Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles Reviews (9)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-06-29 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a silver/grey 2003 model with 20,000 miles on it. With full service history. I've just come back to biking after a 12 year gap and I have to say I love this thing! Handles superbly with good tyres-Pirelli Scorpions(original fitment here)are fine and the tread pattern really suits the look of the bike. The weather here in Ireland really does not suit Ducati's - corrosion is a real problem on any exposed metal surface especially the engine casings and brake/clutch levers. I was really suprised how light and narrow the bike feels compared to a Japanese straight 4 - as a result the seat height is not a problem even for someone of my stature and I felt right at home after only a few short miles. Wind protection is only okay -anything over 75mph is a real pain if you intend on covering any distance. Jesus - that side stand is plain dangerous!- very unstable. Ducati will offer an improved version to anyone who contacts them - I believe that 2005 onwards models do not have this problem. However, overall the feel good factor I get riding this thing more than makes up for any minor gripes I may have.
- Brendan C, Dublin, Ireland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-19 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an 04' MTS, in red this spring. It was a demo bike from Ducati Richmond. It is a great bike! Much more comfortable with its riding position. I like it b/c it's an all-rounder. I can take it on long trips, ride it around town, to work. And it's got a perfomance enough to rival sportbikes! The DS engine is, I think, one of Ducati's best. Only problem has been an exhaust leak, which has been known to occur on bikes fitted with the Termi exhuast. It's being remedied, but it is my only real problem I've had with the bike. I will be looking into a touring seat in the future!
- Aaron F., Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-14 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike one month ago and it is in a league of its own. I researched it before I bought it and decided to test drive it (do not test drive this bike unless you are prepared to buy it). I grew up on dirt bikes and enjoy the similar stance that the multistrada offers. I admire the sport bike hunch but for the all purpose riding that I need, this bike has it all! The bike is light and maneuvers with ease. Response out of the dual spark is incredible! Fuel capacity is a problem if you need distance but it won't be a problem for me. That is the only thing I can say about it that could be a problem for some. THIS BIKE ROCKS!
- Bill Cullison, San Rafael, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-17 2005 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With the Sargent seat, the brider is comfortable all day. Handling improves from very good to excellent by continual suspension adjustments, add tension to spring and dampening to the rear, add heighth to the rear (1/4 inch), add dampening to the front forks. Delivery of bike was marginal, too much play in throttle, brakes needed air bleed within a few hundred miles. Handling and comfort are best features. It's the king of Loveland Pass! It's easy to scrap the pegs & heat shield, without drama...really a grat ride in the Mountains, cooks BMW's and many UJM 600s. People are always commenting on how ugly or beautiful it is, adds to the fun.
- eddie o'brien, silverthorne, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-20 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Finding a bike that can double as a sport bike and tourer is not easy, but the Multistrada is pure magic, fantastic on the open road and brilliant on the twisties. Computer system had to be replaced and just needed to be cut out, which is just like hitting the kill button... very unerving when it happened. After replacing the command unit, no more problems. Front brakes suffer from juddering in the last few feet before stopping. That will need to be sorted. Useless mirrors and crazy fuel gauge are the only real gripes. Superb riding position for the taller riders, short riders might find it hard getting their feet on the ground. Handling is magnificent and this bike will teach the R1s and GIXXER's a thing or two. Not ballistic in the power range but more than ample to dispose of most other machines, here's hoping they stick the 999 lump in it one day and then it will be untouchable.
- Phil Dinnis, Kissimmee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-27 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike feels very light, more like an open class motorcross bike with killer tires! The throttle response is like nothing else you will ever ride; really. So smooth, linear but nicely intense. Dry clutch has been fine. Best shifting bike I've ever owned. Mirrors are a crime! Zero problems the first year of ownership. Riding from Texas to South Dakota in August on it, so I trust it 100%. I have no problem strongly recommending this bike.
- Boyd Rose, Arlington, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-04 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought a dealer-used rare Black Multistrada. Put on about 100 miles this weekend and can't wait to do more. I got a fantastic deal - I paid less for the Ducati than I would have paid for a Kawasaki, Yamaha, Honda, or Suzuki. Ride is fantastic. Nothing unsettles the bike. Grips the road perfectly, even on the poorly maintained county roads around my house. Acceleration is simply amazing, even with my big self on the bike. Brakes have serious power up front. The clutch is a bit stiff, but not bad enough to matter, and the transmission doesn't miss. The lights are super bright, and controls are intuitive. The seat isn't so bad, but I've only put 45 minutes on at a stretch. I'll probably give an update after a couple thousand miles, but I LOVE this bike.
- matt, Chester, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-17 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most impressive bike I've ever owned. I started riding three decades ago, mostly Harleys and wanted something with sport bike power & handling. Problem is those bikes are not made for tall riders. The first time I sat on this bike it fit like a fine leather glove. Being used to heavy machines I've had to go easy on that throttle otherwise it's on one wheel. This bike sits quite high and as such is great for those of us on the large size. Power at about 85 Hp on a 400 Lb. bike is great! The handling is super. This thing slices corners like soft butter. Fairings keep the wind off the legs very well. Wind screen is somewhat effective but probably better for a shorter rider. The mirrors are great for checking on your elbows & the side lanes but again my size may be a factor. I looked at many bikes but there's just something about those Italians!
- RC, Napa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-27 2004 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far I love this bike. It's very comfortable for a taller person. It might be harder for a smaller person to ride due to its overall height. It seems very light for its size. Overall everything is good on the bike, stock seat is a bit hard but does provide good feedback also. Mirrors are almost useless for me; maybe I just haven't found a good position yet. Suspension adjustability is great; accessories selection is good from Ducati, slow in coming from others. Shifting is positive, braking is good. Low-end punch is awesome! This really is a great bike. If you don't like how it looks, go and ride one anyway!
- Madmatt, Fredonia, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: