Buell Lightning XB9S Motorcycles Reviews (13)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Buell Lightning XB9S Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Buell Lightning XB9S Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-07-02 2003 Buell Lightning XB9S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As I've been riding on the big bike just a little over a decade, the Lightning finally explains my 'Review Title' without any doubts. Just got it for a couple of months with excellent condition and as all the Lightning's lovers do, I take it on the road almost everyday with no burdens. Ultimately, this is one of all two wheels kind that you have got to take on if you want to get into the heart of 'Live to Ride' spirit!!!
- Sam, Hadyai, Thailand

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-16 2003 Buell Lightning XB9S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in Feb. '03 because it was what I had been looking for. I had also looked at the Ducatis, Triumphs, Aprilias, etc. I wanted an air cooled, belt driven,compact, light, nimble, reliable, locally serviced and if at all possible, American made. I also required a bike that needed 0 upgrades to correct design/build flaws. The Buell met all the requirements on paper, received excellent reviews, and has been tons of fun to ride and live with. Thumbs up!
- ray weber, santa cruz, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-19 2003 Buell Lightning XB9S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I never owned a bike before I rode a couple of bikes - a Suzuki, a Yamaha... I seen a Buell Lightning and couldn't believe it. I bought it without a test ride, AWESOME!!! I recommend this bike to a new rider, they are so easy to ride and when you want to challenge the road, it will work with you.
- vance, reedsburg, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-19 2003 Buell Lightning XB9S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Plenty of power, splendid handling and iconic good looks. The horsepower and torque from the 984 are sufficient for any application short of actual competition on the track. Corners are cake. Even a relatively inexperienced rider can flick the bike back and forth with easy confidence. Finally, there are bikes that look better on paper, but none that look better on the street. This bike turns heads right off the showroom floor.
- DueceDriver, Wheatland, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-08 2003 Buell Lightning XB9S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the quickest turning bike I have ever ridden, it handles like a motocross machine. You've got to ride it to truly understand just how agile this thing really is.
- Scott, Nashua, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-20 2003 Buell Lightning XB9S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is truely awesome. I have had the bike for several months now, and I get excited everytime I get it out of the garage. The bike is a real eye-catcher and I get compliments on it everytime I ride. It's reliable and quick with little to no drawbacks. Get the aftermarket race kit for true power and sound. A great buy.
- NC Buell Rider, Greensboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-12 2003 Buell Lightning XB9S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Lightning for almost a year now and I love it. I traded my 03 883 Sportster for my Buell and I could not be happier with the decision. The Buell performs great and loves corners. It is not as fast as the Japanese made street bikes but they cannot touch the Buell in the appearance and quality department. I also get looks everywhere I ride the bike. I have an aftermarket pipe (D&D) and K&N air filter installed and the bike is louder then most Harley's.
- John Alexander, Brick, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-30 2003 Buell Lightning XB9S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a light bike with good handling characteristics and one I could do most of the maintenance on my own. I was admiring the Buell XBs for its stylish looks and innovative features for a few months. Happen to test ride a bike with a buddy of mine and we both ended up riding out the dealership with two new XBs. This was in October and wanted to wait for three months to write a review to see if my opinion will change. I must say I have no regrets for that spontaneous decision. The only regret is why I did not get this bike sooner. This bike fulfilled all my expectations and more.
- Rishard.H, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-13 2003 Buell Lightning XB9S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 5'4" I wanted a sport bike. Every bike I checked out was to high. I went into the Harley dealer & sat on the XB9S. The guy asked me if I wanted to test drive it. That was it! I loved it! We went on the freeway and on some corners and I coulden't get enough. I ride it everyday.
- Tray , San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-18 2003 Buell Lightning XB9S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Can't say enough good things about this bike. Techno superior, rides great. Stay on it all day long, cruise, carve or just stand and take questions and compliments. But you must ride one to believe it. Hurry before the masses discover it.
- Rich, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-16 2003 Buell Lightning XB9S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
During my bike hunting I ventured into the Harley dealership and found this beauty. The dealer, during his sales schpeal(sp?), called this bike intuitive. How can a bike be intuitve I wondered to myself. I decided to purchase this beauty and soon learned exactly what the dealer meant. While exiting the freeway on one of those 30mph ramps that keep twisting round and round, I looked down at my speedometer and realized that I was still going 65mph. This bike however knew exactly what to do. I started the lean into the turn and the bike took over. "So you want carve this baby up", the bike asked. That we did. I simply held on and smiled. This bike handled the ramp so easily that I left the exit ramp faster than I had gotten on. Some of you hotdogs out there may think nothing of my 65mph exit but if you realize that this is only my second time ever riding a bike then you may appreciate just how this bike will take care of you and keep you smiling.
- Eddie, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-07 2003 Buell Lightning XB9S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have not been on a bike for a few years, but the moment I sat on the new XB9S I new I had to ride again. I bought it on the spot and have not looked back since. The look, feel, and handling are awesome. True, it is not as fast as most Jap. bikes, but come on, do you really need to go 130 mph ????? And the handling actually is better than most Jap. bikes. Simply put, the bike is awesome. Eric really out did himself this time.
- Michael N., Bridgewater, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-03 2003 Buell Lightning XB9S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With fully adjustable suspension f/r, this is one comfortable canyon carver. Great sound, quick acceleration, and well thought out. At first I thought the price was high, but after riding it I'm not so sure. Seating position is excellent for street riding and day trips. This motorcycle should sell like hotcakes.
- nhardy, Seattle

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: