Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles Reviews (18)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-09-27 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Confederate Hellcat is one wild ride! It is one of the best bikes I've owned, period. Mine has needed some minor adjusting and TLC to become a reliable ride. If you are the kind of rider that thinks you need to get warranty service for a burned out light bulb, this bike is not for you. If you are an experienced rider who can twist a wrench on occasion, your greasy hands will be a small price to pay for the thrill. The company has been reorganized and is up and producing again. It does not really matter as most of the parts are aftermarket anyway and quite available. The S&S motor is bullet proof. If you can find one, go for it!
- Greybear57, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-06 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2000 Confederate GT. I can't see how people run these bikes down. I have 10,000 miles on my Confederate and the only problem I've had is a slight oil leak caused by an Easy Rider's mechanic overfilling my oil. The bike has been great, and with a two seat configuration it gives me space to put my saddlebags. I love this bike.
- JohnnT, Ozarks, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-10 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a Hellcat since last October and every time I ride the beast I am thoroughly satisfied. The feeling you get when you crack open the throttle is unlike any other bike I have ridden or owned. The thrill of ridding this beast outweighs the small problems that comes along with the brand..
- Mr. Ed, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-05 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is truly the Bike from Hell, and I say that in only the BEST sense of the phrase. My 2000 Hellcat has had its' share of minor problems, and the guys at Confederate have been more than helpful in aiding me to set all problems straight. I look forward to riding this motorcycle like I have never looked forward to riding others that I've owned, and I currently own 2 Harleys that just sit around a lot these days. Anyone who spends their time whining about the bike's problems don't deserve to own one and are incapable of appreciating the work of art that is Confederate. I personally feel that "I am not worthy", but enjoy my ride to the fullest. Congratulations to Matt Chambers et.al. who had the vision and courage to challenge the naysayers.
- Shawn Nolan, Burlington, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-29 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own two HellCats, both 99. These bikes are awesome and have a hell of a ride. I understand that after 2000 the mechanics changed at Confederate, and they were just putting these bikes together and didnt give a crap. All the best mechanics and engineers had left by then. They are now back with a 2003 model called the g3 if you can afford 50k. Like I said the 99's I have kick butt. But I wouldnt give Chambers a dime, on the BS he is making now. Any help holler. TC
- Troy, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-16 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I build bikes for a living. I work for one of the most famous and accomplished engine builders (v twin) in the world. The Hellcat is, in my opinion, the best motorcycle ever produced in America.
- Steve, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-09 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
mine is great. no problems, long rides, in the rain, and once in the snow. :) only thing that needs changing is bulbs. ya, I think I can do a ts bulb change once in a while. the 2001 models are alllllllll better. oh, and the s+s engine is great. everyone I know with a merch on any custom chassis managed to blow it up. like 6 people. they all got s+s engines now. :)
- sam rabbit, boston

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-10 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
'Love the bikes; look is unique, performance is beyond many riders' skill level - definitely not for the novice, and very rare (there are only about 400 in private hands). BUT.. the company is in knots internally (an ongoing hostile takeover attempt the current board of directors has withheld operating funding for some time, warranty issues are (and have been) delayed. Bulk of warranty issues are related to failure to properly break in these large displacement, performance enhanced motors. Almost all other problems are linked to pilot error (inflated sense of skill), and/or ignored routine maintenance. It is unlikely the company will survive in its current form.
- Rider, Southeast USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-08 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a nightmare!!! Tried to buy one and the dealership I went to acted as though they did not want to sell me a Confederate, could not answer questions and looked downright cross-eyed at me when I asked prices. Told them I was interested in one silver Hellcat that was on the floor to sell and was told that they could not sell it to me. Huh? Started joining club boards to speak with other owners and felt like I was in a bad "B" movie. There are way too many owners out there owning Confederates with little or no miles on them that are not running and Confederate cannot honor any warranties because they even admit that they are close to bankruptcy. I admire their motorcycles, but I will do it from afar and I hope all those current owners reach some satisfaction with the Confederates, because as of now they simply own $25K to $30K art pieces! P.S. Called and spoke with the factory who lied to me and when confronted with theirs lies became incredibility rude. This motorcycle company is all but gone, but do not take my word for it call the factory, join the club boards and talk to owners. All the owners I spoke with gladly gave me an earful. Oh, and about getting to ride one...forget it, I was told that you either have to buy one before you can ride it and that the Confederate speaks for itself. Sounded pretty daft to me. They do not have a zero star rating or I would have chosen it.
- S. Johnson, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-14 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This can be a really long story, so I'll make it short. I want to be sure that people investigate what they're getting into before purchasing a Confederate. I bought a new 2000 Confederado. Less than 300 miles later it had a complete breakdown. Clutch, brakes, electrical system, and motor were shot. Confederate "approved" the bike for warranty work but WILL NOT send any parts or pay my local shop for labor. I am stuck in the worst position imaginable. I have spoken with many people at Confederate, including Matt Chambers, and all they do is blame their problems on someone else. I have owned the bike for 3 months, 2 1/2 months it has been in the shop waiting for Confederate to own up to their warranty. I have been lied to, no one will return my calls, and now it is turning into a legal battle. Matt Chambers tries to compare Confederate Motorcycles to the early days of Ferrari, but in my experience they do not even stack up to the early days of VW. In fact, I have owned several AMF shovelheads that were much more reliable than my $25,000 Confederado, and Harley will still help you out when you take your bike to the shop. I honestly cannot put my experience with Confederate in words. It is a total letdown that has left me stranded with a (very expensive) broken bike, a stack of bills, and frustration that I've never experienced before. I would warn anyone looking into purchasing a Confederate.
- Mac, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-16 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently purchased a Confederate Crazyhorse/Confederado directly from the factory in Abita Springs. They put the best of both together for a one of a kind bike. TP 107 with a 230 rear and a carbor fiber teardrop tank...plus all the extra goodies only Confederate can deliver. And deliver it does. Gets you from point A to B in a hurry and looking good. It makes the Harley clones want to cry. Matt Chambers and Bill Sweatman can put it together for you...if you have some cash. But its only money and who really wants a Harley?
- hal hunter, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-27 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In January 2001, I took delivery of a new, special-order black Hellcat with the 120 cubic-inch Merch motor, one-off "vintage-style" handlebars, HSR/45 Mikuni carburetor, and other features which are not standard (neither was the price "standard"). It is difficult to explain what this bloody thing is like to ride. At full throttle, the acceleration is so intense that the pilot is literally suspended from the handlebars like a flag in a high wind. Handling, braking, and shifting are flawless, but the bike wants to run right out from under your ass! The six grand extra for the "performance version" of that awesome 120-inch (1966 cc) Merch is an expenditure only for the totally power-mad enthuasist (I plead "guilty".), and I'd cheerfully spend it again! Yeeeeeeee-Hawwww!! May the South truly rise again at the hands of men like Matt Chambers, Bill Sweetman and the other "southern gentlemen" in Abita Springs, Louisiana. The Confederate is a quality piece of work, and if you simply must "whack" Jap sportbikes light-to-light on an American-made V-twin, this is your ONLY option!
- Wild Bill, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-31 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the most outstanding American motorcycle in production today. I've owned and ridden quite a few. There's nothing more to be said except this bike is truly superior and faster than hell with the 120ci or the 113ci
- hellcatrider, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-14 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
They are giving test rides on Confederates in Sturgis. OH MY GAWD! I loved the Hellcat. Its fast, light, and handles like no Harley I've ever ridden. I just made an appointment to talk to my bank. I was so impressed I ordered one without checking about financing first (duh!). It turns out these are real easy to finance (banks love them as collateral). I strongly recommend the test ride - but only if you can afford it (they are not cheap) because after the ride you will definitely want one.
- Peter Hamilton, Spokane, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-03 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A very,very well-designed no frills bike. Will attract attention anywhere you venture. The bike's torque will demand riders attention. Factory carb settings are set a bit rich but after adjustments made bike will give almost any modified v-twin a run for the money. If you prefer to pull up at your local watering hole with one of a kind distinction and you don't have to buy what everyone else has then give Confederate a call. I am anticipating my next Confederate purchase, possibly the CrazyHorse.
- Anonymous, Hobe Sound, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-20 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took a factory tour and I finally got to ride one (been begging my brother-in-law for the chance to try his) for about 100 miles - interstate, single lane twisties, and urban - I am hooked. The biggest problem was people pacing me to stare - major eye candy. A lot of questions at stoplights like "how big is the motor is it really street legalhow about a ride? This from a pair of blonde teenage bimbettes - I split lanes to get away from that sort of temptation. I'm gonna get one as soon as my finances allow and I sell my Superglide - but by October at the latest!
- Andre Boudreaux, New Orleans, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-17 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Incredible torque and power! Not for the novice rider or the "squiggly inclined". Be careful where you point it. The best part is that it stops almost better than it goes - outstanding brakes. Very light, low CG, and low seating. Hydraulic clutch (now my wife wants one - no way, I'll get one first! super attention to details.
- Anonymous, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-02-04 2000 Confederate NBF Series Hellcat Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you ever get the chance to get on one, don't pass it up. It is truly a pleasure to ride--both hard and long. The most fun V-Twin made (and I have been on/worked on most of them).
- Anonymous, Midwest

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: