Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Buell Lightning XB9S reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

13 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Sam

Hadyai, Thailand

Reviewed on 2009-07-02

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Lightning XB9S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As I've been riding on the big bike just a little over a decade, the Lightning finally explains my 'Review Title' without any doubts. Just got it for a couple of months with excellent condition and as all the Lightning's lovers do, I take it on the road almost everyday with no burdens. Ultimately, this is one of all two wheels kind that you have got to take on if you want to get into the heart of 'Live to Ride' spirit!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ray weber

santa cruz, California

Reviewed on 2007-07-16

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Lightning XB9S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike new in Feb. '03 because it was what I had been looking for. I had also looked at the Ducatis, Triumphs, Aprilias, etc. I wanted an air cooled, belt driven,compact, light, nimble, reliable, locally serviced and if at all possible, American made. I also required a bike that needed 0 upgrades to correct design/build flaws. The Buell met all the requirements on paper, received excellent reviews, and has been tons of fun to ride and live with. Thumbs up!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

vance

reedsburg, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2006-01-19

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Lightning XB9S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I never owned a bike before I rode a couple of bikes - a Suzuki, a Yamaha... I seen a Buell Lightning and couldn't believe it. I bought it without a test ride, AWESOME!!! I recommend this bike to a new rider, they are so easy to ride and when you want to challenge the road, it will work with you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DueceDriver

Wheatland, California

Reviewed on 2005-10-19

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Lightning XB9S

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Plenty of power, splendid handling and iconic good looks. The horsepower and torque from the 984 are sufficient for any application short of actual competition on the track. Corners are cake. Even a relatively inexperienced rider can flick the bike back and forth with easy confidence. Finally, there are bikes that look better on paper, but none that look better on the street. This bike turns heads right off the showroom floor.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott

Nashua, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2005-09-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Lightning XB9S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the quickest turning bike I have ever ridden, it handles like a motocross machine. You've got to ride it to truly understand just how agile this thing really is.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

NC Buell Rider

Greensboro, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-12-20

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Lightning XB9S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is truely awesome. I have had the bike for several months now, and I get excited everytime I get it out of the garage. The bike is a real eye-catcher and I get compliments on it everytime I ride. It's reliable and quick with little to no drawbacks. Get the aftermarket race kit for true power and sound. A great buy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Alexander

Brick, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2004-03-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Lightning XB9S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my Lightning for almost a year now and I love it. I traded my 03 883 Sportster for my Buell and I could not be happier with the decision. The Buell performs great and loves corners. It is not as fast as the Japanese made street bikes but they cannot touch the Buell in the appearance and quality department. I also get looks everywhere I ride the bike. I have an aftermarket pipe (D&D) and K&N air filter installed and the bike is louder then most Harley's.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rishard.H

Dallas, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-12-30

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Lightning XB9S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was looking for a light bike with good handling characteristics and one I could do most of the maintenance on my own. I was admiring the Buell XBs for its stylish looks and innovative features for a few months. Happen to test ride a bike with a buddy of mine and we both ended up riding out the dealership with two new XBs. This was in October and wanted to wait for three months to write a review to see if my opinion will change. I must say I have no regrets for that spontaneous decision. The only regret is why I did not get this bike sooner. This bike fulfilled all my expectations and more.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tray

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2003-12-13

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Lightning XB9S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am 5'4" I wanted a sport bike. Every bike I checked out was to high. I went into the Harley dealer & sat on the XB9S. The guy asked me if I wanted to test drive it. That was it! I loved it! We went on the freeway and on some corners and I coulden't get enough. I ride it everyday.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rich

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2003-08-18

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Buell Lightning XB9S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Can't say enough good things about this bike. Techno superior, rides great. Stay on it all day long, cruise, carve or just stand and take questions and compliments. But you must ride one to believe it. Hurry before the masses discover it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 13 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: