BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Motorcycles Reviews (19)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2002-07-23 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Around the beatiful Tuscany hills, wine tasting, excellent food, and with a head-turner like the GS, no match!!! You feel great on this monster. Ducati's where no match on the hilly roads! It is just incredible how easy it is to drive this elegant elephant! Sport bikes were astonished to see them overtaken!!!
- gstourer, Firenze, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-03 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After having had them all (over 20 motorcycles, most "open class" high horsepower models), MX'ers, dual-purpose, touring, sportbikes and standards, I'd have to say that I have rediscovered the simple pleasure of riding once again in the R1150GS. The most fun I can recall having on a bike was on a little Honda scrambler back in the 70's, when I got up early on Saturday mornings and just rode all day long, nowhere in particular. that's the same sort of feeling I get on the GS; I can go anywhere on or off road that I feel like going (dual purpose), enjoy the view, carry "stuff" with me (touring), and not feel like I have to yank open the throttle to get a short lived rush of power (sportbike). In short, it's a great all around purchase, and while BMW's are famous for fit and quality, I'm just happy to know that I think I've finally found a bike that can literally "do it all".
- Steve Hays, La Vergne, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-15 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rented this bike in California for a week and 2000 miles. On freeways and under acceleration-I thought who would buy this bike? But when climbing Sequoia Park switchbacks at 6k feet, two up with luggage, and the twisties near Kernville, I found out it was an excellent mount. Rides good, suspension adjustments work, saddlebag near muffler small, engine not thrilling as my Triumph, but will lug to 1500 rpm in second and climb like a billy goat!! I found out why the Europeans like it in the mountains.
- Monk, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-19 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the 1150 GS a year now and I still marvel at it. I am an engineer, a nerd nasa, national lab engineer. Every piece of sophisticated gear is a series of trade offs with performance, cost, weight, style, ergonomics etc etc. BMW got all those little and not so little tradeoffs 'just right' on the 1150 GS. The GS is a tall bike so if you are under 6' unless you have a short body and long legs it is going to be a challenge. I am 6'2" and this bike with peg drops and bar backs fits me perfectly. I had considered an K12LT at one time. I recently sat on one and thank my lucky stars I got the GS. I looked at the Adventure but I would not get one. If you are going to spend that much time in the dirt get a dirt bike.
- Alex, Richland, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-06 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put a bit over 10K (miles) since purchasing Aug 2000, and can not find anything this bike can't do well. Sure it doesn't have the dirt manners of my KTM 360MXC, but who'd want to take a $15K bike and thrash it in the dirt? It will easily carry 140lbs of camping gear (I like to be comfortable, okay) and still grind the pegs. When you do pull off the pavement to go down to your favorite fishing hole or campsite, you can do it without any type of pucker, be it dirt, gravel or whatever. Just don't try to be Travis Pastrana. Brakes are killer, this bike will do a stoppie! ABS is wonderful for those greasy parking lots and cell phone talking soccer moms. Just squeeze hard and forget. Transmission is excellent. Gears one through five are excellently spaced with 6 being very deep (need to be over about 85-90 MPH to be of use). Also very smooth shifting, Honda riders may disagree, but gears are full width so it may seem notchy to the uninitiated. Heated grips should be mandatory on any bike, they make all year riding fun. Has a large tank, about 225 miles worth if your smooth on the gas. Not too hard to provoke a wheelie. The best part though is embarrassing sport bikes in the medium to very tight twisties. This thing will lean WAAAAAAAAAAY over. Granted through high speed sweepers it doesn't have the power a liter class sport bike has. I have a GPS confirmed top speed of 146 MPH, without saddle bags. I have a zero problems with my GS and have decided it is truly a KEEPER.
- Rider, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-21 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my new 1150GS in October of 1999. Pre-ordered it with great anticipation. After being in the shop 5 times since then with less than 700 miles on the bike, i sold it in frustration. BMW corporate was no help to me in trying to get the problems with the bike resolved and I went through 3 dealers trying to get the bike fixed. My problems included the oil site guage blew out, had to replace 6 spark plugs and two fuel injectors and brake problems. When it briefly was in working order the bike was a joy to ride but the mandrin orange color should have been spelled L-E-M-O-N.
- cwb, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-29 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a ZX-11, Valkyrie, 929RR (still do), r1100RT, and the r1150GS and must confess that the GS is the finest all around bike of the lot. I suffer from motorcycle obsession and tire quickly of my mount in less that 12K, usually. The GS adapts to so many conditions that it is like owning 3 different bikes. Summer riding is excellent; there is some throb around 4000rpm but it is much improved over the r1100RT and after 2k you don't even notice it. The suspension remains stiff in normal riding (even at 130mph) but is very forgiving offroad or when ripping over a pothole or muffler pipe (don't try this). It is also quite adjustable for 2-up and differing conditions. Speed is everywhere in the rpm range but vibration comes on over 4000rpm. Pushing through to 5500rpm settles it down but you are flying if you are in 6th (OD). Oil does disappear quickly. Winter riding is excellent. The 2 stage heated grips work well. Some time one hand gets warmer than the other, but this is due to uneven hand pressure and not the thermostat. The stock tires slip like crazy in loose snow and ice. Offroad is a dream...the suspension smooths the terrain out and allows you to encounter the beauty around you. You can not throw it around like a 250 and if it decides it wants to lay down you will really struggle to stop it. It is the happiest on a fire road with lots of challenges. There is plenty of torque to climb steep grades (ski trails even) and drive through the muck. One foot of water is the most I would recommend, but river crossing is definitely a blast. Watch for holes and loose sand as the GS will sink quite easily. There are many who complain about the wind screen, but it is livable. Most problems relate to buffeting and a lack of protection. Check out the Aeroflow GS options and if you go with this, integrate your light and mount selection with the Aeroflow windscreen selection. I highly recomment this screen. It radically cuts the wind, protects against weather and reduces bufffeting and noise. Also try a ride with the stock screen removed (trust me). In summary, you can ride 4 seasons in the Northeast, cruise all day, go offroad, cruise back home, ignore the weather except snow and get alot of looks while you are at it. The new GS is BMW's very best engineering and it will not disappoint. Plus, you will get an award from BMW for every 100,000 miles you ride...now thats durability. If you love sport bikes (ZX-11, 292RR) be careful. This is a great bike but you will miss the thwack and obscene speed and handling of the sport bike design. Write me if you have any questions...
- Gren, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-16 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The R1150GS is so extremely useable and fun, it's a must have. Plenty of torque and HP and a wonderful 6 speed gearbox, not nearly as clunky as old BMW's. ABS is great for unexpected lane visits from cell phone talking soccer moms in SUV's. It is VERY tall. I'm 6'1 with 34 inseam and both feet can tip toe. Best to slide to one side and flatfoot one leg. This height has advantages: huge lean angles. You can surprise the Sunday squids on their GSXR/CBR/ZX/RI whatever when you go sailing by in the tight twisties with camping gear in tow. And when you do get "there" you can haul down the unpaved spot of your choice with no worries. It's like having a sport bike, enduro and standard all wrapped up into one very good package. don't test drive one, unless your ready to buy. It'll be your soul mate.
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After much hand ringing I traded my beloved 1975 R90S which I had bought new in November of 1974 for the 1150 GS. Boy, has BMW come a long way in 25 years! The bike is absolutely wonderful. I also have an '86 GSXR 1100 and I had wanted to get away from all the plastic bodywork. The big Beemer fit the bill !! The six-speed trans is great! The ability to configure it in so many different ways ... dual seats... one seat with rack.. Great saddle bags that are easy on and off... I could go on and on. The only drawbacks are the windshield buffeting, which can be removed, and the extreme height of the bike. I'm 6'4 and with the seat set low it's till tippy toe for me! However I would recommend this work of art to anyone with the bucks, the height, and the love to ride.
- Lurch, Atlanta , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-13 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
after leaving my '96r11gs in the UK, the r1150gs was a must. 22K after a march delivery 5 days detroit to LA. @65 or 95,solo or two-up sealevel or over cottonwood pass, this ride does not know the difference. do not ride one unless there is one for sale, or it'll ruin & make what ever you now ride so sad...ck out the Touratech spoiler and crash bars ***** cheers
- mike matzenbacher, Troy, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
BMW has addressed the few shortcomings of the R1100GS with the R1150GS, namely the gearbox and the fuel injection mapping (surging). After a quick test ride, it was apparent that this beast was just like its predecessor, only better. I've owned an R100GS, R1100RT, currently have an R1100GS, and the R1150GS is the best all-around bike of them all. The riding position is perfect; the handling is almost intuitive and it's very easy to toss into the corners. There's plenty of power and torque; it's funky looking; and there are tons of aftermarket goodies to allow you to spend your cash on and make yours one-of-a-kind and perfect for your adventures!
- Galen Anderson, Lacey, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-04 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1150GS,is not the first BMW I've owned, but certainly the best of the bunch. BMW have always produced machines that may not have been superlative in any one area, but the overall package-unbeatable. The 1150 is this type of machine in spades. This bike consumes highway miles, bashes back roads, and with the correct tires can handle dirt roads with ease. I have spent quite a few 10-hour days in its saddle without fatigue. Sixteen thousand miles later, I still anticipate the next ride as if it is my first.
- Chad Hanna, New Kensington, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-22 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't fit on a CBR600. Ducati's are hell. GXSers are too tight. R1's hurt my knees..etc etc. that's what a 36" inside leg does for you. But I want to be able to stay afloat when I go down a canyon. I don't want to wallow on a soft touring suspension. I want handling. (And distance, and 2up, and rough roads, and good visibility, and comfort, and speed, and and and...) And that's what the GS gives you. Ok maybe not as much speed as you'd really like, but enough to have some fun. BUT. It's expensive, it vibrates and the indicators are a real pain in the ****.
- Ian, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-22 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did not know there was an SUV motorcycle! This bike is a blast here in Northern California were the back mountain road potholes/debris can pitch a sportbike off course. I went from a 2000 Kawasaki ZX9 to this and haven't looked back. I have more confidence in poor weather(ABS is great!) and are no longer stopped when the logging roads come up or just feel like a dirt flogging. Granted this is no dirt bike, but she doesn't complain as long as I don't get to technical or overboard(the tires are the real limitation). My only complaint is the windscreen. If you have a long torso (6'3") the top lip on the screen creates a lot of turbulence. Although you can adjust it, raising it makes it worse for me. I tried a taller windscreen and that didn't help, so I ended up cutting the upper lip off (about 1"). For a $17K bike this was a bummer. Also the seat sucks(230lbs.) and now I have to shell out $600 for a Corbin replacement...Bad BMW, no cookie.I n conclusion, I would really recommend this bike to anyone having trouble connecting with a motorcycle. I went from sportbikes, sport-tourer's, cruisers, dual-sports and never found a home on anything (especially Japanese) until I finally decided to take the plunge and go BMW. Everyone I ride with wants one after they see how well the bike charges on all types of terrain and conditions. Oh, don't expect any deals on the GS and accessories can be pricey. But hey, you know that if your looking at BMW's. Good Luck!
- Peter Fletcher, Santa Cruz, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-17 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first BMW motorcycle and after the past three months and 3K+ miles I can say it was worth every penny! After 15 years of full time commuting in San Francisco I wonder why I hadn't tried a GS sooner! To sum this 1150GS up in one word... QUALITY!!!
- Peter H. Lattman, Dublin, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-04 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having ridden a 1997 BMWrg1100s, aside from riding for 12 years from standard to sports, I can surely say this bike is the ultimate experience. And an experience shared! Touring all around the Philippines with a backrider posed no problem! In a country where roads are as unpredictable as our president, a machine like this is no-holds-barred.
- patrick purugganan, Manila, Philippines

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-30 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding all sorts of bikes (including some BMWs) I am now able to say....
- Jorg Emmert, Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-25 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After spending 4 years with a BMW R 1100 RT, this bike does everything the RT did well, and a lot more! I love it and I can only recommend this MC to anybody who likes a quality (you could even call it a sporty bike) MC with all the comfort you can buy for money... and it works !
- Martin Scibb, Silkeborg, Denmark, Europe

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-02-23 2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
<P>This bike is scary. After some time with a BMW K1100LT, I really thought I'd found my ideal bike. In fact, why I even bought the 1150GS is still a puzzle. I guess I wanted a canyon-carving, all-road fishing bike. At least that's what I told the neighbors who know nothing of subtleties of these things... <P>To net it out: the K1100LT is a serious long-distance tourer but no ace on dirt roads. The 1150GS is an all-round fun machine for just about any road and anything any sane person (speaking exclusively here) would ever want to do. And it's so dorkey looking it's doubtful anyone would want to steal it! <P>So if your inseam is 30 inches or longer, check it out!
- Jack Shaw, Silverthorne, Colorado, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: