Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-11-25 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Monster with just over 3K miles on it and then proceeded to rack up several thousand more during the last two years. Great fun, absolute blast of motor, with pretty decent handling. The "tough" look of the bike combined with the classic sound (with C/F pipes!) is just awesome. For real world use and up in the Green Mountains of Vermont where we have some serious twists, turns, and elevation changes, it's a very good choice. It is definitely not a hard-core sport bike (I have a 916 for that) but rather, it's more of a "do many things" bike. For instance, I rode it out to Mid-Ohio for the 2005 Vintage Motorcycle Races (Ducati was the featured marquee) and with the Sargent seat, 50 mpg with stock gearing, small 1/4 fairing, and elevated clip-ons, its was close to perfect. My only dislikes are the non-adjustable suspension and steel swingarm but then again, I did not pay the premium price for these bits.
- Smitty, Burlington, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-28 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 2000 M900 in 2002 with only 44 miles on it. Made the common mods to it, and then some, and enjoy the hell out of it every time I ride. This is not a high milage bike but one for pure pleasure when you need it most. I love all bikes but this one, as any Ducati, is all about passion.
- David, Casa Grande, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-26 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought new in 2000 900 FI. 1st change was to regear, one less tooth in front, two more on the rear. Add slipons and a new computer. No more clutch feathering in traffic. It's dial a wheelie now (Who says 60 is too old to have fun). Added a small fairing with Custom paint, It is a one person bike, the check writer refuses to ride on the back. She has been more comfortable sitting on a brick. Plus she likes the back of the R11RS BMW much better. Its main use is the comute to work and ride with the guys. Its mileage is low because the seat is still 50-60 minutes maximum and there are too many straight roads in Michigan. Would I buy another YES and it would still be the two valve.
- AJW, rockford, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-25 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in April '01 and have since logged 3500 miles on it. I can ride it for about 350 miles in a day without suffering too much. Handling in the twisties is far better than many "crotch rockets" I have ridden. Less harsh suspension in stock form. Power is good even for a big guy (6'2" and 240 lbs). Friends told me prior to purchase to be careful and suspect re. Ducati build quality. However, I haven't had any major trouble so far and I am rough on the bike. Sound from the engine is like sweet music to accompany you in a tight twisty canyon. Perfect for my beloved Texas Hill Country. Now I want to buy a second bike and really want a 748.
- Lou S., Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-06 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my M900 Cromo for about two years. The Cromo came as sort of a "speciality model" as it was built (carbon fiber fenders, chrome tank), but mine has undergone some customizing -- new jets, K&N air filter, Forza carbon slip-ons, new tail end and bikini-faring from Ducati Performance, carbon fiber mirrors. It is now just carbon fiber and chrome! This monster really purrs (roars!) and I'd guess it is good to peg the speedo. But its best work is cruisin' along between 55 to 75; it is always smooth and has plenty of right now roll-on. Handling is great and far beyond my humble riding abilities. I purchased some soft bags and strap them on have done trips to West Virginia clocking up over 400-mile days and feeling fine afterwards -- though it isn't for two-up touring. As an all around bike the M900 is a great piece of motorcycle and is true art. I also reckon it to be a great value, being that these bikes can be had for less than $10K, or right there abouts. So, I don't think a person can go wrong on buying this one -- style, performance, and versatility. And if you really want something different and way outrageous beautiful, try finding a Cromo...
- Al Riebau, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-11 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The handling is perfect and the power is the best. It's a sports bike and a cruiser bike for me. I'll be a Ducati Monster fan forever!
- MICHAEL DE VERA, Philippines

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-18 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a '98 M900 in Feb 2000. Bought it with 63 miles on it. I wanted a carbureted Monster, and some of the older features (no tach, adjustable shocks) that were done away with in '99. The bike is everything Ducati promises. More torque than any Jap 900, feels lighter than a 360lb '01 GSXR750 I have ridden, and turns and brakes with authority. When the bike is running well it keeps up and beats much bigger beasts. WHEN the bike is running! I have had consistent breathing problems on this bike. Symptoms are stumbling or starving, usually during/after a long ride. I live at 6,000 ft, but the bike was bought and serviced at Fay Myers, a large dealer here in Denver, and they claim this is a common Monster problem, nothing to do with the altitude. I have ridden the bike 8,000 miles in a year and a half in cold and warm weather... and the problem remains. Recently the dealer removed an emissions related vac tube and that helped a lot, but it will still surge and stumble occasionally. If any of you Monster owners out there share this problem drop me a line, it is a mystery. For new/prospective buyers, don't let this bother you. You will be buying a FI bike that will probably not have this problem anyway. And even with this problem I would buy my M900 again any day.
- Surya Ganguly, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-07 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this yellow Monster to rent through my new M/C rental firm "Colorado Tourbike Rentals". I was putting some break in mileage on the bike up through Clear Creek canyon to Idaho Springs and back to E. Denver on I70 and 6th Avenue Freeway. It's February and it's cold but this bike is hot, hot, hot. The bike has an incredibly light feel. The throttle response is instantaneous. The sound this Monster makes is unique and perfect. Very impressive.
- W. C. Smith, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Actually, I have a 1999 Monster in yellow, but I bought it new in March of 2000. When I first saw pictures of the Monster, I actually thought it was sort of ugly. Pictures do these wonderful machines no justice. They have a very exotic appeal to them. As soon as I saw them up close and personal, I had to have one. Sit on one and you'll love it. Ride one and you're hopeless! Very light and agile to ride. It takes to the turns like a bicycle, very nimble. I can't imagine riding anything with more power. You'd better be hanging on when you crack the throttle. I like the Ducati so much, that if I could afford it and had the room for them, I'd probably have a few more(different models). I also can't say enough about Peter Askey of Uncommon Motorcycles where I bought it. He's just a great guy and also Mike, the mechanic. Real nice people. I highly recommend them!
- Steve, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-06 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Grab the throttle and hold on for the best usable power ever on the monster!! This beast is lean and mean. Cruising the highway, I can tell you that you would incur some serious legal problems to properly give 5th much less 6th gear a good workout!! Most of the time cruising legally at 65-70mph, the motor will only sing at the tune of approximately 3,000 to 4,000 rpm's. The fuel injection on my 2000 is very smooth and responsive. I have only logged approximately 600 miles on the bike so far but I can tell you that the Monster is as at home in the city as it is in the twisties. don't let the horsepower fool you either. My buddy and I traded bikes (CBR-600) for a ride through a nice twisty. I liked to never got my Monster back. However, once I caught up to him all he could say was: "I gotta get me one of these babies!!"
- Anonymous, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-01 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike for us short guys too. Lots of power, fast, great handling and smooth. I always seem to be cruising at 70 MPH and it sounds like it isn't even working. People are always looking at this bike. I got a red one.
- Gary, Syracuse, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-01-11 2000 Ducati Monster900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a Monster for 2 years and I am liking it more and more every day. The new 2000 model has some improvements such as a tach, better brakes, normal kickstand, and fuel injection. The tank and seat have been redesigned for more comfort and the rear fender has been redesigned. What I don't like is that the adjustable forks have been removed and the evaporative emisions canister has been relocated to the side of the bike, which is ugly. This was done for the remote gas canister for the rear shock on the S model which also has adjustable forks. The bike will be a blast. I would go with the S model but it only comes in black. I would rather have red. As far as the ride, it is a riot. Fun as could be. It is light and very fun to drive in the city or on twisty country roads. Just watch out for cops. One has a tendency to do illegal stuff while riding this bike.
- Ivan Tortosa, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: