BMW R 1100 S Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW R 1100 S Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW R 1100 S Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-01-06 1999 BMW R 1100 S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my BMW now for 2 years and all I can say is that it's a joy to ride. The roads here in NJ are poor but you would never know it riding the 1100s. I've owned my share of bikes but the suspension systems on all BMWs let you ride faster with more confidence than anything out there. A real keeper
- Thomas Fantini, East Brunswick, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-22 2000 BMW R 1100 S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike and also my favorite. I like it so much I actually have two. A perfect fit for the more aggressive rider who also enjoys one or two day touring. Not tons of top end, but plenty to get yourself in trouble with. Great in the twisties, great in the rain. If you want to scrape some heads, this is the machine for you.
- Cord Jemison, Chandler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-16 1999 BMW R 1100 S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike with about 40K miles on the clock, six months ago, after ogling it in a 1998 motorcycle magazine since it was first introduced. I put bar risers and foot peg lowers on it, replaced the rear shock with the BoxerCup sport shock (yellow), and have otherwise made it more comfortable for a guy my height. Unfortunately, the stock seat is extremely uncomfortable - sliding the rider forward inexorably toward the gas tank and crushing his manly bits.<br /> That said, I've still gone on several all-day rides, including a trip 650 miles to Tennessee one day, spending a day there, and coming back the third day, and would do so again in a heartbeat, given the opportunity. I've been on bikes since I was 7 (now 32) and I've never enjoyed motorcycling so much before! Yes, the seat sucks -- and I'll replace it with a Corbin when the wallet allows -- but other than that, it's a dream. Power output is helped by aftermarket exhaust and fuel management, but it's plenty powerful enough in stock trim to excite all but the most jaded riders. Will I be challenging full out street racers anytime soon? No, that's not the way I ride. But get this thing on twisties or in the Virginia-Tennessee Mountains and it holds curves like nothing I've ever been on.<br /> An elderly gent at a grocery store wanted to look it over, and was talking about his years on motorcycles, just as I got to the end of a 500-mile ride. All I could think of at that point was the fact that my lower back (and other portions of my anatomy) hurt. But then he asked me: Would you get it again?<br /> And you know, I would. I'd go out and get the same bike. That says something.
- Daniel, Arlington, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-17 1999 BMW R 1100 S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
35,000+ miles and counting, it never gets boring,....dependable, responsive, a true extention!!!!!
- rottenbiker, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-24 1999 BMW R 1100 S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As Cycle World Stated, "This is a serious competitor in the 'If I could only own one bike' category." I couldn't agree more. The neck-snapping acceleration, the makes-you-ride-better handling, the awesome, totally-in-control braking (I'm an MSF instructor), and the fact that you're riding a scoot that isn't like everybody else's. This is a bike that few will consider when buying because there are a lot of stupid people out there and they don't even know they're stupid.
- Kirk, Pittsburgh,Pa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-24 2000 BMW R 1100 S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Coming from a Japanese Pure Sportbike, I was a little concerned that I wouldn't be happy with the R1100S, but as Vinny would say, "Fuggeddaboudit !!". This bike handles better, with better ergos, and better longevity (according to everything I have seen and read 100K miles is not uncommon). As a bonus, it's a BMW. Seeya, gotta go ride !
- Anonymous, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-28 2000 BMW R 1100 S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike. I live up a canyon and have done plenty of twisting and turning in the past week. I've also had the bike on the Highway for a few hours. Mine has ABS and heated grips that are wonderful for cool and damp canyon rides. I also bought the hard bags and my RF-800 fits right in them but they add a lot of width to the bike.<br /> The bike itself is a real head turner. Can't see pipes from either side, from the left you get the "hey, what's holding the rear wheel on?", from the right "wow that's shaft driven?" and most don't even have a clue what kind of bike it is unless they catch the Roundel on the side of the fairing. I've had all sorts of riders just fixated on it at red lights.<br /> that's all icing though. The ride is supreme!
- Jeff, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-20 1999 BMW R 1100 S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my R1100S a year ago and at first generally enjoyed it. Fit, finish and technical innovations are impressive. However I think that BMW has now stretched the Boxer engine to it's limit. Power is good throughout the rev range and there is plenty of torque. But, the engine feels rough and it's far too noisy mechanically. Handling is very good. It follows the line you decide upon and gives a feeling of security. Front brakes are adequate but the squeal at low speed; very embarrassing. <P> Smooth clutch but clunky gear change. Seat is uncomfortable and tilts forward so that the rider slides into a nutcracker position. Nice try BMW but not for me. Last week I traded for a new Honda CBR1100XX Blackbird. What an improvement in every respect!
- Bob Tomlin, Scottsdale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-15 2000 BMW R 1100 S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took the bike on a BMW sponsored demo ride. At first I was a bit leery of the tighter (than I'm used to) riding position, but once underway I found that I was actually fairly comfortable; forward lean not too extreme, legs up but not feeling cramped, and the seat well padded. The power feels, well, effortless - that's the word. Great torque, engine smooth (it took me a while to realize it had a sixth gear - duh!) so watch that speedo, you're up there in no time! Handling felt solid and responsive, but the roads I was on didn't give it a chance to truly test its mettle. I was hootin' and hollerin' the whole forty-five minutes I was on the bike. I think I could be comfortable touring on this unit. Now, lets see, if I cash in the stock option. . .
- Trevor Engel, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-30 2000 BMW R 1100 S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I test rode the R1100S for about 25 tight twisting miles. The handling is incredible. The front end feedback is excellent and the lack of brake dive adds confidence in the corners. The new 6 speed gearbox is miles ahead of the BMW 5 speed on my R1100RS. The bike also seems to have less flywheel as it spins up quickly. You are going much faster much more quickly. The brakes do a very good job (without ABS). The downside is that it is small. I was looking for a replacement for my RS for sport-touring and some canyon scratching. But the seat-footpeg relationship is much too tight for me (at 6'5").
- Steve, Billings, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-12 2000 BMW R 1100 S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a total blast. It is rock solid, stable on roads and highways. Great acceleration. On twisties it's amazing. Feels agile and light footed. The low end torque is great coming out of tight turns. The suspension handles imperfect roads very well. Feels solid and well engineered. Best bike I've ever ridden.
- MT, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-01-03 2000 BMW R 1100 S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am looking for any current reviews of the BMW R100S as well as driving comparisions to similar bikes.
- H. L. Bromberg, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: