tried them both) Anyhow turn in is admittedly a little slower than a 'sportbike' but not by much there, leaving one to revel in the K1200RS's mid corner stability which other BMW models also provide. Thanks to the telelever front and well sorted paralever rear. No other bike I have ridden short of a Honda SP1 provides midcorner assurance like telelever Bimmers. THe big K12RS is also super comfortable and keeps you dry and warm. Did I mention the engine's power - simply glorious and mountainous start to finish. Best road bike in the world? may well be. Makes a VFR 800 feel aneamic, rough, and uncomfortable, to overstate it only slightly. Pricey no doubt but I really can't think of a better road bike. Whoops back to that engine again though the last comment - the long stroke in line four engine is a smooth staggeringly quick piece of engineering so if you can keep your licence for more than two or three months you are Mr Self Control.
- Scott Clebourn, Auckland, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-19 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Quite probably THE bike that sets the standard for sports touring machines. Could benefit from larger tank for longer range. The loss of 50 - 75 lbs would be nice. Also the removal of one cylinder to create a 900cc version in a short frame would fill a notable gap in the BMW product line.
- SK, Frederick, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-10 2002 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2002 K1200RS is my fifth bike in 40 years and my second BMW (I did take about 20 years off). Just had the 12000 mile service completed after 6 months of ownership. Use the bike primarily for commuting 60 miles per day and have done several 2-3 day trips logging between 300 - 400 miles/day. The bike is fantastic though the BMW dealer gets his share of $ for the maintenance schedule. Commute is perfect. The system cases hold all my stuff including soft briefcase. Low seat height makes city traffic easy. Heated grips and adjustable wind screen make it tolerable above 35 degrees. Traveling is very comfortable and accomidating. I prefer 2 lane back roads and passing a truck can put you in triple digits with a roll on from 60 mph in 6th gear quickly. On the interstate the cruise control does the work. Linked breakes on the handle with ABS really work well. At about 75 mph there is a slight buzz in the pegs thus I tend to do 80. The only problem with this bike is it likes to go fast with absolute stability. Even passing a truck doesn't move the bike. The wind hits your sholders, but the body and legs are protected. Commuting gas mileage is low 40's and open road is high 40's. Front tire replacement at 12000 miles. Rear will go to 15k. Put synthetic in the gear box and final drive for a smoother down shift. Will try synthetic oil in the engine at next oil change. This bike is so smooth it redefines motorcycling. It is the perfect all around bike for an old guy who is a little sporty, doesn't want a big boat, and wants to show off a little class.
- Dick, Powhatan, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-10 2001 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been away from riding for 7 or 8 years and finally decided to jump back in. After checking out just about everything on the market, and I mean everything; I decided to get all of them. Sprint ST's are great all'rounders, VFR's are nimble and refined, it's hard to beat the Bandit 1200S for value, the new FZ1 is a fun phenom, and there's more. But then I remembered something my grandpa said..."buy the best and you'll never regret it." Well, I listened and got all that I asked for in the K12: truly sporting, touring capable, highest resale, great durability, and dead sexy! 'Everything' and then some! Picked her up in San Fran and rode the California coast home over 4th of July weekend. (If you ride, the stretch of highway 1 from Carmel to San Simeon should be on your MUST DO list, and soon. It is amazing!!) The K12 with a rusty pilot, 2-up with tank bag and fully loaded hard bags caught and passed many uncomfortable sport bikes, got 40 mpg, and most importantly - didn't adversely effect my sex life in the slightest. Yes, you'd think it was priced by the pound, and, yes, it is a heavy bike, but it has more than enough muscle to overcome it. That being said: if you can convince yourself that there's a better bike, then you're probably just trying to justify the purchase of a lesser one. Good Luck! I couldn't do it. PS-the girlfriend is happy, too.
- G Kirk, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-20 2001 BMW K 1200 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the ultimate bike for high-speed interstate riding. I have never been on a bike so comfortable and composed at 120mph and it is surprisingly nimble once it's over five-mph. But at slow speeds watch out! don't try to pull a "Euro". Stop only with the wheel dead straight. The side panels cost $1500.00. Ergos are overall excellent except the foot pegs could be a little lower. Saddlebags will not fit full-face helmet.
- Mike, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: