Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW K 1200 RS reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

22 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ken

Phoenix, Arizona

Reviewed on 2011-07-26

Motorcycle reviewed1999 BMW K 1200 RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second KRS, the first was a 2000. I am a long time rider and have owned many from dirt bikes to cruisers to sport tourers. This bike has it all. It's sexy, fast and comfortable. When people ask me about it they are shocked when I tell them it's a 1999 model. It has a timeless look about it that is still sought after. BMW has built a magnificent machine that just continues to last. I ride it to work every day about 80 miles round trip. The newer K's are very nice but I tend to gravitate to the classic lines of the early K1200RS.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mr. Pizzazz

Red Beach, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Reviewed on 2009-03-23

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW K 1200 RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have the wonder of a K1200RS with the GT options all installed. It was equipped for the comfort and performance of the New Zealand Police and is only one of two in this little gem of a country. The bike has 157 horses (normal is 147) and with the extra side fairings, electric screen, heated grips and such, it is a total dream to ride. When you throttle up to pass a car, it almost climbs over the thing before you get a chance to pull out and pass. And, (I'm 57) when the young dudes rip past you on their crotch rockets, it's a breeze just twisting the grip and flying past them to put them in their place. The torque is super and she pulls away with full grunt from about 2000 rpm. I had the same torque on my 1300, but this bike beats the 1300 hands down. The 1300 really does feel like riding an old man's machine now, and she hardly ever gets out on the road, poor thing. But when the BMW key is turned on she just sits their and purrs until I take her out. You've got to take a real ride. Get the K1200RS with the GT options and lift your sport touring to the limit.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bruce

Castle Rock, Colorado

Reviewed on 2006-12-29

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW K 1200 RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike new in May of 2002. The first year saw numerous long distance rides through the mid-west and New England. I also commuted regularly. This year I finished my first Saddle Sore and I enjoy this bike as much now as when it was new. Pros include rock-solid stability, cruise control for long mileage days, integrated luggage, heated grips, easy to adjust suspension, adjustable windscreen; seat; and footpegs, and overall reliability. The bike is heavy but in my opinion this just adds to the overall stability. Slow manuevering is not difficult but does take some practice. There is a slight delay (half second) in the ABS braking from the time you initiate the brake and braking occurs. I have not found this to be an issue and frankly, the ABS has saved my bacon a few times - the bike stops very quickly and without drama. Maintenence can be expensive - My service intervals have ranged from $120 - $500 the latter including tires. I have run a range of tires including Michelin Macadam, Bridgestones BT020 and Metzeler RoadTec Z6. The Michelins were very stable on long slabs and big sweepers, but were a bit of a work out in the twistys. The Bridgestones for me were the opposite - great handling in twistys but at the expense of stability on the highway/freeway. The Metzelers have been the best of both worlds - stability and fun when the curves hit. Power is what you would expect from a 1200cc bike, but there are faster bikes for sure but I've never felt I didn't have enough power for sport-touring which is what most of my riding consists of. The best way to sum up this bike after four years in the saddle is elegant. There are other bikes that have caught my eye, but this one will always be in my garage.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

THE SAVAGE

cortlandt manor, New York

Reviewed on 2006-10-05

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW K 1200 RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
At age 43, I decided to get back into riding after being away for over 14 yrs. Yes, I know it's been a while. Let me just say you never forget how to ride, you just get rusty but it comes back very quickly, with me it did anyway!BMW K1200rs is not a whimpy bike & it let me know that right away upon test riding it at the dealership. It has raw power, comfort, style, pizzaz, incredible handling for its large & heavy size, basicly it kicks major butt! It's ready for you, the question you must ask yourself is - are you ready for it? Trust me, I've riden many bikes in the past and this one I'm keeping.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

Washington, District of Columbia

Reviewed on 2003-12-21

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW K 1200 RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was at the shop servicing my R1150GS and test drive a K 1200 RS. I sold my GS the next week and immediately purchased one. It is so much faster and smoother than anything I have ridden. No more watching my friends pull away in the straight away.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

terry

boaz, Alabama

Reviewed on 2003-11-30

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW K 1200 RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased the ice blue/red oct of 02, I was in for the 1150rt service - so to kill time I test drove the mighty k. The rest is all history, no more searching for the perfect bike-this is it, then naturally my wife had to have the k12gt we are totally pleased nothing is finer on 2 wheels.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Re' Schlitt

Dover, Delaware

Reviewed on 2003-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW K 1200 RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Used to own a 96 RT and had no want to get rid of it. I've owned crotch rockets. love the power, hate the power band. Fell in love with my RT from the first moment I rode it. That was until my local dealer sugested I ride the K1299RS. OH MY GOD!!! I've got to get me one of these. Smooth power, all day long comfort, and much better weather protection that the Jap bikes. Did I mention the side cases... I love this bike, and while it's not the best 2up sport touring ride out there, it's close enough for me. It's not about the destination. It's all about the ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

terry davison

austin, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW K 1200 RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am 50 years old and have owned numerous bikes,and this one is just incredible. When I got this bike I wasn't sure I would like it always had the bmw r series and now I am sold on the k1200 rs. No longer an airhead.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

The Best Rider

Randolph, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2003-06-07

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW K 1200 RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The ultimate. Sell everything you own to obtain one. Mines a 03. Black of course. Complaints ? BMW: Get rid of that ugly rear fender ! Make one a little sportier will you ? And lighten it up a little while your at it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Greensboro, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2003-04-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 BMW K 1200 RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
that's what I keep telling my friends. This bike is so powerful and fun to ride I have a grin permanently plastered to my face when I riding it. Even with all this power the bike is incredibly stable and comfortable for longer rides. The fit and finish is second to none, everything works smooth as silk. There are only two complaints I have and they are the same ones I have read on most reviews. The darn thing is heavy and there is a little vibration at around 4000 rpm that quickly disappears at about 4500 rpm. The price is high too, but worth it. Beg borrow or steal, whatever you need to do but you got to get you one of these!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 22 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: