Ducati ST2 Motorcycles Reviews (15)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati ST2 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Ducati ST2 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-05-07 2001 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Ducati ST2 last fall, when it had 18,000 miles on it. I absolutely love this bike. The seat could be a little bit more comfortable, but for the most part it is great. I love the features of the digital display. The speed and smoothness, in my opinion, is wonderful and the style is beautiful. I do have to say that the dry clutch is a little loud especially seeing that I don't have the stock cover on it, I have a vented cover. My bike has a chip and new pipes, so you can imagine how it goes and sounds, I would recommend making theses mods to any bike. The hard bags have been a huge plus, and the ease of taking them off and on is a plus. Some of my friends like the bikes look better with the bags on and some like the bike better with the bags off, even though the bracket is still there. The suspension is great, the power is great and over all I think that I made a great purchase.
- Brandon Moses, Ogden, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-31 2000 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just clicked 32k, it's tuned and ready for another summer. Nothing but standard maint. Phenominal bike.
- Gary Nelson, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-18 2001 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
PURCHASED FLYYELLOW 2001, 15000 MILES ON THE BIKE IN LAST YEAR. SWEET ENGINE, GREAT TORQUE, SUPER HANDLING BIKE (COMPARED TO BMW/NORTON) GOES 200 MILES (IF YOU CAN)BEFORE FUEL NEEDED. TEMP GAUGE AND FUEL BARS-BIKE GIVES LOTS OF FEEDBACK. PARTS DIFFICULT TO GET BUT BIKE IS EASY TO CARE FOR. LIKE IT BETTER THAN THE ST4S I RODE. MUCH SMOOTHER ON THE BOTTOM END. TALL GEARING MAKES HIGHWAY RIDING 80+MPH ALL THE TIME OR IT FEELS LIKE YOUR LUGGING THE ENGINE IN 6TH. SMOOTH SUSPENSION AND A GREAT RIDE EVERY TIME.
- AL JAPELY, CRESTWOOD, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-13 2001 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a left over 2001 ST2 in April and have loved riding it. It's a great sport bike with a little more comfort for touring then the ST4. Beautiful lines-gets a lot of looks. The bike loves higway speeds and curves.Good wind protection. The noisy dry clutch is a little annoying at idle. Can't beat the 24 months unlimited warranty and 24 month free maint. offered by Ducati. Comes with great hard bags, but they have butt ugly brackets. You either need to keep then on or off.
- Bob, Boynton Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-06 2000 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been the proud owner of a 01 ST2 Ducati now for 3 months. What a machine! It does everything well. It is rock solid and beautifully built. Handles like a sportbike, cruises like a touring bike should. Can romp with the best. Girls love it (yellow paint. Put the bags on (20 minutes) and go across country. This bike might be the best machine out there.
- BIGGUMS, Murrieta, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-03 2000 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had a lot of problems with my "act sensible" muscle recently. Hence I have just traded in my perfectly good, clean, GPZ 500S, which always started and was economic, cheap to insure and plenty fast enough, for a new ST2. Why? just cos it's headturningly lovely(had to be red), comfy seat, a gorgeous exhaust note, quick and handles well, even when ridden by an incompetant (me). Yep, one good move eh?
- stuart ryalls, Worcester, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-15 2000 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my ST2 about 2 weeks ago. I only have about 400 miles on the bike but i am thrilled with it. I moved up from a Honda ACE because I wanted something with a lot more sport, a comfortable tourer and something that gets looks. This bike is great in all three areas. I'm 6'1", 225lbs and find the sitting position to be very comfortable. This is a much better highway speed (65-85 MPH)ride then my cruiser. I got a great deal on a leftover 2001. Paid $8200 + $400 prep with 24 month unlimited mile warranty and 24 free maintenance. Beat the hell out of the 2002 Honda Interceptor I was considering plus the Ducati comes with hard bags! Only thing to get use to is the noisey dry clutch at idle. Will update when I get more miles on the bike.
- Bob, Boynton Beach , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-04 2000 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From cruising the highway, to canyons, to cruising the strip, to making a run to get a gallon of milk this Italian machine has all the versatility and character that can't seemingly be asked of a single Motorcycle. On the highways the ST2 is clearly at home. At 80 MPH (4700 RPM) it cruises so easily along you feel like it's sippin' margaritas during happy hour. The fairings are well designed to keep wind off of your legs and hands, and your chest and head receive a nice even blast that makes touring on a slightly canted-forward sport bike very endurable for the long hauls. The suspension absorbs highway nasties like a Polaris handles snow. I'm most amazed by the uneven surfaces, or shallow-angle ruts that normally cause heart palpitations, but the ST2 nearly ignores even the worst of those DOT indifference marks. Obviously when the Ducati ST2 is opened up in the back roads it is even more at home. The 944 engine has plenty of power and useable torque to come off a hairpin, throttle up down the straightway to 60+ mph, and back-off for the next corner without any gear changing, bogging in the low rpm, or gasping at the top. The hydraulic brakes are very adequate for this 467 pound 2-up cycle, and it shifts (hydraulic actuated clutch as well) as smooth as it cruises on the interstate. One short-coming (pun intended) is the ridiculously small shift lever the ST2 is outfitted with as standard gear. I quickly lengthened mine a whole inch, and now it works how it should from the factory. And dang, if this bike does not like to go into neutral while sitting still. If you don't get the green light on before you stop, then you basically have to kill the motor to hit neutral again. Of course, considering the aforementioned, the ST2 rarely misses gears during normal driving which is what those Italian boys thought was more important, and I guess I can't argue that point. Since I'm on annoyances; the dry clutch when depressed at low speeds or in neutral draws a lot of , "Is that the way it's supposed to sound" from the uninitiated or non bike-o-philes. One Harley friend of mine even told me, "It's loud"! I think it's cool, but maybe the little loss of power you get from a wet clutch is worth not having some people wonder if it's broke, and reduce me to always telling everyone it has a dry clutch before I crank it up, but on the other hand, it does add character. On second thought, keep the clutch, character rules! On the strip this machine draws more attention than Pamela Anderson at Venice Beach. On one jaunt through the canyons I was following a new Mercedes Coupe that was traveling at a good nautical heading, so I left him in front of me. When we finished through the twisties I pulled up next to him at a stop light, and he, and all aboard his vessel were starring at me, my wife, and our machine like it was an Italian made exotic automobile. I don't think it hurt that just a few minutes earlier I let him get about a οΎ½ mile out in front me, and on a fairly short straight-away, I reeled him in like a crappie on a bait-casting fishing rod either. As I touched on earlier, this Duc has character. It's even got a cool nickname. How cool is that? When driven slowly it thumps along to the delight of it's pilot and onlookers the same. When people see and hear you coming, they know your not on the usual crotch rocket, and they know your not on some BORING touring bike, and they know your not on some one-dimensional noise-maker on two wheels either, they know your on something different, something cool, something fast, and something loaded with character. My neighbor sums it best; "A Ducati! Nice bike! My friend has a Honda, but it's just not like a Ducati."
- Kevin S Dahlen, Fontana, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-03 2000 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a blue '00 ST2 about 13 months ago and really love this Sport Tourer. Move over BMW. I took my Duc to Nova Scotia at 9.5K miles and had an incredible time on the famous Cabot Trail. At it's 600 mile checkup, I put the Duc Carbon Fiber Pipes and Performance chip in it. At 6K I dropped in a K&#038;N (it needed more air) and had the back area of the restrictor plate cut out <smile>. Getting 80HP (but only 35 mpg) at rear wheel on a nice cool/dry day is possible. I did see an '02 ST4s (996)<drool> at my dealer and told him I would help him Web auction this limited (1 of 300) Grey rocket if someone doesn't swoop it off the showroom floor first for just under 15K. I see why no STANDARD ST4's (916) are reportedly going to be produced. Anyway the ST2 (which I bought for $11K) is a great bike and unlike the ST4s available in Blue. Get one. FYI, the '01 &'02 ST2 and '01 ST4 (not the '02 ST4s) prices were lowered BUT they remove the adjustable front and rear suspension...in otherwords, you might want to look for an '00 with low miles. BTW, the previous articles that were here 13 months ago help convince me to get this bike! Thanks! pacman@townisp.com
- Paul Chambers, Shrewsbury, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-10 2000 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2001 ST2 in April and now have over 6,500 fun filled miles on the bike. The only problem has been the clutch slave cylinder leakage, but this has been fixed with a new slave cylinder replaced under warranty. I added the Ducati performance mufflers and chip to the bike (per Rider magazine, Feb/ 01) and the increased mid-range is as advertised. Rider dynoed it at +16% in the mid-range and it certainly feels like it. The bike will readily wheelie in 2nd gear and has lots of power everywhere in the rpm range. My wife and I just finished a 3,300 mile trip and the duc luggage, plus a duc 40 liter top box made this a very enjoyable journey. The bike does not seem to notice the extra weight, and passing a line of motorhomes is a cinch. We have 5 bikes but this is by far our favorite.
- Chuck, Medford, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-16 2000 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a wonderful bike! I bought the ST2 because I wanted a sport bike that could tour long distances. Man, this bike has a very unique combination of track-like handling and long-distance comfort. I take a lot of long rides: Boston, New Hampshire, Adirondaks. I can spend 12 hours on this machine and get off feeling great. The ride is strangely plush for a bike that is remarkably stable and razor-sharp at high speeds. Hit a bump deep in a turn at 75, and you think, "yea baby," as the Duc rolls over it without a whisper. The suspension is FULLY adjustable and beautifully designed. You hear about reliability, but the bike has had no problems, and it takes a daily beating in New York City. The motor is happiest on the open road and is a bit thumpy in heavy traffic. The sound and spirit of it, however, inspire true affection, and the low-down torque of the 2-valve, 944 is awesome around town. The hard luggage is beautifully manufactured and highly functional, while other ergonomic touches are perfectly placed. True to Ducati racing heritage, the bike in general delivers gobs of feedback, from the Brembo brakes to clutch engagement, in a way that other bikes do not. I could go on, but all I will say is this: The ST2 truly delivers on its promise.
- JW, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-31 2000 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my ST-2 from Miller's Ducat in June and I have been smiling ever since. It has enough sport to make me happy and can be ridden distance in comfort. I have 5k on it now and the only thing I will change is the seat with a corbin. Note that they come set lean but the chip is adjustable somewhat as once we set mine to 3% on the gas analyzer (adjusting the screw next to the chip) it runs great. I love the blue it is a subtle but sexy styling. I think it is a great value for the price, and Miller's in Lemont Furnace Pa. has been great from locating the elusive blue, to service. One last thing if you tour as I, do spring for the bag liners that Ducati sells, they work very well and worth the money. And I do love that sound. Time to ride.
- Jack Larkin, Wexford Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-09 2000 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my new 1999 ST2 a couple of weeks ago. This bike is awesome. From the magnificant red paint job, to the superb handling, as of yet I can't think of any negatives whatsoever. It's quick as hell. And I'm not even going to start about all the attention I get from riding this bike. It has great performance, but you can stay in the saddle for extended periods of time without wanting to get off. Ducati, my hats off to you, you really did your homework on this one.
- Alan Johnson, Ft. Wayne, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-01-30 2000 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't need to make this too long, as I totally agree with Hoffa's review. After a string of dirt, standard, sport and cruiser bikes spanning 24 years, I bought my '98 ST2 in December 1997. Although purchased black it was sent out for paint immediately upon delivery and returned the only red ST2 in the US at the time. Subtle yet unique decals from TapeWorks and a Corbin seat finnished it off. After 10,500 miles on track (Willow Springs), freeway, mountain and canyon roads I still stare at it and salivate every time the garage door opens. Every mood possible can be (and is!) channeled through this bike; from wheelie-prone, hooligan-like foolishness through knee-scraping, 'racer-boy' aggression to sedate, gentleman's express freeway cruising. I absolutely love it, from styling and comfort to function and performace. With a slant to the sporting side of the equation, it is the best do-it-all bike I've ridden. Beyond regular maintenance, the occasional brake-bleeding, tire and oil changes, it has required no other servicing (oh, one clutch cover bolt rattled loose and fell out). The stock hardbags function perfectly and hold enough for a week's tour. Final note - Geoff, Paul and the crew at GP Motorcycles of San Diego are the best!
- Sean Tompkins, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

1999-12-16 2000 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 1998 ST2 in February of 1999, and have 5100 miles on it at the moment. The bike is last in a long line of sport bikes for me, and seems to be the best choice for real riders like myself. I have always owned the cutting edge sportbikes, and loved them... until it came to long distance and touring riding that is necessary when you don't have mountain passes in your back yard. The ST2 balances sport bike with tourer about 70%/30%, which means you get to have your cake and eat it too. The 2-valve engine in the ST2 is much better for 2-up with loaded saddlebags than the ST4, and is so much cheaper. I think everyone who gets one of these bikes will need to do what I have done in the way of modifications: Ducati Performance Carbon Slip-ons: $600 Ducati Performance EPROM Chip: only $35 w/slipons Ducati Performance Kevlar Brake lines: $100 2-tooth larger (lower geared) rear sproket These modifications are perfect for the bike, and really change its character into more of a 900SP. The brake lines are completely necessary for those of us with the non-remote master cylinders (pre-1999 models), especially the disappointing rear brake. The bike's saddlebags are, unlike those on BMWs, painted to match the bike, are very functional, and beautiful. The seat is comfy all day, but I will be getting a Corbin soon (stock one is cheapo). Gotta get Silver or Blue. I bought my 1998 ST2 in February (winter)of 1999 in Michigan. It was stickered at $12,500, and I bought mine for $10,700, which has to be the biggest bargain in motorcycling. You get something so unique, with so much more life than a Japanese bike, it is totally worth the niggles. People on the street stop dead in their tracks when they see this bike, as the Silver paint really sets if off (not to mention the thunderous sound from the Carbon slip-ons!) don't buy a BMW. They are good at touring, but R1100GS aside (the best BMW by far), they are absolutely no fun at all no matter what their owners tell you. And there are no integrated, factory hard luggage for the VFR800, which knocks that one out... why do magazines call it a sport-tourer when it has absolutely no luggage at all? The Triumph Sprint comes close, but is AVERAGE looking. Walk into a Ducati dealer, lay $10,750 down (invoice), and tell them you will take either Silver or Blue. You will ride home the best overall sport-tourer on the market. It has a 2-year warranty too (unfortunately, you need it once in a while, but quality has been far better than my 1995 Ducati 900SP). David J. Hoffa
- David J. Hoffa, East Lansing, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: