BMW Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (746)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Arthur Bliss from San Antonio, Texas says:

I have owned nearly a dozen bikes during the last 50 years plus. I have wanted a K1200LT since they came out but could never justify such luxury. I am

Read More (746 reviews)

Have you owned a BMW Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2009 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned nearly a dozen bikes during the last 50 years plus. I have wanted a K1200LT since they came out but could never justify such luxury. I am so sorry I waited. I bought a 1999 with 7,403 miles on it last year from a guy just like me. There is nothing about it that I don't like. It has performed flawlessly and I find myself making excuses to ride it every day. The K1200LT is one of those machines that you can park but you have to look back at it when you are walking away. I really like the way that bike makes me feel. That is surprising at my age. Just don't wait.
- Arthur Bliss, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-08-09 2015 BMW R1200 RT Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I actually own a 2006 R 1200 RT and love the platform. I test drove this bike and it is super clean - very quick and smooth… Excellent handling and being offered at a great price. I’m used to a lighter colored bike and that’s what I am going after - however this would also make a great choice.
- Robert, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-07-23 2006 BMW K1200 LT Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this 2006 K1200LT with only 31000kms on it. Compared to my 2001 K1200 LT it has much more torque and feels way smoother at all RPM’s. Steering also feels more accurate and intuitive as a result of some changes BMW made to the geometry. Much more modern and useful display as well. Seat comfort is also markedly improved. The electric centre stand works perfectly, and is a welcome addition. Stereo sound is basically the same as my 2001. Hand grips are more comfy than the heavy rubber grips my 2001 had. Also, throttle effort much less than my 2001 making blipping the throttle for downshifting easier. I feel the fit and finish on the 2006 somehow improved, although my 2001 was also great. In short. I would always go for a later LT as opposed to the first generation now that I’ve owned both and can compare. Basically, BMW appears to have given the LT much more power and also improved numerous areas. On another note. I run radials on the LT( Dunlop Road Smart three’s ). Basically the same weight rating as the Metzler Marathon 888 bias ply, but way better handling and comfort (Less choppy). The LT’s chassis deserves radials,they will transform the LT. In short I love the bike. All my other bikes are dedicated sport bikes, so it’s nice to have a great handling touring bike in the garage . Passenger seat awesome as well. The wife loves it. A real class act too. I get compliments all the time.
- Franceso, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-07-14 2013 BMW HP4 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This one is scam Stay away from it I was trying to reach that person for several days and then he finally picks up the phone on me doesn’t know anything about the motorcycle doesn’t have any clue what kind of motorcycle it is and the list goes on and on and on the end of it was he was saying the owner of the motorcycle Is overseas
- Dan, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-07-06 2016 BMW S1000XR Sport Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Amazing bike, high-performance ride with awesome exhaust notes from the stock pipe! Ride position is better than most motorcycles with the same class, the best feature is definitely the quick-shift and the BMW Navigator with left hand grip command, so simple and easy to use! Must upgrade the windscreen and seat to make the perfect long rides enjoyable! Extremely good looking with nice touch of sportiness-sophisticated appearance! Must have sport touring ultimate driving machine!
- Rick, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-05-09 2000 BMW K1200LT Touring View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really enjoyed my LT but maintenance and any kind of work want to repair is both expensive and difficult usually to access and do. I buy another one but I'd buy it only if it was a bargain.. shocks stereo lighting are all weak points. Still nicer than a goldwing..
- Paul Cooley, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-03-04 1998 BMW R1200C Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've never owned a bike this comfortable. My one-hour rides became all-day adventures. She's a little underpowered at high speeds, but perfectly balanced. I liked the power and torque curve. It was a joy to ride until the rear seals gave out. A new clutch and seals cost as much as the bike is worth, unless you find a mechanic who knows how to do it and doesn't rake you. repair costs vary wildly from garage to garage. That's the downside.
- Dan, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-11-02 2005 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode it 300 miles the first day on I75 and the performance was outstanding! Torque at 70 mph was excellent and stability on the Highway was comparable to my 2019 Roadglide. Handling and maneuvering is 4 and at 610 pounds this 71 yo could do most things right away. My tight turning radius was reduced by 4 feet. I have now ridden the Suchs loop and Natchez Trace and it is very strong in curves. You must have the Nav 6. A local upholstery guy raised the drivers seat 1-2 inches. Negatives: wife hates the ride, Bluetooth barely works
- Jim, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-10-13 2004 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 6'1", 54yrs having owned ZZR1100, Blackbird, GSXr1100, VFR800, FJ1200 to mention but a few. I bought this BMW with 23kkm on the odo. I've managed to find very good you tube directions to do complete service on her. May I add that I'm not a mechanically minded rider but servicing this bike is a labour of love, quite therapeutic might I add. ito riding...She is heavy regardless! I do not believe this bike commutes well but she is an open road intercontinental joy. I've found many scary stories on the net about the ABS II and yes, I believe that its costly to repair. BMW however do warn that complying with regular servicing with circuit bleeding is a prerequisite. I have to say that this bike is one that you could virtually do most of the work on yourself...the only part that has a dark cloud hang over it is the seal in the clutch. I dread that day as its a major job. On idle, expect to hear that dry clutch sound like a 'thousand tambourines' but its apparently normal. Engine performance: Loads of usable torque makes for a very rewarding ride. Perfectly ratio'd gearing simply makes for great touring. She's not going to scare you performance-wise but these days I'm beyond that. I'm not quite sure what the Bavarian designers were thinking though with the tanksize. Fuel range is below par.... I get about 15-17km/litre which should give me over 300kkm per fillup but the fuelgauge is not linear and things get a little scary as she drops toward 1/4 full. I've subsequently learnt that on a long tour you need to plan re-fuels well but this is a very poor and obvious weakness by designers. The price of spare parts is reasonable but the actual cost of BMW agent servicing is simply shocking...learn to look after as much as possible yourself, its completely do-able and you'll have years of a high quality machine serve you well.
- Andre Strydom, Yukon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-03 2000 BMW F650 STRADA Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It sounds like a tractor and it drives like one. Engine is struggeling under 3000 rpm and above it, the vibrations are so severe that you will think twice about driving above 60 miles per hour for extended periods of time. The Rotax engine is the worst engine I have ever driven. Good for your lawnmower but that,s it. And, in my opinion, not worthy of the BMW badge.Pro,s: it is reliable, cheap to maintain, and easy to handle.
- Roger, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-24 2008 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had 2 F800ST motorcycles a 2009 that I put 27k miles on, and a 2012 that I have put about the same miles on. These are great bikes. You can (and will) ride them all day long. Gas mileage is 60+ MPG on a trip as long as you don't go crazy with your right hand. The eat up the twisties, and do well on the highway too (with the right windscreen). Shifting up and down is smooth, throttle/power delivery is predictable and linear, Vibration isn't even noticeable with grip puppies on. Speaking of grips, the standard heated grips are a joy in the Northeast. I also love the low-maintenance belt drive. No chain lube or gear oil changes! And when I had to replace the new belt, I got one online and changed it myself, quick and easy. Mods: As an older rider, I didn't like the lean forward position, so I added bar risers and lowering kits on both bikes. The progressive springs front and back make a world of difference in handling.
- John Carpino, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-05 2019 BMW F850GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this bike so far only had it fo a month Haven’t been able to ride it much yet due to our rain and wind here in Seattle. I will have a bette review at a later time I can’t wait to get on the road I think bmw is tops!!
- Shawn James, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-23 2013 BMW HP4 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From the add to speaking with owner,looking at the bike, and all the history, I felt comfortable with my decision to purchase the 2013 BMW HP4. I was all set to purchase a brand new 2020 BMW S1000RR, until I just happened to see the HP4 for sale. Best purchase I have made. Otherwise I know I will never find an HP4 as clean or as well taken care of than the one I bought!
- Gregory Tiratira , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-10-15 2018 BMW S1000RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
BEEN RIDING SPORT BIKE FOR OVER 25 YEARS AND HAVE NEVER HAD A BIKE QUITE LIKE THE RR. I AM ON MY SECOND RR AND WAITING FOR THE 2020 TO BE READILY AVAILABLE. BEST WARRANTY IN THE BUSINESS ALSO. SO IF YOU DO HAVE AN ISSUE YOU CAN REST EASY, BMW HAS YOU COVERED. BEST IN EVERY WAY!!
- TOM, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-10-13 2001 BMW R1100R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this motorcycle. It has 80 horse power. Sure wish they had put another gear in it. No need to be winding it up so much when just cruising. I'd been happy to downshift to pass.
- Paul Eckerson, Lincoln Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-09-20 2014 BMW R1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
George at Indian Motorcycle in Libertyville was very professional, easy to work with, and offered an excellent price! I will definitely be back at his dealership in the future!
- Dusty, Chicago

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-07-26 2017 BMW R Nine T Racer Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had BMW's in the past and this bike is a tad out of what I would call BMW normal. We refer to it as a Vintage Sport Bike. As I have a long distance bike this is just for Sunday mornings and is pretty much what I was looking for.
- Rich Daniels, N. CA.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-06-14 2018 BMW GTL 1600 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2018 BMW GTL 1600 and I am in love with motorcycles once again. I have many problems with my back (whole back), neck (herniated disks), and shoulders (surgeries on both), and I rode this bike for 8 our the a few days after I bought it from Texas to Mississippi, and other than being tired of riding or being on the road, I had no problems with any of my physical or health conditions due to riding a motorcycle. This bike should not be classified as any regular cruiser or touring bike; it has a 1600+cc engine with 0ver 155hp and more than 120 pounds of torque. I rode it for 8 hours with my wife on the back seat, and if I didn't already knew she was there, I would've not notice. Lots of people get scared of all the technology it has, but I think about it as the best luxury motorcycle ever built today. I had dirt, sport, sport touring, and cruiser bikes, and this one outperforms all of them. My wife and I love it. Next: Tail of the Dragon...
- Amilcar (Mickey), Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-06-05 2017 BMW F800GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Rides well. Lots of plastic. I have 3 airheads so this is a different beast. Negative: Worst seat I have ever been on. I am waiting for Panniers so I strapped a bag to the rear. When it fell off ( That's on me) I ripped to rear fender and license plate off.I am not sure what this means, but would not have happened on a metal airhead. Bike is pretty high. I have 29" inseam and am on balls of feet bilaterally. When I bought new seat (for a brand new bike) I got a low one. Bike should also settle a bit. With 400 miles on it, take this review with a grain of salt. Ask me in a year. Still not sorry I did it.
- Timothy DuBon, Jeffersonville

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-12-22 2003 BMW R1150R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The BMW R1150R is a marvel of handling, quickness, and power. All of the reviews I read did the bike no justice at all. The bike I found using Cycle Trader is in excellent condition and delivers great bang for the buck. There were only 13 to 15 bikes of this model listed nationwide at any given time. The R1150R I found was within 100 miles of me and was about midrange in price. The Bike is fantastic, the dealership, not so much, but that is another story. Like all BM's, you think turn and the bike is halfway through. When I twist the throttle the bike not only moves, it jumps. The reviews said it would not win any races and was a bit heavy. Bull*&@3. This bike is definitely fast and light weight. The exhaust note, while not a Harley, has a bark and the tail pipe is stainless steel. The last BM I had back in '78, had a problem with rusty pipes. Hopefully, gone are those days. After reading everything I could on the R1150R, I am very, very surprised at the overall speed and agility.
- Bernie Camp, Central Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-11-19 2007 BMW K1200R Sport Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
"The "Rocky Balboa Bike" of Sport Street Fighters's go the distance" Last Bike 2009 Yamaha FJR was a great bike but... Rider for over 45 years and was looking for a "Bucket List" Bad Ass that had it all! Power, Extraordinary Handling with Touring Comfort Capabilities. Finding a "The Diamond" for sale at a Highly Reputable Yamaha/Honda ATV/Boat/ Motorcycle was aided by Cycle Trader.com 's search/notification App. 2005-2007 BMW Sport Bike's 1200 Inline 4cyl 13:1 Compression , German Engineering and research was a natural attraction. These are Real Machines for Motorcycle Enthusiast who dedicate time to strict maintenance! Not recommended for the casual owner. High Compression, High Horsepower, High Heat make it imperative you to maintain and be vigilant. The prior owner came up short. Traded in @ a Jap Bike Dealer fortunate for me. West Oakland had a Tiger by the tail with the cooling system but came through in the end result.
- Ron Baker, Vero Beach FL

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-09-30 2007 BMW F800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike had a complete failure of the fuel pump just after I bought it. It was expensive to replace. I use this bike 95% of the time for commuting and then 80 mile round trips for pleasure. It gets 55 mpg average and over 60 mpg on the freeway. After owning it for 7 years, I'm upgrading to a Honda touring CTX 1300.
- Dave, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-08-13 2003 BMW K1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Cons: very top heavy and tricky to handle in tight quarters, difficult to maintain because of all the "tupperware". Pros: very smooth bike, extremely comfortable for long distance rides, can take a lot of hard riding and not even breathe hard love my K1200LT
- Les, Fort Lauderdale

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-08-10 2003 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Cons: heavy heavy bike would not recommend for a new rider, repairs and maintenance are not exactly user friendly, top heavy difficult to handle in tight and close quarters. Pros: extremely smooth motorcycle, meant for hundreds of miles a day with no problems, the weight seems to disappear when at speed, "drive it like you stole it"!
- Les, South Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-07-24 2017 BMW R 9 T Racer Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
1st, Ergonomically, not a bike for everyone. For me (my riding style, riding history, riding enjoyment) it's exactly what I wanted. The specs are deceiving, the internet reviews are also deceiving. With proper riding technique (and the ergos help you get closer to riding this type bike properly) it can be hustled thru any twisty road with confidence and right there with other high performing bikes. Straight line speed will not be it's forte.
- Charles, Southern USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: