BMW R 1150 R Motorcycles Reviews (44)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW R 1150 R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW R 1150 R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-10-20 2002 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am the second owner of this bike. I have had it 3 mo. So far it has been better than I hoped. Good smooth power, nice ride. I have had many bikes this is the first BMW should have bought one a lot sooner. I think anyone will be pleased with this motorcycle....
- WICKMAN, wickerk@vmcmail.com, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-05 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the second review I've posted for this bike. First one was July 2007, called Worth the Wait! I've owned this bike for 3 1/2 years and have put around 8,000 miles on it. I know that's not much, and I wish I could ride more, but I have a family and a demanding job. Like the title says, I'm STILL LOVIN' IT! How can you not enjoy riding such a superb machine as this? It's a beautiful machine, too. It's red and I keep it immaculate, so it gets a lot of looks. I'm in the middle of replacing the battery - wow, talk about open heart surgery! You damn near gotta take the whole bike apart to get to the battery. I hope the replacement battery lasts five years like the original lasted. And I pray I get it all put back together the right way! ;) I can't say enough good things about this bike. I feel lucky to own it. Will write again in a couple more years.
- Tom Hayson, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-08 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my used 2003 R1150R for over a year now and ridden it all over the roads of VA, WV, and MD and also roundtrip to Fl and have enjoyed all 12,000 miles I've put on it. Handles the twisty's fabulously and with a Sargent seat and a an Alaska sheepskin butt pad burning 2hrs of highway before a break is not a problem. Been 100% reliable so far, not a single issue, just required normal maintenance. Buy it - you'll like it!
- Erik W, Washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-28 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hard to improve on this machine. The only thing I would change is the saddle height. I travel 40 miles a day round trip to work on this machine 95 percent of the time, the other 5 percent I feel like I'm missing something.
- George Hastie, Trenton, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-21 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The R1150R is very close to doing every thing right. It handled a 700 mile trip in constant rain with no problem. Power assist servo's are still touchie...but it does work. Overall, a great ride.
- John Thomas, Livonia, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-01 2002 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding this bike since May of '05 and put about 3000 miles on it in that time. What a machine! Nothing I have ridden even begins to compare with the fun this bike delivers. Touring, twisties, urban evasion, this bike does all with style. The gearbox was a little clunky at first and there was some surging between 2500-3500rpm but both of those disapeared after the 6000mi mark. The German engineering shows through. Dual disks and the telelever system make sure that extreme braking feels under control. Heated handgrips make cold mornings bearable. don't forget that BMW has excellent aftermarket support for this bike. If you're considering another bike, go test drive it - then try the R1150 R . You'll see...
- Max Conelly, Reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-10 2002 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I find the bike perfectly balanced. Easy to maneuver in the city, strong and sound on the highway, and tight a fast through twisties. Also good is that the passenger has a comfortable position and can thoroughly enjoy the ride. I love the power and stability. Its lines are just beautiful.
- James Chuck, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-10 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Re-entry bike for me. I have owned a variety in the past but it has been a few years since the last one. I looked all winter and began testing in the spring. I knew the 1150R was the choice within a few blocks of the dealership. This is a very comfortable and well thought out machine. I have the heated grips and ABS and like both. The gearbox is clunky and my only complaint. I can live with it but it is not up to the level of the rest of the bike. This bike is an excellent choice between a cruiser or sport bike.
- Shelby, Livermore, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-08 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding a motorcycle three months ago. I had no previous knowledge of motorcycles so I took a riding class and bought the R 1150 based on reviews, price and recommendations. I love it. At first I thought it would be to much to handle, but in a short time I have become very comfortable and pleased that I got the 1150. I take it to work and I cruise open Texas roads. The bike handles great on both and is very comfortable for my size. Every night before I come in from the garage I just stop and look at it, the curves and lines are awesome and I get a lot of looks from folks around town.
- Chris Kralich, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-18 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike, replacing a Triumph Daytona and Suzuki SV650. It's great on back roads and on the freeway. The economics are near perfect after adding a Corbin Seat and Bar Backs. I lowered the pegs to gain leg room, but removed them after losing too much ground clearance during cornering. I still love it - good power, smooth, very stable in corners, very reliable - it almost needs a problem or two to keep it intersting and give it more character. It is German engineered and it shows. The quality of manufacture and attention to detail is amazing! I have a severe case of needing (actually wanting) another BMW - one just isn't enough!!
- Tom Radue, Savage, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-07 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the 2003 R1 150 R with ABS. I commute to and from work on the bike every day, thanks to corporate casual. The bike works great, in city driving the ABS is very good, after you get used to how sensitive it can be. My only complaint is the seats available from BMW, I have both the standard and the "comfort" seat. Neither one has enough support. Plus I'm in a slightly pronounced leaning position with too much weight on my wrists and palms. It has taken me a while to become accustom to the weight, at 530 lbs. Empty it isn't a light weight bike. Overall, I've enjoyed the bike and definitely recommend it to other riders. I think it does need some work on the peg placement, but that may be just because, at 56, I need a little less lean and more leg room.
- Ron, Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-11 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for a year and although I haven't put too many miles on it, I love it. Have had sport bikes, cruisers, etc., and this bike is a combination of them all. Handles great, has excellent power and is reasonably comfortable. Peg to seat distance is a bit short though. It is definitely a looker and the price was reasonable. My buddy has a VTX1300 and the Beamer is more comfortable and absolutely smokes it.
- john, ashland, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-12 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My local dealer had a Dark Ferro Blue Metallic R1150RA in stock at 0.9% and BMW of North America pays the first 5 payments, so how could you go wrong with that deal! Anyway, I agree with all the comments about the acceleration, suspension, and agility through the twisties. I am an inch shorter than she is and I can see that the pegs will need to be dropped down as well. Also, the dealer rotated the clutch and front brake levers too far down and I would like them at a shallower angle, so it's not so much of a reach even at the #1 setting. I think I may need to add some riser blocks to the bar, so that the sitting position is a little more upright and take the pressure off my palms a bit. If I make the bike comfy for me then the wife will like it as well. Other than those two things the bike has a very high 'giggle factor' when out cruising the twisties!
- John, Williamsburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-20 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike I have owned. Only knock is the footpegs, which I fixed with a peg lowering kit. Around town, or on big high mileage adventures, it's always fun and this bike has all the stuff the gearheads love to talk about. I can't get into all the technical talk - I just like to get on the bike and go... and this bike goes.
- Steve S., Randolph, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-24 2003 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike and I put about 8,000 miles on it in a little over a year. It was a great first bike. VERY smooth, easy to handle and a comfortable riding position. The only reason I let it go was my commute turned into 100 highway miles each day. Although a great all around bike, I needed something designed to protect the rider from the highway wind. I could have dressed up the 'R with a huge windshield and other things, but that would have taken away from its sporty look and I couldn't stand it. The Boxer engine was great and never gave me any problems. You won't be disappointed with riding the 'R, it's great.
- Todd Stacy, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-19 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the bike for about a week now. Only 200 miles so far, but what a great bike. It handles great, nice brakes (non-ABS), very good real world performance, good comfort, and it has (boxer engine)character. This is my 10th bike in 18 years and a keeper.
- AL, Westchester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-02 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This motorcycle is fantastic. I have had six bikes before this one (all cruisers). This bike tops them all. Acceleration is great as is overall engine performance. Seating position takes a little getting used to but it is comfortable. No more lower back pain. My bike has the power assisted ABS brakes. They are just the best... period. Overall quality is first class. These bikes cost more than the Japanese bikes but in my opinion, they are worth it.
- Craig Schmidt, Media, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-27 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding this motorcycle for 15 months in all kinds of weather, on the slab, through twisties, in the city, I've got to agree with the other reviewers that this bike does it all. The balance and slow speed maneuverability are excellent, stability at high speed (90+)is solid. That motor always wants to give you more. Flickability and stability in twisties are also superb. On the highway I'm getting real close to 50 mpg. The brakes on my non-ABS are the best I've ever had. The suspension really allows this bike to perform as well, or better, than much more expensive bikes. The motor is solid: the bike's fast with real decent torque. On the negative side, I agree that the rider pegs cramp the rider too much, even a short rider, but this can be corrected. And yeah there is some surging (mine is single spark) but it's never a real problem and it goes away in time. I came over to BMWs in the early 80's, they are not the fastest, not the coolest, not the best at any one thing, but there's just something about them I seem to mesh with. For the price, the r1150r is the best deal out there. And with proper care, these bikes will last forever. Hope this review is helpful.
- Dave F., Walkersville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-15 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
An all-around great bike. Fun, easy to ride and plenty of power. The brakes and handling are awesome. Acceleration is good. Suspension is the best I've had in 20 years of riding. My only complaint is the seating position. Footpegs are a bit close for a tall rider. I moved them down 2" and it is perfect.
- John Pope, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-31 2004 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, a 2004 BMW R1150R. All I can say is wow. All the reviews are true on this bike. Great handling, suspension, seating position, and more power than I know what to do with. Stability and handling are confidence inspiring. I see myself having this bike for a long time, plus you don't get lost in a crowd like the Harley folks (no offense). If you want a great all-around bike, this bike is worth a look (and a free test drive from your local BMW dealer).
- waltrider, Northville, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-02 2003 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
smooth and powerful I have a R1150R, and have put 3500 miles on since 9/03. I really do like this bike. I purposely bought a non-abs version, so I could do my own brake bleeds. I researched the heck out of this bike, and finally decided to get due to reliability, character, ease of self-maintenance, timeless (to me) looks. Oil changes, tire removal, throttle adjustment, valve adjustments etc. everything easy as I'm no mechanic. I'm fairly new to biking-about 2yrs under my belt, and coming from owning bikes such as SV650, HD Sportster, and the BMW F650GS, my only complaint would be the bike's a little heavy at 530 pounds wet. I feel that the 70 or so ft. pounds of torque and 85 horsepower help make up for this. There are faster, lighter bikes for sure, but the R1150R is such a great all-rounder. The suspension is rock solid, as are all the components. I have never had a false neutral. I use this as my primary ride to and from work and everywhere else when I'm traveling alone. I ride rain or shine, and it is a bit harder to keep clean due to those big thumping horizontal cylinders picking up mud, etc, but I just do a good clean and once over every week. I have the side cases and would recommend them because they can hold 50 pounds of groceries! I love the howl that this bike emits on full throttle and the motor happily pulls to redline and asks for more. Cornering is a blast and the bike is very sure footed. To sum up for me the pros are great all round bike. A great bike if you can only have one in your stable, it has lots of character, easy maintenance, reliable and fun. The cons are the fuel average is about 40mpg, but bike is still new, and mostly been driven in cold weather. If you are over 6' you may feel a little cramped but you've got to actually sit on one. I would like to shave 50 pounds off bike, or me and I'm already pretty thin, but tough to have it all. I see myself always owning this bike.
- Mike , Salem, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-30 2003 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike 10/03, it is a '04. The bike is smoooth and responds well. BMW people are aways willing to help and just a phone call away. BMW financing, 3/36 warranty, road side assistance, and the resale value. They even let you test drive it, which other bike places would not let me do. Do yourselves a favor try one.
- Yao, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-11 2002 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm convinced this bike twitches every time I walk by it in the garage. It just wants to be on the road. My story: First bike I spotted at the 2002 Calgary Motorcycle Show and I was hooked. Had never owned a bike but in 3 months had ordered, taken a course, obtained my license and in May 02 picked up my blue with tan seat R1150R. To date have put on 19,500 km and check the weather every day. I cannot compare the 1150 to other bikes but if the criteria is "Am I happy with my purchase?" the answer is an unqualified yes. I look for long ways to and from work; I check every sideroad and mentally note its location for the next weekend ride; I've met new friends and experienced a closeness on the BMW that is best left unsaid; honest to God the whole experience has taken 20 years off the 56 I've accummulated. Would any bike have provided the same feelings - maybe, maybe not but all I know is that this bike has come through in spades. If there is just the slighest whisper in your mind - should I or shouldn't I - GO FOR IT!!
- Bryan Clarke, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-20 2002 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought a 2002 R1150R three weeks ago. So far about 700 miles have been driven, with a mix of short commutes in town and 150-mile trips through Michigan's northern Lower Peninsula. Absolutely love this ride. It does all things very well, if not superbly. No, it isn't as fast as many Japanese or Italian crotch rockets. No, it isn't a Gold Wing-type touring bike. And by all means Beemers are not Harley look-alikes. These are all GOOD things. Being young enough (32) to still want some performance and old enough to know better than riding at 100 mph (although this machine is certainly willing to comply if desired), she suits me just fine. It's a trade-up from my first bike, a 1997 Kawasaki Eliminator (see the review I wrote on this site--under the 1996 model year heading--if you're curious). Loved the bike; it was easy to learn on and a very capable performer. But I was ready to move up midway through my second season. There's a little regret over selling the Kawasaki, although it's more than made up for by all the great aspects of the R1150R. And I've received numerous compliments from riders and non-riders alike, even some Harley riders (though the majority don't wave to me when we pass each other--perhaps they need both hands to hold the big beast upright). Only warning is regarding the maintenance. For some reason the owner's manual doesn't have instructions on changing the oil and filter. And there's a lot of steps involved in accessing the battery; actually have to remove the fuel tank. That notwithstanding, she's a fine machine. Highly recommended.
- Matt, Traverse City, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-23 2003 BMW R 1150 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At 5'11" and 190 lbs, I find it to be the perfect fit. Controls are extremely easy to use, except that the turn signals are not self-cancelling. You can get an after market plug in to permanently fix that. Otherwise, the upright seating position with virtually unlimited power underneath leaves you in a real "happy place" between sporting and touring. Terrific to/from work AND I have no second thoughts about making 2000 mile trip either. Be sure to get the System (luggage) cases, which are very easy to put on/off the bike. They make packing for weekend getaways a snap. I thought the small "fly" windshield is a waste of space and the full size touring shield trashes the sporty look of the bike. BMW sells a MID-SIZED sport fairing, which is perfect for keeping wind off the chest and it looks great, too. Ask a dealer to walk you through the details of the bike. It's an extremely smart design built on a terrific, very powerful engine. The ride? Stable, fast and it whispers "Ooooooohhh... yes!" at 75-80 mph.
- Reed, Gloucester, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: