Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Ducati Monster 620 reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.2

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

11 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jan Sullins

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2007-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Ducati Monster 620

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I owned a BMW R1200C Euro. Great Bike! We have a BMW Ducati Vespa dealer here in Ok. City. I noticed the Ducati Multistras both 1000DS and the 620. I looked at them every time I stopped by there for a break from riding (it is that kind of dealership). Anyway they asked if I wanted to test drive the 620 MTS of course I said yes. When I first started off I noticed how light and agile it was. A fantastic ride, surprisingly quick for an air cooled 2 valve 618cc motor. It was so comfortable. I became a Ducati fan immediately. I have been surprised at the reliability, quality and fuel mileage (50-55mpg) and even though I am 55, I don't ride it like most people my age ride. It is a blast to ride, especially in the twisties.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Zubin

Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Reviewed on 2007-03-04

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Ducati Monster 620

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have been using my Duke for the last 2 years, prior to which I have never ridden at all. I had some fears about getting a bike in this city which is known to be quite rough on all drivers, but this bike has over the last 2 years given me tremendous confidence. It is ideal for city streets, allowing you to cut through traffic with impunity, and enough power to accelerate through tight spots. The only drawbacks that I have found are, 1). It needs quite some time to warm up after pushing the start button, before you can actually hit the road, and 2). Top speed on the open road is quite a pull, and the bike is not stable especially in windy conditions. Definitely recommend this bike to start with and gets a lot of admiring looks everywhere.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Garry

Newton, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2006-11-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Ducati Monster 620

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I did an MSF rider course a few months ago, got my motorcycle license and went bike shopping. I chose my Monster 620 for several reasons. It's lightweight, has excellent handling, and has good creds as a starter bike. To be honest, I thought it might be too much for a starter bike, but after riding for over 500 miles I can say that it's exceeded all my expectations. The handling is superb and very forgiving. The brakes allow you to stop on the proverbial dime. Gear changes can be done incredibly fast with just a flick of the clutch as the action is very light. As a rookie, I found first gear take offs a little tricky at first until I got used to the clutch contact area being so far out. Overall, the bike feels incredibly light and maneuverable. As I'm still breaking it in, I haven't really explored the performance potential, but there's still plenty of power in the 3K to 5K rev range. Riding the bike is a blast and the exhaust note gets serious even with stock pipes. I'd recommended this bike to anyone who wants a safe, secure bike with good performance. As a starter bike, it's unmatched, because of the brakes, handling and the fact that it can be ridden in a very docile manner. Now I'm thinking about moving up to an S2R1000 or a Sport 1000, but not before I fully break in the 620.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg

Montclair, Virginia

Reviewed on 2006-10-07

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Ducati Monster 620

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought my black Monster 620 new at the dealership a few weeks ago, and WOW! The first evening I rode it, riding home from the dealership, I got nothing but stares (and still do). Hitting the throttle impressed me with all the Ducati power I've always heard about. At the end of that first ride I had so much adrenaline going through me I was shaking. It's still incredibly thrilling to just go pick up a carton of orange juice at the grocery store up that twisty road. I never enjoyed the physical act of driving before getting a motorcycle, and the Ducati Experience has been everything I hoped for and then some! The bike has exceptional throttle response. Early on when I got it, I found myself having to really concentrate to not make it go faster, though I'm used to it now. The cornering is amazing and the suspension very stable. What surprised me was how far out you have to let the clutch before it actually engages at all (only in about the last 1/3-1/4 of an inch lies the friction zone). Despite this, it is a very light pull and very maneuverable at low speeds like in parking lots. The riding position is very comfortable and not almost laying down like you find with a lot of race bikes, though you do have to hold yourself up with your legs some (hence the 4-star rating for comfort, as this can get to be taxing). Gas mileage is excellent, especially if you're easy on the throttle (which I have to be since I'm still in the break-in), but this baby can really haul butt if you open it up a little. I don't twist it more than a 1/2 inch really when I'm in traffic because of the power. Great off-the line and mid-range acceleration, ample power for any traffic situation. The bike is also really light, which adds to its maneuverability and is part of the enjoyment of it because you don't have to hold up a hulking machine. If you're on the fence about getting a Ducati, I hope this review shoves you off with a vengeance! That bike is awesome, and I am completely happy with it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

david

clearfield, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2005-11-04

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Ducati Monster 620

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This Ducati has proven its worthiness - it is very dependable, fun to ride and has lots of power for its size. There are times when sixth gear is not necessary - it depends on the RPM. It cruises well at 65/70 on the highway but get ready for a sore butt after sitting in the same position. I recommend the less traveled roads where you twist and turn as one. I have put 400+ in a single day riding this 620ie. It is a passion! The more miles it achieves, the better it runs; it was made to ride. It averages about 51 mpg if ridden easy 48 throttle open. This is a monster of a motorcycle. Sure there are Japanese bikes out there but none can compare to the Desmo engine; it has all the right ingredients... Two wheels up.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken

Lumberton, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2005-09-23

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Ducati Monster 620

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As a kid I had many dirt bikes, but this is my first street bike and I couldn't be happier. This bike is great! It is so much fun to ride. I've not really opened mine up either (nothing over ~70 mph), but it has plenty of power to move a guy my size. You get lots of wind around that speed, but no worse than any other naked bike. Excellent clutch, gear box, brakes, steering, etc. Everything about the bike just feels great. The look and sound of the Ducati Monster is awesome too - like nothing else. Also, I think this is a great choice for beginners because it is very easy and forgiving to ride, the ergos aren't too aggressive, and you won't soon outgrow it. Go ride one; you'll fall in love too!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

rob

Philippines

Reviewed on 2005-09-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Ducati Monster 620

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Things I like about the monster 620ie are the seating position, the vtwin sound and torque, the nakedness, light weight low seat height, and looks that wont grow old. Things I don't like are the stiffly sprung front fork, low clearance, the front header always hits speed bumps, and the lack of a bigger storage compartment. My previous bike was a 1999yzf-R1 but i still love the monster..nuff said.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Franck

Papeete - Tahiti, French Polynesia

Reviewed on 2005-04-05

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Ducati Monster 620

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The very reason why I went into riding 4 years ago is the feeling of sensations. Scubadiving in Tahiti among the sharks 60 meters deep, climbing the Mont Blanc and rocks in Chamonix, stress before acting on scene, and the Ducati thrills, I love playing. It is not a question of going the fastest as with the Japanese bikes, it's more a question of getting the feeling at the very first sight, at the very first throttle, deep inside your soul and body. Although the entry model, my "Mostro", gives me all these feelings, I feel totally in trust on the road but I always try to make it better, riding in full awareness of the road and the horse power. The Monster is like a stallion and is very addicting. Just for passion, not functionality, nor utilitarism. I Love Ducati.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg

Ladera Ranch, California

Reviewed on 2005-01-27

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Ducati Monster 620

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I took delivery of my '05 620 January 8, 2005, and have been pleasantly surprised with it overall. This is my first bike after graduating from MSF in August, 2004. Due to break-in recommendations, I haven't really pushed the bike, but have gradually enjoyed the maneuverability of this svelte Monster. The one thing that surprised me more than anything else is the constant stares I get. The Ducati name and look of the bike resonate within peoples' souls and stir emotions that were previously not known. Whenever I ride this beautiful machine, I feel like a king, envied by all.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

paul

haymarket, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-11-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Ducati Monster 620

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I finally pulled the trigger and bought my first bike, a Ducati 620 monster. I wanted a classic "naked" motorcycle without a lot of frills, but one that stood out from the rest of these entry level bikes. Having never ridden a bike before (not even on the back of one), this was a little scary to say the least! After roughly 300 miles on this bright yellow Monster, I can attest to this bike being solid, reliable and a very easy bike to learn on (not to mention it sounds great and turns quite a few heads!). It shifts smoothly, handles very well, and is very easy to operate. If you're looking for a great and relatively inexpensive way to have fun or commute, this may be your ticket! I read a lot of reviews before buying this bike, and I hope this review helped someone out there get off the fence and start riding!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 11 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: