BMW R 1200 C - ABS Motorcycles Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW R 1200 C - ABS Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW R 1200 C - ABS Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-01-21 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike about 2 years ago. No problem. I lied, the only problems I have had are people taking their eyes off the road to look at it. It is a head turning bike. Very comfortable to the rider, and with the comfort seat upgrade, my wife feels safe and comfortable as well. ABS brakes, need I say more? Engineered to last 100K or more, this is a great bike for a bargainer with performance and looks for a collector.
- rjjrlaw, Acworth, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-21 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my R1200CM for nearly 3 years. Everyone comments on what a great looking bike it is. The ride is just as great. I researched the Harleys, the Kawasakis, the Yamahas, and Hondas. Then I test rode this BMW. Feature for feature, nothing came close to matching the R1200CM in a cruiser bike.
- Mark Wiskow, Merton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-11 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned and ridden many bikes ranging from a Yamaha R6, YZ80 dirt bike and a Honda Interceptor. As this being my first cruiser, I was a bit reserved with purchasing a BMW, who are known for their dual-sports and sport touring bikes, not cruisers. Initially, I was taken by surprise by the amount of torque it had from a standstill and how it handled. It looked like a cruiser, rode like a cruiser, sounded like a cruiser; but handled like a sportsbike. After a few more test rides on it, I pulled the trigger and took her home. I've logged 12,000 miles in 6 months and really enjoy the looks and handling of this fine piece of German engineering. I would highly recommend this to anyone who's considering a cruiser and doesn't want to be branded with the HD logo on their butt. Only complaints: cheesy rear tail light assembly, thin clear coat (need to repaint tank this winter)
- Doug W., Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-04 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all, I've owned 5 Harleys. So, I know a bit about bikes. In fact, I proudly pushed my Harleys all over the U.S. Really! I was so sick of H.D's and so sick of the people who I met while riding H.D.'s that I never thought I'd own another bike. Then I saw the R1200C. Wow! It was love at first sight. I bought one and the bike has been great. It is everything I could ask for and more. Great styling and rock solid dependability. But, equally important is the fact that the people that I have met through my association with BMW have been super. Friendly, helpful, and true motorcycle enthusiast! So, I would recommend the R1200C wholeheartedly and I would recommend the BMW riders group as well. Both have treated me well. Enjoy!!!!!
- Bert, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-06 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding for 20+ years and have had many bikes. This bike is far and away the best engineered (sans the rickety rear tailight rig that has been replaced).Ride this bad boy 50+ miles (one way) to work into Washington DC when it's fair weather.Very solid, brakes very well,Runs great and my Harly buddies laugh then ride ride it and two have traded up to one.Would I buy it again? In a New York second!
- Beachcomber, Stevensville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-25 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I almost bought a Harley Fat boy in April. I had a deposit on it and insurance cards, but after seeing and test riding the Phoenix, I was in love. The bike performs flawlessly, has good torque great looks and is a chick magnet. Only complaint is the weak taillight assembly.
- John, Westchester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-10 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Currently ride Buell S3T, K1200LT, F-650 (Woods Performance Engine Kit) and R1200C. Cruiser just returned from a tour with 6,000 miles on the odometer. Equipped with B-Bags (sold by Chase Harper). This is a neat solo-tourer. Plenty of power, good brakes, handling, gas mileage and a comfortable seating position for solo riding. BMW windshield gives a bit too much wind buffeting for my taste, though this is an individual thing. Upgraded brake light to a Kisan flashing unit that just plugs into stock mount. Also, Kisan pulsating headlight plug in module. Bike works flawlessly and is a joy to ride.
- William M. Clements, Claremont, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-20 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rent mainly tourbikes. I have two Kawasaki Concours and an R1100RT. The RT is so popular, I went looking for another. While looking, I ran across a 2000 R1200CM with 1000 miles. The bike is beautiful, it's a head turner and most importantly it's really fun to ride. I can't recommend this bike highly enough. I was a tourer and sportbike guy. You can now add this cruiser to my list.
- Bill Smith, Colorado Tourbike Rentals, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-31 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now with 2,000 miles coming up on this beauty it's almost broken in. I really like the fact that now the engine is much less buzzy at 70-75 miles per hour. Earlier with less miles I found myself wishing for one extra highway gear to reduce rpms and buzziness. Now, however I am pleased. Over all this is a very fine motorcylcle and a real head turner. I have ridden for many years on Hondas, Yamahas, Suzukis, MotoGuzzis, Harleys and BMWs. I love the engineering, ABS brakes and tribute to past BMW styling on this R1200C. It seems there is little to improve upon. However, being an enthusiast and a perfectionist I do have three suggestions. 1. Let's do something about those ape hanger handlebars! They really detract from the styling of the bike. The Euro bars and short bars are too short and do not allow the full use of the cool integrated backrest. OK styling and aftermarket guys, lets come up with a set of low flat pullback bars that compliment the style but come back far enough to keep me from reaching. I am experimenting with a "mini beach bar" now. And remember, BMW controls dictate that the 1 inch bar at the clamps are reduced in diameter at the controls (poor design). 2. Let's improve that fuel injection so that it is not so touchy in acceleration and deceleration, Wow! One tiny increment of grip twist either way in the corners and Oh Boy! 3. How about a full front fender to compliment that 1930's styling, with a little chrome trim perhaps? I may sound picky, but hey this may be the best example of art, styling and technology (front and rear suspension, ABS) on the planet - let's not stop here, let's go for perfection!
- Vaughan Pederson, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-09 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only problem I incurred along the way was the left turn signal kept coming loose, but once I got to the BMW dealership, they rectified the problem. I averaged 50-55 mpg and used 1/4 quart of oil. I don't want to say the seat is uncomfortable, because when I had the chance to stretch out the legs I didn't incur any pain, but when you get stuck with just using the pegs, because you have 35-40mph cross winds for 400+ miles...YOU DO GET A LITTLE SORE. I think the passenger pegs are a little too close, tend to get in the way of the driver, but the balance with a passenger, Is Great!!! Well I'm off to Southern Illinois on 11 May taking the Looooooooooooong way, about 2800 miles. Hope to see ya on the road.
- Clayton A. Cooper, Twentynine Palms, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-08 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I came from the Harley school of thinking about what type of motorcycle best fits the description cruiser until I took a test ride on a R1200C. The bike not only out handles and Harley on the road today it also gets it's fair share of head turning when I cruise by. If I park the bike outside a busy business it's not to long before I'm answering questions like, who makes it?, do they sell these to anyone or is it just for the elite? Where's the nearest BMW dealer? Well needless to say, I'm sure glade I took that test drive!
- Bruce Gardner, Latham, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-29 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 27,000 miles on my 1998 R1200C. The only problems have been cosmetic. Cheap plastic turn signals were replaced three times, rear taillight housing twice. I've had my exhaust headers replaced twice due to discoloration. They are double walled so they aren't supposed to color. I found a tiny bubble in the fuel tank so BMW repainted the tank. I requested they leave the pin stripe off, they did. They have excellent warranty service and Brecht BMW in Escondido has a great service tech. I run Bub exhaust mufflers, have a Corbin seat with passenger backrest, and a Parabellum windscreen. The bike is fast, smooth, loud but not obnoxious, and handles great. ABS brakes are awesome.
- Cruiser Ken, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-19 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have never owned another cruiser, so I can't compare, but I don't think it gets any better! I had the Montana package installed and the wife just loves the larger back seat and backrest. I can't wait to try out the heated grips when it gets cold. This beauty has me hooked!
- Jake, Central Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-12 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Earlier this year, I was looking for a new motorcycle. I checked all available Japanese bikes (having owned a Honda Shadow 750) and spent a fair bit of time drooling over a Harley. I was just about ready to put down the $26,000 for a Fat Boy when I decided to check out the BMW R1200C. And, was I happy I did. The design was striking, the performance nothing to sneeze at, and the price was not outrageous either. It didn't take me long to buy the bike and I've had no regrets. The bike handles extremely well. It is quick on a take off (for a cruiser anyway), it corners surprisingly well, and the gear ratios are just right for city driving in Canada. Ergonomically, it's a marvel also: all controls are within easy reach and need no force to be activated. The seat is placed so that the comfort is not sacrificed either on a highway or during frequent stops in city driving. The heated handlebar grips are a nice quirky perk as well. The large gas tank gives it a more-than-adequate range. Most importantly, the bike seems to be very happy at about 120 kph on a highway. The engine just purrs. I suppose, it doesn't hurt either that the bike excites genuine curiosity. All in all, a piece of art on wheels. Downside? All the chrome needs a fair bit of cleaning (although some bike aficionados might actually like the work), a fuel gauge would be nice, as would be a RPM gauge. Bottom line: take one for a test ride - you'll be hooked.
- Mark Logar, Edmonton, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-29 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Positives: Stylish, fantastic ride, good handling, easy maintenance, a real head turner. Best cruiser you can find. Negatives: Plastic front and rear turn signal assemblies will break easily, small passenger seat, could use a bit more power to be perfect.
- Happy R1200C Owner, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-26 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Positives: If you're looking for a permanent grin, take a ride on the R1200C. This well balanced cruiser handles fantastic in the turns and has maximum torque. Coupled with BMW quality and unique award winning styling...it's a winner! This is no Harley clone, it's in a class by itself. Negatives: Small passsanger seat if riding 2, but BMW has passenger comfort seat that's very nice.
- Anonymous, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-01-09 2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Positives: great styling, comfortable riding position, smooth at highway speeds, nice exhaust growl at lower speeds, unique flat twin design with telelever and paralever suspension, shaft drive, adjustable rear shock, adjustable back rest, low maintenance, head turner, nice seat height. Negatives: very small passenger seat with no passenger backrest, could use a little more acceleration, prior to purchasing the saddle bags I cracked the rear turn signal stalk ($140 replacement part) while dismounting the bike. The saddle bag installation prevents this from happening again. Suggested optional equipment: Corbin Dual Saddle Seat with dual backrests, BMW R1200C saddle bags, BMW R1200C windshield.
- Richard Jue, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: