Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

BMW R 1200 GS reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

31 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jay

North San Diego County, California

Reviewed on 2009-10-29

Motorcycle reviewed2009 BMW R 1200 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I picked up a GS in February 2009 after trading in an RT. I was hit head on in March by a driver who was interested in texting more than driving. I suffered a minor concussion and the bike was totaled (you should have seen the car!). Thought I would try out a different brand. I lasted about two weeks on that bike before I realized what I had done. I sold that bike and went back to the R1200GS. It truly is the best in its class and better than bikes in most other classes. It is a jack of all trades, and depending on how you look at it, a master of quite a few. I got the new bike on April 30 and already have 5500 miles logged. I will log another 3K this week, heading up the coast and taking a few forest roads along the way. It is one of the most well-balanced bikes I have ever ridden. I can keep up with most sportbike riders on Palomar Mt. and the bike rips up the track (I didn't even have stickies on)! The bike seems to glide over gravel and sand alike. The suspension when off road has to be experienced to be believed. I teach a sportbike riders course on this bike and you should see the faces of all those squids when I demo the course with all cases on. I would shill for this company for no money. Wait, I AM shilling for no money! Great company and a truly amazing riding experience. Next stop: Baja and then Latin America.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Frank Plasencia

Suffolk, Virginia

Reviewed on 2011-09-17

Motorcycle reviewed2011 BMW R 1200 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A V-Star cruiser has been my ride for the past 11-1/2 years. I grew up riding dirt and eventually street motorcycles. It was mostly the on/off style of bike and riding for me. Ever since I first became aware of the GS line of BMW's, in the mid 1980's, I've been amazed by the go anywhere/anytime attitude and culture it inspired. Well I finally rejoined the on/off party yesterday afternoon thanks to Rick and all the kind folks at the dealership. I'm currently the overjoyed owner of a black 2011 R1200GS, with ESA, ABS, heated grips, hand protectors, on board computer and a top box. It's a great beginning to what eventually will become my very own set-up on an ultimate go anywhere/anytime machine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

R CURTIS

MONTVILLE, Ohio

Reviewed on 2009-09-23

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW R 1200 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great bike! Handles any type of riding conditions. Does anything it is asked to do.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steven Rogers

woodward, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2007-11-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 BMW R 1200 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have spent the last 32 years owning dozens of different bikes. The R1200GS is the hands-down winner by far. The tall saddle not only helps you see better in traffic, but it allows you to corner much better in that it allows you to lean more. The power output is gut-wrenching from take off to rev-limiter (100 mph in third gear). The bike's off road agility is almost frightening in that the only way you can tell that it is off-road is that you can sometimes feel the bumps. It is just as stable off-road as it is on road. You may think you want to own a hog, but if I were you I would invest in a horse - BMW, there is no substitute.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Milliron

Marietta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2007-08-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 BMW R 1200 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am 6'4" and in case you didn't notice they do not design motorcycles for tall people, however the 12 GS is the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden. Earlier this summer I did a 2552 mile trip in six days...for me it was a huge trip. Prior my longest day was about 320 miles. The motor is great in the mountains just stick it in 3rd or 4th and go. If you need a little more, down shift and you're getting as much excitement as you want. It handles well. Can go off road with out blinking an eye. I have the original tires, but I bet with knobs it would feel more planted. After all, it is a 500 lb. motorcycle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Keith Martinson

Raleigh, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-06-25

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW R 1200 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As I was searching for a bike, I narrowed it down to three: the Ducati Multistrada, Suzuki VStrom 1000 and the BMW R1200GS. The Ducati lost out as it really isn't meant for off-road work. The VStrom is a nice bike, but I really wanted a bike that was built to withstand almost anything and would last many, many miles. The BMW R1200GS won hands down. Although the price tag would send some running, one has to realize that these bikes are engineered to last 300,000 miles. I would be more than happy to sit on mine at the 200K mark. Once on the bike you realize that is a very, big, bike! At 5 feet 7 inches and a 29 inch inseam, my feet do not sit firmly on the pavement. Thus, my only complaint is the lack of a suspension that can be lowered for on-road use. The adjustable damping for the front and rear suspension works fantastic, but doesn't lower the bike. The lower seats help out a little, and I may opt for a lower suspension. But for now, I get around just fine. It takes a little getting used to. Apart from the height, the R1200GS handles as nimble on the road as a bike half its size. I could not believe how tight this bike can take the turns! It is so much fun to ride, and I ride it every single day. I can't wait to test it in the dirt! As far as the staff goes, the dealership I went through is top notch. The fantastic experience I had began with the salesman. Easy going and knowledgeable, he gave me all the information I needed to make the right choice. And it does not stop there. Everyone at that dealership will do whatever they can to insure you have a positive experience. The staff is extremely well-informed and will take all the time necessary to give you the help you need. These guys are true professionals. All-in-all, I am supremely happy with my GS. It is by far the best bike I have ever owned. It will take you wherever you want to go in comfort and style. And with the reputation of BMW Motorrad, I know this bike will last a long time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert

Amesbury, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2007-06-05

Motorcycle reviewed2005 BMW R 1200 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just came back from a 1100 mile trip to VA. 500 miles of heavy rain and wind..bike is rock solid and in total control. Have had R1150 RT and R1200 C and liked them both but neither compare to the solid sure footedness of the GS.Avg. 48 mpg at 80 mph.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott Abbe

Corona, California

Reviewed on 2007-03-05

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW R 1200 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After an 83 R65, an 89 K100RSA, and a 98 K1200RS Taxi, I'm finally on the right bike! The bike handles almost as good as the Ducati ST3 I test rode. Think it and it's done! There is no need to spend the money on 95 fuel, the bike will run on 87(the gas cap says 89). Tank two and 43.6 miles per gallon! I loved the rocketship K1200RS, but it would never get more than 35 miles per gallon. Bike has loads of comfort to boot! (Put an Aeroflow on it and it will almost rival an RT!) If you have been thinking about getting one of these bikes, QUIT THINKING AND GET IT!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

brown

sweet lake , Netherlands

Reviewed on 2007-02-17

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW R 1200 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've onwned a Harley Sportster 1200, a Yamaha and a Suziki racing bike and all of them are nothing compared to this bike, the BMW 1200GS. This is really something special because it's a tourer and a sportsbike all in one. When you drive, it is like you are driving it in confidence and with it. This is something really special. I think it is the best all around bike on the globe. It has everthing. I am happy with it and I think it's my last bike to own, or it must be a new BMW 1200 GS. Buy this one and you won't regret it or take a test drive on it at your BMW dealer at least.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alex

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2007-02-10

Motorcycle reviewed2007 BMW R 1200 GS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is an engineering masterpiece. Every once in a while in life, someone puts something together that is just right, that is Zen, and that is the 1200 GS. I had an 05 RT before this and I drove like an old man. With this bike I am hammering it. It begs to be driven and hard. It handles like nothing I have ridden. It instills rider confidence and will do whatever you want it too. I tell you the truth with my wife on the bike, I feel her less then the top heavy RT. For her the ride is the same. Of course it doesn't have the wind protection for me, but who cares. All you need is the proper clothing and this issue is gone. The windshield having said that, works amazingly well and with the proper gear, you are just as well off with a better handling motorcycle. I am getting about 43 miles per gallon on my third tank of gas and ride only city stop and go, I am not unhappy with that. Can not recommend this bike enough. Fit and finish is all BMW best, nothing can touch it...Whatever you want to do, this bike will do it. Ride safe.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 31 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: