Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Ducati 996 reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

27 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Todd

Green Bay, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2005-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati 996S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I first wrote my review of my 2000 Ducati 996S after only having ridden the bike about 500 miles. Well, over four thousand miles later, I still can only gush over this machine. It is still the best looking series of sportbikes ever sculpted out of Italy spanning the 916, 996 and 998 (although the MV Agusta F4-1000S comes close). Granted Japanese sportbikes may be smoother and more refined, the shear torque, grunt and ferocity of the Ducati is something I wish everyone could experience. The sound emminating from the pipes is nothing short of a symphony. The handling of the 996S is where this bike still shines utilizing the amazing Ohlins suspension. Just an all around amazing machine that begs to be driven hard and fast.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jake Staub

Anacortes, Washington

Reviewed on 2003-11-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati 996

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
So, my wife got licensed which necessitated finding another scooter. We've got to go for rides together and one Buell S-1 between two riders just doesn't cut it. Being somewhat of a Buell snob, I figured I'd be in for an XB12R. I couldn't find one to ride at a dealership and there was no way I was going to get stuck with a bike weaker than my old S-1 ala the XB9. Ducati had always seemed to me the mythical creature in the motorcycle world. Even so, I found an add on e-bay for a likely candidate and tagged it never consciously thinking I'd buy it. Things change at the stroke of a few computer keys however. Am I glad I picked up a 996? Absolutely. Mind you, I haven't taken a ride in the daylight yet. But after two evening rides it is already apparent that what is written on the 996 is true to one extent or another. The 996 engine is one amazing piece of machinery. Having riden a Buell for years, I am very partial to motors that produce solid torque. Peak HP numbers are informative but a big fat torque curve is what you'll feel out on the road. The Ducati feels like a big twin the way it belts out torque but doesn't leave you hanging when the revs start climbing. Plus, vibration levels are so mild it's difficult to believe that the engine is actually a twin. But the SOUND.... Both on and off throttle the exhaust note lets bystanders know something serious is approaching or receding. Shifting the Ducati through the gears is a pleasure courtesy of a velvety transmission. Gear selection is positive and smooth. Shifter effort is virtually nil. But you certainly know that you've shifted gears instead of wondering if you grabbed a different ratio. The clutch takes some practice. Buell/Harley Davidson might not do some things right but their wet clutch is smoother and easier to modulate than Ducati's version. And it makes no noise. That said, anybody who complains about Ducati having a heavy clutch pull has never worked a Harley-type clutch. Riding position is aggressive but far more comfortable than what I was led to believe by reviews I have read in the past. The seat is nice and wide but high. The bars are low. Therefore, weight is focused on the wrists. I'll take sore wrists over a sore ass any day. Overall, I'm impressed by the 996. It is a high performance machine that was built to deliver a sensational riding experience. don't buy one if you're not willing to make a physical investment to get to that riding experience. Any engineer worth his salt will tell you that there's no free lunch when it comes to design. I for one believe that the price of admission in this case is well worth it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DixieDuc

Dixieland, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-09-16

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati 996

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The power delivery on this bike is simply so sublime, so deceptive, 3 secs after you leave the light and you see 65+ mph, and not even popping a wheelie while at it! It's an odd feeling! Nice creamy midrange with fantastic VTwin song. Keep it in third gear and you'll be a happy camper in most situations. Ohlins suspension! OMG! Talk about flying over bumps. These babes soak up nasty terrain with class. Magnesium wheels are highly recommended; it brings the handling of the bike up to an even better level. Simply unbelievable. This is a keeper. Warning: This bike will NOT suffer fools lightly. It is hard to turn with stock wheels, and will track a line to a hilt. So you have to be more methodical while riding it compared to other bikes. But the rewards will be very satisfying indeed!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nathan D.

Los Angeles County, California

Reviewed on 2003-04-12

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati 996

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The 996 is simply amazing. Period. I only ride the canyons, where the 996 stability and handling are unreal. The bike is confidence inspiring. I don't ride around town on the bike at all and don't travel the freeways unless necessary. With that said, when I ride the twisties, the riding position is fine. The first week or two I owned the bike my wrists were a little tender. After that, no worries at all. Buy one, I did. This is my first v-twin and my first Italian bike. I'll never go back.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alvin stardust

london, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2003-02-12

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati 996

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is heavy, i am blatntly guna get dis, but in contrast the ducati 749s is better...... and so is the 999s
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

greg holt

crestwood

Reviewed on 2002-12-28

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati 996

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
ducati,zen incarnate,the moment you own it,clip ons-dont ever let them go.you only get one life, your chance ,live it in grey or "full on" rainbow colors ,hear your breath, feel your heart beat,rise to the challenge,overcome the obstacles,reap the rewards, your on a 996. yeah!!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bruce Macdonald

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2002-12-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati 996S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I now have 16000 miles on my S and I recently put the Gold Marchasini Magnesium wheels on. 6 inch on the rear and standard front. It makes a big difference on the way the bike turns-in at relativly high speeds. As you know the bike takes some effort to turn even if the weight is shifted well to the inside. I recommend the wheels if you can buy them.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Derek P

Brisbane, Australia

Reviewed on 2002-11-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati 996

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
If you like windey roads and you dont mind leaning at 45 degrees all the time, this is the bike for you. It might not have the power of a GSXR1300 in straight line but then again, how many roads are just straight lines? I know what I'd prefer to be on.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ian Neal

Felixstowe, Great Britain (UK)

Reviewed on 2002-06-16

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati 996

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Having owned almost 100 motorcycles in my 29 years of riding i have had a lot of fine machines, like R1, Fazer 1000, V-Max, GSXR1100, RD500LC, RG500, etc. etc., but my 2001 748s is the best. The handling, especially once set up for my lean 150 pounds weight is fantastic, it sounds awesome with the Termignoni carbon cans, it looks just incredible even after ten years of production and the relative lack of power simply allows you to open it up and rev it like a four. Also it does not have the torque of the 998 that can sometimes get you out of shape. With another thousand revs and 10 more bhp, i am in for the new short-stroke 749 ASAP
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Newman

fredericksburg, Virginia

Reviewed on 2002-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati 996

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My wife and I have been riding bikes for years now and have owned several bikes GSX-r ,R6, ZX 6R's and vintage bikes ie Cafe Racers. And the Ducati is by far the best handling biker I have ever rode it might not be the fastests bike I have owned but who wants to ride in a straight line anyway real racing is done on a track not the drag strip this is where the Duc excels in places like VIR. Anyone can ride fast and not turn the bike a real motorcyclist can take hairpins and the chicanes. Newman
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 27 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: