Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW R 1100 RT - ABS reviews

4.3
Write a review
Reliability
4.3
Overall quality
4.3
Performance
4.3
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

25 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Andy

Chagrin Falls , Ohio

Reviewed on 2012-09-22

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a 2000 R1100RT with 84k miles on the clock in July. I was not sure about changing from a cruiser to a sport touring bike. All summer long, when I went to the barn, I kept grabbing the RT. I put over 6k miles on this bike over the past three months, including a canyon carving expedition into the Smokies in August. It's easy to ride, comfortable and quick. Just trying to figure out why I waited so long to trade in my cruiser for a sport touring bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Barker

Moreno Valley, California

Reviewed on 2012-05-01

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my R1100RT brand new in Oct., 2000. i rode her daily back and forth on Los Angeles freeways for a year. I put 31,000 on her during first year. She handled very well in rough traffic: stops on a dime and has the ability to power you out of tight spots like a rocket if need be. I rode her recreationally over the next couple of years, and due to knee surgery, I had to park her in my garage over the 2003-2004 time period. Occasional starts during 2005 ended with a dead battery, and her sitting quietly in my garage until the spring of 2012 (yes 7 years). I FINALLY put a new battery in her and she started up with a chug, until I put fresh gas in her. She rode like a champ and I had her serviced within a week. I've put almost 800 miles on her in the first two weeks of bringing her back to life and she hasn't missed a beat. I was thinking about trading her in for a new R1200RT, but after riding her and enjoying the looks of onlookers, I don't think I could ever get rid of her. This is one great machine built by one great company. If you have one; keep it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeffrey Henning

wuakesha, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2003-06-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Hadn't ridden in 2 years and never on a BMW. Acouple of friends rave about them so I decided to try them out. I picked a 2000 R100rt opal blue 9,000 on the clock. It's been love at first sight. Coming from Jap bikes with more horse I was kind of surprised that this 90 hp twin had as much take off. The ability to adjust the riding position to suit the rider is excellent. Not just the seat and suspension but the position of the shifter mechanism (with one wrench) and wind screen(at the touch of a button)The more I ride this machine the better I like it. Everything is layed out with the rider in mind. The mirrors are lower than the handle bars, I heard alot of people complain about such a thing but until you sit there and experience it one cannot really see the benifit. The abs2 is so fool proof I wouldn't consider any other system. Luggage space is perfect for commuting or weekend tours. If (when ) I go on longer tours I will probably put the top box on the back for the additional storeage. The bag system is very secure and goes on and off in seconds. I'm looking for liners for the bags though it keeps things alot more organized. I haven't experienced this buzzing or vibration that other riders often complain about. The saddle does however work on one bottom after a long period of riding. All in all I love it! I would highly recommend this cycle to anyone who enjoys comfort and safety in motorcycles. Thanks BMW you have sold me on this RT!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul

Irmo, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2003-01-26

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I can't give it 5 stars. that's for perfection. It's a teriffic motorcycle, but it's not perfect. This is my first BMW. It was a tough choice because of all the great bikes out there and because of it's $16,200 price tag. But I like the "do it yourself maintenance." and the LONG term reputation Beemers have. I bought it new in Aug. 2000 and now (Jan.2003) I have 51,000 miles, trouble-free miles! Yes it surges. I hate it. But this is the best of the 6 motorcycles I've owned.'84 Goldwing (31,000 miles in 13 months)'90 Electroglide (14,000 in 10 months '89 FJ 1200 (13,000 in 10 months) '90 FJ 1200 (11,000 in 7 months 99 VFR (20,000 in 15 months) and now the RT.<P>I just got back from riding to New York City in Dec. 1536 miles in 42 hours. I couldn't do that on any of my other bikes. I rode the VFR to Key west, but stayed for 4 days. In Feb. 2001 I rode to NYC by way of the WHITE HOUSE. I stayed in NYC for 45 minutes and then rode home. That was 1832 miles in 28 hours, in FEBUARY!! I am 46 years old and this is the best bike I've owned. 280 miles on a tank of gas, great wind protection, easy maint. and the best luggage in the business. It has been flawless.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry Engwall

Santa Ana, California

Reviewed on 2002-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My wife wanted the huge and heavy LT, but I opted for the boxer knowing I would do all of the driving. I am commuting everyday on this baby and mostly love the scoot. Handling is excellent, power just fine, torque great, and brakes outstanding. There are two flaws. One is the shifting. Why can't the Krouts design a modern transmission? They should copy a Japanese bike or something. It clunks like crazy in lower gears. Into fourth and fifth, there is no problem, but below that, wear earplugs and ignore the sounds. Second flaw is vibration in the bars above 65 mph. My wrists go numb. Why didn't I wait for the 2002 model and get the sixth gear and balanced pistons? Oh well! Otherwise I love riding all the time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary

Cape Giraurdeau, Missouri

Reviewed on 2001-11-12

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Good points: fast, smooth above idle, comfortable for two, looks good, quiet, turns like a dream, good wind protection. Bad points: low rpm surging, big feel, lack of foot travel forward, NOT a gravel road bike, mirrors poorly placed, grabby at shift, not as smooth shifting as a Honda. May be hot in summer due to wind protection. Biggest difference is that my Honda cruiser is very smooth shifting and has much smoother power delivery. This is probably not a problem after practice but this bike will accelerate past my cruiser easily.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

Western New York

Reviewed on 2001-06-28

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have to give this bike a 5 star rating. Its few flaws are minor and its superb engineering and many standard extras make this a great bike. I like to try many different bikes. I currently have 2 Wings, 2 Suzukis and a 2001 Harley T-Sport. My SV 650 is the only bike that's better handling, but it's about 250 pounds lighter. This is my third R1100RT. I just bought this one after being disappointed with my 2001 T-Sport. The Harley offers similar features, but it doesn't have anywhere near the refinement of the RT. My wife took her first ride of over an hour on the Harley last night and said she wished we had the RT. OK, the stock seat is an almost unanimous complaint. I modified mine and it's acceptable. The gearbox is clunky, but it's not a problem as you get used to it. It has a dry clutch so you can't abuse it like a wet clutch or it will go up in smoke. The many exceptional features such as the great suspension and handling, ABS, adjustable seat, removable luggage, oh, and the fun and practical windshield make this one superb bike that I keep coming back to. After reading the reports about the new R1150RT I may keep this one!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Trevor

Vancouver, BC

Reviewed on 2001-04-19

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

2.0
My clutch went at 26k (18k miles), and I was told, it was my fault. Bike slips out of first into neutral, which can be unnerving when making left hand turns from a stop. Right Engine cylinder blew while travelling on highway, bike seized up and took 9 weeks to get spare part...from June 25 till end of August. No doubt this is a beautiful bike to look at, but I guess I got one made the day after the BMW company picnic. Currently in litigation with BMW as they say its all my fault and that I have misused my bike. Although I have been riding for 22 years, its my second BMW -- first was R100RT (that just went and went) and never experienced problems like this. I would welcome any comments from people who are experiencing the same or similar problems.
Reliability
2.0
Quality
2.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2001-03-01

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
I and my better half decided that we would like to get into motorcycling. I figured that we would need space for two up - but not too close! - so I purchased a BMW. It was natural to go into that dealership, I knew it was the brand name I had to have. I thought about a Harley-Davidson, since I like to wear black leather, but I am more of a yuppie, so I again came back to BMW. I puchased this bike last fall, and this year I am going to ride it for sure. I didn't have my license to drive a motorcycle when the bike was delivered to me. All I could do was push it down the street a couple of blocks near a bank that has two-way glass on the outside. I park it on the street and then look at myself in the big mirrors. When I learn how to ride, I am sure I will be cruising down that street a lot. Maybe I could hire an escort that knows how to ride a motorcycle, and he could drive me up and down that street all night. Other than that, I know I paid too much for it, but the electric windshield really turns me on. I think I am sorry I bought the bike, I should stick to wine tastings, and evening dinners, like I was brought up to do.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Donny Malpiede

USA

Reviewed on 2001-02-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1100 RT - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just a few words of thanks to ,Larry Merlin @ Rockville Harley, Md. For selling me this excesively woderfull Apperatus. This bike does has its faults. As you lean forward into a turn 20 miles faster then posted "you will not be afraid anymore"! Take the bags off and lean further! As for you guys with clanky shifting use your manual to adjust to your specifications. "REMEMBER THIS IS A MOTORCYCLE RESPECT IT AS ONE! Im fortunate to say this is the first BMW Cyle I have owned. Owning a Sportster before "IS LIKE GETTING OUT OF A GOCART INTO A LINCOLN" THANK YOU LARRY AND THE ENGINEERS AT BMW FOR KNOWING ABOUT A SPECIFIC MACHINE AS THIS !
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 25 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: