Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Buell Cyclone M2 reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.4
Overall quality
4.4
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

57 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Robert

Maine

Reviewed on 2020-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The best most comfortable motorcycle I have ever owned. Love the Harley sound and the power is there with every gear! This bike just draws attention every where I go. It handles like a dream in every aspect. From my first test ride I fell in love with this bike and I love that I'm riding American muscle. You couldn't ask for a better bike don't let a fool fool you these bikes ride and handle like no other.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peter

Candler, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2009-04-30

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Initially attracted to the fuel-in-frame & oil-in-swing-arm technology and the beefy, wrap-around frame of the XB12S (2004), I ended up selling the XB and keeping my M2. The M2's 23-degree steering head vs. the XB's 21-degrees, was just enough difference to provide a more planted, confident feel to the handling. Likewise, while the mirrors on the M2 smooth to crystal clarity at about 2800+ RPM, the XB's mirrors never stopped vibrating, leaving you wondering if the vehicle behind you was a VW or a Peterbuilt. Ease of seat removal and no screaming mimi rear cylinder cooling fan were also deciding factors. With a Forcewinder intake providing greater knee room, and a Vance & HInes SSR2 making music and providing better exhaust flow, the M2 leaves nothing to be desired. And, in my prejudiced opinion, it's a prettier bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bo

Rochester, Vermont

Reviewed on 2006-12-15

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding for 41 years and have ridden everything from a 1965 55cc Yamaha to an alcohol burning Norton dragster. For most of those years I've owned vintage Harleys and Nortons, with a rice burner or five thrown in. Last year I was looking for a street bike that would keep me in the Harley family but would give me the handling and feel of the old Brit bikes I owned (without the leaks and electrics), with modern day comforts and reliablity. that's how I ended up with the Buell. I chose the Cyclone primarily because the seating position was more forgiving for both pilot and passenger and I like to ride... As a bonus, the price was just too good and the bike was kept in mint condition by the original owner. All that being said, I could not have made a better choice. I've owned it for 18 months and have put 18,000 miles on it (in Vermont!). The only problem being a rear rocker cover leak. My bike was made just before HD changed these gaskets to steel so I just called the HD dealer and bought a steel gasket kit ($35). It only took me a few hours to make the change. My wife wasn't terribly thrilled that I did it all in the living room so I could watch MotoGP and Superbike but she got over it... I have ridden 400 mile days on this bike and regularly do 250 mile rides- I'm talking 30 to 40 in a riding season. I've done 200 with my son on the back carrying a backpack... This bike handles like a 250 and accelerates with the best of them (Ducati, RC51, etc.). I've lifted the front wheel by hitting the gas during a lane change in 3d gear. It is super comfortable, and starts every time. I do run synthetic oil, don't beat the bike (are wheelies 'beating'?) and keep it under 130- usually. Seriously, this thing has so much torque that I rarely shift over 3500 RPM. Check the specs and compare the torque to any other bike on the road... OK, 'nuf said. If you want the absolute best value in a motorcycle, get a Cyclone. I would recommend getting a 2001 or '02 however, as Buell made a number of significant improvements in 2001. There is the standard M2 and a M2L which has a 1 inch shorter suspension and the seat is cut down as well. Mine is the M2L.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason

San Luis Obispo, California

Reviewed on 2006-11-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have read a bunch of reviews on the 2000 Buell M2 Cyclones, a lot of which complain about the reliability of this bike. I bought my Buell used with 9000 miles on it and have put 11000 miles on it in the 1 year that I have owned it. This is by far the most fun bike I have ever owned. It is comfortable, fast, and very reliable. Except for having the rear head pipe coming off during a 140 mph sprint, the only thing I've done is change the oil and adjust the primary drive chain. I have never had a problem with the rear suspension or the speedo. Granted, Buells are not for everyone but if you like the attitude that comes with this bike and random girls coming up to you in the grocery store parking lot to ask you about your cool looking bike, you should definitely get one. It was the best $ I ever spent!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rod

Winnipeg, Manitoba

Reviewed on 2004-10-20

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had this bike for a while and it's still a joy to ride. More than fast enough for the street. Great front brake - rear isn't as good because it lacks feel. Handles exceptionally but requires some time to set it up for your weight and riding style. Very comfortable and does good on fuel, not that that's why you buy a bike like this. The only issues I have had with this bike is the speed sensor has failed twice (taking care of by warrenty) and a rear valve cover gasket leaked, but that was because of a pinched vent line. The gasket was so easy to fix I did it myself. I really recommend getting a high flow air filter and rejet because the jetting is bad from the factory. Even with the stock exhaust rejetting transformed the way it ran. The bike sounds bloody amazing with aftermarket exhaust. Be warned this bike gets a lot of attention just because it's so different. If you are looking for a sporty bike that stops and turns well and you can tour as well as commute, I recomend the Buell. You can't ride it without getting off with a big grin and at the end of the day isn't that the reason you ride a bike? Fun factor: 10!!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Todd

Cleveland, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-09-24

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got my Cyclone this summer at my local H-D dealer. I also have a 1996 H-D Road King. The Cyclone is a perfect second bike. It is sooo much fun to ride!! I love the V-twin power (torquey and wide powerband). And it handles fantastic! Also, the Cyclone looks cool and turns heads everywhere I go. Lots of compliments. My Cyclone is stock but I plan on adding a tachometer, performance exhuast, air filter, and rejet the carb. My dealer has been very helpful and has a technician who specializes in BUELLs. I have only put a couple thousand miles on it this summer but have enjoyed every one of them!! I would highly recommend the Cyclone to anyone who is looking for a performance bike at a reasonable price!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan Gregg

Franklin, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2004-04-20

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Actually I like the name Cyclone but it's such a blast to ride. I've ridden every style of bike and have ridden the Cyclone at demo rides for years. Now, I finally have one!!! This bike does not disappoint. I sold my Ducati Monster 750 to buy this bike and am so glad I did. The combination of Power, real comfort, American made, power, sound (yes a Buell sounds better than a Ducati), and did I mention power? This thing ought to have a tractor tire in the rear because you could use its 100 ft. lbs. of torque to pull stumps out of your back 40 (that's acres). It absolutely romps my friends ZX750r. that's right...The ZX 750 cannot keep up. Until of course the numbers go above say...110 (not that I'd know) Standing still I get so many positive comments and questions about the bike that I'm constantly talking about it (not that I mind). Durability is still in question. I read a lot of reviews that talk about durability. We will see. Fit and finish is way better than it used to be with the Buells. All the welds are smooth and professional looking. The switchgear is also much improved. Downsides are minor but noteworthy...the air box has grown on me, but I get many, many negative comments about it...Everyone that looks at the bike hates it. Also, the brakes don't seem to be that strong. I may ante up for another rotor/caliper set in the front. The engine has pre-detonation (pinging) under load once hot, even with Premium fuel. The engine also tends to backfire softly once when coming to a stop (embarrassing). Also, the front fender is so small that small pebbles from the road hit you in the face and collect on your seat as you ride (honestly). All in all this bike rocks and I'll take the good with the bad because it is comfortable to ride and is raw American power.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Lindhorst

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Reviewed on 2004-01-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great machine. Put 13000kms on it in a year and a half. Had a few minor problems but Buell stood by with the warranty. Never let me down yet. Did a 4000km trip to Alberta, British Columbia, Idaho and Montana. Seat was very comfortable; it is a replacement for the original that had a mark on it. New one seemed softer and more comfortable but it was a Buell seat. Great mileage, comfortable, versatile, pretty and overall a great bike. I wish they still made them, as I would probably buy another in a few years. It is not the fastest bike in the world but I knew that going in. In a few words it is just a lot of fun to drive and they really do grow on you. Give one a try.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Higbee

Layton , Utah

Reviewed on 2003-09-24

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike handles great. 4500 miles and no problems. It always wants to go to the inside in a corner. that's just Buell's way of saying "I want to go faster. Back in college riding my '61 ironhead this is the bike I always dreamed of. It's not as fast as other sport bikes but boy does it turn. Just plain fun to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Hembree

Boise, Idaho

Reviewed on 2003-09-19

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Buell Cyclone M2

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought 2000 M2 Buell August 2000, $7400 out the door. Have 17100 miles as of 9/15/2003, still all stock. Had the typical rear rocker gasket leak at 3k miles, front one at 10k, no leaks since. Had cell die in battery at approx. 5k miles, warranty replaced. Replaced swing arm bearings at 10k miles during 10k service (Idaho has a lot of bumpy roads), no other problems. Get about 5-6k miles on rear Dunlop D220 (the D205 replacement), about 9k miles on front Dunlop D220. Have gotten 58-60 mpg at 60-80 mph on trips between Boise and Missoula, Montana (have the Ventura baggage system which cuts down on wind resistance). It does a good job for sport/touring on mountain highways with the relatively upright riding posture. The seat is comfy, and there is almost no grip vibration at 65-80 mph. With a tank bag, sometimes use the passenger pegs for feet, rest helmet on tank bag when knees start to ache on real long rides. Also does good in freeway traffic when commuting to work, the bright orange is quite visible (one of the reasons I bought a Buell). The belt drive is clean and quiet too. Brakes are good, use only 2 fingers on front one. Ride with both Harley and BMW guys (on 2000 models, they also have had their share of problems (one R1100S had, at 5k miles, the powertrain gears in the swingarm drive assembly fail catastrophically, which then destroyed the the entire swingarm housing, another, a BMW R1200C, keeps breaking the plastic turn and brake light housings due to vibration, and it too had a battery go bad). Overall, it has been ok for me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 57 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: