BMW R 1100 RS Motorcycles Reviews (6)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW R 1100 RS Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW R 1100 RS Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-08-25 1999 BMW R 1100 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my '99 R1100RT and bought a '04 R1150RT. I immediately noticed the smoother ride and really like having a 6th gear. The linked braking system takes a LOT of getting used to. The bike is so smooth and does not have any of the surge found on the R1100RT. It's a great ride!
- Megan Posey, Southbury, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-25 1999 BMW R 1100 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 1996 R110RSL (black with silver) in August 2002 with 4200 miles on it. It's the third BMW I've owned and by far the best. I haven't ridden my 1983 R100RS more than four time in past year. What little surging there is was taken care of by different plugs. No gearbox clunking and shifts very smoothly. I use synthetics in everything but the engine. Lost the carbon canister and catalytic converter right off. For me it is the best all around motorcycle and the best motorcycle I've ever owned. Fast, good handling, comfortable, and perfect for touring or a commuting.
- R. Jones, Lake Oswego, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-26 2001 BMW R 1100 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I fell in love with this bike the day I first got on it. It was my first boxer model and was sort of intimidating with all the electronics. I've had it now for six months and have logged 7,000 mi. on it with all applicable service work done at a local BMW dealer. The good side is that this bike handles so well you feel like superman flying through the air! Accelleration could be better but is consistant. The bad side is that the ABS sensor seems to go out of whack often and I have to turn the bike off and restart it. Small things have gone wrong like some caps and covers falling off and a leaking turn signal lens. My local dealership has been... well, if you don't have anything good to say... All in all a good bike, but some far east rides are just as good and cost much less. I am a BMW man at heart, but one must give credit where credit is due. Remember: Cutting edge German technology is only cutting edge till someone else does it cheaper!
- Rick E, Johnstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-16 1999 BMW R 1100 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 25th motorcycle (4th Beemer) on 01/02/01 and after 2000 miles, I can say this is the best motorcycle that I've ever owned, bar-none! I sportbike ride it very hard and it accelerates, brakes and goes thru the curves like a true roadracer. Then it's ready for across the land tour, all in one motorcycle. It is by far the best sport/touring motorcycle on the planet. The transmission will not break, it is strong as an ox, but is hard to get into 2nd and 1st coming to a stop real slow, until you learn its trick. It is also the most stable m/c I've ever ridden and the ABS brakes are worth the entire package period! I've had everything from Harleys to Cafe Racers. Buy one, you will not be disappointed. Buy the 4 valve with ABS, newer the better. Check out bmwmoa.org
- M.R. Hall, Red Bluff, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-08 1999 BMW R 1100 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchase my 1995 R1100RSL (30K miles) about 3 months ago after owning a bunch of other BMWs, none newer than 1987, I can say without a dought this is the finest bike I have ever owned. It has power, is smooth and handles great for its size. The brakes are incredible, stopping power is firm and steady. The ABS system is highly recommended and I would never own another motorcycle with out it. The fit and finish is up to BMW standards. The riding position, with bar backs, is very comfortable and the stock seat is ok. I do have to agree that the transmission is a bit clunky, but compared to older airheads I have owned, it's not too bad. All in all I plan to keep this one for a while.
- JKK, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

1999-12-01 1999 BMW R 1100 RS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 18 years on my Virago 750 it was time for a change. I picked up a used '94 R1100RSL in mint condition in early Oct. '99. The 94k kilometres didn't concern me at all since the bike had obviously been pampered and the previous owner turned over all service records. It was a bit of an adjustment getting used to the riding position after my long stretch in a cruiser saddle, but I made the transition none the worse for wear. I've used threshold braking techniques for years, so the ABS braking system wasn't a major feature in my books. However, I am certainly impressed with the ability of those big front rotors to haul me down from Mach 1 to naught in less time than it takes to irritate a feminist. Compared to my vintage Yamaha, the handling and acceleration is superb, but that's not really a fair comparison. I wish I could say I was as impressed with the transmission as I was with the rest of the machine. Seriously, the last buggy I operated that clunked like that had tracks and a blade on it and was built in 1957. I understand that Bavaria's newest six speed is a big improvement. It was bound to happen - even Caterpillar eventually designed a smoother shifting gearbox. My grumbling about the gearbox is just that: grumbling. It hasn't caused me any problems and I dont expect that it will. I am quite prepared to overlook this one imperfection and concentrate instead on all the attributes that make this bike one hell of a sweet machine.
- J. MacMaster, North Glengarry, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: