Buell Blast& Motorcycles Reviews (15)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Buell Blast& Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Buell Blast& Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-12-30 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike about 2 months ago. This is my third bike I've had. I am 22 and drive a semi, when I bought this bike it had about 10k miles on it. I've done some normal maintenance on it. It's comfortable for me and handles great. My wife rides on the back and we have gone on rides lasting hours. The only downside of this bike is that it lacks power when there is a passenger. I've had mine up to 110 MPH and still had throttle left. I agree that the distance between 1st and 2nd gear is a big jump, but with a few city miles on it, it will be natural. I haven't had any problems except that parts are cheaply made, but they are cheap to replace. It's never stalled in corners and has never been laid down. People say that they are POS. I question their riding quality and the quality of their upkeep. This is a great bike whether it be for a beginner or someone that just loves to ride. This bike hugs the road and never wants to let go.
- Jon, Yukon, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-01 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the bike used with 2700 miles and already in 3 months put a total of 6600 miles on it. I replaced the stock exhaust with a slimmer and louder vance hines exhaust mainly to access drain plugs underneath the bike. The bike leaks from rocker cover and uses up rear tires every 2000 miles, with my very aggressive driving. But I've also ridden with touring bikes and it could cruise at 80-90 mph for 300 mi ride at one time. I enjoy the bike and use it to commute to work every day.
- Alex, Rosamond, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-21 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After the MSF class in 2003, I purchased a used 2001 Buell Blast with 1600 miles. Within the last two seasons, I put an additional 18500 miles onto the odometer. The bike performed perfect for its class, and its intended use, which consisted of an 83-mile daily commute. The gas mileage is exceptional, I got 75+ mpg. The oil changes were simple, and the bike was relatively maintenance free (no chain to oil, no valves to adjust) The only complaint would be the rear tire consumption... The bike always got me wherever I wanted to go, never leaving me stranded, except when I ran out of gas a half mile from home :) (Female miscalculation of risk...) Some people may complain about the seat, but I was able to do a 500-mile day with minimal issues (not the bike, but my bottom). The power was more than sufficient for city riding as well as keeping up with the traffic on the highway. Overall, this is a great beginner bike, if you accept this bike as what it is. Not a race bike, not a powerhouse, just a reliable fun bike. Buell did a great job with the bike, and there was a tear in my eye as I traded up to a Buell XB12R a month ago. Can't wait for next season...
- Gabi Ehresmann, Cascade, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-19 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was the very first bike I ever even sat on. It has taught me so much about the motor cycle world. I have put over 2,ooo miles on it without any problems. I plan on adding a VH exhaust to make it more loud. For anybody considering an AMERICAN bike, this one is for you! Great gas economy, proformance, and style. I only wish there were after-market mirrors for it. I would rate this bike with ten stars if they would allow it.
- Marshall Plaisted, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-06 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There are pros and cons to my review. And I must say that I went into the Blast wanting to Love the Bike (which I do, but which maybe biased?). But for some, the Blast maynot be as good a starter bike as similarly sized Jap bikes (i.e.- 250 Ninja, Gz250 Suzi, etc.). Like most Buells using Harley engines, you'll find more than it's share of Vibes and leaks and vibration related problems. So if you buy a Harley or Buell Product you need to pay closer attention to maintenance and checks of bits and pieces. IF that is done, the Blast is quite reliable, and what few problems(defects?) the Blast has, can be quickly and cheaply remedied by the handy owner. BTW- I own two Blasts and one is a race bike. If you want something as carefree as an auto, then maybe bikes aren't for You. Even the Jap & Euro bikes need more maintenance than your used to. But the Blast is fairly carefree with it's beltdrive and self adjusting valves. This Bike DOES have extremely Good Brakes and Handling ! I feel it's a very safe bike to ride although it may steer a bit too quick for experienced riders(?). My 2001 street Blast now has over 6,000 miles on it and has only needed two new rear tires and a gasket for the rocker box oil leak. But I do take pride in and maintain MY bikes very well. If you don't like the Blast, then you probably won't like ANY OTHER Buell or Harley product as what is common in one is common to all H-D/Buell Products. I'd recommend this bike if you want to be serious about learning all their is to bike ownership (like we did in the old days- btw I'm 44 yrs old). If you'd rather not learm much about bikes...buy a Jap bike and pay the dealer for ALL the service and be done with it. But if you want into the world of Harley, this is the bike to get you started. To each his own......
- Ralph R., McAlisterville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-13 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Blast new in 2001 and the first three months in stayed in the shop with oil leaks and the mirror fell off. The good points is that this is a great starter bike hits the turns easily and has just enough pep to get you through the lights. If it were not for my warranty and the low cost of this bike - I would be very upset at the constant maintenance in the first year. I guess you get what you pay for - it is mixed blessings for me. My advice - get the extended warranty. I am moving up and out of the Buell family to a cruiser.
- A-Train, Lantana, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-02 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2001 Blast used in May of 2002 from a harley dealership and I've loved it ever since. It is my first bike and it has allowed me to learn how to ride a bike the right way. This bike corners so well that on certain occasions I have even out ran Japanese crotch rockets. It is only after the corner that they waste me. But what is more fun the corners or the straight aways. I did have the problem with the ignition module that everyone else had and it was fixed a few monthes ago and I have had any trouble since. I plan on trading it in on a Firebolt next year and if I could afford it I would keep it around just because of all the fun times I've had on it. Even my dad who has riden bikes for over 25 years says that you can have more fun on this bike than the law will allow. So if you want something reliable and fun to ride I suggest the Blast. Plus I get 65-70mpg on average and I ride at highway speeds most of the time because I use this bike as a commuter to and from work and college.
- Randall, Gower, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-27 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had problems with the front isolater and the ignition module. Also on my way to Sturgis the bike took a crap on me and I would never buy a Blast again even if someone paid me.
- Chad Whipple, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-10 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I received my motorcycle training on a Buell Blast and discovered it very easy to ride. Never have ever driven a motorcycle before, this bike survived my beginner goof-ups like falling off and dropping the bike a few times. I don't have a bike right now, but it seems that there's a 90% chance my FIRST bike will be the Blast. PS: I don't care if everyone calls it a "chick bike". How many bikes do you know that you can drop, pick-up, drop again, and pick it up again, and still start without too much damage to the bike? Try to do that on a shiny-chromy Harley.
- P., Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-10 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think this is a great bike for someone who just got their license. It's a way to work your way up to a bigger bike if so desired. I don't know why people are knocking it.
- Susan, Kenosha, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-30 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In Milwaukee, the only real options for returning riders are Buell and Harley. Not wanting to second mortgage the farm to buy a BIG Harley, I chose the Blast!. The bike is exceptionally stable, nimble, and has adequate power coupled with excellent brakes. With a windshield and saddlebags from Buell, the Blast! has become my everyday commuter. It's sometimes a bit light on the freeway, but handling and stability are so good that it's not scary. A great bike while I save up for that BIG Harley!
- DM Dewire, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-03 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love by Buell Blast. It's a great bike for a beginner or for a woman. Light, easy to maneuver. 5 Stars!
- B, Lincoln Park, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-30 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden for 20 years and when my wife decided she wanted a bike of her own there was only one choice. The Blast is powerful enough, fun to ride, and cheap to maintain. The bike tends to get more looks than my new BMW...go figure. I enjoy riding the Blast as well.
- Rider, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-16 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After much research I purchased a 2001 Buell Blast! last year. It seemed to be the perfect beginner bike. It was good at first. It was unique and got plenty of looks. After owning it for 3 months it developed serious starting problems. The bike went into the shop where it stayed for 2 months. The dealer blamed the factory, the factory the dealer. It still was not fixed, so I traded it in for a 2001 Sportster(thank goodness for the trade in plan). The Sporty is on it's second oil leak, parked in my garage awaiting service. Despite what you may hear The Motor Company has not come as far as it should have as far as quality.
- W.C. Allred, Santa Rosa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-05 2001 Buell Blast® Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2001 Blast (yellow) used in Sept. 2001 and when I asked the salesman about using it commuting, he said the top speed was prohibitive to use as a commuter unless it was upgraded to V&H pipes and rejetted, which I did. I got to ride it for a week before the upgrade, and WOW! it definitely made a difference. This bike can track through the turns with little effort and can turn on a dime. After riding a 20year old Yamaha the first mistake I made was over-compensating in a turn. This bike handles so intuitively it lets the rider really enjoy the ride. It vibrates a little, but what do you expect from a thumper. Planning on upgrading to its big brother the M2 soon.
- Russ Embich, Lebanon, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: