BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Motorcycles Reviews (40)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-10-10 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my '04 RT in January of '07 with 34,173 miles. As of this writing, I have put 10,000 miles on the bike in 10 months. Riding includes to and from work, to a 5,000 mile trip out west (Nevada) and back. This bike does everything I ask of it - from the power delivery, to the comfort, to the cornering capabilities, to the ease of maintenance. I enjoy this bike, and certainly don't mind riding to work in the rain. The weather protection is decent, and the Metzler tires that it's equipped with really grip the road well, even when wet. And speaking of wet, the heated hand grips are worth their weight in gold. The storage capacity is good, and I keep the necessary gear loaded, just in case Mother Nature decides to add a challenge to the ride. I don't regret purchasing a bike with 34,000+ miles.
- Jason Nieding, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-28 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I primarily commute on the bike but also get out for longer runs occasionally when I can. Never thought I'd be wishing for a longer commute but once you get on this bike you don't want to get off it. That is of course until your butt starts screaming at you. At 5'9", I have the seat at its lowest setting. This leads to the famous BMW slide toward the gas tank and makes longer trips less than ideal. On a bike where everything is so incredibly well thought out, it amazes me that the saddle (central to a decent riding experience) can be so bad. Even on short trips I find myself continually squirming and repositioning myself in the saddle. Sure I can buy an aftermarket saddle for $500 - $600 but when you spend the kind of money that you do for this bike, I don't think I should have to. Only other gripe is that I occasionally get some funky feedback from the handlebars for no apparent reason. This tends to happen at lower speeds or when taking tight corners but it's never been a major issue and overall the stability of the bike is incredible. When I first started to ride it I was a bit overawed by the size and weight but no matter how hard I push it into corners it never budges and I've never felt anything other than in complete control. It's also amazing how a huge bike can shrink the longer you have it. When I look at it now it doesn't seem in any way large compared to when I bought it. I've heard and read some complaints about the servo assist brakes but personally I have no problem with them. When you ride a bike anything that will help you stop quicker while maintaining control can only be a good thing. Despite the above moaning, I absolutely love my RT. I fell in love with the styling the first time I saw it and was completely smitten after I finally got to test ride it. Everything about the bike inspires confidence, and the reliability is second to none. I've ridden it almost every day since I drove it off the showroom floor and have not had a single issue. Scheduled services have been done despite the feeling that she would keep running without them. On longer trips this reliability along with a 6 gallon tank means you can just sit back and enjoy with no worries about leaking fluids, bits falling off or how long to the next gas station. No bike is perfect and everybody is looking for something different. This is not a sports bike but will keep up with most of them if asked to, it's not an all out tourer in the ilk of a Wing or an LT but it'll take you from one end of the continent to the other no problem, and it's not a cruiser but will allow you to cruise all day (and with fewer gas breaks) with a little help in the saddle department. My RT is not perfect but she is like an old friend now, completely reliable, confidence inspiring and always fun to hang out with.
- John, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-20 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a great bike. Had an '02 RT and it too was fine except for the surging motor. The Twin Spark '04 totally eliminates that problem and lets the flat twin run like a BMW should. Smooth with torque every where in the power band. Have done multiple trips to Alabama, Florida Panhandle, and northern Georgia in the past year. Bike is a mile eater. 6th gear lets you cruise at 80mph all day long and the motor feels like it's barely idling. You can knock off 300 miles before you realize it's 10am. Comfort is amazing and the electric windshield works as advertised, keeping wind blast off your face. I am most impressed with the handling and brakes. Can keep up with almost anyone on a twisty road, and absolutely outbrake anything out there except another BMW. Nice to have ABS with all the deer running around Michigan. I ride to work 9 months a year and 25 degree weather isn't even an issue. There are other bikes that are faster, handle better, etc., but this BMW (like most) excels at all of those attributes to become an excellent all-around bike.
- rpg, Farmington Hills, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-13 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used after renting one in Arizona. It had 12k on it and got it for a very good price. I like the bike but wish it had a larger peg for the rear brake pedal will buy a after market extension. I do get some cycling vibe thru the handle bar's more so then the rental and I do get the surging in the 3k range from time to time. I was told the 4 plug model does not do that well mine does. I wanted the 1150 over the 1100 for the six speed box gear box for the most part it is pretty good and the that 6th gear is nice. I do have trouble @ times where it does not want to go into 1st and have to rev it a little then it seem's to work okay. I really need to add cruise control as the throttle return is a bit on the heavy side. Hope to correct the surging with a valve adjustment and sync the F.I. Hope to learn how to do this and do most of the maint. myself.
- John Goodwyn, EDGEWOOD, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-17 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE OWNED MY 1150RT FOR ABOUT 18MONTHS. I LOVE THE BIKE, FLUID LINES (NO HARD EDGES LIKE THE '05), EXCELLENT HANDLING, GREAT ABS (MAYBE TOO GOOD-GRAB A HANDFULL AND HOLD ON), HEATED GRIPS, ACCESSORY PORTS AND PLENTY OF STORAGE. HOWEVER, I AM STILL BURNING OIL (BREAK IN CAN LAST TO 10K MILES IM TOLD) AND THE SEAT WAS DESIGNED BY THE DEVIL HIMSELF! (EXTREME FORWARD LEAN AND WIDE). ELECTRONIC CRUISE CONTROL AND A RADIO SHOULD BE BASIC OPTIONS ON A BIKE SUCH AS THIS.
- Mike, Batavia, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-11 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had Harley's before I shipped out for Iraq. Thought I would buy another one, but I just didn't find one that turned my head and am I glad because it lead me to this great bike. Bought this used 2004 with 10,000 miles in great shape and at a great price. I have put almost 3,000 miles and it makes me smile everytime I hop on and twist the throttle. Great response and handling, smooth and consistant power. Shifting a bit clunky but overall fairly good. The seat is a bit unconfortable and I am looking for a new wind screen, but overall I could not be happier!
- hoodtex, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-28 2003 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a police motor officer in NC and we just acquired a fleet of 2006 1150rt's. The bikes are amazing. I just got back from a two week motor school and took the bike through mud, sand and tons of low speed course work. The bike performed as good or better than the Harleys or Hondas. It's a little top heavy in the low speed tight turns but once you master that, it's a great bike. Performance is top notch, just wished it had a little more inspiring exhaust note. Can't imagine better brakes.
- shawn, winston salem, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-07 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought new at the end of June 2004, and have been tickled senseless with this bike. The bike is generally ridden double, and loaded as often as not. After the initial break-in period every 500-1000 miles the motor performance has improved and now with 20k miles it still just keeps getting better. The handling in the twisties is absolutely phenomenal, especially two-up.
- shep, pontoon beach , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-14 2003 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased this bike from it's original owner and I am loving it more everyday. I am not a "snooty" person, but when I am riding it, I feel like I am part of an elite club. I have yet to see another one of these bikes on the road, and of the ones I have seen for sale online, very few of them have been the Titan silver color. This bike epitomizes sexy and sleek, is so easy to ride, has plenty of power for rapid acceleration onto an on-ramp, and all of the ammenities that are included standard have been great. The bike is rock solid and like a fighter jet.
- JMP, Corinth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-17 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 650 GS for a year and put 9000mi on it. After a trip through Jackson Hole and Yellowstone from my house in Washington State I realized that I needed a bigger bike. I have over 4k on my RT now and I don't have a single complaint. It is such a pleasure to ride, the engine, brakes and suspension couldn't be any better in my opinion. The only thing I would add is electronic cruise control.
- DAN THOMPSON, ENUMCLAW, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-21 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is just my second motorcycle so my data points are very limited. This bike fits me physically and I am comfortable sitting on it. Those with short legs will probably not like this design. I ride with the seat in the high position. The ABS brakes work very well and high effort quick stops can be made by those relatively unskilled in proper technique. I can hammer down on the brakes doing 85mph and the bike just sort of squats and stops like it grabs the road. You better velcro your sitter down because this brake design works. Acceleration is not the raw jump out from under you from a standing start like my Honda Magna had, but once you get rolling in second or third gear the bike has plenty of power for me and it keeps a good power curve with no soft spots. You know that it is a big 2 cylinder but it does not put out signals that it does not like rpms, so cranking it up is not cause for worry. The center of gravity is high but does not seem to be a problem. It has very good instrumentation and great fuel range. I like the bags and the rack for hauling and the attachment points are well anchored. The light fly wheel takes a little getting used to and smooth shifting takes a learned touch. The gears are ground so that they snap and clap into mesh. A real German feel. I have a '97 BMW Z3 with the M44 engine and it has been a very low maintainance car. I expect the same from this bike. The boxer design is not cutting edge but it has been polished to perfection over 4 decades. My only complaint is the windshield design. I like clean air and the shield up or down did not give that to me. Down, and the wind noise around my neck was too loud, and up, the roll over hammered my head around. I sawed it down below the front fairing and now ride in quiet clean air. This is not a cruiser or a true sport bike. But it seems to ride the big slab well at speed and gets around the mountains with soom real ability. It should be a great long distance 2 wheel comfort machine. For me it is a great balance between go fast and go comfort.
- gary pichon, marble hill, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-17 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't done any long trips, but this bike can do 65 mph all day long and come back for more. It's a "tension reliever" for me and I must say she gets a lot of looks. I much prefer this style and sure am glad I got it before the new R1200RT came out.
- Jeff Sand, Waukegan, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-19 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First bike after more than 26 years. I've always wanted a BMW and the R1150RT is what a BMW is all about. Powerful engine with that unique boxer twin feel. Quiet and powerful with great even torque at all RPMs. Comfort is excellent. Heated grips and excellent weather protection by the fairing and electrically adjustable windshield let you ride in the rain and cold. It's not an issue to commute to work in 30 degree temps at 70 + MPH. Two up touring with sidecases packed and a bag on the back are as easy as riding one-up unloaded. The RT does long distances with ease and style will make the sport bike riders switching through the curves do a double take to see what's coming up on them. The intergal ABS brakes are incredible. I drove the first 600 miles without using the rear foot brake. A firm two finger pull on the front brake lever will forcefully bring the bike down surprisingly quick from 80 MPH in a straight controlled line. The suspension makes up for many mistakes as the telelever rear and paralever front isolate braking forces from the suspension. Maintenance is easy enough for someone with moderate mechanical skills. I've done all but the initial 600 mile service, changing oil, balancing throttle bodies and adjusting the valves with no difficultly. The BMW community you get with the bike is a great bonus. Super people who are always willing to help.
- Rick, Derry, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-25 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't believe how much fun this bike is to ride. I love the way it handles. This is just one great motorcycle.
- Jimmy Lawson, Denton, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-05 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello again! I ended my last review with the fact that my 2002 had been rear ended and totaled. I was really down as I figured I could never find another deal on used 1150RT like I got before. The other guy's insurance co. took about 2-3 weeks to settle. I figured I would have to settle for another Jap cruiser. I went to the local dealership just to see what they had. No used ones. Only one new 2004 left. I talked with the owner and got a fantastic deal. With the insurance paying off the wrecked cycle plus the equity check I got, I was able to "afford" to buy it (really stretched the old budget to the limit but it was for a good cause - me getting a new 1150RT!) The 2002 with 49,000 miles was great. This one seems even smoother!
- T. JONES, GREENVILLE, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-18 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have not owned many bikes. I have always enjoyed police motors. I have a KZ 1000P and now a 1150 RT. I thought I had a good motor with the KZ. It didn't handle very well at all in the rain. The move by police agencies to the BMW was great. I test drove the 1150 RT and had to have one. Its great looks and the ability to ride on the wettest of days make this a wonderful machine. I tell my friends and family about the bike all the time. The ABS is OUTSTANDING. There are only a few items I could ask to be added. I plan to add an AUTOCOM system with radio and cell phone to ensure when I start on my long rides I have something to keep me going. This will also give me the ability to stay in contact with friends and family. Serious satellite radio will ensure there are no long stretches of road without music.
- R Lockett, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-04 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I doubt I'll read motorcycle magazines anymore since I have found the perfect bike. I was torn between the RT, the FJR1300, and the ST1300. I thought I'd miss the power I was giving up, but I don't. It moves just fine. I also thought it was overpriced until I found year end prices. It is very nimble, offers great protection from the elements, is comfortable, has a great fuel range, and just looks awesome. I traded up from a BMW R1150R so I am used to the maintenance. Very easy to work on yourself. I am sure the other two bikes (Honda and Yamaha) are fine motorcycles, but they are hard to get ahold of and don't have the same appeal that a Beemer has. If you are unsure of which bike to buy, go to a BMW dealer and take one for a test drive. Then you'll find out if the adjustable seat and windshield as well as the heated handgrips are for you. I have no doubt that I will be on this motorcycle for many thousands of miles!
- rcharlton, Destin, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-27 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There are many bikes on the market today that are "do it all bikes". BMW has produced several of these. The RT is a stand out in this catagory. The RT is an excellent touring and commuting machine. The transmission can be a bit clunky, so what! The thing runs great. don't be afraid to rev the thing up around 6 or 7K and shifting is not bad at all. It will gladly hustle the twisties as fast as you need to on public highways. The wind protection is the best I've ever seen, especially after adding a parabellum wind screen. You can also adjust the electric windscreen while "on the fly" to get the air flow just right for the riding conditions. The fuel range is great, the comfort is great, the suspension is great, the heated grips are great, great tool kit, the brakes take a while to get used to, but once you do, they are fine too. The bike can be ridden year round so, you can take full advantage of the investment you've made. I personally have not had any problems with surging, maybe it's because I don't baby the engine. You can tour two-up without a bit of problem. I've been told by my wife that the passenger accomadations are quite good once I added a pad to the top case. The ability to utilize only one key for the ingnition and cases is great. The two power points enable you to utilize heated clothing for two or any other devices such as radar detector, XM radio, etc. I like a dependable machine that you can ride for long distances and has good dealer support. So far, BMW has been a good choice. If you like riding long distances, the bike will not wear you out like many will. I attribute this to the excellent rider comfort and overall wind protection. Maintenance can be expensive for these machines bcause there is a lot of fairing to take off to access the engine. The bike uses about 1/2 quart of oil between 6000 mile intervals. From past experience with BMW's, this should get a little better with time. Overall, I have been very satisfied with this bike. I have owned many different kinds of bikes over the past 8 years and this ranks among the top. It's not the fastest, nor the best looking, but she'll "get'er done". Ride safely!
- JLC, Mt. Airy, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-27 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the R 1150 RT instead of a Harley. Why? Rode it. Knew before I left the parking lot that this was the bike I wanted. Have never doubted the decision. Has a feel of precise control and performance. Runs smooth and quiet. Plus, the thing is set up for as much safety as is conceivable. Know that there are other good bikes out there - Honda, Suzuki, Kawasaki, and Harley - but they will be my "second" bike.
- Thumper, Abingdon, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-24 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rides like a dream. After not riding for 11 years I was a little intimidated by the size and weight of the RT, but once I got out on the street I was fine. This bike is great for riding in the mountains and on the freeway. It does it all and it rides soooooo smooth. The extra money I paid for a BMW is well worth it.
- Kevin Marsh, Canyon Lake, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-19 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1150RT shines in so many areas. The handling is amazing. I recently rode with my Dad and Uncle in the Missouri area, where the roads twisted and turned with no stops. The RT handled them like they were nothing. Superior handling. My Father owns an '03 1200 LT, which he loves but he had to comment on how well the RT handled. Overall comfort is great as well as nice little features such as heated handlebars and a retractable windshield. Visit a BMW shop and take one for a test spin. You'll love it.
- Quinton Gray, Manteno, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-15 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike, the first being a 1100 Honda Sabre. This bike is a great handling motorcycle with plenty of power and good protection. Handles the twisties like a sports bike while riding in reasonable comfort. Replaced windshield with larger Cee Bailey touring shield, which made a great difference on longer rides. MPG between 40 to 50 and very smooth in 6th gear. Enough storage space with top case to hold a lot of gear. The longer I own it the more I like it. Definitely a keeper!
- Robert, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-22 2003 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2003 RT now has just over 3,700 miles on the odometer. It truly is a do-it-all bike -- incredibly stable at all reasonable (and not so reasonable) highway speeds, while being extremely maneuverable and agile in parking lots. U-turns in tight quarters are effortless at the same time other sport-tourers tend to take the longer way around to get parked. The brakes are worthy of an engineering award, stopping the bike with incredible command and control under all circumstances. One word of caution -- surging. It is a common, well-documented problem on the web forums and mine was not one of the rare ones to not surge. The sensation is a sense of intermittent fuel starvation at steady throttle speeds of about 3,500 rpms. Three solutions, in ascending order of cost -- precise valve adjustment (no mechanic has the time nor would you want to pay them for the time it takes to do it as precisely as what is required to get the bike running optimally precise throttle body synchronization (mechanics get it close; persist on them getting it spot on fuel management firm-ware upgrade (see below). Apart from that, no other bike can touch it for design, ergonomics, system case flexibility, and sheer bullet-proof durability. The odometer has six digits. That tells you something, yes?!
- GaryIF, Bethesda, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-04 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2004 R1150RT after a neighbor let me borrow his 2002 R1150RT for a ride. I owned three bikes at the time and never considered getting a fourth, until that day. I just love this bike and I am commuting on it almost everyday. It is smooth, quiet, powerful (but not scary fast) and handles like a dream. On my maiden voyage I rode the bike home over Mt. Tamalpais and was ripping along pretty good, (as I have ridden this section of road for over thirty-five years), when I came upon an off-camber ninety degree right turn that had some loose rock that had fallen from the hillside above the road, right where I needed to go. I straightened it up, pointed it left of the rocks and pulled in the clutch and nailed the brakes. Much to my surprise the bike came to a stop about ten feet before I would have hit the rocks and sat there gently idling. Never in my life would I have thought that anything could stop like that and to me the brakes on this bike alone are going to be a life saver to many riders. If your seriously thinking about this bike, you're going to love it.
- A Forty Year Rider, San Anselmo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-03 2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had no intention of buying a new bike when I attended Biketoberfest last year, but when I saw the RT I was smitten. I have ridden motorcyles for 35 years and I can safely say my 2004 Titan Grey RT is the finest machine I have owned. The handling is superb, I can carve the twisties with friends mounted on R1's with ease, not something you expect on a bike with a full compliment of luggage. It has all day comfort, gobbling up the miles effortlessly.
- BMWOLY, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: