Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW R 1150 RT (ABS) reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

41 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Eric H Lynn

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed2003 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the motorcycle from the original owner in Colorado with 40 K on the odometer. This so far has been the best BMW I have ever owned I have owned five of them, I love traveling on this bike, it is one with road at 75 mph, all weather. With new Michelins , the grip is amazing. Reliable and quick with a heavy load rides so stable. I have added a Sargent seat, ohlin shocks, exhaust, ilium foot rest, and bar backs. Such a wonderful motorcycle. I’m very attached to the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason Nieding

Cleveland, Ohio

Reviewed on 2007-10-10

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my '04 RT in January of '07 with 34,173 miles. As of this writing, I have put 10,000 miles on the bike in 10 months. Riding includes to and from work, to a 5,000 mile trip out west (Nevada) and back. This bike does everything I ask of it - from the power delivery, to the comfort, to the cornering capabilities, to the ease of maintenance. I enjoy this bike, and certainly don't mind riding to work in the rain. The weather protection is decent, and the Metzler tires that it's equipped with really grip the road well, even when wet. And speaking of wet, the heated hand grips are worth their weight in gold. The storage capacity is good, and I keep the necessary gear loaded, just in case Mother Nature decides to add a challenge to the ride. I don't regret purchasing a bike with 34,000+ miles.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-02-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I primarily commute on the bike but also get out for longer runs occasionally when I can. Never thought I'd be wishing for a longer commute but once you get on this bike you don't want to get off it. That is of course until your butt starts screaming at you. At 5'9", I have the seat at its lowest setting. This leads to the famous BMW slide toward the gas tank and makes longer trips less than ideal. On a bike where everything is so incredibly well thought out, it amazes me that the saddle (central to a decent riding experience) can be so bad. Even on short trips I find myself continually squirming and repositioning myself in the saddle. Sure I can buy an aftermarket saddle for $500 - $600 but when you spend the kind of money that you do for this bike, I don't think I should have to. Only other gripe is that I occasionally get some funky feedback from the handlebars for no apparent reason. This tends to happen at lower speeds or when taking tight corners but it's never been a major issue and overall the stability of the bike is incredible. When I first started to ride it I was a bit overawed by the size and weight but no matter how hard I push it into corners it never budges and I've never felt anything other than in complete control. It's also amazing how a huge bike can shrink the longer you have it. When I look at it now it doesn't seem in any way large compared to when I bought it. I've heard and read some complaints about the servo assist brakes but personally I have no problem with them. When you ride a bike anything that will help you stop quicker while maintaining control can only be a good thing. Despite the above moaning, I absolutely love my RT. I fell in love with the styling the first time I saw it and was completely smitten after I finally got to test ride it. Everything about the bike inspires confidence, and the reliability is second to none. I've ridden it almost every day since I drove it off the showroom floor and have not had a single issue. Scheduled services have been done despite the feeling that she would keep running without them. On longer trips this reliability along with a 6 gallon tank means you can just sit back and enjoy with no worries about leaking fluids, bits falling off or how long to the next gas station. No bike is perfect and everybody is looking for something different. This is not a sports bike but will keep up with most of them if asked to, it's not an all out tourer in the ilk of a Wing or an LT but it'll take you from one end of the continent to the other no problem, and it's not a cruiser but will allow you to cruise all day (and with fewer gas breaks) with a little help in the saddle department. My RT is not perfect but she is like an old friend now, completely reliable, confidence inspiring and always fun to hang out with.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

rpg

Farmington Hills, Michigan

Reviewed on 2006-10-20

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What a great bike. Had an '02 RT and it too was fine except for the surging motor. The Twin Spark '04 totally eliminates that problem and lets the flat twin run like a BMW should. Smooth with torque every where in the power band. Have done multiple trips to Alabama, Florida Panhandle, and northern Georgia in the past year. Bike is a mile eater. 6th gear lets you cruise at 80mph all day long and the motor feels like it's barely idling. You can knock off 300 miles before you realize it's 10am. Comfort is amazing and the electric windshield works as advertised, keeping wind blast off your face. I am most impressed with the handling and brakes. Can keep up with almost anyone on a twisty road, and absolutely outbrake anything out there except another BMW. Nice to have ABS with all the deer running around Michigan. I ride to work 9 months a year and 25 degree weather isn't even an issue. There are other bikes that are faster, handle better, etc., but this BMW (like most) excels at all of those attributes to become an excellent all-around bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Goodwyn

EDGEWOOD, Washington

Reviewed on 2006-09-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS)

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought this bike used after renting one in Arizona. It had 12k on it and got it for a very good price. I like the bike but wish it had a larger peg for the rear brake pedal will buy a after market extension. I do get some cycling vibe thru the handle bar's more so then the rental and I do get the surging in the 3k range from time to time. I was told the 4 plug model does not do that well mine does. I wanted the 1150 over the 1100 for the six speed box gear box for the most part it is pretty good and the that 6th gear is nice. I do have trouble @ times where it does not want to go into 1st and have to rev it a little then it seem's to work okay. I really need to add cruise control as the throttle return is a bit on the heavy side. Hope to correct the surging with a valve adjustment and sync the F.I. Hope to learn how to do this and do most of the maint. myself.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Batavia, Illinois

Reviewed on 2006-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS)

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I HAVE OWNED MY 1150RT FOR ABOUT 18MONTHS. I LOVE THE BIKE, FLUID LINES (NO HARD EDGES LIKE THE '05), EXCELLENT HANDLING, GREAT ABS (MAYBE TOO GOOD-GRAB A HANDFULL AND HOLD ON), HEATED GRIPS, ACCESSORY PORTS AND PLENTY OF STORAGE. HOWEVER, I AM STILL BURNING OIL (BREAK IN CAN LAST TO 10K MILES IM TOLD) AND THE SEAT WAS DESIGNED BY THE DEVIL HIMSELF! (EXTREME FORWARD LEAN AND WIDE). ELECTRONIC CRUISE CONTROL AND A RADIO SHOULD BE BASIC OPTIONS ON A BIKE SUCH AS THIS.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

hoodtex

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Had Harley's before I shipped out for Iraq. Thought I would buy another one, but I just didn't find one that turned my head and am I glad because it lead me to this great bike. Bought this used 2004 with 10,000 miles in great shape and at a great price. I have put almost 3,000 miles and it makes me smile everytime I hop on and twist the throttle. Great response and handling, smooth and consistant power. Shifting a bit clunky but overall fairly good. The seat is a bit unconfortable and I am looking for a new wind screen, but overall I could not be happier!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

shawn

winston salem, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2006-06-28

Motorcycle reviewed2003 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am a police motor officer in NC and we just acquired a fleet of 2006 1150rt's. The bikes are amazing. I just got back from a two week motor school and took the bike through mud, sand and tons of low speed course work. The bike performed as good or better than the Harleys or Hondas. It's a little top heavy in the low speed tight turns but once you master that, it's a great bike. Performance is top notch, just wished it had a little more inspiring exhaust note. Can't imagine better brakes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

shep

pontoon beach , Illinois

Reviewed on 2006-01-07

Motorcycle reviewed2004 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought new at the end of June 2004, and have been tickled senseless with this bike. The bike is generally ridden double, and loaded as often as not. After the initial break-in period every 500-1000 miles the motor performance has improved and now with 20k miles it still just keeps getting better. The handling in the twisties is absolutely phenomenal, especially two-up.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JMP

Corinth, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-06-14

Motorcycle reviewed2003 BMW R 1150 RT (ABS)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently purchased this bike from it's original owner and I am loving it more everyday. I am not a "snooty" person, but when I am riding it, I feel like I am part of an elite club. I have yet to see another one of these bikes on the road, and of the ones I have seen for sale online, very few of them have been the Titan silver color. This bike epitomizes sexy and sleek, is so easy to ride, has plenty of power for rapid acceleration onto an on-ramp, and all of the ammenities that are included standard have been great. The bike is rock solid and like a fighter jet.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 41 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: