Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW R 1150 GS - ABS reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

19 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

gstourer

Firenze, Italy

Reviewed on 2002-07-23

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Around the beatiful Tuscany hills, wine tasting, excellent food, and with a head-turner like the GS, no match!!! You feel great on this monster. Ducati's where no match on the hilly roads! It is just incredible how easy it is to drive this elegant elephant! Sport bikes were astonished to see them overtaken!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Hays

La Vergne, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2002-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After having had them all (over 20 motorcycles, most "open class" high horsepower models), MX'ers, dual-purpose, touring, sportbikes and standards, I'd have to say that I have rediscovered the simple pleasure of riding once again in the R1150GS. The most fun I can recall having on a bike was on a little Honda scrambler back in the 70's, when I got up early on Saturday mornings and just rode all day long, nowhere in particular. that's the same sort of feeling I get on the GS; I can go anywhere on or off road that I feel like going (dual purpose), enjoy the view, carry "stuff" with me (touring), and not feel like I have to yank open the throttle to get a short lived rush of power (sportbike). In short, it's a great all around purchase, and while BMW's are famous for fit and quality, I'm just happy to know that I think I've finally found a bike that can literally "do it all".
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Monk

Kentucky

Reviewed on 2002-05-15

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I rented this bike in California for a week and 2000 miles. On freeways and under acceleration-I thought who would buy this bike? But when climbing Sequoia Park switchbacks at 6k feet, two up with luggage, and the twisties near Kernville, I found out it was an excellent mount. Rides good, suspension adjustments work, saddlebag near muffler small, engine not thrilling as my Triumph, but will lug to 1500 rpm in second and climb like a billy goat!! I found out why the Europeans like it in the mountains.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alex

Richland, Washington

Reviewed on 2002-03-19

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had the 1150 GS a year now and I still marvel at it. I am an engineer, a nerd nasa, national lab engineer. Every piece of sophisticated gear is a series of trade offs with performance, cost, weight, style, ergonomics etc etc. BMW got all those little and not so little tradeoffs 'just right' on the 1150 GS. The GS is a tall bike so if you are under 6' unless you have a short body and long legs it is going to be a challenge. I am 6'2" and this bike with peg drops and bar backs fits me perfectly. I had considered an K12LT at one time. I recently sat on one and thank my lucky stars I got the GS. I looked at the Adventure but I would not get one. If you are going to spend that much time in the dirt get a dirt bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rider

USA

Reviewed on 2001-06-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've put a bit over 10K (miles) since purchasing Aug 2000, and can not find anything this bike can't do well. Sure it doesn't have the dirt manners of my KTM 360MXC, but who'd want to take a $15K bike and thrash it in the dirt? It will easily carry 140lbs of camping gear (I like to be comfortable, okay) and still grind the pegs. When you do pull off the pavement to go down to your favorite fishing hole or campsite, you can do it without any type of pucker, be it dirt, gravel or whatever. Just don't try to be Travis Pastrana. Brakes are killer, this bike will do a stoppie! ABS is wonderful for those greasy parking lots and cell phone talking soccer moms. Just squeeze hard and forget. Transmission is excellent. Gears one through five are excellently spaced with 6 being very deep (need to be over about 85-90 MPH to be of use). Also very smooth shifting, Honda riders may disagree, but gears are full width so it may seem notchy to the uninitiated. Heated grips should be mandatory on any bike, they make all year riding fun. Has a large tank, about 225 miles worth if your smooth on the gas. Not too hard to provoke a wheelie. The best part though is embarrassing sport bikes in the medium to very tight twisties. This thing will lean WAAAAAAAAAAY over. Granted through high speed sweepers it doesn't have the power a liter class sport bike has. I have a GPS confirmed top speed of 146 MPH, without saddle bags. I have a zero problems with my GS and have decided it is truly a KEEPER.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

cwb

Indiana

Reviewed on 2001-03-21

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

2.0
I bought my new 1150GS in October of 1999. Pre-ordered it with great anticipation. After being in the shop 5 times since then with less than 700 miles on the bike, i sold it in frustration. BMW corporate was no help to me in trying to get the problems with the bike resolved and I went through 3 dealers trying to get the bike fixed. My problems included the oil site guage blew out, had to replace 6 spark plugs and two fuel injectors and brake problems. When it briefly was in working order the bike was a joy to ride but the mandrin orange color should have been spelled L-E-M-O-N.
Reliability
2.0
Quality
2.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gren

Boston, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2001-01-29

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned a ZX-11, Valkyrie, 929RR (still do), r1100RT, and the r1150GS and must confess that the GS is the finest all around bike of the lot. I suffer from motorcycle obsession and tire quickly of my mount in less that 12K, usually. The GS adapts to so many conditions that it is like owning 3 different bikes. Summer riding is excellent; there is some throb around 4000rpm but it is much improved over the r1100RT and after 2k you don't even notice it. The suspension remains stiff in normal riding (even at 130mph) but is very forgiving offroad or when ripping over a pothole or muffler pipe (don't try this). It is also quite adjustable for 2-up and differing conditions. Speed is everywhere in the rpm range but vibration comes on over 4000rpm. Pushing through to 5500rpm settles it down but you are flying if you are in 6th (OD). Oil does disappear quickly. Winter riding is excellent. The 2 stage heated grips work well. Some time one hand gets warmer than the other, but this is due to uneven hand pressure and not the thermostat. The stock tires slip like crazy in loose snow and ice. Offroad is a dream...the suspension smooths the terrain out and allows you to encounter the beauty around you. You can not throw it around like a 250 and if it decides it wants to lay down you will really struggle to stop it. It is the happiest on a fire road with lots of challenges. There is plenty of torque to climb steep grades (ski trails even) and drive through the muck. One foot of water is the most I would recommend, but river crossing is definitely a blast. Watch for holes and loose sand as the GS will sink quite easily. There are many who complain about the wind screen, but it is livable. Most problems relate to buffeting and a lack of protection. Check out the Aeroflow GS options and if you go with this, integrate your light and mount selection with the Aeroflow windscreen selection. I highly recomment this screen. It radically cuts the wind, protects against weather and reduces bufffeting and noise. Also try a ride with the stock screen removed (trust me). In summary, you can ride 4 seasons in the Northeast, cruise all day, go offroad, cruise back home, ignore the weather except snow and get alot of looks while you are at it. The new GS is BMW's very best engineering and it will not disappoint. Plus, you will get an award from BMW for every 100,000 miles you ride...now thats durability. If you love sport bikes (ZX-11, 292RR) be careful. This is a great bike but you will miss the thwack and obscene speed and handling of the sport bike design. Write me if you have any questions...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

USA

Reviewed on 2001-01-16

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The R1150GS is so extremely useable and fun, it's a must have. Plenty of torque and HP and a wonderful 6 speed gearbox, not nearly as clunky as old BMW's. ABS is great for unexpected lane visits from cell phone talking soccer moms in SUV's. It is VERY tall. I'm 6'1 with 34 inseam and both feet can tip toe. Best to slide to one side and flatfoot one leg. This height has advantages: huge lean angles. You can surprise the Sunday squids on their GSXR/CBR/ZX/RI whatever when you go sailing by in the tight twisties with camping gear in tow. And when you do get "there" you can haul down the unpaved spot of your choice with no worries. It's like having a sport bike, enduro and standard all wrapped up into one very good package. don't test drive one, unless your ready to buy. It'll be your soul mate.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lurch

Atlanta , Georgia

Reviewed on 2001-01-02

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After much hand ringing I traded my beloved 1975 R90S which I had bought new in November of 1974 for the 1150 GS. Boy, has BMW come a long way in 25 years! The bike is absolutely wonderful. I also have an '86 GSXR 1100 and I had wanted to get away from all the plastic bodywork. The big Beemer fit the bill !! The six-speed trans is great! The ability to configure it in so many different ways ... dual seats... one seat with rack.. Great saddle bags that are easy on and off... I could go on and on. The only drawbacks are the windshield buffeting, which can be removed, and the extreme height of the bike. I'm 6'4 and with the seat set low it's till tippy toe for me! However I would recommend this work of art to anyone with the bucks, the height, and the love to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mike matzenbacher

Troy, Michigan

Reviewed on 2000-11-13

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1150 GS - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
after leaving my '96r11gs in the UK, the r1150gs was a must. 22K after a march delivery 5 days detroit to LA. @65 or 95,solo or two-up sealevel or over cottonwood pass, this ride does not know the difference. do not ride one unless there is one for sale, or it'll ruin & make what ever you now ride so sad...ck out the Touratech spoiler and crash bars ***** cheers
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 19 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: