Confederate Motorcycles Reviews (26)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Confederate Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Confederate Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-11-08 2000 Confederate REL Series America GT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike to re-sell and made the mistake of riding it. It will never be sold by me because I love the ride, pure beast. I am a big guy and it fits me like a glove. This bike will keep your attention while riding it and get a lot of admirers when parked. I have the SS113 Red/Black combo paint scheme. Some bikes have the looks and some performence, this bike has both times TEN, in my opinion.
- Fla Owner, Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-27 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Confederate Hellcat is one wild ride! It is one of the best bikes I've owned, period. Mine has needed some minor adjusting and TLC to become a reliable ride. If you are the kind of rider that thinks you need to get warranty service for a burned out light bulb, this bike is not for you. If you are an experienced rider who can twist a wrench on occasion, your greasy hands will be a small price to pay for the thrill. The company has been reorganized and is up and producing again. It does not really matter as most of the parts are aftermarket anyway and quite available. The S&S motor is bullet proof. If you can find one, go for it!
- Greybear57, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-06 2000 Confederate REL Series America GT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a Confederate GT with the S&S 113ci engine. I've riden it 10,000 miles with no problems. The GT configuration also alows you to use saddlebags.
- JohnnyT, Ozarks, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-06 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2000 Confederate GT. I can't see how people run these bikes down. I have 10,000 miles on my Confederate and the only problem I've had is a slight oil leak caused by an Easy Rider's mechanic overfilling my oil. The bike has been great, and with a two seat configuration it gives me space to put my saddlebags. I love this bike.
- JohnnT, Ozarks, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-10 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a Hellcat since last October and every time I ride the beast I am thoroughly satisfied. The feeling you get when you crack open the throttle is unlike any other bike I have ridden or owned. The thrill of ridding this beast outweighs the small problems that comes along with the brand..
- Mr. Ed, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-05 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is truly the Bike from Hell, and I say that in only the BEST sense of the phrase. My 2000 Hellcat has had its' share of minor problems, and the guys at Confederate have been more than helpful in aiding me to set all problems straight. I look forward to riding this motorcycle like I have never looked forward to riding others that I've owned, and I currently own 2 Harleys that just sit around a lot these days. Anyone who spends their time whining about the bike's problems don't deserve to own one and are incapable of appreciating the work of art that is Confederate. I personally feel that "I am not worthy", but enjoy my ride to the fullest. Congratulations to Matt Chambers et.al. who had the vision and courage to challenge the naysayers.
- Shawn Nolan, Burlington, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-29 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own two HellCats, both 99. These bikes are awesome and have a hell of a ride. I understand that after 2000 the mechanics changed at Confederate, and they were just putting these bikes together and didnt give a crap. All the best mechanics and engineers had left by then. They are now back with a 2003 model called the g3 if you can afford 50k. Like I said the 99's I have kick butt. But I wouldnt give Chambers a dime, on the BS he is making now. Any help holler. TC
- Troy, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-16 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I build bikes for a living. I work for one of the most famous and accomplished engine builders (v twin) in the world. The Hellcat is, in my opinion, the best motorcycle ever produced in America.
- Steve, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-26 2000 Confederate REL Series America GT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am pondering with the idea to buy a 2002 America GT. I have heard many mixed reviews as to good or bad. It has the 113 engine(I heard that was good),and 0 miles. I also understand that there is no warranty(must go aftermarket). Can anybody help my decision?? Much appreciation to the help -Chad
- chad b, atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-09 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
mine is great. no problems, long rides, in the rain, and once in the snow. :) only thing that needs changing is bulbs. ya, I think I can do a ts bulb change once in a while. the 2001 models are alllllllll better. oh, and the s+s engine is great. everyone I know with a merch on any custom chassis managed to blow it up. like 6 people. they all got s+s engines now. :)
- sam rabbit, boston

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-06 2000 Confederate REL Series America GT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I walked around a corner of Ocean Blvd. Daytona,my first day at Bike Week 2000, and there it was straight ahead of me; my dream bike. An America GT in black with bright yellow wheels.Love at first sight,a Confederate convert at first ride!! What a ride! I still get the same thrill every time I fire her up.Mine is an S&S 113ci not the Merch 120 and from the reports I've read on the 120 I am glad I have the 113.It has gobs and gobs of torque as well as BHP. I have only a guess as to the top speed because the speedo goes to 120 and I can almost do that in 4th gear! Cornering ability is limited only by ground clearance.So far in one year of ownership I have had no problems to speak of except a leak in the gas tank. It turns heads everywhere we go,i.e.;I pull into the HD demo parking lot at Daytona International Speedway and never got away from the bike. I had four people around me before I got shutdown and the crowd continued for the next hour one would ask questions or just look and listen and two more would come over. I never made it into the HD area!That scene is repeated nearly everywhere I go with my Baby which is part of why I love her so... and the 10.9 1/4 miles at 123 mph!She is so sexy too!! It is to bad Matt didn't have the doe ray me to see his dream all the way through, but maybe the new majority stock holder will.
- Art Fusco, Thornton, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-10 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
'Love the bikes; look is unique, performance is beyond many riders' skill level - definitely not for the novice, and very rare (there are only about 400 in private hands). BUT.. the company is in knots internally (an ongoing hostile takeover attempt the current board of directors has withheld operating funding for some time, warranty issues are (and have been) delayed. Bulk of warranty issues are related to failure to properly break in these large displacement, performance enhanced motors. Almost all other problems are linked to pilot error (inflated sense of skill), and/or ignored routine maintenance. It is unlikely the company will survive in its current form.
- Rider, Southeast USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-08 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a nightmare!!! Tried to buy one and the dealership I went to acted as though they did not want to sell me a Confederate, could not answer questions and looked downright cross-eyed at me when I asked prices. Told them I was interested in one silver Hellcat that was on the floor to sell and was told that they could not sell it to me. Huh? Started joining club boards to speak with other owners and felt like I was in a bad "B" movie. There are way too many owners out there owning Confederates with little or no miles on them that are not running and Confederate cannot honor any warranties because they even admit that they are close to bankruptcy. I admire their motorcycles, but I will do it from afar and I hope all those current owners reach some satisfaction with the Confederates, because as of now they simply own $25K to $30K art pieces! P.S. Called and spoke with the factory who lied to me and when confronted with theirs lies became incredibility rude. This motorcycle company is all but gone, but do not take my word for it call the factory, join the club boards and talk to owners. All the owners I spoke with gladly gave me an earful. Oh, and about getting to ride one...forget it, I was told that you either have to buy one before you can ride it and that the Confederate speaks for itself. Sounded pretty daft to me. They do not have a zero star rating or I would have chosen it.
- S. Johnson, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-14 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This can be a really long story, so I'll make it short. I want to be sure that people investigate what they're getting into before purchasing a Confederate. I bought a new 2000 Confederado. Less than 300 miles later it had a complete breakdown. Clutch, brakes, electrical system, and motor were shot. Confederate "approved" the bike for warranty work but WILL NOT send any parts or pay my local shop for labor. I am stuck in the worst position imaginable. I have spoken with many people at Confederate, including Matt Chambers, and all they do is blame their problems on someone else. I have owned the bike for 3 months, 2 1/2 months it has been in the shop waiting for Confederate to own up to their warranty. I have been lied to, no one will return my calls, and now it is turning into a legal battle. Matt Chambers tries to compare Confederate Motorcycles to the early days of Ferrari, but in my experience they do not even stack up to the early days of VW. In fact, I have owned several AMF shovelheads that were much more reliable than my $25,000 Confederado, and Harley will still help you out when you take your bike to the shop. I honestly cannot put my experience with Confederate in words. It is a total letdown that has left me stranded with a (very expensive) broken bike, a stack of bills, and frustration that I've never experienced before. I would warn anyone looking into purchasing a Confederate.
- Mac, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-16 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently purchased a Confederate Crazyhorse/Confederado directly from the factory in Abita Springs. They put the best of both together for a one of a kind bike. TP 107 with a 230 rear and a carbor fiber teardrop tank...plus all the extra goodies only Confederate can deliver. And deliver it does. Gets you from point A to B in a hurry and looking good. It makes the Harley clones want to cry. Matt Chambers and Bill Sweatman can put it together for you...if you have some cash. But its only money and who really wants a Harley?
- hal hunter, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-27 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In January 2001, I took delivery of a new, special-order black Hellcat with the 120 cubic-inch Merch motor, one-off "vintage-style" handlebars, HSR/45 Mikuni carburetor, and other features which are not standard (neither was the price "standard"). It is difficult to explain what this bloody thing is like to ride. At full throttle, the acceleration is so intense that the pilot is literally suspended from the handlebars like a flag in a high wind. Handling, braking, and shifting are flawless, but the bike wants to run right out from under your ass! The six grand extra for the "performance version" of that awesome 120-inch (1966 cc) Merch is an expenditure only for the totally power-mad enthuasist (I plead "guilty".), and I'd cheerfully spend it again! Yeeeeeeee-Hawwww!! May the South truly rise again at the hands of men like Matt Chambers, Bill Sweetman and the other "southern gentlemen" in Abita Springs, Louisiana. The Confederate is a quality piece of work, and if you simply must "whack" Jap sportbikes light-to-light on an American-made V-twin, this is your ONLY option!
- Wild Bill, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-27 2000 Confederate REL Series America GT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I work at a multi-line dealership. We had a 1999 America GT come in on consignment (estate sale, the deceased owner's entire car & bike collection was sold piecemeal). All the salesmen and a bunch of techs found excuses to ride it pending sale. It was sporting less than 1K miles, 120ci and it was fast as hell! I considered buying it myself, but my indecision and delay... well, I blew it - it sold in six days to a well known actor/collector. And now I find out that the 120ci option isn't even available in the GT any more. It was the finest example of v-twin chassis engineering we'd ever seen - the torque of a monster v-twin in the chassis and suspension of a sportbike. It could smoke almost anything we had on the floor - OK, maybe not the Hayabusa, but it was more comfortable and alot more fun - especially with the ladies. Now I'm keeping my options and my eyes open. It probably won't get ridden much now, since it went back into a collection, damn it.
- rider/tech, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-31 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the most outstanding American motorcycle in production today. I've owned and ridden quite a few. There's nothing more to be said except this bike is truly superior and faster than hell with the 120ci or the 113ci
- hellcatrider, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-14 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
They are giving test rides on Confederates in Sturgis. OH MY GAWD! I loved the Hellcat. Its fast, light, and handles like no Harley I've ever ridden. I just made an appointment to talk to my bank. I was so impressed I ordered one without checking about financing first (duh!). It turns out these are real easy to finance (banks love them as collateral). I strongly recommend the test ride - but only if you can afford it (they are not cheap) because after the ride you will definitely want one.
- Peter Hamilton, Spokane, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-07 2000 Confederate REL Series America GT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2000 model GT with 2100 miles from the original owner who let his wife ride it, lost control, jumped a curb and spit her off. Only her pride was hurt, and "it was the bike's fault". Wheels had to be replaced, minor right side cosmetic repairs, and I found out later it hadn't been broken in right. The 120"-Merch motor started smoking and making some noise. The factory replaced the entire motor at no cost and I wasn't even the original owner - and it was out of the warranty period. Now that is good service. I have about 1200 miles on the new 120"-Merch with very careful break in and no problems. I got a great deal from the original owner, who told me he was going to order a new Hellcat for himself, and his wife would not be allowed near it. I told him to follow the break in procedure this time, and to call me if she bent this one.
- Curtis Prentiss, Tidewater, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-03 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A very,very well-designed no frills bike. Will attract attention anywhere you venture. The bike's torque will demand riders attention. Factory carb settings are set a bit rich but after adjustments made bike will give almost any modified v-twin a run for the money. If you prefer to pull up at your local watering hole with one of a kind distinction and you don't have to buy what everyone else has then give Confederate a call. I am anticipating my next Confederate purchase, possibly the CrazyHorse.
- Anonymous, Hobe Sound, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-28 2000 Confederate REL Series America GT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I met the President of Confederate Motorcycles, Mr. Matt Chambers in August of 1999 in Sturgis, SD. I was so impressed with his bikes and his stated mission that I ordered an American GT while in Sturgis. The bike arrived about six weeks later. It wasn't the color I ordered, but its performance was awesome! Mr. Chambers said I should go and have it repainted and he would take care of the bill. OK, 573 miles later, and before I got it repainted, the optional 120 C.I. Merch motor failed. They repainted it while it was at the factory. That took almost 5 months. It came back from the factory with a new motor and different wheels of a different color. Then the rear master cylinder failed. That was just the start. In less than 3000 miles and 7 months of ownership I had two clutch assemblies, two exhaust systems, 3 headlight bucket mounting brackets, 3 sets of wheels, 2 fuel tank valves, two sets of rear brake pads, both of which squealed embarrassingly loud, and other numerous minor problems. Then the second motor started making noise and leaking so badly I thought the seals had just disintegrated. During this time, Mr. Chambers, none of which were kept, made many promises. I wouldn't sell this bike to anyone I knew so I traded it to a dealer at a substantial loss.
- Paul Pangus, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-20 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took a factory tour and I finally got to ride one (been begging my brother-in-law for the chance to try his) for about 100 miles - interstate, single lane twisties, and urban - I am hooked. The biggest problem was people pacing me to stare - major eye candy. A lot of questions at stoplights like "how big is the motor is it really street legalhow about a ride? This from a pair of blonde teenage bimbettes - I split lanes to get away from that sort of temptation. I'm gonna get one as soon as my finances allow and I sell my Superglide - but by October at the latest!
- Andre Boudreaux, New Orleans, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-17 2000 Confederate REL Series America GT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Road race quality frame, swingarm, and components, but (very large) V-twin powered. Much more torque than I'm used to (Ducati ST4). Oh man! This thing is fun! Not as flickable as my Duc, but much more roll-on power. How about some hard bags and frame-mount fairing - then I could live on this beast! The spouse likes the seat; and is thinking about a MSF course. I'd rather put her on the Duc, the GT is too much bike for anyone but an experienced pilot.
- Frank Caterrio, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-17 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Incredible torque and power! Not for the novice rider or the "squiggly inclined". Be careful where you point it. The best part is that it stops almost better than it goes - outstanding brakes. Very light, low CG, and low seating. Hydraulic clutch (now my wife wants one - no way, I'll get one first! super attention to details.
- Anonymous, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: