Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Ducati 748 reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Timmay

Ann Arbor, Michigan

Reviewed on 2003-10-08

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati 748

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike looks great. People stare at it constantly. The performance is excellent, handles like a Ferrari. don't expect a power rush like an I-4, there is none. Just smooth delivery. Add a few nice bits, and you've got the best balance of power, weight and looks on the market!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mike burg

green bay, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2003-09-04

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Ducati 748

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
In an area the recieves harsh spring and fall weather and humid summer days northeast wisconsin could be claimed the 'proving grounds' for sport bikes. With twisty-turny town roads around the kettles and open country highways the 748 is happily at home. I ride with a group of 12 bikes. consisting of r6's, rc51, gsx1000's, 600rr, 998sps's, and one hell of a hayabusa......the 748 still takes the checkered flag. The 748 has the agility and a vast amount of power that the 998's have and still has the high reving ability that the japs have. However, the key is that the 748 is very very user friendly (considering that you have a good back and don't care about draging your knees around hair pin curves). The only problem with owning one of the greatest superbikes in Wisconsin is that it has to stored for six months. However, I keep mine in the living room next to the television....so, when the ladyfriend watches chick flicks I can stair and daze off at my bike!!! good luck guys with trying to find one!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob M.

Windsor, Ontario

Reviewed on 2003-03-28

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Ducati 748S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike stirred my insides from the first time I placed eyes on it in the showroom. The exclusivity alone made we want to ride it out of there that day. For the extra $3000 CDN over the 748 model, it was well worth the money. The Marchesini wheels ALONE would cost more than that aftermarket. Even though the seaating position is something to be desired, you will reap the benefits of having forearms like Popeye...but any Ducati enthusiast will know in advance that this has been the same for quite some time now. Performance wise, it could use a little more in the bottom end. Pulling the front end up in 2nd gear is not something that just requires rolling over on the throttle. But that's for the showboats...and this bike is defintitely for a subdued rider that wants to be noticed..and trust me...YOU GET NOTICED! Through the hairpins, this thing handles like a dream...if your 3/4 of your way out of a turn...crank it over...you'll be pleased in all senses. The nice thing about this bike is that it actually looks faster just standing there...for when you see it move, it's like everything is in slow motion...all you can do is loon on in awe and jealousy. If you already own one of these bikes, and are thinking of selling it, shake your head. This model/yr/paint scheme was only available in 2002MY. If you do NOT already have one...and you know where you can get one...JUMP on it. This bike will do nothing but increase in value as time goes by. Investment or pleasure, you will not be disappointed if you have, or are going to have a bike like the 2002 748S. Enjoy!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rider

Temecula, California

Reviewed on 2002-05-10

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati 748

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is awesome. I had a harley for 6 years and needed something faster and that could handle the twisties. I bought this bike with 3000 miles on it. I have put 1500 miles on it and love it to death. This bike has excellent suspension, power, looks, and feels like you are riding on rails. I have had no problem with it - very reliable. The riding position takes a while to get adjusted to, but once you relax, tuck in and lay on the tank, and hit the throttle - the bike hankles and seems to like to go fast. Excellent bike
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Onealpha

West Palm Beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2002-04-24

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Ducati 748

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just purchased a 2001 748 Bip with 2600 miles on it. I have always ridden Japanese 4s and my last bike was a ZX7. I am sorry but I did not have a clue what I was missing out on. Handling is superb, and the sound of the exhaust note with the carbon slip-ons alone is worth the price of admission. This bike is just oozing with character. Definitely a keeper.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lou S.

Plano, Texas

Reviewed on 2002-04-13

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Ducati 748

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just picked it up as a left over 2001 and got it cheap. Can't believe the way this thing corners. I also own a 2000 monster 900. This bike makes similar power to the monster. It's not broken in yet with only 225 miles on the odo. Still, until you ride one of these, words fail to express the feel in corners. Not made for long rides.150 miles and you're whipped. that's what the "other" bike is for.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Comstock

Olney, Maryland

Reviewed on 2002-04-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Ducati 748

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I also found one well below MSRP but of course we are well into 2002. After being used to a CBR, this bike is just simply in another class. It's not the high revving, high pitched japanese bike but the all powerful and smooth V-Twin. I have not been able to open it up past 7000 RPM and only have 100 miles on it but once the weather warms up a little, I am going to really enjoy it. What I have experienced is a magic carpet ride with a 748cc engine attached to it. Handles beautifully.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nick

LA, California

Reviewed on 2002-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Ducati 748

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
YOU CAN! I got mine for way less then MSRP. I saw the price and jumped on it. I went to the shop for a tank bag and came home with a Ducati. This bike is sweet. In the Canyon or the HWY. But its in its best when its in a corner. Its Sad you cannot have a 748s with two seats. Because if you are normal like me and don't spend too much time on the track. You will need the second seat 'cus You are going to pick up some girl with this bike. ( have to find a way to carry a extra helmet...) Cannot wait to finish breaking-in and open that Desmo 4v pass 7000 rpm BTW I think that my dealer still has one on sale...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan Shade

Michigan

Reviewed on 2001-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati 748

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike and I have to say that I love everything about it. I haven't had any problems with the riding position. Actually I like the riding position on the bike better than other bikes. I feel comfortable on the bike going at higher speeds. I haven't had the opportunity to take it in some twisties yet, but I can't wait till I do. This bike is way to sweet! If you can afford one, I would definitely tell you its so worth it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike De Vera

Philippines

Reviewed on 2001-09-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati 748

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
This is my second Ducati bike. My first one is a Monster 600. I'm having a hard time riding the 748. The clutch is too hard and my back & wrist hurts. I want to trade it with the Monster S4.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: