BMW Motorcycles Reviews (733)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2018-10-13 2001 BMW R1100R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this motorcycle. It has 80 horse power. Sure wish they had put another gear in it. No need to be winding it up so much when just cruising. I'd been happy to downshift to pass.
- Paul Eckerson, Lincoln Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-09-20 2014 BMW R1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
George at Indian Motorcycle in Libertyville was very professional, easy to work with, and offered an excellent price! I will definitely be back at his dealership in the future!
- Dusty, Chicago

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-07-26 2017 BMW R Nine T Racer Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had BMW's in the past and this bike is a tad out of what I would call BMW normal. We refer to it as a Vintage Sport Bike. As I have a long distance bike this is just for Sunday mornings and is pretty much what I was looking for.
- Rich Daniels, N. CA.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-06-14 2018 BMW GTL 1600 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2018 BMW GTL 1600 and I am in love with motorcycles once again. I have many problems with my back (whole back), neck (herniated disks), and shoulders (surgeries on both), and I rode this bike for 8 our the a few days after I bought it from Texas to Mississippi, and other than being tired of riding or being on the road, I had no problems with any of my physical or health conditions due to riding a motorcycle. This bike should not be classified as any regular cruiser or touring bike; it has a 1600+cc engine with 0ver 155hp and more than 120 pounds of torque. I rode it for 8 hours with my wife on the back seat, and if I didn't already knew she was there, I would've not notice. Lots of people get scared of all the technology it has, but I think about it as the best luxury motorcycle ever built today. I had dirt, sport, sport touring, and cruiser bikes, and this one outperforms all of them. My wife and I love it. Next: Tail of the Dragon...
- Amilcar (Mickey), Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-06-05 2017 BMW F800GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Rides well. Lots of plastic. I have 3 airheads so this is a different beast. Negative: Worst seat I have ever been on. I am waiting for Panniers so I strapped a bag to the rear. When it fell off ( That's on me) I ripped to rear fender and license plate off.I am not sure what this means, but would not have happened on a metal airhead. Bike is pretty high. I have 29" inseam and am on balls of feet bilaterally. When I bought new seat (for a brand new bike) I got a low one. Bike should also settle a bit. With 400 miles on it, take this review with a grain of salt. Ask me in a year. Still not sorry I did it.
- Timothy DuBon, Jeffersonville

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-12-22 2003 BMW R1150R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The BMW R1150R is a marvel of handling, quickness, and power. All of the reviews I read did the bike no justice at all. The bike I found using Cycle Trader is in excellent condition and delivers great bang for the buck. There were only 13 to 15 bikes of this model listed nationwide at any given time. The R1150R I found was within 100 miles of me and was about midrange in price. The Bike is fantastic, the dealership, not so much, but that is another story. Like all BM's, you think turn and the bike is halfway through. When I twist the throttle the bike not only moves, it jumps. The reviews said it would not win any races and was a bit heavy. Bull*&@3. This bike is definitely fast and light weight. The exhaust note, while not a Harley, has a bark and the tail pipe is stainless steel. The last BM I had back in '78, had a problem with rusty pipes. Hopefully, gone are those days. After reading everything I could on the R1150R, I am very, very surprised at the overall speed and agility.
- Bernie Camp, Central Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-11-19 2007 BMW K1200R Sport Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
"The "Rocky Balboa Bike" of Sport Street Fighters's go the distance" Last Bike 2009 Yamaha FJR was a great bike but... Rider for over 45 years and was looking for a "Bucket List" Bad Ass that had it all! Power, Extraordinary Handling with Touring Comfort Capabilities. Finding a "The Diamond" for sale at a Highly Reputable Yamaha/Honda ATV/Boat/ Motorcycle was aided by Cycle Trader.com 's search/notification App. 2005-2007 BMW Sport Bike's 1200 Inline 4cyl 13:1 Compression , German Engineering and research was a natural attraction. These are Real Machines for Motorcycle Enthusiast who dedicate time to strict maintenance! Not recommended for the casual owner. High Compression, High Horsepower, High Heat make it imperative you to maintain and be vigilant. The prior owner came up short. Traded in @ a Jap Bike Dealer fortunate for me. West Oakland had a Tiger by the tail with the cooling system but came through in the end result.
- Ron Baker, Vero Beach FL

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-09-30 2007 BMW F800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike had a complete failure of the fuel pump just after I bought it. It was expensive to replace. I use this bike 95% of the time for commuting and then 80 mile round trips for pleasure. It gets 55 mpg average and over 60 mpg on the freeway. After owning it for 7 years, I'm upgrading to a Honda touring CTX 1300.
- Dave, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-08-13 2003 BMW K1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Cons: very top heavy and tricky to handle in tight quarters, difficult to maintain because of all the "tupperware". Pros: very smooth bike, extremely comfortable for long distance rides, can take a lot of hard riding and not even breathe hard love my K1200LT
- Les, Fort Lauderdale

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-08-10 2003 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Cons: heavy heavy bike would not recommend for a new rider, repairs and maintenance are not exactly user friendly, top heavy difficult to handle in tight and close quarters. Pros: extremely smooth motorcycle, meant for hundreds of miles a day with no problems, the weight seems to disappear when at speed, "drive it like you stole it"!
- Les, South Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-07-24 2017 BMW R 9 T Racer Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
1st, Ergonomically, not a bike for everyone. For me (my riding style, riding history, riding enjoyment) it's exactly what I wanted. The specs are deceiving, the internet reviews are also deceiving. With proper riding technique (and the ergos help you get closer to riding this type bike properly) it can be hustled thru any twisty road with confidence and right there with other high performing bikes. Straight line speed will not be it's forte.
- Charles, Southern USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-05-29 2017 BMW K1600 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike with many features. It's a bit top heavy but very manageable.
- Joe, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-10-31 2012 BMW F800st Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. 4 years later and 25,000 miles I can honestly say that this ride is reliable, smooth and quick. I truly feel I got my monies worth. Do I wish the front end had firmer suspension? yes. other wise I fel I got what was promised. A short to medium range sport tourer with torque and great looks.
- Carmine Minardi, NY/NJ

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-09-07 2015 BMW G650GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good all around blke very easy to ride great on gas .
- RICK HALL, San Luis Obispo Ca.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-07-12 2016 BMW r1200RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The electronic package is way beyond anything I have experienced. Suspension is first rate, and engine character and performance can be adjusted while riding the bike.The shift assist is fantastic also, once you are rolling from second on the bike may be shifted without the clutch. The one problem is that the fuel tank is to small for a large sport touring bike. The bike gets between 35 and 50 mpg. depending on the engine settings and riding style, but when the fuel light comes on at 120 mi from a full tank this is a problem. 140 or 150 mi range before the fuel light comes on is more typical, but still on a touring bike this forces the rider to stop way to frequently for fuel and is problematic when planning routes.
- Anonymous, Southern California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-06-17 2005 BMW K1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding over 50 yrs. Best touring machine I have ever ridden. Rider/Passenger comfort @ the best it could be. Low maintenance. High relability
- Doug, Oscoda, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-06 2015 BMW G650GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike to commute to and from work only. I wanted something small, maneuverable and got good mileage. It's been working great. It's small profile makes it great for splitting lanes (my primary riding). I've been averaging 65 mpg which is an added bonus. I gave it a 4 on reliability because I need to let it warm up at least 60 seconds before riding or it stalls at every stop. Since I've learned this, it hasn't happened again, but it did happen to me 3x.
- Anonymous, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-05 2003 BMW K1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
CONS: If considering a 1200LT you must have a minimum inseam of 32 inches. The Front seat is limited in its height adjustments and only go up from there. BMW does make a low profile seat that might get you an extra 1-1.5 inches but for an extra $300. If you ride 2-up; You might want to consider the passenger weight... Pref less than 175lbs. as they sit higher than you and the center of balance is high. You have to get rolling to a min of @ 7mph before the handling feels comfortable. Also, alot of parts to remove for services. PROS: Agile pleasure once rolling! All issues so far have been minor and inexpensive to repair for competent handy-person. (Owned from 25kmi-34kmi.-today) MODS: Added a battery disconnect. for winter/extended storage.
- Anonymous, NC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-01 2014 BMW R1200GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I decided to hand in super sport and give adventure touring a try. So far it is pretty comfortable and smooth. At higher speeds (85mph+) it can feel pretty unstable. A couple days after picking it up out of the show room and a proper break in my wife an I did a 1200 mile trip quite please with the comfort and ride ability of the machine. My only complaint is the luggage racks/engine protection bars don't seem to be treated with any anti corrosion. I would expect premium everything with the price tag they have on them. within 2 months of getting it out of the show room I have noticed corrosion occurring where the racks mount to the bike. I keep/maintain my machine as if they were my kids so seeing that happen is a bit much. Over all on point and a great buy. would be better if the bike didn't seem like it was ready to be reclaimed by mother earth though.
- Anonymous, US

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-11-08 2013 BMW F 700 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got one a week plus ago and did my first 150 miles with it. This bike is so smooth you feel like you can just keep going. On the expressway, even keeping a low rev (below 5,000) you still move at way around 70 miles and you still have plenty of power to come. The torque is very good as you can nearly slow down to nearly stop in 3rd and just go again. The ABS - that is great. The sitting position on the comfort seat that I have is superb. I have to say I am very happy to have traded in my G650 for this one - totally different league. I tried the F800 but it is a bit too big / height for what I like and the engine of the 700 is basically the same as the 800.
- J-P D, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-11-08 2013 BMW R 1200 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2013 R1200R back in August. It's my first BMW. I've always liked the boxer motor. The bike is the new "montego" blue color and came with every available electronic accessory made for this bike - many of which I've never had before on any bike. This 1200cc boxer engine is very deceptive in that it has abundant power delivered evenly across the rev range. Contrary to popular opinion, it is as smooth as any bike I've owned once underway. There is a little (character) vibration at idle. The integrated brakes may be the best I've ever experienced only rivaled by an '01 Speed Triple I once owned. The paralever suspension really dampens front end dive under braking. It doesn't completely eliminate it but comes pretty close. You have to experience the balance under braking to believe it. Comfort for me is excellent. I almost sit completely upright on her. The seat may be the best stock seat I've ever sat on. My rides (when I get to ride) average 150 miles with no real fatigue. With all my aches and pains, I consider that a monumental achievement on the part of BMW. I'll post again as the miles and time pile up. This bike is highly recommended.
- Bill, pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-11-05 2009 BMW G 650 Xcountry Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is little as it is compact and light weight ideal for the smaller rider and great for commuter / day trips. I've had this bike for over four years and looked after it and it never let me down. I did some day trips (300 miles) on it and no issue all along. It is very fuel efficient (93 super premium). It is very confortable as the sitting position is not killing your back and the padded seat is nice as well. Now if you are looking to do long trips I know a few persons who did so with the same bike as the 650 engine is very strong and used across a few models in the BMW line. The look of the bike is nice. It has that "scrambler" design. This is BMW quality after all.
- J-P D, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-02-06 2013 BMW F 800 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning several of the larger BMW GS twins I have to say that dollar for dollar, this bike is superior. The pluses are an incredible do it all engine, nine inches of suspension travel, great handling, rugged side cases, lighter weight, BMW quality at a much lower price and a machine that gives up little compared to the bigger GS. The only gripe I have is that the wind protection is fair but not good. Offroad, this bike will ride circles around the other big adventure bikes and will put a huge grin on your face.
- Kirk, Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-10-10 2012 BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden them all, Triumph, Honda, Yamaha and a few Harley's. This is my first BMW. I'm loving the R1200 GSA. I tested the GS800, very nice and fast, but I kept thinking that would not be long, I would wish that I bought it bigger (knowing self...) This bike is a little intimidating. It is tall and heavy, but when moving, even at 5 mph., it is a cat. It rides great, feels nimble and you can go everywhere with it. This is the first motorcycle that I have owned that I could do off road. I love the fact that I have been riding in the middle of nowhere, exploring roads that I would never go on a Harley, and just have so much fun with it. It is so much more than just a bike to commute, go out at night, or traveling. This is a bike that you can go off road and go highway 80 mph. and does great either way. It is very ergonomic and has a fantastic sitting position. Your back will not hurt, plus it is one of the few bikes out there, that you can stand straight up, riding full standing at 45 mph., rest your back and legs, then sit and continue on. It's just amazing. I would buy a GSA, or Triumph Tiger 1200, or Super Tenere. All of these are fantastic bikes, but BMW is the only one with an awesome club and support from dealer and other riders. Plus it is the coolest, most expensive and has as much poise out there as riding a "Harley". Cheers.
- David, Nasvhille, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-22 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2000 R1100RT with 84k miles on the clock in July. I was not sure about changing from a cruiser to a sport touring bike. All summer long, when I went to the barn, I kept grabbing the RT. I put over 6k miles on this bike over the past three months, including a canyon carving expedition into the Smokies in August. It's easy to ride, comfortable and quick. Just trying to figure out why I waited so long to trade in my cruiser for a sport touring bike.
- Andy, Chagrin Falls , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: