BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Motorcycles Reviews (25)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-09-22 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2000 R1100RT with 84k miles on the clock in July. I was not sure about changing from a cruiser to a sport touring bike. All summer long, when I went to the barn, I kept grabbing the RT. I put over 6k miles on this bike over the past three months, including a canyon carving expedition into the Smokies in August. It's easy to ride, comfortable and quick. Just trying to figure out why I waited so long to trade in my cruiser for a sport touring bike.
- Andy, Chagrin Falls , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-01 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my R1100RT brand new in Oct., 2000. i rode her daily back and forth on Los Angeles freeways for a year. I put 31,000 on her during first year. She handled very well in rough traffic: stops on a dime and has the ability to power you out of tight spots like a rocket if need be. I rode her recreationally over the next couple of years, and due to knee surgery, I had to park her in my garage over the 2003-2004 time period. Occasional starts during 2005 ended with a dead battery, and her sitting quietly in my garage until the spring of 2012 (yes 7 years). I FINALLY put a new battery in her and she started up with a chug, until I put fresh gas in her. She rode like a champ and I had her serviced within a week. I've put almost 800 miles on her in the first two weeks of bringing her back to life and she hasn't missed a beat. I was thinking about trading her in for a new R1200RT, but after riding her and enjoying the looks of onlookers, I don't think I could ever get rid of her. This is one great machine built by one great company. If you have one; keep it.
- Mike Barker, Moreno Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-06 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hadn't ridden in 2 years and never on a BMW. Acouple of friends rave about them so I decided to try them out. I picked a 2000 R100rt opal blue 9,000 on the clock. It's been love at first sight. Coming from Jap bikes with more horse I was kind of surprised that this 90 hp twin had as much take off. The ability to adjust the riding position to suit the rider is excellent. Not just the seat and suspension but the position of the shifter mechanism (with one wrench) and wind screen(at the touch of a button)The more I ride this machine the better I like it. Everything is layed out with the rider in mind. The mirrors are lower than the handle bars, I heard alot of people complain about such a thing but until you sit there and experience it one cannot really see the benifit. The abs2 is so fool proof I wouldn't consider any other system. Luggage space is perfect for commuting or weekend tours. If (when ) I go on longer tours I will probably put the top box on the back for the additional storeage. The bag system is very secure and goes on and off in seconds. I'm looking for liners for the bags though it keeps things alot more organized. I haven't experienced this buzzing or vibration that other riders often complain about. The saddle does however work on one bottom after a long period of riding. All in all I love it! I would highly recommend this cycle to anyone who enjoys comfort and safety in motorcycles. Thanks BMW you have sold me on this RT!
- Jeffrey Henning, wuakesha, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-26 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't give it 5 stars. that's for perfection. It's a teriffic motorcycle, but it's not perfect. This is my first BMW. It was a tough choice because of all the great bikes out there and because of it's $16,200 price tag. But I like the "do it yourself maintenance." and the LONG term reputation Beemers have. I bought it new in Aug. 2000 and now (Jan.2003) I have 51,000 miles, trouble-free miles! Yes it surges. I hate it. But this is the best of the 6 motorcycles I've owned.'84 Goldwing (31,000 miles in 13 months)'90 Electroglide (14,000 in 10 months '89 FJ 1200 (13,000 in 10 months) '90 FJ 1200 (11,000 in 7 months 99 VFR (20,000 in 15 months) and now the RT.<P>I just got back from riding to New York City in Dec. 1536 miles in 42 hours. I couldn't do that on any of my other bikes. I rode the VFR to Key west, but stayed for 4 days. In Feb. 2001 I rode to NYC by way of the WHITE HOUSE. I stayed in NYC for 45 minutes and then rode home. That was 1832 miles in 28 hours, in FEBUARY!! I am 46 years old and this is the best bike I've owned. 280 miles on a tank of gas, great wind protection, easy maint. and the best luggage in the business. It has been flawless.
- Paul, Irmo, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-27 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife wanted the huge and heavy LT, but I opted for the boxer knowing I would do all of the driving. I am commuting everyday on this baby and mostly love the scoot. Handling is excellent, power just fine, torque great, and brakes outstanding. There are two flaws. One is the shifting. Why can't the Krouts design a modern transmission? They should copy a Japanese bike or something. It clunks like crazy in lower gears. Into fourth and fifth, there is no problem, but below that, wear earplugs and ignore the sounds. Second flaw is vibration in the bars above 65 mph. My wrists go numb. Why didn't I wait for the 2002 model and get the sixth gear and balanced pistons? Oh well! Otherwise I love riding all the time.
- Larry Engwall, Santa Ana, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-12 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good points: fast, smooth above idle, comfortable for two, looks good, quiet, turns like a dream, good wind protection. Bad points: low rpm surging, big feel, lack of foot travel forward, NOT a gravel road bike, mirrors poorly placed, grabby at shift, not as smooth shifting as a Honda. May be hot in summer due to wind protection. Biggest difference is that my Honda cruiser is very smooth shifting and has much smoother power delivery. This is probably not a problem after practice but this bike will accelerate past my cruiser easily.
- Gary, Cape Giraurdeau, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-28 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have to give this bike a 5 star rating. Its few flaws are minor and its superb engineering and many standard extras make this a great bike. I like to try many different bikes. I currently have 2 Wings, 2 Suzukis and a 2001 Harley T-Sport. My SV 650 is the only bike that's better handling, but it's about 250 pounds lighter. This is my third R1100RT. I just bought this one after being disappointed with my 2001 T-Sport. The Harley offers similar features, but it doesn't have anywhere near the refinement of the RT. My wife took her first ride of over an hour on the Harley last night and said she wished we had the RT. OK, the stock seat is an almost unanimous complaint. I modified mine and it's acceptable. The gearbox is clunky, but it's not a problem as you get used to it. It has a dry clutch so you can't abuse it like a wet clutch or it will go up in smoke. The many exceptional features such as the great suspension and handling, ABS, adjustable seat, removable luggage, oh, and the fun and practical windshield make this one superb bike that I keep coming back to. After reading the reports about the new R1150RT I may keep this one!
- Bob, Western New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-19 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My clutch went at 26k (18k miles), and I was told, it was my fault. Bike slips out of first into neutral, which can be unnerving when making left hand turns from a stop. Right Engine cylinder blew while travelling on highway, bike seized up and took 9 weeks to get spare part...from June 25 till end of August. No doubt this is a beautiful bike to look at, but I guess I got one made the day after the BMW company picnic. Currently in litigation with BMW as they say its all my fault and that I have misused my bike. Although I have been riding for 22 years, its my second BMW -- first was R100RT (that just went and went) and never experienced problems like this. I would welcome any comments from people who are experiencing the same or similar problems.
- Trevor , Vancouver, BC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-01 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I and my better half decided that we would like to get into motorcycling. I figured that we would need space for two up - but not too close! - so I purchased a BMW. It was natural to go into that dealership, I knew it was the brand name I had to have. I thought about a Harley-Davidson, since I like to wear black leather, but I am more of a yuppie, so I again came back to BMW. I puchased this bike last fall, and this year I am going to ride it for sure. I didn't have my license to drive a motorcycle when the bike was delivered to me. All I could do was push it down the street a couple of blocks near a bank that has two-way glass on the outside. I park it on the street and then look at myself in the big mirrors. When I learn how to ride, I am sure I will be cruising down that street a lot. Maybe I could hire an escort that knows how to ride a motorcycle, and he could drive me up and down that street all night. Other than that, I know I paid too much for it, but the electric windshield really turns me on. I think I am sorry I bought the bike, I should stick to wine tastings, and evening dinners, like I was brought up to do.
- Anonymous, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-03 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just a few words of thanks to ,Larry Merlin @ Rockville Harley, Md. For selling me this excesively woderfull Apperatus. This bike does has its faults. As you lean forward into a turn 20 miles faster then posted "you will not be afraid anymore"! Take the bags off and lean further! As for you guys with clanky shifting use your manual to adjust to your specifications. "REMEMBER THIS IS A MOTORCYCLE RESPECT IT AS ONE! Im fortunate to say this is the first BMW Cyle I have owned. Owning a Sportster before "IS LIKE GETTING OUT OF A GOCART INTO A LINCOLN" THANK YOU LARRY AND THE ENGINEERS AT BMW FOR KNOWING ABOUT A SPECIFIC MACHINE AS THIS !
- Donny Malpiede, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well--just right off I have to say I just can't find anything I would change about this bike--as far as riding it is concerned. I have been riding for over 30 years, and for road riding I can't imagine riding anything else. While being a touring bike--I feel it still has some considerable sportiness about it. Just right for an ole' man who still likes to get it !!!!! And that adjustable windshield--boy did BMW do their homework. If you,re not excessively tall you can adjust that sucker up or down to satisfy you every whim. I usually have it full up (I'm 5'11") at speed (above the speed limit) and bring it down in town for some fresh air and maximum visibility. Just a push of a button !!!! I only have 2 nits to pick with it and they are not riding nits. One-- you have to have a key to open the luggage--too much hassle, but I found a way to work around that. And 2--You have to fight your way to the battery to service it or even just check the water level--You have to spend a 1/2 hour taking off panel to get to it. Not much to complain about is there ???!!!!
- Mark Sampson, Mt. Vernon, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-03 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my R1100RT (S) in June of 2000. I have 6000+ miles on it so far. First thing is the "comfort" saddle that came with it is not too comfortable. I am looking into replacing it with a Sargent saddle. I have decided to go with Sargent over Corbin because it's cheaper and I can use the existing pan. Also note that I am 6'3" and 240 lbs. which brings me to another problem wind protection. The stock windscreen was definitely too short, so was the optional two and a half-inch taller windscreen. That is another item that will need to be replaced. Other than the above problems I have also experienced surging below 3000 rpm's. Oil consumption was meager although trying to see what level it is at is a pain in the back. Buy a mini flashlight to keep on your key chain to light up the sight glass. The RT (S) came with painted (colormatched) cases perhaps I would have been better off with the plain black ones because I have some scratches on them. The ergonomics are excellent; plenty of legroom and perfectly placed handlebars make for easy distance riding. The suspension is probably the single most underrated/overlooked item on this bike from a consumer point of view, it is awesome!!! My previous motorcycles (Honda GL500I, Suzuki GS650, and Honda CB350) all wandered all over at the slightest road height variations the BMW does not. When you get on the front brakes hard no suspension dive. The brakes are also excellent ABS works very well. I also thought that a six speed would be nice, but what would really be nice is the hydraulic assisted clutch! If there are any BMW designers out there do that first, in city driving my hand gets sore from clutching. But the best part about this bike, is that here, in Milwaukee I can beat any old city bike easy. Fast, safe and a lot of fun I never knew corners where that much fun until this bike.
- extreemLEE, Milwaukee Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-23 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I had my 1200 Suzuki Bandit, my wife kept bugging me to get rid of my bike. She wouldn't go near it. With the back pad from the rear case, she agreed to a weekend ride on the new RT, and I've never looked back!! She feels secure and loves it. The only problem now is that the guys are worried that she will want to come along on our long hops to Wyoming. While I miss the torque of the in line four, this boxer engine grows on me. Out in the badlands, it really romps with confident ease. Weather protection is the best, and with the heated grips and plug in vest, I even ride it up to Whistler in February to go skiing! Wish BMW would add a sixth gear in the future, otherwise its a keeper.
- Rob Hunter, Vancouver Island, Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-15 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my RT new in July of 2000. It's Nov of 2000 &#038; I've got 8100 miles on it to date. Initially it took some getting used to.... The bike feels wide, top heavy, choppy on the throttle, &#038; lurchy/clunky at the tranny. I knew I was adjusting to a new bike &#038; had to break myself into the geometry of this model...I had previously ridden an '89 Suzuki Katana -- as a matter of fact, since 1989. Weather permitting, I can tally 500 miles per week, just riding to work. It took about six weeks to feel out &#038; get comfortable with the RT. I was still having trouble with the shifting until I tuned into some riding tips via a BMW Club Network. The tranny is known to be choppy &#038; noisy.... Especially the shift from 2nd to 3rd.... It'll make you curse the beast. As was quoted, the trick is to shift above 4000 rpm &#038; pre-load the shifter. Apply firm-positive pressure to the shift lever just before you clutch &#038; change...it works! Lately I find the best practice is to ignore the gear indicator &#038; tach.... Just drive the motor &#038; it all happens naturally...smoothly. The RT can shift as smooth as glass. Down shifting is tougher...it takes crisp throttle control &#038; the ability to match the engine speed with the drive train to get it smooth. I'm still working on that technique, to date. I accomplished my first valve adjustment at 6000 miles. The maintenance on the RT is fairly painless. The most time consuming effort is the fairing disassembly &#038; extraction of the plastic-front engine cover. A ton of money can be saved if you're comfortable with doing your own maintenance. The local Beamer shops are great, but tough to get into with the demand in Maryland; only two certified shops exist &#038; they serve a broad client base. The more you ride the RT, the better it gets! Just be patient, research the data you need, experiment [carefully &#038; safely], evaluate, &#038; feel the machine out. FYI, the local Beamer shops all replace the tranny &#038; rear drive housing with Amsoil Synthetic Gear lube at the 600-mile service...It helps a great deal! Enjoy it &#038; please be safe!
- Elmer R. Streeter Jr., Union Bridge, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-09 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned this bike for just less than one year and have put on 7000 New England miles. The few so called problems with this machine are the surging, runs better with lower octane fuel. Some riders talk of pulling to the right, this one doesn't pull at all. The seat was swapped out with a Sargent at 700 miles, perfect fix! I have not owned or ridden a better all around bike for daily commuting or all day trips. It will hustle in the tight stuff and cradle you in comfort on the long stretches. Any oil consumption went away after the first 1000 miles and even that wasn't much; the bike gets better with more miles. I look forward to 20,000 miles when it's broken in. The stock MEZ3 tires are holding up well, even with two patch plugs in the rear tire. I opted for the heated grips which are wonderful here in the Northeast. I also put the chrome valve covers on and lost a plug cover as well, dealer replaced no problem since. Really nice bike, any quirks it may have add to its character. I've never had so many compliments, all of them positive. Enjoy, be patient, it gets better everyday.
- Dave, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my RT three years and 16000 miles and although I love the bike it did have some problems. I burned out my clutch at 8000 miles. The dealer said it was my fault. I've had 10 bikes without losing a clutch and I don't ride agressively. It smelled bad from day one, at first I thought it was the catalytic converter. I also lost two right spark plug covers. I haven't experienced the surging problem so many people have. I replaced the stock seat with a used Corbin, it was a hundred times better. I also installed bar backs to take some of the weight off my hands. I think the six-speed transmission would be an improvement if sixth gear is a little higher. I get about 47 mpg on a trip.
- Mike Misler, Johnstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-18 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best sport touring motorcycle on the market. I recently completed a 1200-mile trip, most of which was spent in the rain. In this case, the ABS brakes and electric windshield were a dream. And I had no problem at all with comfort on the stock seat, which many owners tend to replace with a Corbin. (Most of these guys need to spend some time in a gym before riding.) The only quirks I've found are the clunky transmission and throttle surging. Vibration is not a problem. If BMW would adapt the six-speed transmission and hydraulic clutch from the R1100S, they'd really have a winner. Summarily, if you want a great sport touring motorcycle, buy the R1100RT. You won't regret it.
- Geoffrey Jones, Des Plaines, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-17 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this bike since April, this is the second bike I've owned since 1984. After reading the other reviews and making mental notes of the problems I have to agree the machine has some problems. I use this bike for business and have logged over 22,000 miles on the road. I like the handling and styling of this machine and I can live with the few problems as mentioned in the other reviews.
- Sheldon W. Henderson, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-09 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned three BMW's bikes before moving on to this magnificent 1999 R1100RT. I started with the K75C, moved on to the K75RT, followed by the R1100RS and now I have reached to what I believe is the best bike around. I have had no surging, oil consumption, low gas mileage problems encountered by other riders. This bike just wants to go and go and go. The bike has 15k on it and it gets better and better every time I ride it. It is a keeper for sure.
- Carlos Valenzuela, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-05 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had a 2000 R1100RT for 2 months now. It is my 15 bike and so far my worst experience. My first ride I dropped the bike as it stalled and is very top heavy at low speed. The right hand mirror was broken ($240) and the right valve cover scratched ($160). I took the bike in for it's first service at 600 miles. Following the service I headed to Vancouver. En route I lost the left hand sparkplug cover. After the trip, at 3000 rpm and 3rd gear there is noticeable surging. I called a dealer in Vancouver who said that was normal. I called the dealer in Calgary and was told to bring it back. I sent BMW Canada an e-mail 10 days ago - no response to date. I returned to Calgary and installed valve cover protectors ($199). Mileage is 2400 and oil is at "add". Tomorrow it goes in to see about the surging. I don't know if I am getting used to it but my left leg no longer cramps up from the riding position. Great handling at speed. Super breaks. Very fragile.
- John Flynn, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-13 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the styling, which is why I bought it. But ergonomically, it needs help. The RTS model I bought has a so-called "comfort" seat that rotates your hips toward the gas tank, where there is little support. It is painful to ride more than 30-60 minutes. I am ordering barbacks, Sargent Cycle seat and a foot peg lowering kit to try to help. If it doesn't, then I'll be moving up to a K1200LT. Also, you have to get used to surging at medium revs and abrupt throttle response due to the poorly engineered fuel injection system. You may want to get some padded gloves, as the high frequency vibrations through the bars will cause partial numbness over time.
- Anonymous, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-07 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding this bike for 4 months now and can't get enough. I agree it's a great all around bike. I commute in congested Washington, DC and fly through the surrounding mountains and farmlands on weekends. I, too, was expecting something staid and heavy when I took a test ride, but soon had a big grin. I love the ergonomics - you can sit up straight or lean into it. I also like the adjustable seat height - sits low enough for a short guy like me. It handles lighter than my previous 750 Yamaha and has a rock solid feel. Gripes are minor: counter-intuitive turn signals, no self-cancelling, no fuel gauge, and it lumbers and jerks when cold. I wish BMW made a sport fairing to go with it.
- Steve Nepi, Washington, DC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-01 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden BMWs all my life. I started with a 1989 K75-C, moved on to a 1992 K75-RT. Later on purchased a 1995 R1100RS, that's when the bug for the Boxers got started. Now I own a 1999 R1100RSA and I have finally found a bike that suits my riding needs. It has the power of the RS with the touring comfort that only an RT can provide. It can carve miles after miles with minimum fatigue factor. It is in my opinion a winner all around!
- Carlos Valenzuela, Tonopah, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-09 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm totally pleased with the bike, especially with overall quality, balance, and refinement. After 25 years of riding this strikes the best comprimise of touring and a sporty nature, while maintaining good ergonomics I've ever seen. The bike is visually stunning and elegant, yet immensly practical. Power is excellent, and it's certainly fast enough for any sane person. While you know it's a twin, the vibrations are totally unobtrusive, even at fast criusing speeds. You still know you have an engine down there. The handling is superb, and the bike likes to run along at speeds that are not healthy for your insurance premiums. Got to wonder why no one else does the Telelever. I opted for the heated grips, which are a revelation in colder weather. I also bought the factory ($$) top trunk, which while not as large as the Givi, blends with the bike beautifully. I also highly recommend the case guards which will save you big bucks in a drop. Aftermarket niceties to round the bike off are the Throttle Meister (don't do Wrist Rest, you have to turn the nut opposite the throttle to engage) and an extended front fender which will save hours of cleaning and wear on the belly pan fairing and front engine cases. I noticed little oil burn compared to some I've read on break-in. The bike seems a little rough for the first 500 miles and then smooths out noticeably. I'm only at 3500, and many have said due to very hard cylinder walls, the bike is not truly broken in until 10,000+. I've higher mileage bikes next to mine and they purr in comparison. The battery needs to be well charged or you get an ABS fault on start up. This can be cured by shutting the ignition off, back on, and letting it sit for 5 seconds before hitting the starter. Once the battery is charged no problems. The turn signal controls are a little weird at first, but become second nature quickly. The bike handles two-up with barely thinking about it. My wife prefers it over the Gold Wing we had before, despite the smaller size, and less luggage space. She says she feels much more secure on the back....
- Drew Massey, Chicago , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-01-03 2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall this is a very capable motorcycle that is great fun to ride on trips to town or across the country. For me this is a do all motorcycle, it fills my need for speed and handling on short trips around home and when equipped with an aftermarket givi top case and wolfman tankbag was capable of transporting my 14 year old son and I from Minnesota to Oregon over a period of 15 days and 5000 miles. The best features are the adjustable windshield and ABS brakes. I have only a few small gripes. The seat is too hard, the transmission noisy when shifting and some minor vibration through the grips. Mechanically it has been sound with the exception of a warranty replacement of the entire ABS unit, ($1500). The bike gets between 38 and 46 mpg and now that it is broken in has lowered its appetite for oil to 1/2 pint in 1000 miles, when new it ate oil at the rate of over a pint in 1000 miles. Metzeler MEZ4's run for 7K on the front and about 8K on the rear. Many people speculate that the next generation will be a 1150 with the 6 speed transmission. If this is true and BMW can make the seat a little more comfy it will be the best bike on the earth.
- Wally Jorgensen, Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: