BMW R 1150 GS Motorcycles Reviews (11)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW R 1150 GS Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW R 1150 GS Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-10-25 2002 BMW R 1150 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2004 R1150GS and this is one of my all time favorite motors. I have been riding for 35 years and have owned 44 motors including my current 2003 Harley Ultra Classic and the GS. This machine provides a great ride for wandering throughout the country and also handles interstate riding well too. The roughest terrain I ride is an occasional dirt road as the bike is primarily intended for highway use. At 5'7" I am probably one of the shorter riders but I have never felt that the bike is too big. You either accept to get on it and handle it or don't. I like the big size and the way it handles. Seems like the heavier that you load it (with luggage for trips), the better it rides. This is a great machine and gives one the feeling that he is indeed riding a man's machine. I would definitely purchase another
- Daddy T, Blue Ridge Mtns , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-12 2002 BMW R 1150 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded my '86 Airhead for this bike. Bike is large but well balanced at all speeds. Almost intimidating to get on with my Stitch, but super ride once moving. I use regular gas for smoother operation. Premium fuel does not run as smoothly. This is just my opinion. Have ordered larger windscreen, as stock screen does have buffeting. Will play around until I get 'right' screen for me. Seat good, can move around, use bicycle pants for longer (300 mile) trip. Jesse bags have high utility, can hold helmet. Plush but not mushy ride. Brakes nicely modulated. 70 MPH VERY smooth in 6th gear. Engine seems most comfortable around 4000 RPM. No shifting issues. Love telelever. No bad effects from rear shaft drive. Mirrors usable. I like to ride and plan to commute and travel with this bike. See you around.
- Steve, Livonia, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-22 2002 BMW R 1150 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before I had the chance to ride the GS I was very put off by the looks of the bike. Since buying the bike, it has become my most used and favorite bike. I currently have four bikes including a 600 sport bike(F4i) and an RT. Pros: great seating position, good two up, good wind protection, excellent handling, reasonable power, and shaft drive. Cons: only reasonable power, oil consumption (should stop by 10K miles), and cost. If I could only have one bike, this would be it. I would buy another one.
- martin redmond, port jefferson, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-24 2002 BMW R 1150 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The BMW R1150 GS is without a doubt, the most versatile motorcycle on the planet -- period. You just can't go wrong with it. No, it's not a babe magnet per se, but that's about its only draw back. It's a bike for every season and every reason and I have found mine to be completely reliable, agile and capable. Great balance, great brakes, significant load carrying ability, at home on the super-slab or quirky mountain dirt roads, it's a serious world-class machine built to provide miles of fun and adventure.
- Michael Mays, El Dorado Hills, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-03 2002 BMW R 1150 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2002 1150GS Adventurer in August of 2002. Prior to buying the bike, I extensively test drove a 1150GS. When I carried the bike back to the dealership, I noticed the Adventurer and commented how tall the bike was. The owner of the dealership told me to test ride the Adventurer and make a back to back comparison of the two bikes. I'm only 5'9" tall, but once mounted and rolling, I fell in love with the bike. I liked the gear ratios of the transmission better than the regular GS and the overall handling suited me better. It had better wind protection, better suspension, and even though it is a mountain of a bike, I liked the seat better. I bought the bike and 11,000 miles later, I have installed a Corbin Seat, bar backs, motolights, throttlemiester, magnetic tank bag, SP III, Givi top case, Aeroflow windscreen, and a radar detector. I have owned several bikes in the past 8 years, sometimes as many as 5 at one time. Harleys, Hondas, Aprilias, Yamahas, Suzukis, and other BMW's, but I have never owned one bike that I liked or enjoyed more than this wierd looking bike. If I had 4 bikes in the garage, I would ride the Adventurer 90% of the time. The power and torque is fine. It's suprising how well it cruises on the interstate, how long it will go without refueling it's 7.9 gallon tank, how well it handles in the twisties, how much time you don't spend washing the bike, and how easily you can wander down a dirt road you are curious about. It's not a dirt bike, but the bike will not have any problems with most fire roads. I have gone with my ridding buddies on long distance rides and it seems they are forever stopping for fuel. When we finally arrive at our destination, I have no particular aches and pains above what you would normally have after 12 hours in the saddle on a Goldwing or Road King. I know, I've owned them both. While traveling down the interstate you can stretch your legs over the top of the engine guards and have the same feeling of highway pegs on a cruiser. The BMW luggage in conjunction with the Givi trunk provides more space than I will ever use. The heated seat and heated grips are so nice to knock off the early morning or late evening chill. The 3 year warranty is also nice. BMW's are expensive to service, but the GS is one of the least expensive to maintain. I don't notice any engine surging, the transmission is BMW clunky, the bike is stable at speed, and it uses about 1/2 quart of oil between 6000 mile services. I have not had the first problem with this bike. In my opinion, this is an excellent motorcycle that can truly do it all, if you can handle the seat height.
- J. Collins, Mt. Airy, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-03 2002 BMW R 1150 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my GS Adventure(R 1150 GS), I have long legs (36 inseam) and it fits better than my tailored suit. It is so balanced, I have had it in mud up to the drive assembly and it has been a faithful stead. I own a Honda RC51 and I swear it handles as well, some disagree because of the tires. I don't know because I never had a problem at speed. It gives me confidence. Also I ride in bad weather because I love pissing off so called bikers, and this is the machine that will win the world. I commute everyday and if I crash I know that the Beemers safety features will protect me. I have riden great distances and it has been worthy.
- Christopher Dawe, Lehman, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-26 2002 BMW R 1150 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I grind my GS thru NYC rush-hour traffic every workday. This bike is basically designed for that. Generous suspension travel to soak up unexpected potholes. Dual-use tires for loose gravel, grooved and broken pavement, expansion joints and curb cuts. Plenty of power and wicked fast handling for a 'point and shoot' ride. High confidence in the handling for any crazy lane-splitting/shoulder-surfing you need to do. ABS for when some car service driver changes lanes on you while reading the newspaper. Super-tall ride height so you can see over everything up to suburbans or delivery vans, unless you stand on the pegs for a better view. Low speed handling is better than you'd think for such a tall, heavy bike, but it does require more muscle than most people would be comfortable needing. You can drop this stopped at a traffic light if you aren't fully braced. If you can't leg-press 4-500 lbs, you may want to steer clear. Maybe 10% of GS owners take their bikes offroad regularly (the argument made against SUVs), but don't forget that at least in NYC urban roads are comparable to at least dirt roads in many highly-trafficked places, and the GS makes riding these zones a dream. Also, like most (if not all) BMW bikes, it has a 6-digit odometer. How many other motorcycles have an odo that flips at 1 million miles? 1 star off because its height makes you susceptible to the wind, its weight, and somewhat mediocre fuel efficiency. Correcting these things may require the suspension of the laws of physics, but since I can't give the bike 4.9999997 stars it'll have to do :)
- Otis Wildflower, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-20 2002 BMW R 1150 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many different bikes over the last 20 years and this bike is one of the best rides I have owned. It handles great on the twisties and open road. I feel very comfortable with the knowledge that I can take her off road if the need ever arises. The engine and transmission are very smooth and seem to get better everytime I take her for another ride. The BMW bags are simply the best in the industry and make unloading the bike after a long trip a snap. Take one for a test ride and see for yourself.
- Kevin Fonseca, Tiverton, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-23 2002 BMW R 1150 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I admit to being one of those "re-entry" motorcycle riders. Absent from the sport for years with re-entry in my mid fifties. Ugh. Living in Europe I wanted to buy a European bike. I chose BMW for several reasons: good 1970's era experience on a beemer and an appreciation for the quality and reputation BMW has in their cars and motorcycles. In addition, very strong resale value. I bought a 99 R1100R. This sportster was a good machine. Funky looking but a blast to ride. Without a fairing however at 60mph I felt a bit too challenged. BMW came out with the 1150 engine and 6 spped transmission. I always liked the look of the GS (over the R) and it had a very good reputation as well. I test drove one, noticed a significat difference in ride feel, that I liked, so I bought one. The 1150GS is a superbly balanced machine. It turns more by thought than grip pressure; in the twisties it's as nimble as anything I've ever ridden; it's got lots of grunt and carries a pillion in significant comfort. My only complaint is it is feels heavy and a bit tricky to handle at very slow pace. You must be cautious if under 6 feet tall. I'm 5'10," the bare minimum. Bottom line.....I recommend this bike without reservation. It's reliable, fun to drive, feels rock-solid underway and really holds it's value.
- Adam Geuss, Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-21 2002 BMW R 1150 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first oilhead boxer that I have had the chance to drive. I'm sorry to say that I wasn't overly impressed. I own four BMWs at the moment, two of them are GSes; a 1986 R80 G/S PD and a 1990 R100 GS. I guess I expected more from the R1150 GS. The two most noticeable things that really stood out was the much talked about engine surging and the weight. The surging issue is real and I wish BMW would admit to the problem and solve it. The BMW mechanics that I talked to knew about it and said they could minimize the effects at best. The weight has increased as the models have changed. The best GS in the dirt is still an R80 G/S. The R100 GS and the new R11XX GS get progressively less dirt capable. Would I buy another GS. Absolutely! The GS model line is one of the best all around bikes on the market.
- Alex, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-25 2002 BMW R 1150 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding motorcycles for about 13 years. I do a lot of research before I purchase anything but especially cars and bikes. I like to get a great value for my money and I don't ride to be impressive to others. I ride for me. I also don't believe in owning more than one bike at a time. There are many options out there but there are only two brands that I would consider for value, overall performance, useful technological improvments, and satisfaction. I'm sure there are many of you that would argue for other brands for various reasons but in my book there are two, and they are Honda and BMW. I learned to ride on a Honda 750, then I moved to the fully faired, more powerful but also much heavier Honda ST1100, followed by my favorite of the three, the Honda CBR600F4. Ok, so there I was looking for that 4th and hopefully final bike that would combine the goods of the first three. Honda's venverable VFR seemed a logical next step, somewhat standard ergos like the 750, sport touring capabilities of the ST1100, and sport riding not too far from the F4. But at 6'2" and a 34 plus inch inseam the VFR didn't seem to give me much more comfort than the F4. In the meantime, I had been hanging out at Chicago BMW and began sniffing around the Boxer's and the K bikes. More money than I wanted to spend. Twice and much as any bike I had owned, I bought the ST used, but there was something about these BMW machines that I couldn't quite put my finger on. The build quality was obviously very high high mileage reliability seemed a given, but could I make the switch from the bullet proof, smooth, Honda engineering that I had complete confidence in. After riding all of the Boxers and the KRS over an 8 month period, reading many reviews like this one, and talking to the dedicated Beemerphiles I took the plunge and decided on the GS. The VFR seemed to fade away more I rode the BMW's. The Honda's are still excellent machines, but not unlike The Borg from Star Trek lore, I have been assimilated into the world of BMW. I now understand the appeal of this German motorcycle philosophy and I'm hooked. I wasn't sure even after owning the GS for the first few weeks. I missed that smooth, water cooled, inline four... Or did I? I wasn't sure. I did the first 600 miles with mixed feeling. Vibration, mechanical noises, what is all this about? What is the appeal here? This windscreen sucks, torque is good though, handles great, gravel road ahead!!! don't worry it's a GS. Did I make a mistake? I miss my Honda! But just wait a minute... Take deep breath... Ralax... Have a beer.. you're missing the point. This is not a Honda. This is a BMW GS. Shift your thinking. Have a open mind. Ok... OK... I'll give it a chance. but that windshield has to go. With the windscreen off everything changed, the air was smooth but I wanted to retain the factory components, so I took some masking tape and placed a nice radius about four inches below the top lip of the screen, then proceeded to cut the top off with a jig saw, sanded the edge smooth and now I have a much smoother air flow tht hits me in the upper chest instead of scrambling my brain. But I still miss my smooth four cylinder Honda. I know... I sell the GS and find a used K1200. The K is smooth, powerful, sexy and it's a Beemer, best of both worlds right? So I took a ride to the new South Bend, Indiana BMW dealer and they just happened to have a 1999 K bike in perfect shape, owned by an airline pilot, which made sense to me because the thrust from a K-bike is similar to that felt at take off on a commercial airliner, really... So I made a deal for the K-bike and told the owner, Tom Selsor, that I would bring my GS in on consignment and take the k-bike, but I would have to ride the K before I completed the deal. The following week I rode the GS the 80+ miles to South Bend in 30 degree windchills. I was dressed for it and those heated grips where so nice to have. That is when I started feeling like I wasn't sure if I could part with this bike. It wasn't the heated grips because the K-bike had them as well, I liked the ergo's, the high ride that put me on a perch where I could see over just about anything else on the rode, the wide bars, no fairing, basic but advanced at the same time. So I get to SB BMW. I tell Tom that I have mixed feelings about making the trade but I'll now for sure after a ride on the K. I take the K bike out, it's comfy at first and that thrust in all gears is addicting. But soon I'm realizing something. First, I'm feeling a burning pain between my shoulder blades, which surprised me because my F4 didn't give me any problems. Then I felt that the only time I enjoyed the K was while I was accelerating through the gears. I was going for that rush. But other than that the bike felt kind of empty. The K was great for going fast in relative comfort but seemed it would be boring to live with as a daily ride. that's when it hit me... no soul, no character, no fun. that's why I've not been happy with my Hondas. They are great bikes but no character, no soul. that's what's been missing in my ride and this K is the same. I knew then that I was in love with that big, funky, clunky GS. It has the stipped down looks of my 750, it's comfy, like my ST, and it handles enough like my CBR to have fun, it's an alchemy of all three with the added bonus of taking on a little dirt, gravel, access roads etc. I know now that I made the right decision with this GS. I now appreciate the quirks and sounds coming from the gears and motor and that shhclunk sound of the ABS arming itself when rolling out of first gear. this is a motorcycle that you have a relationship with not just a riding experience. Chop the winscreen, or buy the Adventure screen, maybe change the seat or add a sheepskin if you have a boney butt like me. Add the System or Jesse bags, a heated vest, a good road atlas, and enjoy a long romance. I love you man!!!
- Rob Sandrick, Whiting, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: