Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Ducati Monster750 reviews

4.4
Write a review
Reliability
4.4
Overall quality
4.4
Performance
4.4
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

CrackedGee

New York, New York

Reviewed on 2003-05-01

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Monster750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been on and off motorcycles for over 10 years. A year ago, the opportunity to purchase one from a brother in-law inexpensively was too good to turn down. Up until recently, I thought I knew all the upper limits of this bike, putting tons of commuter (LI, NY, NJ, CT) and late nite mission miles. Now a buddy of mine is a nut on the bike, and rides hard and fast on a GSXR1100. Riding from LIE, to the BQE exit going towards Brooklyn, there is this rediculously sweet sweeping turn to the left that's smooth as track. Desperately trying to keep up with the big bore Suzuki one nite, I slammed into the turn at just over 100 unknowningly. This is rediculously way too fast for someone that normally takes that turn at 85 to 90. What in the hell was I going to do? "Do it like a pro I thought," so I stuck out my left knee, held my breath, and clinged to dear life on the handle grips and pegs. I still don't know what happened, but amazingly, in a glory of night time spark showers (muffler and pegs scraping all the way), it was the most smoothest, most accurate, most perfect turn that I had ever executed! About 2/3rd's the way through the turn and a few dribbles between the legs later, I was so confident about my poise, that I started to twist the throttle, again, unexpectingly getting sling shotted out and away from the turn. The feeling was just amazing, as I can still vividly remember the rush of euphoria that was pumping through me. What should have been a exciting end to my existence, turned into the most exhillarating sweeping turns of my life. Just when I thought I was getting bored with this bike, it starts impressing me even more. In retrospect after some research, hell, the chassis of this bike IS superbike caliber (based off the 988 Superbike chassis??) although underpowered at times. True, there are a few things about this bike that lend it character. Such as the long warm up times (engine runs lean when cold), and skipping gears every now and then (sometimes goes from 3rd to 5th in the heat of the battle). At speeds over 110 the front end of the bike becomes very light, small short dips in the highway turn into exciting death grip struggles over the handlebars in an attempt to keep the wheels from reaching the sky. But still, when I ride this motorcycle, at least through the twisties, I have confidence knowing that I could blow away almost any other bike through the Hutchinson River and Merritt Parkways ;o)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

aeon

Valhala, California

Reviewed on 2002-11-05

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Monster750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well, my dad just got a 2000 Monster 750. I ride a GSX-R 750. I ride a lot and I ride hard most of the time. First off, I thought this bike was going to be underwhelming, but with a bit of bottom end power. I was very wrong. Now, I'm used to 120+ peak horsepower, and this little Monster did not disappoint in the engine department. It rips! The powerband is really flat; has great midrange, decent bottom end, yet doesn't disappoint on the top end. I was surprised how fast this bike really is. If you wind it out, it'll pull past 100mph faster than I'd ever thought it could. Plus, it sounds great. The chassis is immensely rigid, and the suspension is taught yet offers a decent ride. The bike is very flickable and rock solid stable. Excellent brakes. I keep reading that this is a great beginner's bike. That may be, but I think it's a great expert's bike too. FUN is what it is, no matter what. I'm sure I could smoke everyone I've smoked on my GSX-R on a twisty road about as easily on the Monster (except on long straights; but who cares? They'll be so far behind in the twisties, they'll never catch up) The riding position is also much more reasonable than my GSX-R. I amazed myself by how quickly this thing could be turned. It loves to turn, but be aware of the relatively low pegs and pipes. If 110mph is enough for you (doesn't pull real hard after that; and really... 150mph is fun, but almost every time I've done it, I've thought... "that probably wasn't a great idea") and you want something that has good ergonomics, craves the twisties, and sounds great, this should be a strong consideration. I'm thinking of getting one myself.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

iron mike

jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2002-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Monster750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
great little street bike. plenty of punch, great handling and awsome braking. down at daytona bikeweek, folks loved it. this bike doesn't know when it has a passenger on it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Erik

St. Paul, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2002-05-13

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Monster750

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought a 2001 Ducati Monstrer Dark 750, which is my first street bike. It turns heads where ever I go. It takes off like a rocket, but its limitations in the high end become aparent(maybe I should have got the 900). It handles incredibly! I dont see how I could have made a better choice than with this Duc as a first street bike. My only complaint has to do with the long time in getting parts for these bikes. Here in Minnesota we only have 4 or so months of quality riding time, and my Monster was sitting in the shop for 6 weeks waiting for a kickstand kill switch that went bad(an in warranty/no cost fix)!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Albert Palacio

Folsom, California

Reviewed on 2001-12-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Monster750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently purchased a Red 2001 Ducati Monster 750 and I am very pleased! I have put over 400 miles on it and everything seems fine so far. I agree with some of the other reviewers in that it gets a lot of looks when I ride it. It's definitely a sexy Italian design. This is my first bike so I don't have any references from how other bikes ride but as a new rider this bike is very easy to handle. I do have a few minor complaints however. I did notice how unpredictable the neutral light is. Also when I'm down shifting from 5th to 4th to 3rd it sometimes get caught in a gear and does not allow you to grab neutral. Very wierd! Maybe some of that will start sorting itself out when I finish breaking it in..
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

E.M.

Needham, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2001-07-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Monster750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a new, left-over 2000 M750 earlier this year and have put over 3,300 trouble-free miles on it so far. I use the bike for commuting and short-range touring. In short, I hate to arrive at my destinations, and I always look for ways to extend my rides. The bike handles and responds wonderfully in all respects. The one weak spot is the lean carburetion from the twin Mikuni's. This is easily remedied with a Stage 1 Dynojet - K&N jet and filter kit, which I installed after about 1,000 miles. It smoothens out the throttle response, especially at the low end, where the lean running is most problematic. I would recommend this bike to anyone who is passionate about motorcycling.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rider

Texas

Reviewed on 2001-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Monster750

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I love my Monster Dark! I love the paint, I love the ride, It handles beautifully, although the pegs could be a little higher (they make a kit for it but it removes the rear pegs and you cant go 2 up). The engine is great for a novice rider but after a while you will be dying for more power (and pipes cost twice as much cuz you need 2) but all in all it is one of the best bikes I've owned!! We will just have to see about the new s4.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ernie 711

St. Louis, Missouri

Reviewed on 2001-03-08

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Monster750

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
After over 30 years riding dirt, trails, H-D Low Riders, I decided I needed a mid-life crisis boost for my 45th b-day. My 2000 750 Monster Dark sat menacing looking in the showroom between the red and yellow and I had to have it. The naked, aggressive, sensual Italian bike smelled like sex, while the bright blue and white of the jap rocket next to it smelled like,,rice. The Monster isn't the fastest, but it can hold the road, with the only thing coming close is another Duc. It's all about the look, and this bike is it. From the street fighter matte black paint, trick frame and Desmo V between your legs, you've got something special here, history. My bike handles better than a street bike should be allowed to and I can blow larger bikes off through a twisty carved road. In the end, you've got that famous engine and the sexiest fighter around. Sure, I'd wish for a better dealer network, parts availability, blah, blah. But it's still exclusive enough that you don't see another one all day like you do with H-D. I'm happy, 3300 miles, going for the Termigioni carbon cans, K&N Filter and rejet then some carbon here and there to match my Alpinestars boots. lOOKING FOR THOSE WHO SPEAK DUCATI. EMAIL ME LET'S CHAT AND GO RIDE!! Ernie 711.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KGB

Jax Beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2001-03-01

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Monster750

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is an exceptional act of engineering. The low-end torque rips you through the streets, and a comfortable ride at any speed. The 2001 750M rides like structured passion, focused on giving you all that you wanted in a bike. I would go for the 900M, for more weight and an added gear, if that's what you need.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

some loser

Boulder, Colorado

Reviewed on 2001-02-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Monster750

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a 2001 m750 dark late january and I love it. It handles great, and its light weight makes it extremely easy to handle for new riders, and very flickable for experienced people. It gets plenty of looks and the chicks love it. So do I. Too bad its too cold to ride it constantly. that's my only problem with it. don't buy one until you can ride it freely, without having to wear layers and layers of clothing.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: