BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Motorcycles Reviews (8)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-10-10 2012 BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden them all, Triumph, Honda, Yamaha and a few Harley's. This is my first BMW. I'm loving the R1200 GSA. I tested the GS800, very nice and fast, but I kept thinking that would not be long, I would wish that I bought it bigger (knowing self...) This bike is a little intimidating. It is tall and heavy, but when moving, even at 5 mph., it is a cat. It rides great, feels nimble and you can go everywhere with it. This is the first motorcycle that I have owned that I could do off road. I love the fact that I have been riding in the middle of nowhere, exploring roads that I would never go on a Harley, and just have so much fun with it. It is so much more than just a bike to commute, go out at night, or traveling. This is a bike that you can go off road and go highway 80 mph. and does great either way. It is very ergonomic and has a fantastic sitting position. Your back will not hurt, plus it is one of the few bikes out there, that you can stand straight up, riding full standing at 45 mph., rest your back and legs, then sit and continue on. It's just amazing. I would buy a GSA, or Triumph Tiger 1200, or Super Tenere. All of these are fantastic bikes, but BMW is the only one with an awesome club and support from dealer and other riders. Plus it is the coolest, most expensive and has as much poise out there as riding a "Harley". Cheers.
- David, Nasvhille, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-20 2011 BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The decision to buy a bike wasn't hard; which bike to buy was tough. It took me a year of reading, test driving, and asking around to narrow it down. Lastly, I made a list of everything that I wanted to do on a bike, and one item was that I wanted to ride in the dirt, which meant "Sorry, Harley". don't get me wrong, Harley's are nice bikes, I wanted to play in the dirt and explore. There are so many dirt roads in every state that to ignore them just wouldn't be right. First the negative; the seat is uncomfortable, so plan on stopping and walking around every 150 miles. Now for the positive; it drives as well on the pavement as it does on the dirt. There is an almost endless reservoir of power, great torque, agile, light, and shaft driven (low maintenance). The gas mileage is awesome as is the eight gallon tank. On the interstate, I was passing cars and trucks with ease; on the dirt, the handling was amazing. If you have a little extra cash, get a top case. I bought mine from the dealer in Longmont Colorado and was really impressed. They treated me well, were professional, and wouldn't let me leave until they showed me the essentials (how to check the oil, where to hang my helmet, how to remove the side and top cases, etc.). They also worked with me on the price. In closing, if you want to ride on the streets, that's fine, but real men play in the dirt. And this bike will get you where you need to go and to those places where you wish you could go.
- Michael Brown, Sidney, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-06-09 2008 BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the BMW R1200 GSA brand new on the 1st of March, 2008 after a lot of soul searching. I'd recently owned a Honda VFR 800 (pre-V-Tech) which is often reported to be the best bike ever made. It isn't - the R1200 GS Adventure is! It took me a few hundred miles to settle into the GSA - make no mistake - it's a very tall bike and it carries a lot of weight high up when fully loaded with luggage and a full tank. This weight soon disappears once you get moving but it can take you by surprise when you have to stop again. I initially removed all luggage, set the ESA on single rider comfort and made a point of never filling the tank above halfway (there's still more range than most other bikes on a full tank anyway) and this did the trick. Having covered a few miles I'm much more confident now. I'm delighted with the way the bike goes and handles. It's simply a pleasure to ride and although it may not be as fast as the VFR, I believe that I can travel faster on the GSA than I ever could on the VFR. I say this because the BMW just seems to handle anything I can throw at it and never seems ruffled. The high riding position gives a fantastic view of the road ahead while the screen does a great job of keeping the wind blast off. I recently rode 350 miles in one go and it was fabulously comfortable. The boxer engine is super-torquey and delivers a good punch from any revs. There is a bit of vibration at higher revs but it certainly isn't intrusive. I've even done a bit of gentle off-road riding on the dual purpose tires. My only negative is that it's a big, heavy bike to move around at very low speeds or around the garage but if you can live with that I don't think there's anything else in its league.
- Steve C, Wigan, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-23 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike corners, cruises and tours like all the best of everything I've owned. The only thing I could find to be critical about is the 6th gear. My 1150 had what seemed to be an overdrive 6th gear. My new 1200 seems to be geared a little lower in 6th. Still if you can afford it, I believe this to be the best bike around.
- Matt Hoffstetter, Vancouver , Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-29 2008 BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After hours of research, I decided that I wanted to seriously investigate the R 1200 GS Adventure. I have been a motorcyclist since 1974. I've had everything from a Gold Wing to a 250 KLR and many in between, but never had I walked into a showroom and was greeted by such a friendly staff and awesome display and atmosphere. I scrutinized the bikes available and had every question answered with honesty and. In addition, a couple of very knowledgeable BMW Club members were present, and they, too, took the time to point out features and functionality of the GS from their own experiences. With all this friendly expertise, I was even more impressed with the bike. The financing went extremely smoothly, and within a short amount of time, I was the owner of my very own, brand new red and black 2008 R 1200 GS Adventure! And the icing on the cake was the ride! It was unbelievable! Everything from freeway to off road. This was the most incredible machine I had ever ridden! It does it all! I even took my wife for a ride on several miles of dirt road, where with previous bikes, with her aboard, it was dicey at best. With this machine, it was like she was not even back there! Then, I took us out onto the highway, and even with crosswinds blowing at 34 mph, it was like the bike was glued to the road. BMW outdid themselves when they designed this bike. The computer system was a snap to work. I must admit that when I went into the dealership, I commented that I thought it was a little 'pricey'. Now, I've changed my mind! It's worth every penny!
- Dan Pakizer, Acton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-03 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode my Adventure back home to Virginia in two days and it inspired more confidence at night and on busy wet mountain highways than any bike I've ridden before. But what I'm really excited to report is how well it handled on the dirt and gravel mountain roads around our property in West Virginia. The ABS brakes were fantastic at slowing me down in a controlled manner as I entered sharp turns too quickly. I'm sure they saved me several times. I felt like a kid with a new dirt bike. Then at the end of the day I could ride 2 hours home with the comfort of a touring bike. I would strongly recommend buying a GS Adventure.
- Peter Zazanis, Oakton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-29 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
GS Adventure: 2007 My first taste of a GS and this flavor will be with me forever. Actually bought it and had never even ridden one before. My experience: I am 45 and been riding for 33 years and have ridden just about everything you could imagine. I have raced amature motocross, street raced a formula road bike, AMR back in the day and dabbled in Trials, no competition but still own a Honda TLR. Admittedly, I only have about 2000 miles on my 2007 GS, but I probably have more then 2000 smile and grins from it. No one should ever really buy this bike for off-roading (In my opinion of course). But everyone should ride a BMW GS just once to experience just how comfortable, controllable and safe you will feel riding this motorcycle. Comfort: I have had several, ok, over forty, motorcycles, motocross bikes, trials bikes, street cruisers, exotic six cylinder Honda CBX's and many others. When you ride the GS you will find you are in the most ergonomically correct position for riding. I have seen people add the highway foot pegs to the GS's - to eaches own. Controllable: I recently took an advance motorcycle riding course offered by the DOT, CT. It teaches you some best practices in motorcycle safety. Panic stops, avoidance of road objects, sudden swerve maneuvers etc. Thinking I had nothing to learn after 30 plus years on the road, I was wrong. Riding the GSA, I was cheating the course. Riding Figure- eights in tight boxes drawn on the ground. Combining acceleration through three gears then adding panic stops. Everything they could think of to simulate dangerous situations for a motorcyclist. The GS could have probably done it all by itself. The GSA With ABS stopped in just over half the distance of any bike out there in all the braking tests. You could hit the brakes for everything they were worth and the ABS did the rest, it was unbelievable! You stop straight in line with total control of the motorcycle. Safety: I would strongly suggest adding or ordering ABS package as an option. It by it's self is the best friend you could have to trust with your life! This is the first motorcycle I have owned with ABS I can not say enough about it get it. It could save your life! The suspension is like riding on air with the long suspension travel, you glide over some pretty tough stuff without a flinch. When set up properly for your weight, riding style and ability, there's really nothing this bike won't do short of motocross. The handling is steady, nimble and very responsive. You can toss it around on the street like a toy. It feels sturdy, smooth and sure footed and if you're into dragging your knee around the corner I invite you to do so. I can't believe how much you can crank such a tall bike over and still feel stable. With road tires on it of course. Now if you want to get goofy, the GSA I ride will nail a wheelie for as far as you ae willing, or daring to ride one. Up through the gears 1st, 2nd, and try third it's tall but very manageable on the rear wheel! And did I mention fun as hell? My overall rating is five stars! They only thing I would ask BMW for is just a pinch more HP. But it certainly has enough for the average rider @ 103 HP. I just am spoiled after spending many years on some real hypo machines. Happy trails, Keep the shinny side up!
- Lee Tetreault, Newtown , Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-24 2006 BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a 2003 BMW K1200 LT for about 2.5 years before moving up to the Adventure. Best all around bike that BMW makes, in my opinion. Just finished 7400 mi, 2 wk trip to west coast and back. Bike performed flawlessly. Handles as good as most sports bikes - great torque, power, can pop wheelie in 2nd gear, but very well behaved in traffic. The only gripe I have is that the standard seat is not comfy for more than an hour. An after market seat is a must. I originally had knobby tires, but opted for Tourance/Anake for a smoother and more stable ride on hard surface. Bike is a bit too heavy to do any serious off road riding, although it will handle hard packed dirt and gravel roads with ease. Very well made and dependable.
- DanG, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: