Ducati 996 Motorcycles Reviews (27)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati 996 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Ducati 996 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-08-08 2000 Ducati 996S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I first wrote my review of my 2000 Ducati 996S after only having ridden the bike about 500 miles. Well, over four thousand miles later, I still can only gush over this machine. It is still the best looking series of sportbikes ever sculpted out of Italy spanning the 916, 996 and 998 (although the MV Agusta F4-1000S comes close). Granted Japanese sportbikes may be smoother and more refined, the shear torque, grunt and ferocity of the Ducati is something I wish everyone could experience. The sound emminating from the pipes is nothing short of a symphony. The handling of the 996S is where this bike still shines utilizing the amazing Ohlins suspension. Just an all around amazing machine that begs to be driven hard and fast.
- Todd, Green Bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-18 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So, my wife got licensed which necessitated finding another scooter. We've got to go for rides together and one Buell S-1 between two riders just doesn't cut it. Being somewhat of a Buell snob, I figured I'd be in for an XB12R. I couldn't find one to ride at a dealership and there was no way I was going to get stuck with a bike weaker than my old S-1 ala the XB9. Ducati had always seemed to me the mythical creature in the motorcycle world. Even so, I found an add on e-bay for a likely candidate and tagged it never consciously thinking I'd buy it. Things change at the stroke of a few computer keys however. Am I glad I picked up a 996? Absolutely. Mind you, I haven't taken a ride in the daylight yet. But after two evening rides it is already apparent that what is written on the 996 is true to one extent or another. The 996 engine is one amazing piece of machinery. Having riden a Buell for years, I am very partial to motors that produce solid torque. Peak HP numbers are informative but a big fat torque curve is what you'll feel out on the road. The Ducati feels like a big twin the way it belts out torque but doesn't leave you hanging when the revs start climbing. Plus, vibration levels are so mild it's difficult to believe that the engine is actually a twin. But the SOUND.... Both on and off throttle the exhaust note lets bystanders know something serious is approaching or receding. Shifting the Ducati through the gears is a pleasure courtesy of a velvety transmission. Gear selection is positive and smooth. Shifter effort is virtually nil. But you certainly know that you've shifted gears instead of wondering if you grabbed a different ratio. The clutch takes some practice. Buell/Harley Davidson might not do some things right but their wet clutch is smoother and easier to modulate than Ducati's version. And it makes no noise. That said, anybody who complains about Ducati having a heavy clutch pull has never worked a Harley-type clutch. Riding position is aggressive but far more comfortable than what I was led to believe by reviews I have read in the past. The seat is nice and wide but high. The bars are low. Therefore, weight is focused on the wrists. I'll take sore wrists over a sore ass any day. Overall, I'm impressed by the 996. It is a high performance machine that was built to deliver a sensational riding experience. don't buy one if you're not willing to make a physical investment to get to that riding experience. Any engineer worth his salt will tell you that there's no free lunch when it comes to design. I for one believe that the price of admission in this case is well worth it.
- Jake Staub, Anacortes, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-16 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The power delivery on this bike is simply so sublime, so deceptive, 3 secs after you leave the light and you see 65+ mph, and not even popping a wheelie while at it! It's an odd feeling! Nice creamy midrange with fantastic VTwin song. Keep it in third gear and you'll be a happy camper in most situations. Ohlins suspension! OMG! Talk about flying over bumps. These babes soak up nasty terrain with class. Magnesium wheels are highly recommended; it brings the handling of the bike up to an even better level. Simply unbelievable. This is a keeper. Warning: This bike will NOT suffer fools lightly. It is hard to turn with stock wheels, and will track a line to a hilt. So you have to be more methodical while riding it compared to other bikes. But the rewards will be very satisfying indeed!
- DixieDuc, Dixieland, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-12 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 996 is simply amazing. Period. I only ride the canyons, where the 996 stability and handling are unreal. The bike is confidence inspiring. I don't ride around town on the bike at all and don't travel the freeways unless necessary. With that said, when I ride the twisties, the riding position is fine. The first week or two I owned the bike my wrists were a little tender. After that, no worries at all. Buy one, I did. This is my first v-twin and my first Italian bike. I'll never go back.
- Nathan D., Los Angeles County, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-12 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is heavy, i am blatntly guna get dis, but in contrast the ducati 749s is better...... and so is the 999s
- Alvin stardust, london, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-28 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
ducati,zen incarnate,the moment you own it,clip ons-dont ever let them go.you only get one life, your chance ,live it in grey or "full on" rainbow colors ,hear your breath, feel your heart beat,rise to the challenge,overcome the obstacles,reap the rewards, your on a 996. yeah!!!!!
- greg holt, crestwood

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-03 2000 Ducati 996S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have 16000 miles on my S and I recently put the Gold Marchasini Magnesium wheels on. 6 inch on the rear and standard front. It makes a big difference on the way the bike turns-in at relativly high speeds. As you know the bike takes some effort to turn even if the weight is shifted well to the inside. I recommend the wheels if you can buy them.
- Bruce Macdonald, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-30 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you like windey roads and you dont mind leaning at 45 degrees all the time, this is the bike for you. It might not have the power of a GSXR1300 in straight line but then again, how many roads are just straight lines? I know what I'd prefer to be on.
- Derek P, Brisbane, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-16 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having owned almost 100 motorcycles in my 29 years of riding i have had a lot of fine machines, like R1, Fazer 1000, V-Max, GSXR1100, RD500LC, RG500, etc. etc., but my 2001 748s is the best. The handling, especially once set up for my lean 150 pounds weight is fantastic, it sounds awesome with the Termignoni carbon cans, it looks just incredible even after ten years of production and the relative lack of power simply allows you to open it up and rev it like a four. Also it does not have the torque of the 998 that can sometimes get you out of shape. With another thousand revs and 10 more bhp, i am in for the new short-stroke 749 ASAP
- Ian Neal, Felixstowe, Great Britain (UK)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-09 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I have been riding bikes for years now and have owned several bikes GSX-r ,R6, ZX 6R's and vintage bikes ie Cafe Racers. And the Ducati is by far the best handling biker I have ever rode it might not be the fastests bike I have owned but who wants to ride in a straight line anyway real racing is done on a track not the drag strip this is where the Duc excels in places like VIR. Anyone can ride fast and not turn the bike a real motorcyclist can take hairpins and the chicanes. Newman
- Newman, fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-25 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 996S recently in exchange for a 2000 model GSXR750Y. I never thought I'd change my Gixxer, it is and was fantastic in every respect and probably slightly quicker top end. So why did I change? From the first test ride and even from my first moment I sat on the Duc I knew it was for me. I molded into the seat and it welcomed me. It felt so much smaller, like a 250 GP racer with superbike power. In wet conditions I ccan ride it faster and safer than my 750 and in the dry it just feels more planted and gives me more feedback. But more than all that I just love the sounds and the useable power. V-twin torque makes up for the lack of top end. Saying that I never ride through town if I can avoid it as the clutch is very heavy. I don't find it any more uncomfortable than any other superbike - I'm 5' 10" and 70Kg. After the test ride I couldn't stop comparing it to everything else I was riding and so I bought it. Every ride is a pleasure and it sounds really cheesy but I feel one with it. It's the only way I can describe the experience. With all the critiques slating it for being too focused and not as good as an R1 - buy an R1 and join the masses. The R1 is certainly a top bike. If you're a real superbike fan and love scratching through the country (or canyons for the US) I defy you to ride a Duc 996 and not want it over your Jap 4 cyl. Cheers, Ziggi
- Ziggi, London, England, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-28 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 01 996 mono (in yellow, of course!) 7 weeks ago and this thing ROCKS! The sound is amazing once you hit the mid-range. You can hear the intakes roar, the pipes growl and its love at first twist of the throttle. Forget those who complain about the cost, you either can afford it or you cant. If you can't afford, dont condemn it! I can't park it anywhere without gathering a crowd, really! People will cross the street and walk up and start chatting about it, everyone loves it and it rides as good as it looks. Rock solid in the corners, gobs of grunt, stylish as hell and wickedly fast. Forget the whiners who complain you should buy an R1, who complain about wrist pain... Why do you ride? I ride because I love it, and my riding is mostly in the hills, mountains and along the central Ca. coast. This bike is PERFECT for that, but it isn't a cruiser and it is a ZERO COMPROMISE BIKE. Complaining about a 996 is like complaining that a Ferrari is too small, or that a Porsche Turbo gets poor gas mileage and has too small of a back seat! Its ridiculous. Ride hard. Mike
- YellowDuk, Arroyo Grande, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-19 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I read all those critics and they make me wonder a little. I'm in love with this bike for sure and I'm willing to buy one very soon, the 998. But I'll still read the critics and see. If owners want to contact me to speak about this bike my E-mail's available.
- Christophe, Alexandria, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-26 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded a Honda 929 for a Ducati 996. I bike is terrible. The brakes are terrible. I have had several bikes ZX11, ZX6R, and this is the worst bike i have ever owned. It is slow noisy and very uncomfortable. It has very poor quality and craftsmanship. It gets so hot and uncomfortable you can't go far. Do yourself a favor don't waste your money. The Ducati looks good in my garage with my new NSX and Porsche but not for long. I trading it in on a 2002 Hayabusa.
- Gregory Kinsler, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-16 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Think about it .... are the back-aches, wrist-pains, and stiff neck really worth it? Yes the bike looks great (sitting in my garage) since I don't think it is worth 1 hour of riding for 4 days of pain. save your $$$$$$$$$$$$ and buy an R1.
- Brian, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-27 2000 Ducati 996S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Eight months later, I am still loving this bike. It's a keeper. Since I wrote last time, I added pipes and an FIM chip. What a difference. It sounds great and rides even better.
- Vince Amaro, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-18 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Ducati 916/748/996 is the Best bike ever built it wins everything its in and its SO COOL!!. So what if it's uncomfortable. Go spend the 250$ on Helibars and its a joy. Performance --112hp,the lightest sport twin out there (i.e. Mille,RC51/SP1,TL) best brakes, sweet forks, wicked shock and superb feedback make it the Nicest bike ever and that clean single sided swingarm, and under-seat pipes combo is the coolest thing EVER!...Go buy one NOW!!!
- Ducati man, Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-11 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In a world where the motorcycles which dominate are all designed by men whose last names I can barely pronounce, it's nice to see that one company still builds the one true spirit that motorcycling was built on. While all the yuppies are out there buying the one with the most horsepower and turning the fastest 1/4 mile times, the true enthusiasts still have their mind focused on the bike that caught their heart ever since that day they saw their first one. The yuppies are out there raising hell and giving those of us who truly enjoy the sport a bad name. They're killing themselves and we're sitting here wondering 'where's the line to be drawn' I had the pleasure of riding one of these steeds a few months back. I didn't even have to start the twin to be impressed...Immediately after easing my right leg over the saddle, I knew that this was no bike to be compromised. Every curve of my body was perfectly accepted by the machine. The gauges were perfectly placed in line with the line the eye takes when positioned as the bike has its way of putting you. Upon turning the key, the dash lights up, telling me she was ready to cater my ever need. I depress the starter button and she roars to life, spewing a melodic sound of pure ecstasy from her pipes. I could not do anything but sit there and listen for a moment. She didn't run, she purred. Her sound was like the voice of an angel, put on Earth to bring joy to anyone who heard her voice. As I pusshed her back and turned, i could feel her precisionly balanced body move beneath me. She was ready to show me what she was capable of. Through each corner I fell more in love with this symbol of perfection. She fell into each corner and rolled out like she was doing it herself. I was merely a passenger on this pleasure cruise. After only a ten minute ride, I believe I was ready to cry upon returning it. It was a perfect machine in every way. Sure, it wasn't comfortable for simple jaunts. But, it wasn't built for the yuppies who have to be comfortable 24-7. It was built for the passionate who refuse to settle for anything less than the best. Ducati is a purveyor of fine machines. In this world of pure speed, lightweight jap machines, it's nice to see that one company still sticks with the traditions of passion and enthusiasm. True lovers of the sport. If you have the means, I highly recommend getting one. If not, lust, as I do.
- Eric, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-18 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I do agree. It may not be the fastest but it sure is the most beautiful motorcycle ever built. It's the kind of styling that will make your head turn twice. I don't get tired of looking at it & I think I will never.
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-17 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a zx6e, zx6r, zx9r, and race an r6. The 996 is more fun then any of them, I put Heli bars and a Corbin seat on it and rode it from Florida to New Hampshire in two days, and back with one day of 900+ miles, with slipons and putting a one tooth smaller front sprocket on it , which is what the gearing should be stock, it hangs with new gsxr-750's, r1's and 929, it just feels and sounds soo good when you ride it, ohh yea its also looks so sweet you will catch yourself staring at it even after you have owned it a while. The only draw back I have found is I have an unresistable urge to buy more carbin fiber parts for it. I have 6000 miles on my 2000 with no problems, if you can buy it you wont be sorry.
- Anonymous, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-22 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK, so it looks good, and has a great engine, but lets face it, you can go just as fast on ANY of the bikes out there half the price. I raced a Duc for a season, and found it to be a nightmare. Setting up the bike was hell, and the up keep killed my sponsors cash reserves. It's one thing if you have a crew and huge money behind you, but most of us don't. On the street it's a pain in the back and hands. If you go further than 100 miles, you will feel it, and don't forget the break downs. They will rob you of your last penny. And don't think the SPS is any different (this is what I raced), it's all the same. Stay away unless you have PLENTY on money, and the time to figure out your set-up.
- Anonymous, Gilbert, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-07 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great power band. Much better than any four I've ever ridden with pure beauty and functionality to match. It's a great bike, which I would highly recommend.
- Anonymous, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-24 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike runs faster than a speeding bullet, it can reach speeds up to 160mph and can run through traffic jams with a blink of an eye...
- J. Smith, La Jolla, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-24 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 996, along with the 748S, are the most beautiful motorcycles ever built. Not just when you first look at them, but years down the road. Bite the bullet, max the card. Buy one of these bikes.
- Chris, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-14 2000 Ducati 996 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All you hear people talk about lately is horsepower, horsepower, horsepower, or 0-60, but that's narrow thinking. A bike should be a combination of styling, handling, performance, longevity, and resale value. Yes, Ducati 996 is not the fastest, but does by far have an awesome combination of what a bike should be. I put a pair of Termignoni's on and the sound is unreal. Not to mention the style, but my girlfriend who rides with me all the time tells me "It's a looker." DO yourself a favor and if conditions allow, get yourself one of these. You'll be glad you did.
- Anonymous, Mahopac, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: