Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW R 1200 C - ABS reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

rjjrlaw

Acworth, Georgia

Reviewed on 2007-01-21

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike about 2 years ago. No problem. I lied, the only problems I have had are people taking their eyes off the road to look at it. It is a head turning bike. Very comfortable to the rider, and with the comfort seat upgrade, my wife feels safe and comfortable as well. ABS brakes, need I say more? Engineered to last 100K or more, this is a great bike for a bargainer with performance and looks for a collector.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Wiskow

Merton, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2004-09-21

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I've had my R1200CM for nearly 3 years. Everyone comments on what a great looking bike it is. The ride is just as great. I researched the Harleys, the Kawasakis, the Yamahas, and Hondas. Then I test rode this BMW. Feature for feature, nothing came close to matching the R1200CM in a cruiser bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doug W.

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2004-08-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned and ridden many bikes ranging from a Yamaha R6, YZ80 dirt bike and a Honda Interceptor. As this being my first cruiser, I was a bit reserved with purchasing a BMW, who are known for their dual-sports and sport touring bikes, not cruisers. Initially, I was taken by surprise by the amount of torque it had from a standstill and how it handled. It looked like a cruiser, rode like a cruiser, sounded like a cruiser; but handled like a sportsbike. After a few more test rides on it, I pulled the trigger and took her home. I've logged 12,000 miles in 6 months and really enjoy the looks and handling of this fine piece of German engineering. I would highly recommend this to anyone who's considering a cruiser and doesn't want to be branded with the HD logo on their butt. Only complaints: cheesy rear tail light assembly, thin clear coat (need to repaint tank this winter)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bert

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2002-05-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First of all, I've owned 5 Harleys. So, I know a bit about bikes. In fact, I proudly pushed my Harleys all over the U.S. Really! I was so sick of H.D's and so sick of the people who I met while riding H.D.'s that I never thought I'd own another bike. Then I saw the R1200C. Wow! It was love at first sight. I bought one and the bike has been great. It is everything I could ask for and more. Great styling and rock solid dependability. But, equally important is the fact that the people that I have met through my association with BMW have been super. Friendly, helpful, and true motorcycle enthusiast! So, I would recommend the R1200C wholeheartedly and I would recommend the BMW riders group as well. Both have treated me well. Enjoy!!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Beachcomber

Stevensville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2002-02-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Been riding for 20+ years and have had many bikes. This bike is far and away the best engineered (sans the rickety rear tailight rig that has been replaced).Ride this bad boy 50+ miles (one way) to work into Washington DC when it's fair weather.Very solid, brakes very well,Runs great and my Harly buddies laugh then ride ride it and two have traded up to one.Would I buy it again? In a New York second!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Westchester, New York

Reviewed on 2001-09-25

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I almost bought a Harley Fat boy in April. I had a deposit on it and insurance cards, but after seeing and test riding the Phoenix, I was in love. The bike performs flawlessly, has good torque great looks and is a chick magnet. Only complaint is the weak taillight assembly.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William M. Clements

Claremont, California

Reviewed on 2001-08-10

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Currently ride Buell S3T, K1200LT, F-650 (Woods Performance Engine Kit) and R1200C. Cruiser just returned from a tour with 6,000 miles on the odometer. Equipped with B-Bags (sold by Chase Harper). This is a neat solo-tourer. Plenty of power, good brakes, handling, gas mileage and a comfortable seating position for solo riding. BMW windshield gives a bit too much wind buffeting for my taste, though this is an individual thing. Upgraded brake light to a Kisan flashing unit that just plugs into stock mount. Also, Kisan pulsating headlight plug in module. Bike works flawlessly and is a joy to ride.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Smith, Colorado Tourbike Rentals

Colorado

Reviewed on 2001-07-20

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I rent mainly tourbikes. I have two Kawasaki Concours and an R1100RT. The RT is so popular, I went looking for another. While looking, I ran across a 2000 R1200CM with 1000 miles. The bike is beautiful, it's a head turner and most importantly it's really fun to ride. I can't recommend this bike highly enough. I was a tourer and sportbike guy. You can now add this cruiser to my list.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Vaughan Pederson

Texas

Reviewed on 2001-05-31

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Now with 2,000 miles coming up on this beauty it's almost broken in. I really like the fact that now the engine is much less buzzy at 70-75 miles per hour. Earlier with less miles I found myself wishing for one extra highway gear to reduce rpms and buzziness. Now, however I am pleased. Over all this is a very fine motorcylcle and a real head turner. I have ridden for many years on Hondas, Yamahas, Suzukis, MotoGuzzis, Harleys and BMWs. I love the engineering, ABS brakes and tribute to past BMW styling on this R1200C. It seems there is little to improve upon. However, being an enthusiast and a perfectionist I do have three suggestions. 1. Let's do something about those ape hanger handlebars! They really detract from the styling of the bike. The Euro bars and short bars are too short and do not allow the full use of the cool integrated backrest. OK styling and aftermarket guys, lets come up with a set of low flat pullback bars that compliment the style but come back far enough to keep me from reaching. I am experimenting with a "mini beach bar" now. And remember, BMW controls dictate that the 1 inch bar at the clamps are reduced in diameter at the controls (poor design). 2. Let's improve that fuel injection so that it is not so touchy in acceleration and deceleration, Wow! One tiny increment of grip twist either way in the corners and Oh Boy! 3. How about a full front fender to compliment that 1930's styling, with a little chrome trim perhaps? I may sound picky, but hey this may be the best example of art, styling and technology (front and rear suspension, ABS) on the planet - let's not stop here, let's go for perfection!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Clayton A. Cooper

Twentynine Palms, California

Reviewed on 2001-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2000 BMW R 1200 C - ABS

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
The only problem I incurred along the way was the left turn signal kept coming loose, but once I got to the BMW dealership, they rectified the problem. I averaged 50-55 mpg and used 1/4 quart of oil. I don't want to say the seat is uncomfortable, because when I had the chance to stretch out the legs I didn't incur any pain, but when you get stuck with just using the pegs, because you have 35-40mph cross winds for 400+ miles...YOU DO GET A LITTLE SORE. I think the passenger pegs are a little too close, tend to get in the way of the driver, but the balance with a passenger, Is Great!!! Well I'm off to Southern Illinois on 11 May taking the Looooooooooooong way, about 2800 miles. Hope to see ya on the road.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: