BMW R 1200 GS Motorcycles Reviews (31)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW R 1200 GS Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW R 1200 GS Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-09-17 2011 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A V-Star cruiser has been my ride for the past 11-1/2 years. I grew up riding dirt and eventually street motorcycles. It was mostly the on/off style of bike and riding for me. Ever since I first became aware of the GS line of BMW's, in the mid 1980's, I've been amazed by the go anywhere/anytime attitude and culture it inspired. Well I finally rejoined the on/off party yesterday afternoon thanks to Rick and all the kind folks at the dealership. I'm currently the overjoyed owner of a black 2011 R1200GS, with ESA, ABS, heated grips, hand protectors, on board computer and a top box. It's a great beginning to what eventually will become my very own set-up on an ultimate go anywhere/anytime machine.
- Frank Plasencia, Suffolk, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-29 2009 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up a GS in February 2009 after trading in an RT. I was hit head on in March by a driver who was interested in texting more than driving. I suffered a minor concussion and the bike was totaled (you should have seen the car!). Thought I would try out a different brand. I lasted about two weeks on that bike before I realized what I had done. I sold that bike and went back to the R1200GS. It truly is the best in its class and better than bikes in most other classes. It is a jack of all trades, and depending on how you look at it, a master of quite a few. I got the new bike on April 30 and already have 5500 miles logged. I will log another 3K this week, heading up the coast and taking a few forest roads along the way. It is one of the most well-balanced bikes I have ever ridden. I can keep up with most sportbike riders on Palomar Mt. and the bike rips up the track (I didn't even have stickies on)! The bike seems to glide over gravel and sand alike. The suspension when off road has to be experienced to be believed. I teach a sportbike riders course on this bike and you should see the faces of all those squids when I demo the course with all cases on. I would shill for this company for no money. Wait, I AM shilling for no money! Great company and a truly amazing riding experience. Next stop: Baja and then Latin America.
- Jay , North San Diego County, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-23 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike! Handles any type of riding conditions. Does anything it is asked to do.
- R CURTIS, MONTVILLE, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-22 2006 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have spent the last 32 years owning dozens of different bikes. The R1200GS is the hands-down winner by far. The tall saddle not only helps you see better in traffic, but it allows you to corner much better in that it allows you to lean more. The power output is gut-wrenching from take off to rev-limiter (100 mph in third gear). The bike's off road agility is almost frightening in that the only way you can tell that it is off-road is that you can sometimes feel the bumps. It is just as stable off-road as it is on road. You may think you want to own a hog, but if I were you I would invest in a horse - BMW, there is no substitute.
- Steven Rogers, woodward, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-14 2005 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 6'4" and in case you didn't notice they do not design motorcycles for tall people, however the 12 GS is the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden. Earlier this summer I did a 2552 mile trip in six days...for me it was a huge trip. Prior my longest day was about 320 miles. The motor is great in the mountains just stick it in 3rd or 4th and go. If you need a little more, down shift and you're getting as much excitement as you want. It handles well. Can go off road with out blinking an eye. I have the original tires, but I bet with knobs it would feel more planted. After all, it is a 500 lb. motorcycle.
- Mark Milliron, Marietta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-25 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As I was searching for a bike, I narrowed it down to three: the Ducati Multistrada, Suzuki VStrom 1000 and the BMW R1200GS. The Ducati lost out as it really isn't meant for off-road work. The VStrom is a nice bike, but I really wanted a bike that was built to withstand almost anything and would last many, many miles. The BMW R1200GS won hands down. Although the price tag would send some running, one has to realize that these bikes are engineered to last 300,000 miles. I would be more than happy to sit on mine at the 200K mark. Once on the bike you realize that is a very, big, bike! At 5 feet 7 inches and a 29 inch inseam, my feet do not sit firmly on the pavement. Thus, my only complaint is the lack of a suspension that can be lowered for on-road use. The adjustable damping for the front and rear suspension works fantastic, but doesn't lower the bike. The lower seats help out a little, and I may opt for a lower suspension. But for now, I get around just fine. It takes a little getting used to. Apart from the height, the R1200GS handles as nimble on the road as a bike half its size. I could not believe how tight this bike can take the turns! It is so much fun to ride, and I ride it every single day. I can't wait to test it in the dirt! As far as the staff goes, the dealership I went through is top notch. The fantastic experience I had began with the salesman. Easy going and knowledgeable, he gave me all the information I needed to make the right choice. And it does not stop there. Everyone at that dealership will do whatever they can to insure you have a positive experience. The staff is extremely well-informed and will take all the time necessary to give you the help you need. These guys are true professionals. All-in-all, I am supremely happy with my GS. It is by far the best bike I have ever owned. It will take you wherever you want to go in comfort and style. And with the reputation of BMW Motorrad, I know this bike will last a long time.
- Keith Martinson, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-05 2005 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just came back from a 1100 mile trip to VA. 500 miles of heavy rain and wind..bike is rock solid and in total control. Have had R1150 RT and R1200 C and liked them both but neither compare to the solid sure footedness of the GS.Avg. 48 mpg at 80 mph.
- Robert, Amesbury, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-05 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After an 83 R65, an 89 K100RSA, and a 98 K1200RS Taxi, I'm finally on the right bike! The bike handles almost as good as the Ducati ST3 I test rode. Think it and it's done! There is no need to spend the money on 95 fuel, the bike will run on 87(the gas cap says 89). Tank two and 43.6 miles per gallon! I loved the rocketship K1200RS, but it would never get more than 35 miles per gallon. Bike has loads of comfort to boot! (Put an Aeroflow on it and it will almost rival an RT!) If you have been thinking about getting one of these bikes, QUIT THINKING AND GET IT!
- Scott Abbe, Corona, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-17 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've onwned a Harley Sportster 1200, a Yamaha and a Suziki racing bike and all of them are nothing compared to this bike, the BMW 1200GS. This is really something special because it's a tourer and a sportsbike all in one. When you drive, it is like you are driving it in confidence and with it. This is something really special. I think it is the best all around bike on the globe. It has everthing. I am happy with it and I think it's my last bike to own, or it must be a new BMW 1200 GS. Buy this one and you won't regret it or take a test drive on it at your BMW dealer at least.
- brown, sweet lake , Netherlands

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-10 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is an engineering masterpiece. Every once in a while in life, someone puts something together that is just right, that is Zen, and that is the 1200 GS. I had an 05 RT before this and I drove like an old man. With this bike I am hammering it. It begs to be driven and hard. It handles like nothing I have ridden. It instills rider confidence and will do whatever you want it too. I tell you the truth with my wife on the bike, I feel her less then the top heavy RT. For her the ride is the same. Of course it doesn't have the wind protection for me, but who cares. All you need is the proper clothing and this issue is gone. The windshield having said that, works amazingly well and with the proper gear, you are just as well off with a better handling motorcycle. I am getting about 43 miles per gallon on my third tank of gas and ride only city stop and go, I am not unhappy with that. Can not recommend this bike enough. Fit and finish is all BMW best, nothing can touch it...Whatever you want to do, this bike will do it. Ride safe.
- Alex , San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-26 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got back into motorcycling after being without a bike for almost 12 years and for all of the typical reasons. Picked up an 03 HD 883 Sportster with the Big Bore 1200 kit about a year ago just to get back on the road. Fun bike and no problems but not the sort of thing you'd want to put any serious miles on. A buddy got me to looking at the BMW's and I ended up with an 07 GS. What a freakin' bike! Excellent power, unbelievable handling, fantastic brakes, and just weird enough looking for it to stand out in a crowd. It reminds me of a good horse: spirited, sure footed, and works with you in an intuitive way. Gives you a feeling of confidence without feeling cocky. Look where you want to go and you're there. Fast, slow, cruising: it doesn't matter. Took it out into an old hillside farm field to see what it's like to wrestle 500 pounds of motorcycle through the weeds and it did just fine. Have to admit that I was puckered up a bit. The thought of dumping a new bike makes you think twice about trying anything too wild. Sort of freaked out when I came down off the hill and the ABS kicked in. I forgot about the ABS and now understand why they give you the option to deactivate it for off road use. Some folks say that the seat doesn't suit them but for me, I've got no complaints. Takes a few miles to let your body find its natural position (snugged up to the back of the tank) but once you relax, all is well. I kept trying to push myself back away from the tank and finally just let it happen naturally and voila nice and cozy. I'm hooked. Been riding short distances in sub-freezing weather and can't wait for Spring to roll around. Heading for the powwow in Lame Deer Montana this July to christen my GS and can't wait to get rolling. Ride safe.
- Mike Livingston, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-27 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I find nothing to dislike about this bike, other than the front end styling (which I resolved by removing the proboscis snout and adding a shiny grill cover to the oil cooler). Plenty of power for 500 pounds, agile, comfortable, reliable, packable, and it simply can do anything well. The long suspension travel, if you're not used to it, imparts a kind of floating feeling going around turns that can be disarming to those used to sportbikes, but you learn that the suspension won't let you down. And though BMW is getting better at doing transmissions, finding first at a stop still can be a little frustrating. The industrial styling won't set your heart aflutter but it exudes the beauty of smart design on what may be the best all-around bike ever built.
- michael, montclair, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-26 2006 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was reluctant to choose the R1200GS as my first, but I am tall and knew I would not be happy with a beginner bike. Excellent balance and probably no harder to learn on than a small gutless bike, at least for a tall person. No quality issues so far and a lot of fun to ride. Young kids love it as they rarely see something like it. My only small complaint is the seat becomes uncomfortable after a short time, but I will get an after-market seat. Awesome bike.
- LOPZ, san antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-25 2006 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in an Aprilia Futura for the 1200GS. I loved the idea of having a bike that could do everything- a little road and a little dirt. I have found the bike to happily do anything I have asked of it and to do it well. The second weekend I had it, I attempted to ride over mosquito pass in Colordo. The pass is a 4 wheel drive only trail and has extreme weather damage to the rocky dirt road. I did not make it to the top, but it was due to my nerves versus any lack of ability in the bike. It handled well and felt lighter than it's 500 lbs would lead you to believe. I was riding with a friend on a Honda XR650 and I was able to go everywhere he was and even a few other areas. 2 weeks after this ride, I went on a marathon ride from Denver to Yellowstone park in Wyoming. Left 3pm on a Wednesday, got back home by midnight on Friday- 1350 miles in 2 1/2 days. The following week I was running Rampart Range for serious offroad riding. The bike has handled everything I have asked it to do and has done it well. The power of the bike is good, hitting it's torque in the lower RPM, and then ramping to make horsepower at around 5500. It makes it nice to have the power on the dirt, then get out on the highwy and bring the front tire off the road between 2nd and 3rd gears. My only real complaint is the windscreen- I'm only 5 foot 9 and even then the wind flow off the stock windscreen hits me right in the face and makes for a noisy ride. I fixed this by getting a windscreen for the 1200GS Adventure and installing it on my 1200GS- problem solved. Also, while going through water and mud, the front tire can kick up a lot of slop through the area between the tank and guages - can get messy quick. I haven't found a way to fix this - not sure I want to either. Getting 50+ miles to the gallon and have had no service issues with the bike.
- Critchlin, Centennial, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-12 2005 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As all the other reviews have stated to one extent or another, this is very nearly THE perfect motorcycle. The highs: Great handling (terrific balance), great power (the hexhead boxer is a winner), terrific ergonomics, great reliability, decent weather protection, and the exclusivity of being on such a distinctive machine. The lows: the stock seat (200 miles in one sitting is too much), and the buy in cost (although if it's the one machine you want- get it). All in all, I am more than just a little satisfied with this machine. It initially looks expensive, but if you can afford the payment on a Hyundai you can afford the payment on a BMW R1200GS.
- William, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-27 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ordered the non-ABS, non-servo brake version (Yellow). Absolutely awesome bike...handles like a sport bike, lots of power and smooth. Would like a more complete tool kit like the Beemers of years past...I can see why it was voted best bike in the world.
- Eric, Inyokern, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-30 2005 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall I am very impressed with the complete package. A few niggling details however have left me with a less than 100% satisfaction. The items that have bothered me are: 1.) Front rotors were replaced at 3K mi due to excess squealing. They were machined improperly at the manufacturer and covered under warranty. 2.) Gear indicator failed at 5K mi, no neutral indication. If I wanted to start the bike I had to pull in the clutch even though it was in neutral. Bike, of course, would cut out when I lowered the kick stand because of no indication of the gear. Potentiometer located in the rear transmission housing (required the bike to be split in half) replaced under warranty. 3.) Had some issues with a flat battery that would not remain charged after last dealer service, causing the bike to not start. It turns out there was a faulty update in the CANBUS servicing package. I must say though that I have enjoyed each and every single mile I have ridden on this machine. Very comfortable even two up. The boxer motor is awesome. I however am concerned over the on going discussions of final drive failures on the current crop of BMW R bikes.
- Bill, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-27 2006 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got mine last April (05 model) & I'm very satisfied with it. It does what I want, when I want & how I basically want. I've owned bikes in the past (maily crotch rockets) & this bike basically satisfies me in every aspect. It's a bit on the heavy side & down on sheer bhp, but it holds itself well above others.
- Rich G, Beaverton, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-12 2006 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been into motorcycle touring since the late 60's and have owned such machines as BSA, Norton, Triumph, Matchless, Honda, Yamaha and Harley. Those early bikes taught me you can go just about anywhere on almost anything. That said, my 2006 R1200GS is, hands down, the finest bike I've ever ridden, on- and offroad. I'm not as fussy as some riders but, then again, I wouldn't have gone nearly as many spots as I've seen if I was. This bike is worth every dime. Off to eastern Canada next week, Belize in January.
- anonymous, Victoria, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-27 2006 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned about twenty different motorcycles in my lifetime ranging from metric to beemers. I recently sold my 2005 Honda ST1300 and purchased the BMW R1200GS. This bike is just awesome! I have no regrets or buyers remorse and look forward to many trips in the near future. The reliable boxer engine is giving approximately 50 MPG. However, I didn't consider the economic fuel mileage before the purchase. I did my homework and read multiple articles, reviews, specs, and reliability on this particular model. Well, they were right; it does everything! This bike is light and very fast. My model is equipped with the optional ABS and heated grips (a must if you ride in the cold). I don't have a GPS on my bike (I can read a map, and can't justify spending 1k for the BMW GPS).
- Al Mendoza, Chula Vista, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-17 2005 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned many bikes over the years, from H-D to Honda, Yammie, Kawi, etc., and could have any bike I want. This is the one. I can ride it day in and day out, in any weather and at any time. I have no problem in a cross wind. On highway or backroads, it's just as useable. I'm short with a 28-inch inseam so I made some adjustments, but it still rides great. Great engine, great brakes, great ergos, nothing bad to say.
- shai nyi, pontiac, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-06 2005 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
On a scale of 1 to 10, this bike gets a 9. Why not a 10? Two reasons -The first is the fuel gauge. Ride 100 miles and it still shows full. Ride 101 miles it drops to half. The second is the digital display. It is very difficult to read in bright light. Also, when you turn off the bike the display shuts off. The clock on my 95 R1100 GS stays on all the time. It's nice to have the clock on all the time. I know it sounds like I'm nit picking but when you spend 20K everything should be a 10. Other than these two problems, I love the bike. Engine, transmission, brakes are all top notch. I have 82K on my R1100 GS and I plan to put 100K plus on this bike.
- Dave Kidder, Chandler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-28 2005 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love this bike; it does so many things well. On freeways and off-road, the Mojave in July and New England in sub-freezing temperatures, fully-loaded on the PCH in Big Sur and dodging cabs in mid-town, through it all I've been very impressed and averaged 45+ MPG. Set aside some vacation time, because this bike encourages some serious adventure touring.
- Michael Khouw, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-01 2005 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After my R100RT, I wanted something smoother and more powerful and went to the K12LT. I rode that for 5 years and was looking for something with the same power but more nimble on back roads. (35% of the roads in the US are unpaved.) The new 1200GS has exceeded my expectations beyond belief. It's powerful and quick, and very light. I've had it up faster than the LT and yet the GS stays smooth. The stock windshield is fairly good at deflecting the wind, better than the stock shield on the 1150GS. I have ridden an 1150GS with the Aeroflow shield, and that seems to give a little more protection on the 1150 than the stock shield gives on the 1200. Keep in mind, I'm coming from the K12LT. Generally, I think the 12GS stock shield is good for many riders. The servo braking only took me about 10 minutes to get used to and now it's not a problem. Looking ahead, I plan to add the following accessories: throttle lock, tail bag or trunk. Bottom line - this is a great bike with a high smiles per mile ratio!
- steve kristan, canfield, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-24 2005 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an early test - only 1600 miles in a month. Also let me give some background. I have had 6 bikes (Vulcan (2), V-max, Superhawk, Harley custom, R1150RS) And have test ridden literally dozens of others. I need motorcycle therapy! <br /> The big GS is a mutant bike - it is all bikes and no bike. It has the comfort and torque of a cruiser, handling of a sport bike, cargo capacity of a tourer, off-road capabilities like a big dirt bike, and looks/power of a naked bike. As a result the looks are unique - but I think they are quite nice in the new edition. There is very little you can't do on this bike- scratch, tour, commute, dirt. All mutants create a stir - even one like this GS that won Bike of the Year. <br /> Performance. I believe the magazines that give this bike a 1/4 mile time in the high 11 Sec range- it hauls! Roll-on acceleration (60-80mph) feels - and is very close to the V-max (!) that should say enough. I'm getting between 45-48 mpg. I have the low seat, so I can get both feet down. The seat is not super comfortable, but I will withhold judgment until it breaks in some more. <br /> The bike gives a feel of supreme confidence - smooth, stable and no diving or lurching due to telever/paralever; a feeling you can take on any road in any condition. Surging is gone! It rides smooth at all speeds! The bike feels tall if you are used to lower bikes - but handling is effortless. In fact 'effortless' is a term used often with this bike. All the controls, clutch, gas, transmission and signals are downright "Honda" in refinement. The low-end torque is impressive and top end is much stronger then before. The front-end will come up if you want it to - but not all the time like the Superhawk996 (!). I've not done much off-road, yet, but the few dirt/gravel roads I've run are effortless. The suspension gets better the rougher the road! <br /> Negatives: none so far. That said - the bike is much lighter and not built to the same 'gauge' as previous beemers. It appears to be tough where it needs to be, but will give more on this with a long-term update. <br /> Overall, the 1200GS is three bikes in one: sport, tourer and dirt. I ride year-round and use it for commuting - it's very good at that, too. In fact with the commanding view of traffic, great power and brakes, it's almost too good and makes my trip to work... effortless. If you are tall enough and like looks built for exceptional function - buy it. It's the only bike you'll need. Oh, and the back seat gets high marks too, from what I'm told by the ladies. Give it a test ride...if you dare!
- SZR, charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: