Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Motorcycles Reviews (13)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-10-09 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the 2010 SM-5 in May and was immediately surprised by the handling and comfort of this machine. My biggest fear of the thought of a cycle falling on me is now non-existent. My wife and I can now enjoy the pleasures of the open road with peace of mind. I must also say that the dealership, along with the entire staff, are super people who truly display the art of customer service.
- Phil Sabasino, Feasterville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-04 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've wanted a unique bike but didn't want to put my safety in the hands of others. I commute to DC and ride some of the most accident prone, traffic heavy roads in the country and feel safe in my "cage" but never thought I'd be willing to take the challenge on a bike. Then I got my Spyder... A 2009 Phantom. I find it a complete blast to ride and feel very safe - that is except for the gawkers that are not paying attention to the road and trying to catch a look at the bike. I've had no mechanical issues with the Spyder but have some concerns with the more than average problems others have experienced. I do what maintenance I can myself but since it relies on computer controls for steering, braking and stability control, I still need to have a dealer do the more complicated stuff. I've done quite a bit of customization myself - some for show and some for comfort. I added a 2" riser bar for a better driver position. I've also added floorboards and a Corbin seat for comfort. My wife loves riding the Spyder and we spend more quality time together since I bought it. I am very pleased with the performance and plan on being a Spyder Ryder for some time.
- Sam Mancuso, Columbia, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-03 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't miss the old motorcycle at all. This feels so much safer, and with the trunk and side bags we can carry all we need or want. Stability is fantastic.
- Mike D, Haverhill, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-09 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best machine ever!!! Great performance and comfort. This bike is a real head turner. Loving every riding minute.
- Mary Ann, Gloucester, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-01 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The most safe thrill vehicle I have ever owned. The reverse makes it great for the older rider or handicapped person who may not be able to ride a 2 wheeler. It is a great attention getter, be prepared to answer questions every time you come to a stop. I would hate to make a choice between my H.D. and Spyder.
- al c, columbus, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-03 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put down a deposit a day after seeing the release of the Spyder. I received it in November 2007. The night I got it home it was 32 degrees but I had to take it out for a 30 minute ride. I now have over 8500 miles and absolutely love the Spyder! I have ridden in all types of weather, light snow to heavy rain, and this machine handles awesomely! I just returned from a Spyder gathering in Gatlinburg, TN and rode in 500 miles of downpour rain and I wasn't afraid like I would have been on a 2-wheel motorcycle. The dealer has been excellent for doing the regular maintenance as well! Thanks for everything!
- Shawn Scott, Endicott, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-26 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From the first time I saw a Spyder, I knew that it was for me. After many years of motorcycle riding, I was ready for a different machine and BRP Can Am built the machine that fills the bill. I took delivery in May 2008 and have ridden nearly every day since, rain or shine. This machine is stable, reliable, has plenty of power and is a joy to ride. There is a minimal learning curve to acclimate to the differences from 2 wheel to a -Y- 3 wheel configuration but once comfortable, I'd not wish to ever go back to 2 wheels. I have yet to stop for fuel or groceries or at a coffee shop that a group didn't gather to inspect and inquire about the Spyder. I'm very pleased with the dealership for both sales and service. I'm a very happy Spyder Ryder.
- Leo Angevine, Rixford, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-22 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a few supercars in the past. Some in the 100K plus range and I can honestly say that I have never received more questions about a vehicle in my life!! It's so fun and fast and the 3 wheels for someone who's never owned a bike make it so easy. I added the chrome wheels. I can't wait to ride it every day.
- Bryan, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-30 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I waited and I was rewarded. This is my machine; I have been riding it nonstop. Performance, power, stability, and it has got the looks. I can't go anywhere without someone asking what is that. Everyone wants to ride it, but I am not sharing. I am in love.
- TOMMY , Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-24 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Let me start of by saying that after a 14 hour drive each way to pick up my new Spyder I have slept for about 2 hours in 3 days. Can-Am, you have nailed it with this machine. I felt like a superstar from all the head turners asking all kinds of questions about the bike. I drove it in the parking lot briefly only because I knew that I had a long trip back. At home it was a blast. Throttle response is better than my 2005 Raven Black R1 I previously had. Comfort is top-notch. Fit & finish is very detailed. The bike is worth well over the price I paid in my opinion. 3 of my friends took it for a spin and all of them didn't want to return my bike. I give this bike 10 out of 10 for build quality, looks, sex appeal, and down right being superb! I can only stress out to everyone... ride one! I can go on and on about my first day of public response towards the bike, but I think you get the picture of how shocking the bike made the people in my city feel. I love it!
- JTY2K, New Iberia, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-16 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got one of the first units over last weekend. What a ride! It is incredibly stable and handles like it's on rails. I am looking forward to much nicer weather so I can focus my efforts on breaking it in.
- Joe Ondik, Maple Valley, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-06 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After test driving one of these at the Motorcycle Expo in Phoenix, I bought one. The best thing for me is that the Spyder offers the freedom of a motorcycle with the stability of a car. Not to mention it is a total blast to ride! My husband has been trying to get me out riding with him for years... not any more; I'm already out the door!
- Tammy, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-30 2008 Can-Am Spyder GS (SM5) Trikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I originally bought this for my wife as she wants to go riding with me, but does not have all that much confidence on two wheels. So I bought her one, and even though we don't officially get it until Sept., we got to have one for a few weeks, and it's a blast! Riding comfort is pretty good. I ride a Boulevard and I felt comfy on the Spyder. There are two drawbacks that are being changed. One is the foot brake. The Spyder only has one brake input, and it is the right foot. Currently the brake lever sits flush with the peg, so when resting your foot on the peg, you ride the brakes. They will be dropping the brake pedal down an inch or two. Second is the output for the fan. Currently the fan output blows directly on the right foot making your foot feel like it's on fire! They will be directing the airflow elsewhere on the final product. The trunk is huge and awesome! It even comes with a 12v plugin! Access to the fuel tank is under the seat and sort of odd to fill up, but it just takes getting used to. The gauges are great! Analog and digital. Tach and speed are analog, the digital tells you fuel/temp/outside temp/gear/idiot message board too. Feels weird not having a front brake lever, but you get used to it quickly!! It has anti-roll, which does work! ABS works great too. Power was a little on the weak side for a 990cc. But these were prototypes that have been riden pretty hard and was assured they were even tuned down a little for riders. The power steering turns off at 40mph as you don't need it going that fast. I had it up to 75, and it felt pretty solid. Little squirly in the front end, but is to be expected. Corners great, and is just fun all around.
- Steve Langen, Chandler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: