Ducati 748 Motorcycles Reviews (18)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati 748 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Ducati 748 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-10-08 2000 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike looks great. People stare at it constantly. The performance is excellent, handles like a Ferrari. don't expect a power rush like an I-4, there is none. Just smooth delivery. Add a few nice bits, and you've got the best balance of power, weight and looks on the market!
- Timmay, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-04 2001 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In an area the recieves harsh spring and fall weather and humid summer days northeast wisconsin could be claimed the 'proving grounds' for sport bikes. With twisty-turny town roads around the kettles and open country highways the 748 is happily at home. I ride with a group of 12 bikes. consisting of r6's, rc51, gsx1000's, 600rr, 998sps's, and one hell of a hayabusa......the 748 still takes the checkered flag. The 748 has the agility and a vast amount of power that the 998's have and still has the high reving ability that the japs have. However, the key is that the 748 is very very user friendly (considering that you have a good back and don't care about draging your knees around hair pin curves). The only problem with owning one of the greatest superbikes in Wisconsin is that it has to stored for six months. However, I keep mine in the living room next to the television....so, when the ladyfriend watches chick flicks I can stair and daze off at my bike!!! good luck guys with trying to find one!
- mike burg, green bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-28 2002 Ducati 748S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike stirred my insides from the first time I placed eyes on it in the showroom. The exclusivity alone made we want to ride it out of there that day. For the extra $3000 CDN over the 748 model, it was well worth the money. The Marchesini wheels ALONE would cost more than that aftermarket. Even though the seaating position is something to be desired, you will reap the benefits of having forearms like Popeye...but any Ducati enthusiast will know in advance that this has been the same for quite some time now. Performance wise, it could use a little more in the bottom end. Pulling the front end up in 2nd gear is not something that just requires rolling over on the throttle. But that's for the showboats...and this bike is defintitely for a subdued rider that wants to be noticed..and trust me...YOU GET NOTICED! Through the hairpins, this thing handles like a dream...if your 3/4 of your way out of a turn...crank it over...you'll be pleased in all senses. The nice thing about this bike is that it actually looks faster just standing there...for when you see it move, it's like everything is in slow motion...all you can do is loon on in awe and jealousy. If you already own one of these bikes, and are thinking of selling it, shake your head. This model/yr/paint scheme was only available in 2002MY. If you do NOT already have one...and you know where you can get one...JUMP on it. This bike will do nothing but increase in value as time goes by. Investment or pleasure, you will not be disappointed if you have, or are going to have a bike like the 2002 748S. Enjoy!!!
- Rob M., Windsor, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-10 2000 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. I had a harley for 6 years and needed something faster and that could handle the twisties. I bought this bike with 3000 miles on it. I have put 1500 miles on it and love it to death. This bike has excellent suspension, power, looks, and feels like you are riding on rails. I have had no problem with it - very reliable. The riding position takes a while to get adjusted to, but once you relax, tuck in and lay on the tank, and hit the throttle - the bike hankles and seems to like to go fast. Excellent bike
- Rider, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-24 2001 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased a 2001 748 Bip with 2600 miles on it. I have always ridden Japanese 4s and my last bike was a ZX7. I am sorry but I did not have a clue what I was missing out on. Handling is superb, and the sound of the exhaust note with the carbon slip-ons alone is worth the price of admission. This bike is just oozing with character. Definitely a keeper.
- Onealpha, West Palm Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-13 2001 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked it up as a left over 2001 and got it cheap. Can't believe the way this thing corners. I also own a 2000 monster 900. This bike makes similar power to the monster. It's not broken in yet with only 225 miles on the odo. Still, until you ride one of these, words fail to express the feel in corners. Not made for long rides.150 miles and you're whipped. that's what the "other" bike is for.
- Lou S., Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-11 2001 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I also found one well below MSRP but of course we are well into 2002. After being used to a CBR, this bike is just simply in another class. It's not the high revving, high pitched japanese bike but the all powerful and smooth V-Twin. I have not been able to open it up past 7000 RPM and only have 100 miles on it but once the weather warms up a little, I am going to really enjoy it. What I have experienced is a magic carpet ride with a 748cc engine attached to it. Handles beautifully.
- Chris Comstock, Olney, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-09 2001 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
YOU CAN! I got mine for way less then MSRP. I saw the price and jumped on it. I went to the shop for a tank bag and came home with a Ducati. This bike is sweet. In the Canyon or the HWY. But its in its best when its in a corner. Its Sad you cannot have a 748s with two seats. Because if you are normal like me and don't spend too much time on the track. You will need the second seat 'cus You are going to pick up some girl with this bike. ( have to find a way to carry a extra helmet...) Cannot wait to finish breaking-in and open that Desmo 4v pass 7000 rpm BTW I think that my dealer still has one on sale...
- Nick, LA, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-12 2000 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I have to say that I love everything about it. I haven't had any problems with the riding position. Actually I like the riding position on the bike better than other bikes. I feel comfortable on the bike going at higher speeds. I haven't had the opportunity to take it in some twisties yet, but I can't wait till I do. This bike is way to sweet! If you can afford one, I would definitely tell you its so worth it.
- Ryan Shade, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-11 2000 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Ducati bike. My first one is a Monster 600. I'm having a hard time riding the 748. The clutch is too hard and my back & wrist hurts. I want to trade it with the Monster S4.
- Mike De Vera, Philippines

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-06 1999 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THE 748 IS ONE OF THE BADDEST 7'S OUT ON THE STREET, WITH THAT MONSTROUS SOUND, YOU KNOW THIS THING MEANS BUSINESS. I HAD FAST BY FERRACCI OF PA. DO ALL THE HI-PO WORK ON HER FROM THE FOEZA PIPES TO CARBON FIBER BODY PANELS, AND WHOA!!!, THIS THING IS FOR SERIOUS RIDERS WHO WILL NOT COMPROMISE WITH THE JAP ATTACKS, THAT ONLY THE BEST WILL DO-NUFF SAID.
- RONE911, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-29 1999 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a bevel drive 750 years ago and bought the 748 with a little trepidation. The older bike had been nice but severely unreliable. The new bike with over 13k miles, two trips to California and daily commutes has exceeded all expectations. Fast, reliable as a toaster, beautiful and reasonably comfortable with a Pro Italia bar riser kit. I love the bike. I have owned many bikes and this the one I will keep until I am too old to ride. Ducati seems to have produced a work of art without any warts.
- b portz, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-20 1999 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In six years, I've owned nine total bikes, the Ducati 748 being the current and only non-Japanese. All I have to say is that there is nothing like owning a Ducati. Sure there are faster and lighter bikes out there now, sure I have thought about trading it in for a newer faster, lighter Japanese bike. But time and time again, I throw the idea right out. Japanese bikes are great, don't get me wrong, I've owned eight, but there is no comparison with the way a Ducati 748 makes you feel and makes you look. Ride on Ducs!!!
- Quan, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-25 2000 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got back into sport bikes after riding Harleys for a number of years. I've looked at everything out there and narrowed it down to the Aprilia, BMW R1100S, and Ducati. I ended up settling for a 900SS instead of the 748 I really wanted. Of course this is my first Ducati and I wasn't sure how I would like these bikes. After putting 1100 miles on the SS, I fell in love with Ducatis. But I wasn't satisfied so I traded the SS in for the 748 and let me tell you, nothing beats a Ducati! I know that power is down compared to the inline 4, but what it lacks in power it rips in handling! I haven't ridden canyon roads since the 80's on a VF500 Interceptor. It's hard to explain how awesome the handling and how easy the 748 is to ride. And yes I do commute to work on it, 100 mile round trip. And I actually find it more comfortable than the SS. I'm 41 years old 5'8" 175 lbs., and the whole setup fits me like a glove. No tired wrists, back, or neck. My next move is to install carbon fibre slip-ons and a chip. Other than that, it will remain stock. If you can afford one, definitely a good choice. It may be a little pricey, but you will keep this bike. Plus all the great compliments you get, especially from the opposite sex. You will not be disappointed.
- Rudy O, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-29 1999 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In the 20 years I have been riding I have never ridden a bike or owned a bike that delivers so much fun and confidence building. In my eyes no one has ridden a real motorcycle until they have ridden this one. I fully recommend if you get the chance ride with the Ducati experience.
- Derek Foreman, Isle of Sheppey, Kent, England

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-28 2000 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had other Ducati's, as well as Jap bikes and different engines (I4,V2, singles, two strokes). I have nothing but praise for the handling, fun factor, and motor of this bike. Sure, you could nit-pick HP ratings, 748 vs. 996, cost vs. Jap bikes, etc. But if having fun, Sunday rides, showing off in town, and having a sharp looking bike with a sweet sounding motor are your game, this is the bike to have. You already know if you can afford it... if you can, then get it! But beware. Aside from my praises, don't be ignorant. Maintenance is a must: frequent and expensive. Ergonomics afford good riding only in the twisties or on track days, NOT a commuter or for plodding around. don't get stuck in traffic with its oven bake exhausts under your rump, and hellacious pull dry clutch (though the clutch will feel awesome on twisty roads and track days). If you want to expand your rides beyond 200-400 mile days, get a Sargent seat ($270), Helibar bar risers ($270, but they make the bike tougher to fall into a corner... a little extra effort is needed, but once in the corner, kick back and relax) and a Pro Italia slave cylinder ($225, makes that dry clutch a little more bearable). I have gone thru nine bikes in eight years. The 748 is the only one I've kept. Not a primary bike, but an awesome second bike for those wicked days you want to go scuff off your tires while hoping you don't get a speeding ticket! Get it if you can, or lust for one anyway! don't try to justify this bike to another one... it never ads up by numbers alone. If you don't FEEL you want this bike, then you're not ready. And a good rider on this bike can hang with any other scoot out there. Period. Good luck!
- edmoto, Casper, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-15 1999 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although the 748 lacks the low down power of the torquey 2 valve Ducks, they can neither match its handling nor the song that she sings at full throttle with the tach sweeping toward 11,000 rpms. "Why didn't you get the 916/996?" Sick of hearing that question. If you have to ask you wouldn't understand. Yes, the 916 has more power and torque, but the 748 is lighter and more fun to bang through the gears. I know because I had a 916.
- Duckman, Midwest USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

1999-12-16 1999 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In the past few years I have owned an FZR600, CBRF3, YZF600R and a Supersport900. My 1999 748 has changed my outlook, desire, need and enjoyment levels. All I want to do is ride, lean, lean some more, etc, etc, etc. The most fun you can have on two-wheels - you feel like you are about to go out and race. And the look of the bike...what can be said that already hasn't? Get off you 4cyl, generic jap. and get on a real bike.
- Derek, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: