Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Buell Cyclone M2 reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.4
Overall quality
4.4
Performance
4.4
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

51 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Robert

Maine

Reviewed on 2020-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The best most comfortable motorcycle I have ever owned. Love the Harley sound and the power is there with every gear! This bike just draws attention every where I go. It handles like a dream in every aspect. From my first test ride I fell in love with this bike and I love that I'm riding American muscle. You couldn't ask for a better bike don't let a fool fool you these bikes ride and handle like no other.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason

San Luis Obispo, California

Reviewed on 2006-11-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have read a bunch of reviews on the 2000 Buell M2 Cyclones, a lot of which complain about the reliability of this bike. I bought my Buell used with 9000 miles on it and have put 11000 miles on it in the 1 year that I have owned it. This is by far the most fun bike I have ever owned. It is comfortable, fast, and very reliable. Except for having the rear head pipe coming off during a 140 mph sprint, the only thing I've done is change the oil and adjust the primary drive chain. I have never had a problem with the rear suspension or the speedo. Granted, Buells are not for everyone but if you like the attitude that comes with this bike and random girls coming up to you in the grocery store parking lot to ask you about your cool looking bike, you should definitely get one. It was the best $ I ever spent!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rod

Winnipeg, Manitoba

Reviewed on 2004-10-20

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had this bike for a while and it's still a joy to ride. More than fast enough for the street. Great front brake - rear isn't as good because it lacks feel. Handles exceptionally but requires some time to set it up for your weight and riding style. Very comfortable and does good on fuel, not that that's why you buy a bike like this. The only issues I have had with this bike is the speed sensor has failed twice (taking care of by warrenty) and a rear valve cover gasket leaked, but that was because of a pinched vent line. The gasket was so easy to fix I did it myself. I really recommend getting a high flow air filter and rejet because the jetting is bad from the factory. Even with the stock exhaust rejetting transformed the way it ran. The bike sounds bloody amazing with aftermarket exhaust. Be warned this bike gets a lot of attention just because it's so different. If you are looking for a sporty bike that stops and turns well and you can tour as well as commute, I recomend the Buell. You can't ride it without getting off with a big grin and at the end of the day isn't that the reason you ride a bike? Fun factor: 10!!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Todd

Cleveland, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-09-24

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got my Cyclone this summer at my local H-D dealer. I also have a 1996 H-D Road King. The Cyclone is a perfect second bike. It is sooo much fun to ride!! I love the V-twin power (torquey and wide powerband). And it handles fantastic! Also, the Cyclone looks cool and turns heads everywhere I go. Lots of compliments. My Cyclone is stock but I plan on adding a tachometer, performance exhuast, air filter, and rejet the carb. My dealer has been very helpful and has a technician who specializes in BUELLs. I have only put a couple thousand miles on it this summer but have enjoyed every one of them!! I would highly recommend the Cyclone to anyone who is looking for a performance bike at a reasonable price!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan Gregg

Franklin, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2004-04-20

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Actually I like the name Cyclone but it's such a blast to ride. I've ridden every style of bike and have ridden the Cyclone at demo rides for years. Now, I finally have one!!! This bike does not disappoint. I sold my Ducati Monster 750 to buy this bike and am so glad I did. The combination of Power, real comfort, American made, power, sound (yes a Buell sounds better than a Ducati), and did I mention power? This thing ought to have a tractor tire in the rear because you could use its 100 ft. lbs. of torque to pull stumps out of your back 40 (that's acres). It absolutely romps my friends ZX750r. that's right...The ZX 750 cannot keep up. Until of course the numbers go above say...110 (not that I'd know) Standing still I get so many positive comments and questions about the bike that I'm constantly talking about it (not that I mind). Durability is still in question. I read a lot of reviews that talk about durability. We will see. Fit and finish is way better than it used to be with the Buells. All the welds are smooth and professional looking. The switchgear is also much improved. Downsides are minor but noteworthy...the air box has grown on me, but I get many, many negative comments about it...Everyone that looks at the bike hates it. Also, the brakes don't seem to be that strong. I may ante up for another rotor/caliper set in the front. The engine has pre-detonation (pinging) under load once hot, even with Premium fuel. The engine also tends to backfire softly once when coming to a stop (embarrassing). Also, the front fender is so small that small pebbles from the road hit you in the face and collect on your seat as you ride (honestly). All in all this bike rocks and I'll take the good with the bad because it is comfortable to ride and is raw American power.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Lindhorst

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Reviewed on 2004-01-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great machine. Put 13000kms on it in a year and a half. Had a few minor problems but Buell stood by with the warranty. Never let me down yet. Did a 4000km trip to Alberta, British Columbia, Idaho and Montana. Seat was very comfortable; it is a replacement for the original that had a mark on it. New one seemed softer and more comfortable but it was a Buell seat. Great mileage, comfortable, versatile, pretty and overall a great bike. I wish they still made them, as I would probably buy another in a few years. It is not the fastest bike in the world but I knew that going in. In a few words it is just a lot of fun to drive and they really do grow on you. Give one a try.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Higbee

Layton , Utah

Reviewed on 2003-09-24

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike handles great. 4500 miles and no problems. It always wants to go to the inside in a corner. that's just Buell's way of saying "I want to go faster. Back in college riding my '61 ironhead this is the bike I always dreamed of. It's not as fast as other sport bikes but boy does it turn. Just plain fun to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Hembree

Boise, Idaho

Reviewed on 2003-09-19

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought 2000 M2 Buell August 2000, $7400 out the door. Have 17100 miles as of 9/15/2003, still all stock. Had the typical rear rocker gasket leak at 3k miles, front one at 10k, no leaks since. Had cell die in battery at approx. 5k miles, warranty replaced. Replaced swing arm bearings at 10k miles during 10k service (Idaho has a lot of bumpy roads), no other problems. Get about 5-6k miles on rear Dunlop D220 (the D205 replacement), about 9k miles on front Dunlop D220. Have gotten 58-60 mpg at 60-80 mph on trips between Boise and Missoula, Montana (have the Ventura baggage system which cuts down on wind resistance). It does a good job for sport/touring on mountain highways with the relatively upright riding posture. The seat is comfy, and there is almost no grip vibration at 65-80 mph. With a tank bag, sometimes use the passenger pegs for feet, rest helmet on tank bag when knees start to ache on real long rides. Also does good in freeway traffic when commuting to work, the bright orange is quite visible (one of the reasons I bought a Buell). The belt drive is clean and quiet too. Brakes are good, use only 2 fingers on front one. Ride with both Harley and BMW guys (on 2000 models, they also have had their share of problems (one R1100S had, at 5k miles, the powertrain gears in the swingarm drive assembly fail catastrophically, which then destroyed the the entire swingarm housing, another, a BMW R1200C, keeps breaking the plastic turn and brake light housings due to vibration, and it too had a battery go bad). Overall, it has been ok for me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MARK LARSON

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2003-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
YES AN R1 OUT HANDLES YOU AND HAS MORE TOP END. BUT DOES IT YELL OUT LOOK AT ME WHEN IT FLIES BY. I HAVE OWNED AND RIDDEN MANY BIKES FROM ALL OVER THE WORLD. BUT WHEN IT COMES TO ALL AROUND FUN AND HOOLIGANISM ON TWO WHEELS THERE IS NO MATCH!! I HAVE MANY GOODIES ON MY MISTRESS INCLUDING FORCEWIND STRAIGHT EXHAUST(LOUD AS IT SHOULD BE) I HAVE HAD TO WRENCH BUT IF YOU CAN TURN A WRENCH ON A LAWNMOWER YOU CAN FIGURE THIS MONSTER OUT. AND WHATS BETTER THAN TO BUY SOMETHING AMERICAN
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fred Janke

Detroit, Michigan

Reviewed on 2003-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Been riding the M2 for about a year and a half now, and I like it now more than ever. It turns out that my difficulties in lofting the front wheel were resolved by a bit more aggressive use of the throttle. Still can't do anything in 2nd yet, but I'm working on it! A note of caution when adjusting the rear preload--crank that locknut down! Mine backed off on me, and the vibration messed up the threads and now I can't get it to thread back on (doh!). No other reliability issues to report so far; maybe the best $5K I've spent. I found a cheap speedo fix in a Garmin Geko GPS unit for $95, and I think that the sputtering is just the bike's way of telling me to switch to reserve. It's annoying when I'm on the highway, but now I can feel it coming and switch tanks on the fly. I sometimes dream about Suzuki's new SV1000, but I think the M2 looks cooler and was a whole lot cheaper. It's all the bike I'll ever need--especially now that I'm a dad!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 51 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: