BMW R 1200 RT Motorcycles Reviews (28)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW R 1200 RT Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any BMW R 1200 RT Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-06-24 2012 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded a great 2003 R1150RT for a new 2012 R1200RT. It's much the same but also much different. I know that sounds strange, but after one has ridden both, it will be understood. The new RT still feels like a traditional BMW Boxer twin, but is smoother, accelerates better and has a much torqueier feel. The new windshield provides a different still air pocket for the rider, and the ESA II adjustable suspension provides the rider with three different bikes to ride in one. The comfort mode allows for a smooth feeling almost luxo touring bike. Normal mode makes the bike feel almost like the 1150's feel, but with the above improvements. The sport mode is great. It tightens up the suspension and makes the bike handle very similar to a sport bike. Turn in is a little harder to accomplish, but once set, the bike tracks turn with precision which is not expected from a bike of this size and weight. Overall, I believe the improvements are worth the extra expense required for its purchase. Anyone wanting a bike that will take you quickly through twisties, but can also be used for daily commuting, and traveling from coast to coast, can do much worse than to choose the latest Boxer from BMW.
- tomp, Sugar Land, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-15 2006 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 59 and a Chopper man since the beginning, until, I had to accept the fact it was time to go for a GT bike. I bought the 1200RT second-hand (20,000 miles) and I can say just one thing: fantastic! It's like a bicycle with the engine of a formula one car. It's easy to pilot, has an unbelievable engine, total comfort and is totally reliable. I regret one thing: I should have bought one earlier. Minus point? Well, when bought new, the options are pretty expensive.
- Bob Somers, Brussels, Belgium

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-01 2011 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first BMW. What a difference in ridability. This bike is so smooth, feels so comfortable and solid. It will not be my only BMW.
- Scott V, Weatherford, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-01 2010 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been very unhappy with my third Wing - a 2007 18000. I test rode this bike twice. The first time was when the BMW demo trailer came to Portland - and loved it! It had both the low seat and low suspension, which was too low for me. My local dealer has a 2010 demo that he let me ride for over an hour on freeway, curvy back roads and in some heavy traffic, too. The difference between this and my wing was WOW! It is smooth, light to flix into corners and I love the adj. suspension and windscreen. As soon as I sell my Wing, I will be buying this. I have had Goldwings since my first new one in 1984 - now it's on to BMW!
- Tigarddave, Wilsonville, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-21 2009 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2009 R1200RT was love at first sight. I had owned three different Japanese made bikes that were all very good machines, but none larger than a 500CC. I racked up a total of 100,000 miles on the three, but not one of those miles were as much fun as the first few I put on the R1200RT. I tried the bike out with only 1 mile showing on the odometer. I rode about four blocks and came back. The salesman, asked my wife if there was something wrong because I was back so soon. When he saw me flip up the face shield with an ear to ear grin, he told me to go RIDE that thing! I was already sold, but did as he said. Needless to say, it followed me home that night, or my wife followed in the car as I drove this beautiful machine home. I have covered over 9000 miles from mid-October to Mid-July. Other than two flat tires and a faulty heated hand grip, this bike has been an absolute joy to own. My Tundra sits and wonders when I will come back and use it. I do ride solo to work, but most of the time, I drive with my wife behind me as a passenger. It doesn't matter what we throw at it as far as road conditions, this motorcycle can handle it. We live on the coastal plain, so it is flat as can be, but also visit the Texas Hill Country frequently, with twisting curves and sizable elevation changes. The bike never complains and is only becoming more fun to drive as it breaks in. The engine and transmission are just now becoming free enough to smooth out and really offer its full capability. The brakes are very powerful and will stop even a heavily loaded bike quickly and easily. Now if I can just get my wife to remember to grab hold of the grips instead of just fall into my back in a quick stop... I orginally wanted a Gold Wing, but the weight and the complexity of the engine was more than I wanted to deal with. I made a great choice for me. The handling, the power, and the luxury of the ride make it a joy to ride all day. I have covered a bit over 350 miles in a single day, and covered just over 1500 miles in a one week trip. All I need is a week free and I am ready to go again. The sooner the better!!!
- Dennis Odell, Baytown, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-20 2009 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just started riding, test rode and fell in love with the 2009 RT. Going from a Yamaha V-star to this bike was an amazing change. The RT is so comfortable, I put 527 miles on it in one weekend. I could have easily hoped back on it and done another 500. I got caught in the rain and the adjustable windshield came in real handy, it is nice to slide it out of the way when the weather cleared. At 20mph or 80mph the bike feels steady. I got blasted by some powerful crosswinds (from a semi) and the RT did not budge.
- Joshua H, Marietta, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-07 2007 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned other sport touring models, but the 1200 RT is bar-none the most incredibly good riding machine I've ever owned. Intuitive in the corners, 52 mpg on the road, and extremely good for long distances. I've found that for those that complain that it won't do the distances I would reply, break it in. This bike doesn't really wind out until a few thousand miles. Number 2, get a new seat. I have the Rick Mayer and have easily done 700 to 800 miles in a day. Number 3, change windshields. There are a number of windshields that are better for wind protection. The Boxer engine is easy to work on and will save you money if you can do your own valve adjustments. I've had mine for 2 years now and not one problem with even the smallest things. It is a perfect bike that needs to be ridden.
- Bruce, Mill Spring, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-20 2005 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first BMW. I have never dished out so much cash for a bike (I have owned mostly Hondas and Suzuki). But I wish I had bought it sooner. The heated grips, cruise control, ESA and ASC and tire pressure monitor; this bike eats miles for breakfast! The engine is well balanced and the linear power acceleration is deceiving! Goes from 0 to 70 mph and you don't even know it! Suspension is adjustable for those really bad freeways and you can take it to the hills, and you have a sport demon. This thing can be flicked in an instant. It has a low center of gravity! If you are short, get the optional low seat; it's worth it. But I did not need it! You pay more, and you get a lot in return!
- Serafino, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-21 2007 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had it only three weeks and have ridden it 2600 miles so far with no problems. The bike has a lot of acceleration, the handling is great, and the ride is smooth. My wife loves to also ride on it. From reading other reviews I thought I would not get a full tank of gas. My 2007 bike has a factory air hole to let me filler up and to use the full seven gallons of gas. I fill it up to about one inch from the top. I will try to come back next year to update this review.
- Paul & Patricia, Red Bluff, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-17 2006 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As per the other reviews there is not much more I can add. The new Boxer motor is a genuine gem of a powerplant. The styling and ergonomics couldn't be better. After seeing the local PD riding theirs I thought I would give it a shot. I have been tremendously impressed. BMW has acquired a new life long fan.
- Frank, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-09 2007 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I actually was thinking of buying a Wing or an LT. Their weight was a big factor for me NOT to purchase either one. I am very happy with my RT. At 571 pounds (with a full tank of fuel) it is much easier to handle than the Wing or LT. For me, the RT was the right choice.
- Jimmy Lawson, Denton, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-13 2005 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the BEST sport tourer/tourer I have ever owned. I have had 6 Gold Wings, 2 FLHTCUI, and 2 ST1300's. This 07 R1200RT wins hands down in my opinion. I am just totally blown away by every facet of this machine. BMW did it's homework on this model.
- Jimmy Lawson, Denton, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-14 2006 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up the R1200RT (my fifth BMW) in late October/06, trading in my /04 1200GS. I've ridden 4Km since then. The RT is everything I want: power, acceleration, torque and - COMFORT. Here in New Brunswick Canada it gets chilly in October and downright cold by December. But the heated seats/grips make my life riding more enjoyable and the twin performs so well in the cool air as well. The bike has no surge, is smooth as silk and is a highway asphalt eater. Country rider is a joy - this bike loves the curves and twisties ! It is to me a sport, touring, all around joy to ride and I'm looking forward to the summer of 2007 for a LONG ride.
- KURT INDER, MEMRAMCOOK, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-29 2006 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 12 mos and 18.k miles, I think the thing is finally broken in. The comfort is great and the motor excellent. ESA... well, I for one would not get it again. I understand it's love/hate, but not for me. I just wouldn't get it again. 3rd set of tires now. Small oil leak near the clutch servo that I need to get repaired under warranty, just a time thing as why I haven't yet. This R12RT can hang with the best of them at deals gap and can out cruise ALL of them. Would I buy another? I'm looking for a 2007 in my other open window as I type.
- cliff, largo, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-18 2006 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased a new R12RT at the beginning of June without really knowing how I would like it. My current bike was an '04 BMW GSA, which was in no way similiar to the RT other than being a BMW. The RT is silky-smooth in every way. From the new 1200 engine to the new-and-improved transmission. Factor in heated grips, heated seats, an electrically adjustable windshield, cruise control and the on-board computer and it didn't take long for the RT to become my bike of choice. My wife and I did a nine day, 3,300 mile trip on the RT to Yellowstone in September, and it was great! We were both very comfortable when doing 500 or 600 mile days. The power was plentiful, even 2 up with luggage. Just superb. Without a doubt the RT has spoiled me. But isn't that the point of a motorcycle?
- Brian Horner, Winfield, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-22 2006 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the Rt for 12 months now and have about 9000 milles on the odometer. I have had several bikes including cruisers and find the RT a perfect balance between weight, power, agility, and comfort. One can't compare this bike to any other class of motorcycles such as sport or cruisers, however among the sport tourers the RT offers the best combination. I ride a lot of long distance trips and the luggage capacity is wonderful. This bike is as modern a bike as it gets with anti-lock brakes, servo assisted and linked brakes that will offer the rider more protection. Its power is good and the bike is fast and turns very easy. About Steve's complaint about vibration, the bike has none. Maybe he rode a demo bike that was abused and the valves were not adjusted but to form an opinion after only one short ride with one demo, well, is just not smart.
- danny, chatsworth, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-14 2006 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode a 2002 1150RT for two years and put on 10,000 miles. I was VERY happy with my 2002, but started to read reviews on the 1200RT. I test drove it and was mildly impressed. Performance was better than my '02, but was it worth the cost to trade? I bought the bike and it has been with LITTLE regret. I loved my '02 and I love my '06. Things I don't like. Windshield is not enough protection for a tall rider. Seat gets hard after...oh 6 hours. Both issues were resolved with aftermarket products. Taller, wider windshield (220 dollars) and an airhawk seat cush (120) solved both issues. I have to tell you, I love Harleys....er, I love to cruise by them! My bike is smooth, QUIET, and just a blast to ride. I rode the bike for 19 hours with stops for gas and food. One thousand thirty five miles in ONE day. I was tired, but not near a sore as I was with my '02 that I rode 700 miles on. I get MANY compliments on the bike...other than the hard core Harley guy who rides for image and not performance. I ride a bike FOR THE RIDE, not for the image. At 60 miles per hour...I get 50 plus MPG. Down side is I usually speed along at 75-80 and my MPG is 44. Love the bike...
- Jim Tetz, Sheboygan, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-14 2005 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From Honda's to Harley's, I ended up with a R1200 RT and wouldn't trade it for anything. Fast and great handling, and I can throw stuff into the hard-bags and be gone for the weekend!
- Franz Kaiser, Piscatway, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-04 2005 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the R1200RT at BMW of Atlanta on December 29th, 2005. I had been calling around to dfferent BMW shops and these folks know what they're doing. They delivered it to me the next day, 240 miles away. I keep my BMW in Jacksonville, Florida where I spend a good bit of time consulting. I rode the bike from Brentwood to Jacksonville (640 miles) and from that point it's been my daily transportation. I can't wait to get it out for a tour this summer. I lowered the pegs to give me some more leg room and purchased an AirHawk cushion to make longer rides a bit more comfortable on the old rear.
- Walt West, Brentwood, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-24 2005 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I loved my 2002 1150RT and was not even thinking about buying a new bike. I started to read articles on the new 1200RT and was bit by the bug to go for a test drive. <br /> So it's in the low 30's in March of '06 and I find my local BMW dealer. Off I go on their 05 demo. Now I had ridden my 1150RT 50 miles to get to the dealer, so I was fresh off my bike onto this one. So I knew the feeling of old vs. new. My initial reaction...not as impressed as I thought I would be. Performance is a little better. However, the seat and windshield were...YUCK. I missed my mostly comfortable seat. The new one seemed too narrow and stiff. The windshield shook like a...gulp...Harley at idle. The new on-the-fly suspension adjustment was so-so, take it if it is cheap...but for the price...NO THANKS. <br /> It is not what I expected. So I get a trade in value for my 02 just because I was there anyhow.... Well, the dealer gives me one of those offers that are too good to be true. A new dilemma. My bike is going to need new tires, brake flush, spring tune up...and we know the costs of BMW stuff. So I am back to thinking about a trade because everyone is raving about the new 1200RT and they cannot be wrong! I trip home to think about it. Next morning I call the dealership and ask about throwing in some goodies. A tank bag costs pretty penny and I will not pay for that. He throws that and some other goodies in and I say "deal"! <br /> What have I done? I say to myself when I am riding my beloved 1150 to the dealer the following week for the trade. <br /> I do the deal and get MY 1200RT. Off I go hoping I did not screw up. Shortly thereafter I am grinning EAR to EAR! What they say is true. Much better performance. Much smoother bike. Bike just, well, what can I say...is MUCH better. It's chilly so I flick on the heated seat...holy crap does this get warm. <br /> Engine revs MUCH quicker and actually sounds like a motorcycle. I still like quiet bikes, but there is something about a LITTLE rumble. The bike SHAKES much more when sitting at idle than my old 1150RT. Nothing serious, but my old one was so smooth. Dealer explained the new bike will shake more at idle because of the new fuel injection and they can't adjust the settings the same as the old. What he adds is the bike will perform much better and be smoother above idle. Heck, I can live with that. <br /> Well, it's been too cold to ride much and besides, I can't take a new bike out in this March weather. So I have less than 200 miles on my new bike...I loved my old 1150, but love even more my new 1200. <br /> So if you have an older BWM and are thinking of trading...you will not regret. Only thing that MUST go is the windshield. At my height, I need more protection. I needed to replace the one on my 1150 and when I did it made a fantastic improvement. I am sure it will be the same with the 1200. <br /> Now go BUY one!
- Tetz, Sheboygan, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-01 2005 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought the R1200 RT; I have owned other bikes but never a BMW. My sales person knew all there was to know about this bike and even went out of her way to give me very good tips on picking a bike that was right for me. When I took delivery of it, the first thing that you will love is the comfort. Of course, you must learn the layout of the signals and various other buttons, but this soon became second nature. The bike has excellent power, it is not a racing bike but it can be quite impressive. I enjoyed taking it out on a very crisp November morning at 34 degrees so if I am right that would give you a wind chill of about 19 degrees when you are traveling at 50 mph. With my heated seat and heated handgrips, I really did not feel the chill. I actually had to turn it down a notch. The bike handles very well; quick maneuvers are a piece of cake. On the highway, it has very good wind protection. The ABS works nicely and it is always nice to have someone say, "that's a nice bike". Bottom line... it works well for me, do your research to make sure you get what you really want... and always ride safe.
- R. Regent, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-26 2005 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been motorcycling for 10 years now. I have the means to ride anything I choose. I have been through 2 dozen or so bikes trying them on to find one that fit my needs. Some were too big, some too small, some too fast; some not fast enough, etc. I am a Honda rider at heart, but after a Gold Wing, ST 1300, VFR, and VTX I have only two bikes in my stable- a BMW 1200 RT and BMW 1200 GS. The two gripes I had on the 1150RT were not enough engine power, and too strong on the servo assisted brakes (2004). Both were fixed with the 1200. The engine is strong, smooth, with a broad power band. I love the Honda V4 but the ST 1300 had too much driveline lash and engine heat; the VFR was too uncomfortable for my size - too much of a reach to the bars, even with risers. The FJR had a stronger engine, but more engine heat, and fewer accessories - supposedly addressed for the 2006 FJR. FJR was a great bike, but I ride year round so I needed the heated grip/ seat/ accessory socket for heated vest. The BMW 1200 brakes are powerful but very linear - I like ABS. Ergonomics are as comfortable as the Wing, much better than the VFR or ST1300. On the ST, the seat slopes forward so you ride into the gas tank. BMW is slightly more upright than the FJR. FJR had the best stock seat of all the bikes. I never did like BMW stock or Honda stock seats. I am partial to Corbin and Wunderlich aftermarket seats. Handling is as good as the FJR, ST, and Wing. I thought BMW felt much lighter than FJR or ST even though they are about same weight. BMWs burn oil for the first 5000 miles or so. Other than that, I have not had any mechanical issues whatsoever with any of my BMWs. I like to be able to take highways as well as run the back roads, which I couldn't do as easily on the Wing because it was a pain to turn around on a back road. The BMW is the only bike that makes me want to ride regardless of the weather. Too cold? Just fire up the heated seat/grips/vest. ESA electronic suspension is well worth the money. You can tell a difference in the settings, and most people don't spend all day fine-tuning their suspension for a track day. Downside is cost, but you get what you pay for. I can't recommend this bike highly enough. The only other bike I liked this much was a Yamaha FZ-1, but for different reasons of course.
- shai nyi, pontiac, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-20 2005 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was lucky enough to be on an Edelweiss French Alps tour when the first 1200GS's were delivered. Werner Watcher, the owner of Edelweiss, dropped in on our tour just to try the thing out. My friend scored the second bike. Werner went home on Wednesday and let me use it until Saturday, our last day of riding. I'd rented an R1100S. This GS was such a huge improvement over that bike. I was smitten. I'd ridden an 1150 GS in Austria the preceding year and really liked it, but riding the new GS showed me how hard BMW engineers had been working to improve the breed. I nearly bought a GS when I got home, but I'd just got a great deal on a twin spark 1150 RT and I really think RTs are best for the kinds of riding I do... at least for me. They offer great weather protection, great handling, decent power, lots of engine braking, which is great in the hills, and have great hard cases for your stuff. They aren't so big that you can't manage them on nearly any paved road. As you can see from the stats above, I've put a fair amount of miles on my RT since April when I bought it. It's my 3rd RT and by far the best. Everything is better. Some things are only a little better, some things are a lot better, but everything's better. The brakes are less grabby than my 1150 and the rear brake is not linked to the front. When the servo is off, you have more braking power than with the 1150. It's a better system. I didn't appreciate servo brakes until I had a traffic emergency one day and was able to stop really, really fast on a crowded street when a car ahead did not signal and slowed far too much to make a right turn. I rarely use the rear brake pedal anymore. It's just not needed unless you're at a rally trying to ride very slow. I don't trail brake, I use the gears to steer the rear wheel in turns. The engine is such a nice improvement. The balance shaft really smooths things out unless you're hard on the power. There isn't a hint of surging anywhere. It does take a very steady hand to modulate at low speeds, but it's doable. The power above 6K RPMs is spectacular. Below that, there's always plenty of torque. The engine is smoothing out with miles and oil consumption has really come down. I'm still using non-synthetic oil though, until there is no oil consumption. Then it will be synthetic for the life of the bike. Making the bike lighter really helps. I think more of the weight was removed at the top of the bike because it seems less tippy at very slow speeds. Even though it looks wide, it's very easy to control. It's also more catchable if you do begin to drop it. The seat, I would say is an improvement, but I'll probably replace it. I like the heated feature, but it's not something I could ever say I've really needed so far. I'd rather have a seat I can ride on all day in total comfort. Maybe next year. This seat is not bad, just not great. I've replaced the windscreen with a Cee Bailey's and it's much, much better. I had a larger windscreen on both of my old RTs and was worried that the aftermarket would not be able to make a good one for this bike. Wrong! The Cee Bailey's is terrific and the new Aeroflow system looks like it may be even better. I'm an iPod person, so I didn't get the sound system. The non-E suspension is very capable. It corners right out of the box better than my 1150, which was better than my 1100, which was really good. It's not, however, completely poised. A chassis this good deserves the right sort of damping and I'd say that these shocks are almost good enough. If I rode a lot with a pillion, I'd consider BMW's electronic shock system, but I know my loads and settings after riding all these RTs, so I'm happier with a good manually adjustable damper. I had Ohlins on both my old RTs, so I have high expectations. I found the front shock to be harsh over bumps and I found that the rear shock would porpose a bit even with the rebound damping set all the way firm. It's an adequate system, but not worthy of the rest of the bike. So I got a set of Wilbers for it. Problem solved. The bike feels very confident now and yet is more compliant over bumps. It cornered on rails before and still does. It's just that I feel more confident charging through on nearly any sort of road now and I'm never getting unwanted ride motions or putting up with harsh impacts coming through the bars. I installed my V-1 inside the dash with very little problem. The unit sits inside the right cowl, strapped to the front subframe with tie wraps and stuck to the frame with velcro. Hard to describe, but it's completely secure in there. I have a remote display and sound unit velcroed to the underside of the "dash" on the left. A "Legal Speeding" bluetooth sender wired up and hidden inside the dash so that a little light goes off in my helmet when the detector goes off. I put a slick little flat black rocker switch on the left side blank plastic cover where the radio buttons would have gone. This allows me to shut down the whole system anytime I want in a flash. Handy for shopping centers or when the officer pulls up right next to you and you have this red light flashing in your helmet. Speaking of the radio I didn't order, I didn't get a radio on either of my other two RTs and both of them came with a very large waterproof compartment for keeping all manner of things securely ensconced. The new bike has the radio pocket on the wrong side, too far forward and under the handlebars for easy access. I nearly always turn on my right blinker when I'm pulling my water bottle out for a drink now or wiping my visor. (Das ist verboten!!!) One other tiny design mistake I feel BMW made was putting that soft plastic cover over the instruments instead of having seperate glass covers on seperate instruments. I've scratched mine already. don't know how much it'll cost to fix, but I did this about the first week. It's too delicate for a motorcycle. Doesn't hurt the function, but it's got this little eyesore scratch right in the middle and it shouldn't. I'm very happy about the new latches for the cases on this bike. You can lock them with the key, but for the first time, you don't have to lock them with the key if you don't want to. I always carried an extra key in my old bikes just so I could open a couple bags at once for packing and so I could access the unradio box in the fairing while riding. Now it's not necessary. Why didn't they think of this before? The footpegs are higher on the new 1200 than on my old RTs, while fairly comfy, they are unnecessarily high on this bike. In 14,000 miles, a lot of it scrapping around on some pretty wicked back roads, I never got close to touching a peg or any other part of the bike. Tires have very minimal "chicken strips" on the sides I'm really leaning the thing over, yet no touching down at all. I've not tracked this bike nor will I. I have a proper maniac bike for this purpose. So recently, I bought some of the Suburban Machinery peg extenders and, while I was at it, I got the handlebar risers too. When these were installed, it was like riding a whole new machine. My legs are much more comfortable and it's easier to see behind me through the mirrors because I don't have to look so far under the bars anymore. that's the good news. The bad news is that you have to re-learn hard cornering with this setup. The whole bike feels much different. After deliberately trying for 3 weeks, I finally touched the left peg slightly while flying down back roads in Missouri two weeks ago. Just a little scrape, but still, a scrape. It's not that I want to necessarily scrape, it's just that I feel that if you don't scrape during extreme riding, you're eligible for more legroom, which is nearly always more comfortable. Might as well get it. <br /><b
- Tom Brown, Geneva, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-15 2005 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have never owned a sport tourer, having ridden a Honda VTX1800 and a Triumph Rocket III (the beast) previously. This bike is just as comfortable as a cruiser, but far lighter and more agile. Very smooth at speed, easy to turn through the hills, great with a passenger and the overall ride quality, suspension, etc. are superior.
- Eric Galen, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-03 2005 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my bike for a little over a month. Overall, I like the bike. I should like the bike, it was very expensive. I like the following: engine, transmission, handling, fuel mileage(around 53MPG) and range(7.1 gals), effective windscreen, okay seat, cruise control, heated grips/seat, revised brakes, seat, the best overall wind protection of any bike I've owned, and overall comfort. I dislike the following: skimping on the tool kit, no spare key, no tire kit, the computer has not been programed correctly and it gives false informaiton, no good place to secure the helmet, the windshield bracket that bounces when ridding on a rough road. If it's like other BMSs I've owned, it will continue to get smoother as time goes on. I have always recieved great service from my BMW dealer and they will take care of issues like the computer problem and other niggles it may have without any problem. If anything changes I will post it.
- Jeff Collins, Mt. Airy, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: