Buell Ulysses XB12X Motorcycles Reviews (8)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Buell Ulysses XB12X Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Buell Ulysses XB12X Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-08-02 2006 Buell Ulysses XB12X Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned Suzuki, Honda, HD, and other Buells over the years, but have never been this satisfied with a motorcycle...there is nothing that makes me feel like I might one day sell it and that is saying something. I've ridden halfway across the country on this thing through about a third of the United States and the bike handled every situation well from canyon passes to rain storms to gravel roads. Also might add that the bike did everything while remaining comfortable during consecutive 600 mile days...not even tired or sore at the end. The only negative for this bike is that if you are much shorter than me then you might not fit the bike, but I'm not taking away a star for something that is directly responsible for the way the bike handles and the comfort level. Even went camping with a tent, fishing poles, cooler, air mattress, and all the other gear.
- Bob, OKC, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-13 2006 Buell Ulysses XB12X Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just finished a 700 mile odyssey on my 2006 Uly. A great bike when you can only have one. You'll never run out of power. (unless you cruise at 110+) The bike is big, but very flicakable, even fully loaded for a three week trip. Averages 49 mpg. Purrs like a kitten between 2800 and 5500 RPM. The tall suspension, means you can focus on the scenery without having to 'pick' your way on a line over rough roads.(even unpaved) Engine heat is tolerable in traffic, and is unnoticed at speeds above 25. This bike is not for short people, it is tall and somewhat top-heavy. Buells get a lot of wierd stares, but folks understand when you explain that it is a part of Harley-Davidson.
- Bill G, Hackettstown, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-16 2006 Buell Ulysses XB12X Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Tall but manageable. (Been fixed in the 2007 model) Good, more than adequate performance from the engine, gearbox not as good as the competition though. Very comfortable for pillions. Great everyday bike and commuter.
- Terry McCarthy, Hobart, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-18 2006 Buell Ulysses XB12X Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So I bought the Uly as my first bike...perhaps not the smartest thing I've ever done. On delivery day I think I had a grand total of 8 hours on a motorcyle my entire life. I quickly discovered that the 1203 requires that you use a little finess--long story but the Uly and I slid across a parking lot on our first time at bat. Fortunately, we both were fine. Gotta give a round of applause to the engineers who armored this thing--it's very tough and we both walked away with only a little scratch. Since then I've managed to keep it on the wheels. I bought the bike from a dealership who had it as a demo--benefit: I have all the accessories that were available at production. I started riding the bike as a commuter and quickly found myself taking the long way home. I moved to CA this past fall and took the bike on a ride in New Mexico--great time. Here in Cali it's a commuter and my weekend escape vehicle. The seat height is very tall, I have the optional lowered seat and I can barely flat foot this thing loaded. The Thunderstorm V-twin makes plenty of power to keep up with traffic. I have had my mileage range from 38-56 mpg, usually it's around 45. Generally it does better when I'm solo, when it's warmer and when it has 93 octane gas (only 91 is available here). Mileage doesn't really matter much since it's all better than my truck. I find the guage cluster to be low and out of the line of sight but usually that's not an issue...sometimes when you are all by yourself in the twisties you may look down to discover that you are going much faster than you thought you were. First gear on this bike is a little high and can make riding off-highway at very low speeds a bit of a challenge; in normal city driving it's not an issue. The fuel-range is great, the bike rides well and handles effortlessly. At high speeds the sipes in the front tire may make it want to hunt back and forth ever so slightly (about an inch) but it's not dangerous and if you are ever on an unbarricaded mountain road and hit a patch of gravel in the turn, you will be grateful for this machines ability to instantly recover itself without loss of control. The rear brake is kind of underpowered but the front brake is huge and more than takes up the slack--DO NOT GRAB THE FRONT BRAKE HANDLE. The suspension on the Uly is great and is adjustable from like 135-450lbs or something. I don't play with it much but the bike comes with a table of presets to go off of if you wanted to set it up for two-up riding. I leave mine in the 220-260 range for me and my gear--minus the gear it is the slightest bit on the stiff side but still handles like a champ. Riding in gravel for the first time will probably scare you since the normal tight/connected feeling that the steering has will suddenly be gone, but the Uly still handles pretty well as long as you aren't crazy. In emergency braking, the front tire seems to stay connected very well, the suspension dive is pretty substantial though (I didn't know it could compress that much) and it may scare you more than whatever you were trying to avoid, but the bike remains controllable and will allow you to seamlessly transition into avoidance. The engine does vibrate a bit until you hit 3000 rpm or so, but of course you do get the benifit of a satisfying V-twin roar. The electric cooling fan is sometimes loud and stays on longer than I would like it to but it seems to work well. The accessories I have are all pretty useful. I think the GPS is great but I try not to look at it too much, it is an excellent little piece of gear from Garmin and even dims itself at night to protect your vision from glare. The lowered seat was an imperative for me, it's comfortable and I don't find myself wishing to stop even on the longest rides. My machine came with the twin saddle bags which make the Ulysses a practical commuter and and excellent touring bike. I have had no problems with the side bags, they are waterproof and very tough, the right one took the brunt of the fall that first ride and survived with just a scratch. The tall windshield is something I have to look into still, the Uly offers great protection to your knees and your hands but I could do with a little less wind buffeting. The Ulysses seems to handle fine in the wet, I have ridden through many pop-up thunder storms and one hail storm and had no issues. I haven't done any two-up riding yet, but I have hauled 50 lbs in the saddle bags without any noticeable change in performance. I have had the bike in for one routine maintenance at around 1000 miles and the dealer replaced the O2 sensor as well...mileage improved. I have also had one non routine maintenance--I had the RH turn signal wiring harness replaced after it became intermittant--appearently it got pinched either in that first ride or by one of the tie-downs I used to secure the bike in my trailer during the move out here. Additionally, I broke the license plate light bracket one morning while trying to quickly remove the cover...it was like $6 to replace so I will chalk that one up to my own impatience. The fit & finish on the machine is great, it always starts (as long as you remember not to leave the key switch in the accessory position overnight), it's tough, and it's plenty powerful. I don't know that I would add much to it except the windshield and perhaps a set of driving lights but that's just me.
- SgtSpook, Oceanside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-27 2006 Buell Ulysses XB12X Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm too old to fold myself into a sport bike so got this instead. It's very versatile and is stable on loose surfaces. I ride it to work often and it makes a great commuter. Got over 48 mpg on the first tank. It handles very well for such a tall motorcycle and with all that torque available, it is easy to ride through the twisties. It is very tall though and not for short legged people. Some heat on right side from exhaust and I plan to ceramic coat it to hopefully resolve that issue. The engine is a lot smoother than I expected for a big v-twin but it still feels like a big v-twin (not a problem for me). Took my wife on a 100 mile ride and she was comfortable. The folding backrest is a great idea.
- JohnT, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-21 2006 Buell Ulysses XB12X Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned and ridden alot of bikes over the years, too many to count, years that is. I have owned 8 harleys,5 triumphs,2 hondas, 9 suzukis, 2kawasakis, 1 bridgestone, 11 bmws, plus a few others. This buell is one of the most fun bikes I have owned, it always feels planted on the pavement, my wife loves the seat and I do too. The bike is tall but not too much for normal riding. If you are height impaired the lowered seat is a big improvement. I just got back from a trip to the Blueridge Mts. and had a great time. The only time you need to really pay attention is off road, having been used to 19 or 21 inch front wheels' the 17 incher takes some getting used to, but using a little common sense helps. The bags and box are of superior quality. I added a Lee Bailey intermediate windshield and that was a good improvement. The bike is faster than any harley that I have ridden esp. considering how well the bike handles. Service is pretty simple. The only complaint that I can tell you about is that there is some heat on the right side of the bike, and fan is noisy. But I'll trade that any day for a bike as capable and versitil as Uly. There is even quite a bit of storage under the seat. Every time I ride or even look at the bike I'm amazed at the high degree of great engineering that has gone into the design of this machine.
- Mike Morton, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-31 2006 Buell Ulysses XB12X Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Would find it very difficult to know what more someone could want from a multi-purpose bike than the Ulysses is willing to deliver. Great on the highway (comfort, agility, speed, etc.) and secure off road (not an enduro). After 1650 miles it has been spectacular on the winding mountain roads of Vermont as well as New York's Long Island Expressway, not to mention Broadway or 2nd Ave. traffic. I highly recommend the bike and salute the folks at Buell for a truly TERRIFIC product. <br /> Note: Most curious comments on the road come from owners of Harleys. Two Thumbs Up!!
- Bob Wiesehahn, Greenport, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-03 2006 Buell Ulysses XB12X Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Buell XB12X is a fun ride. It has quick handling on asphalt and dirt roads. The rider comfort is great. It is also great on fuel economy at 52 MPG average so far. It could use a little more get up and boogie. It surges a little at low speed. There's a hot spot near the inside of the right thigh. It needs a taller windshield for touring and a lower seat height for most riders.
- DICK , POWELL, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: