BMW R 1100 R - ABS Motorcycles Reviews (25)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW R 1100 R - ABS Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW R 1100 R - ABS Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-02-01 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this in April 2008 with 18,000 on it, as a 40 mile each way commuter, and with the Corbin seat and BMW bags already on it. I love it right from the start. It has massive torque, gobs of acceleration and is fast enough for me (I haven't had it flat out, but I've had an indicated 120 mph out of it without trying hard). I found it a little too buzzy for comfort around 4500 rpm. The Manic Salamander bar end weights (18.5 ounces instead of the stock 9.5 ounces) completely cured that. I found it very windy over 70 mph; Parabellum windshield, adjusted as high as it can go cured that. My other add-ons were for personal preference, not necessity. The bike is as reliable as a stone, comfortable all day, a joy to drive and magic through the twisties. At first I felt like I wasn't getting much feedback from the front suspension, then I realized it just was not having any problems, so there was nothing for it to tell me. It just goes around bends on any surface at any speed I've asked of it without fuss.
- Brian Henderson, White House, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-07 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the R1100R about two years ago. (My other 'ride' is a '71 BSA B50.) The BMW is, by far, the nicest bike that I have ever ridden or owned. I tend to service the bike myself since I'm basically a cheapskate and because the bike is fairly easy to service. Other than a minor surging problem (that was taken care of by the previous owner through the installation of a custom 'chip')changing the fluids is simple enough. I noticed a squeak in the rear brake at the end of a 280 mile run this past weekend. Today I pulled the rear caliper and found that I need a set of pads. So, I got shade more than 13,000 miles on the rears. The fronts still look like new. I've also installed Speed Bleeders on the bike and they really help when the annual 'bleeding' comes up. Otherwise, the braking is superb. At 240 LBS and 6ft 3in I'm a pretty big character. When I add my much smaller wife to the equation along with full hardcases we're quite a package. Even so, the bike has absolutely no problem with us. When I'm alone very few other bikes can touch me. (I've got a friend who's a veteran MX'r. He tells me that he figures that every LB costs you 7 HP. The way the BMW pulls, I figure that I could weigh as much as a small cow and it wouldn't even protest!) Now and then an arrogant Harley guy sort of looks down his nose at the BMW. Harley isn't half the bike. (I can hear myself think on the BMW - the Harley guy can't.) The bike consistently gives me 40 - 45 mpg. It handles precisely at any speed. My only 'gripe' is the distance from the seat to the footpegs - I could use another couple of inches. Last year I installed a peg 'lowering' kit and it helped but if I could raise the seat height a bit beyond it's 'high' position it'd be better. (I've got a sciatic problem and I find that I've got to get off of the bike periodically in order to stretch out.) All-in-all the R1100R is an absolutely superb machine. I'd recommend it happily to all!
- Mark Keyser, New Milford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-12 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was pleased with the comfort, the ride and the chuckability, but as most of my riding is in town I eventually found that I couldn't put up with the hunting, which got worse with the first service. Also the steering damper, in sudden low-speed darting manoeuvres, feels like a brick wall. Then I started noticing that the hunting was exacerbated by a choppiness in the ride. Then the handling deteriorated as the back tyre wore and surprised me by not improving with new tyres front and rear. I had an R90S for about twelve years and couldn't get the handling right. BMW's suit some people, obviously, but not me. I decided 18 months was long enough for this one. So I sold it. The new owner is happy with it, even though I told him what I thought of it. I'm happy with my Raptor 1000.
- Roger, Bristol, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-21 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second motorcycle for my adult years and I absolutely love it. I use it for commuting and an excuse for canyon runs on a long lunch break. Weekend rides up to 300 miles are reasonable as well. Everything I ask the bike to do, it does well. Surpisingly quick in the twisties considering the width of the boxer engine. Torque is very even throughout the rev range making the bike easy to handle out of a turn no matter which gear you choose. This is a classic looking bike with the finish only a German bike could have. It gets a lot of comments from the mono swing arm with built in shaft drive to the telelever front suspension and oil coolers. This is a very unique bike. Although not as smooth as my 1984 Honda Nighthawk (also a shaft drive), the even power throughout the RPM range coupled with fuel injection are worth the trade. I am looking forward to putting a few hundred thousand miles on this bike over the next decade or two.
- Richard Colwell, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-27 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, everthing I thought it would be. Can't wait to put some miles on it.See ya at the 2001 BMWRA rally in N.C.
- Woody, Winter Garden, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-08 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't say enough good things about this bike. Handling and comfort is superb. This bike will do it all, short trips, weekenders and cross-country. The headlight is terrific, really luminates the road. I do get a high frequency vibration above 70 MPH or 4300 RPM. Is there anyone out there experiencing the same issue? If so, please send me an E-mail. Is this inherent to the bike? Does it smooth out after so many miles?, etc.
- Cliff Hoch, Levittown, PA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-19 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great. Handling and comfort is superb. Excellent all around bike. I have only one complaint. I get a high frequency vibration at 4300 RPM's or 75 MPH. Had it back to the dealer several times and some vibration has been eliminated. I would like to hear from other owners to see if they have the same issue. Otherwise this is the best bike I've ever riden!!!
- C. Hoch, Levittown, PA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-06 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased my r1100r. Up unitl eight weeks ago I never before rode a motorcycle. At first I must admit the bike intimidated me, however after a couple of weeks our relationship blossomed! Unlike you guys across the pond, Ireland's roads are peppered with mini grand canyons. The r1100r feels very sure even on the most challanging surface. Even if you've never ridden before I highly recommend this super machine. I hope to take my bike to the North West 200 in May. Anyone care to join me?
- Jack Byrne, Dublin, Ireland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-07 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike that I have ever owned. In fact my only motorcycle experience comes from the MSF course that I took a year before I bought my machine. This bike was/ is so gentle to a novice like myself that it is almost unbelievable. Yet I can get it up to 100 mph if needed and get down and dirty on the back roads. I am still a novice and very much so but this bike makes me confident and comfortable in just about every situation. The bike is more reliable than my car and since I have had it, I have only had minor adjustments done to it. My only real regrets are: 1) I never owned a bike of lesser quality and therefore I have no idea what great bike I have; 2) the BMW add-ons are so expensive and 3) I can't ride year 'round because of the weather. What more can I say? This thing is sweeeeet!!! I highly recommend this bike to any and all people of all experience levels and ages who are serious about riding. Feel free to email me for more comments.
- Mike Ellis, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike new in Feb of 2000 and now have 12k miles. For the first 10k miles I hated it. Thought about trading it in or selling it. The surging and the rough ride was getting the best of me. What turned it around for me was all the miles needed to break it in and the work of a good mechanic. At the 12k point I had the service by a mechanic that owned one himself. What a difference. I am not sure what he did but am sure glad he did it. The surging is all but gone. Heck, it doesn't even backfire anymore. I love it.
- Biker, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've only got 500 miles on my 2000 R1100R and although I can see where the boxer can be an acquired taste, I'm in love. As a do-it-all bike, I can't think of anything on the market that even comes close to matching the Beemer's handling, power, comfort and quality. Sure, the turn signals are weird and the bike vibrates from side to side when idling. And the surging when trying to hold a steady speed in slow traffic can be irksome, but get on some twisties and you'll forget about all that. The suspension is just about perfect and the brakes have the grip of an insurance salesman. I considered a ZR-7 and T-Bird before picking the BMW. My last bike was a 91 Honda Nighthawk 750 (love standards) and compared to that ride, the R1100R is much more stable and sure-footed, if not as smooth-running. Overall, if you've only got one parking space, this is the bike to buy.
- Doug, San Franisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-22 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just gotten back into riding after a 25-year hiatus. I was looking for a good basic bike with a shaft drive for under ten grand. I rode Hondas and Yamahas and was ready to buy a V-star when a friend mentioned that BMW had reduced the price of their R1100R. A test ride convinced me. I have had my 2001 bike for three months and have never been happier. It is easy to handle for a beginner at slow speeds and yet I have ridden it on the freeways at 70 mph without a hitch. I added a windshield and saddlebags and have ridden it across state comfortably. For nine grand out the door, its a good deal for a great bike.
- Bob, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-08 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I will never be able to go back to telescopic forks. You won't notice the new BMW front end at all till you need it. Get into a bumpy old Ozark corner too hot, no problem, they will hold you right on the road. I love my new Roadster and for nine grand out the door it was 1500 cheaper than the 900 monster I drooled over all spring. I recommend this bike as a middle of the road kind of thing, part sport, a little cruiser-ish and if you get bags and a shield head for the coast ASAP. Thanks for reading my post and stop by if your in the neighborhood. PS: the surge went away after break in and 6K service.
- R Van Jones, Eureka Springs, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-12 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've returned to riding after 20 years. I selected the BMW R1100R on knowledge of the brand and price. I'd concur with about everything that is written about this machine - handles well, is fast, comfortable, and mine vibrates noticeably only above 80 MPH, and gets smooth again above 90. In all I'm very happy with it. I'm puzzled that a class manufacturer like BMW has so much difficulty with the fuel injection. Though my machine only has a few thousand miles on it, and is smoothing out a little as it breaks in, I am not all that happy with the surging. The mechanics and others out in the web indicate they all do it - as far as I'm concerned they all have problems then, especially if other manufacturers can get it right. That said - good quality machine. I'll keep it.
- M Hamilton, Puyallup, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-29 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a new rider, actually have not ridden since 1982. And that was dirt bikes on Long Island. When I told my wife I wanted a bike, she was DEAD SET against it. That was until she went with me to my dealer, also Manhattan BMW. She was impressed with the fit and finish of the R11RL. It didn't hurt that my dealer discounted the bike somewhat, she was sold! This is a wonderful machine that I just can't get enough of. In fact I moved my Durango to the driveway so that the bike could have the entire garage to herself! I too and sometimes think, that the bike may be a tad too much for the novice rider. All I can say is keep riding and you'll get over the apprehensions. I must complain about the accessories prices as well and the slight vibrations, but they are just that, slight! I'd highly recommend this bike to the new, novice or even seasoned person looking for a reliable and relative moderate cost motorcycle. It doesn't hurt that BMW will reimburse you for the Cost of the MSF safety course and the bike comes with roadside assistance and a 3 year 36,000 mile warranty. Did I mention that BMW lowered the price from 10k to 8.9k? If you find the right dealer, you might do better than that! Buy this bike you'll be very happy, I am.
- Yarvis "Jay " Torres, Staten Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-11 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a comfortable, relaxed bike that could stop, start, run and turn with no problems. I got one in the r1100r. It's fast and handles like a car that weighs 525 lbs. It has quality hardware but expensive add-ons, would recommend it to anyone.
- rider, Norristown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-21 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have 7,000 miles on this bike- just got back from Midland, Michigan rally. An acceptable touring bike, a great sport bike...for us older guys who can't stand to be bent over all day. The ride and performance are what make this bike so good. I had a 4 cylinder Honda, so I was a little spoiled with the smooth engine. This one shakes a bit more than I would like.... Makes me sleepy quicker on long rides. The side stand is a major pain. Almost dropped the bike several times because it is located too far forward, under the head and difficult to release if you are not on an even spot. The aerodynamics is weird, and almost everyone I asked has problems with windblast on the interstate. I need to wear earplugs with this bike. The good points out weigh the few bits of poor engineering, and I would certainly recommend this bike to most anyone..including the ladies.
- Bill W., Ephrata, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-20 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently got this bike, having changed my mind from getting a new F650. My only past experience was with only one bike, more that 10 years ago (Honda CR250), which I used mainly on dirt roads and driving it the way you are not supposed to drive - under street conditions. I was a little intimidated at first by the size, weight and power of this bike. Not having the patience to wait for the delivery of the first 650's and following the dealer's advice (Great dealership by the way, BMW of Manhattan) to go with this bike, I purchased it. When it was delivered to my house and I saw it, I thought "Oh God, what did I get into" but after the first ride I was amazed on how easy it is to ride it. It's super stable (even at very low speeds), turns and corners extremely well, the brakes are superb, it's very forgiving and has plenty of power to do everything you expect from an overall bike. My advice to any novice rider is to get one with total confidence, I am loving every moment of it.
- Paul P, Mt. Kisco, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-05 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned several bikes in my life. This one is by far the best all around cycle for me. It handles curves like a light sport tourer. But, has the all the power you'll ever need. It has the ride of a larger touring machine. Highly recomend it. Love mine!
- Terry Covell, Lancaster, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-28 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased a new R1100R with ABS and spokes as options (cause thetas what the dealer had) have done about 5mkm at this point and am really enjoying the bike. Previously have had a cruiser and a sports bike and was looking for the best of both, Comfy riding position but good handling with some power. Bike has met my requirements perfectly. I have to agree any add ons are a fortune and for the 2 trips I will do a year I can't justify over $1m for hard bags. If anyone has any good alternatives at a reasonable price please let me know.
- Michael Lovett, Toronto

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-08 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned over 30 different bikes and this is the most versatile by far. I love the fit and finish as well as the handling. I find it very difficult to go back to traditional motorcycle suspension after enjoying the Paralever/telelever set up. I am impressed with the very usable torque and love the curb appeal. Downside is the comical pricing of the BMW accessories.
- Richard T. Smith, Aurora, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-05 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Lets begin with the fact that I have traded in my KTM Duke II, for a BMW R1100R. Both bikes being seen as opposite extremes by most bikers. Well yeah - the KTM is a crazy single minded full throttle bike, which is only happy when accelerating hard, its single cylinder engine is too highly tuned and doesn't like to hold any one speed. Having been used to the WP suspension and fantastic chassis and brakes of the KTM, I was looking for a quality all rounder, with a twin (preferably V) engine and comfort, for less frantic rides and more overall pleasure. Sounds easy but isn't. Most Jap bikes are either super sport or bland commuters, they don't seem to make quality and fun road bikes. Suzuki Bandit? No thanks. I was after quality finish and character. Moto Guzzi? Well I wasn't that desperate yet ! Hmmm, Honda Hornet, Suzuki SV650? Owned them both, ended hating both. Why? To forward weight bias, very poor suspension quality and not very interesting to own. I have owned 9 bikes in total, and after the crazy KTM I was after a fun but practical/useable bike. Test rode a heavy BMW just to see, no way would it handle? Surely it would be heavy awkward and boring? How they do it I don't know. BUT the R1100R felt 50kgs lighter than I expected, had superb brakes and surpassingly excellent suspension at both low and high speeds (very rare), no diving on braking, very comfy seat and riding position, almost a cruiser but with ability to go for it and corner hard safely. I still can't believe I bought one, BMW too me sounded too boring. So ignore the reputation, test ride one and see. I was very amazed and still am. Any complaints? Yes - VERY expensive accessories, very stupid illogical indicator - horn switche, a little big for city carving, but who cares?
- eddie Balboa, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-01 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm very satisfied with my R1100R. Travelling each year from Norway to France, super bike. Just a little big problem, it started suddenly to leak oil from the top ventil (air draining) on the top of the "cardan" (secondary transmission) house. I can't figure out why, no technical explanations for that: good oil, right quantity??? Has someone heard about that? Help me!!! And thanks in advance.
- Alfred, Norway

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-12 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an R1100R in 1995 after reading some magazine reports on it. Then I watched as it racked up Motorcycle of the Year awards one after another. It's a do-all bike with no real weak spots at all. Durable, powerful, torquey, a handler, great brakes, quiet enough not to annoy anti-bikers, comfortable saddle, great fuel injection, easy serviceability, good gas mileage, easy on oil, no-maintenance shaft drive is truly no-maintenance, air/oil cooling works beautifully, stable at any speed. It really hit me the other day as I was reading a listing of all the 2000 year model bikes for sale: If I could have any bike, any price, any performance parameters, and it had to be the only bike I could own, well, I already own it. This bike cruises, drag races, wheelies, stops, corners, cruises easily at over a ton, carries weight, and makes me smile. Best of the over-dozen bikes I've owned over the years--by far!
- Dr. Craig Merrell, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

1999-12-07 2000 BMW R 1100 R - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a '98 R1100R it has 50,000 miles on and enjoy it very much. This is my 4th BMW and just got my 600,000 mile award from BMW North America. This bike falls right in line with the others from the ride and new suspention to the new boxer motor it is just a real pleasue to ride and own. Riding a BMW brings out the adventure in a person and makes one feel good that it will take you a long way and bring you home. I have added the BMW windscreen a Reynolds luggage rack and BMW hard bags to the bike I also had a D&D exaust pipe put on for the bigger RT bags. It sounds well with the pipe and performs well. I get 40-42 mpg and have seen l20mph on the speedo. The new telever forks work well as the radial tires. I just buzz down the road singing
- MIKE STANDLEE, Wauwatosa, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: