Ducati ST3 Motorcycles Reviews (15)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati ST3 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Ducati ST3 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-07-17 2005 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike used with 5400 miles. I've since put more than 2K miles with just day rides. Love the ample power throughout the rev range. It is sooo light compared to my 2004 RT. After market pipes make it sound like a Ducati, but the loss of computer (as referenced above) is a shame (esp. for touring). The bike handles as well as my S4 Monster in the twisties but much more comforatble for those multi-hundred mile days. Need to install the throttlemeister cruise control ASAP. It is sitting on my desk waiting for the time. Bags are plenty large enough and don't seem to get in the way while lane splitting. A++++ for looks and style. I love this bike. I will probably keep the RT to lend to friends when I don't want to ride alone.
- SteveM ST4s , Newport Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-20 2004 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike on a bit of a whim, looking at a Triumph and the dealer had this leftover demo bike for a great discount. It fit very well so I snagged it. After a little over a month and over 2500 miles I am very satisfied. I have ridden it several times on 400-500 mile trips (I am working out of town) and local commuting and weekend riding. So far the transmission, which started out kinda clunky, has gotten much smoother. The panniers hold everything I need, the seat is wonderful, no need to change it. I changed the windscreen for cosmetic purposes only. The power is immediate and there's certainly more of it than I will ever need. My only complaints are the bars are too low, it needs adjustable risers. Also, it could use a throttle lock. Again as the bars are so low I can relax my left hand from time to time but not my right. I know the aftermarket can supply these things, but for an expensive bike these are simple items. One other thing, and not a big deal but my chain had too much slack in it, while attempting to adjust the axle I realized why there are aftermarket axle plates. The stock ones are junk.
- Tyler, Clearwater, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-30 2005 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Aftermarket exhaust modification (pipes)substantially throws off the computer calculations on all fuel statistics if you tweak the air/fuel mixture from the original factory settings. The computer is designed to only work with factory pipes and ratio settings. The sound and look cool, but you computer will become useless.
- Mark Ferris, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-13 2005 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So this spring I was minding my own business when out of the blue came a voice that said unto me 'You need to check out the new Ducatis'. I don't normally hear voices, but this one was a muse that wouldn't be denied. After much due diligence on the web, I found myself at a brand new Ducati/MV Augusta dealership nearby, staring at the very first bike I saw the ST3. and I knew I'd have to own it. If the design hadn't hooked me, my test drive sure as heck did! Buckets of power, especially at the low end (I knew something was up when the front wheel left the ground and I hadn't dumped the clutch!), performance and handling like I'd never felt in a true sport touring machine (How many bikes allow you to drag a knee and comfortably ride 300 miles or more in a day?), bags included (in matching 'arrest-me' red), unbelieveable gas mileage, all for under $12K. Are you kiddin'?
- Mr Hyde, Grosse Pointe, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-13 2005 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My new ST3 is really two bikes in one. I bought it looking for a more sport than touring, but discovered that it tours as comfortably as any Beemer I've ever owned. The real advantage is when I get to the twisties -- I'm loving the way it dives into the corners and pulls out of them with such phenomenal power. Three valves per cylinder was a great idea (great on gas too!). The value for my dollar makes this bike the best deal on the market if sport touring is your game. I can honestly say that this is the only bike I'll be needing for quite some time. Anybody want to buy my Beemers?
- Plaidman, Vero Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-19 2005 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2004 model in July '04 and rode it for 4500 miles until low-siding the bike on a little gravel in an Arkansas switchback in September '04. The bike only had cosmetic damage and I rode it 900 miles home, but the insurance company totaled it! Warning, Ducati plastic and gas tanks cost LOTS OF MONEY. Despite those problems, I really liked the bike so I went out and bought the 2005 model. I've used these bikes for the majority of my transportation needs on a seasonal basis. I ride to work, run errands, go for weekend rides, and have taken longer tours. I initially found the bike to be a little hard to handle around town, with this being related to the gearing and fueling. My previous bike was a Speed Triple which was much more a "city bike". However, after a little time on the bike I understood the quirks of riding around the city. Anyway, this bike was designed for sport touring and that it is what I bought it for. On the highway this thing is solid. I find the riding position to be just about perfect for me, and it is easy to ride from gas stop to gas stop without taking a break. I absolutely love the stock seat on the bike in terms of comfort, but it is a little hard to shift your weight from side to side. As indicated in some of the bike mag. reviews, the suspension is a little soft for hard riding in the corners, but during my weekend and tour riding I only push hard a small fraction of the time, so it doesn't bother me much. The bike turns into corners well and holds a nice line through the apex. I find that the bike does want to stand up a little early coming out of corners and I've adjusted for that. I really like riding this bike through the twisties at any speed except "stupid fast". The bike shines at multi-day touring and the hard bags are excellent. I rode the '04 bike 2800 miles to Arkansas and I rode the '05 bike 3300 miles out to the Tetons and Yellowstone and had a ball both times (except for my little mishap). The bikes just ate up the miles and I was smiling the whole time. As for reliability/maintenance, my 2004 had a fuel leak that was covered under warranty, and I have had no problems at all with the 2005. The stock tires on the '05 lasted 7000 miles and I have to replace the chain and sprocket now at 13500 miles. As everyone knows, the scheduled service costs for Ducati are higher than typical, but I believe the riding experience is worth the extra cost. That being said, I will buy another bike in the near future to handle my day to day riding, and will use the Duc only for longer rides.
- KO, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-03 2005 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great Bike. I toured with it for 8 days and 3000 miles with one 800 mile day, the other days were all 300-500 miles each. I love this bike, it's reliable, comfortable, has smooth power and sexy styling. I use it for commuting as well as touring. I looked at the Triumph Sprint ST, BMW R1200 ST, and BMW R1200 RT. I chose this one because it is sportier than the RT and more comfortable than the BMW ST. It was a toss up between the Triumph and this bike... the sound and sex appeal won out. All of the bikes I tried were excellent.
- Michael Karpinskiki, Jacksonville, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-17 2004 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my ST3 in May and have loved it. I know of no other bike that offers such a nice combination of beauty, power, handling and comfort. The Ducati engine sounds great and it has amazing torque. This, combined with the bike's excellent suspension and modest weight (467lb.), make it a joy to ride through the twisties.
- MRH, Stillwater, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-16 2004 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my new ST3 in April and within 100 feet of riding I had this permanent smile on my face. I rode over 11,000 kms this summer in all types of conditions. 7 days of the most incredable twisties in BC, Washington, Idaho and Montana proved the ST3 is the best all around touring sport bike today. The engine is the best part, pulls great and excellent torque, very comfortable on the long straight runs and as nimble as any sport bike on the twisties. Loaded with gear I recieved 35% better fuel mileage than my partner's Honda 919. Snow tonight means a long rest for my trusted steed. Better get my skis waxed.
- G Rasmuson, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-22 2004 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put over 7,000 miles on my ST3, performance has been flawless, vibration indistinguishable, suspension good, brakes excellent, gas mileage great, saddle bags and trunk excellent with protection/appearance and size. I do have a small oil leak that showed up after the dealer serviced it, I haven't traced it out yet. The Michelin tires have been giving excellent wear and traction. Fairing provides good protection, except for hands. Mirrors offer a decent rear view. The bike has surpassed my expectations!
- Randy Gregg, Tracy, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-18 2004 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Performance: Crank open the throttle and be prepared to be ripped off the bike. This bike is a dream in canyon riding and sweeper turns. On the interstate the accelleration and agility improves the safety factor in my opinion. My dealership is installing Heli Bars to reduce my reach for the clip ons. I am confident this will improve my long distance riding comfort. The saddle bags are first class. Reliabilty: 5. Styling: 5+ These bikes look great! Value: a 5+ This bike must be a well kept secret. It can't get much better than this.
- Harold LaBonte, Palm Desert, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-19 2004 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for a long time 1100 and 750 gsxrs, ninjas, vfrs, a fj12oo 1300 hayabusa even a ktm duke. The most all around sportouring bike is the ST3. The combination of power, handling and comfort have to be felt by riding many miles on different roads. Long rides with the wife to sport riding with friends, this bike has the goods. This bike is subtle, it won't rip your arms off with horsepower, it is just enough for the job. Handling was the big surprise. Much better than other sporttouring bikes. The brakes are great, not quite as nice as the Duke 2 but much better than the rest (see above). The quality of the bike justifies the price and the lack of heft compared to the other sportourers is a bonus.
- jim, westhampton , Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-08 2004 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up a new '04 ST3 after selling a '00 HD Sportster to get back into "sport" riding. Wow, what a nice bike. The engine is still in the "break-in" period, but even to 6000 rpm, it's a blast. The overall fit and finish is nice. The dealer I purchased it from did have to redo the setup; apparently, some of the dealers are having issues with the setup of the ST3. Several people have reported "lumpy" engine. After the mechanic re-did the setup (this was done before I test drove it), it runs like a dream. So far, I'm very happy with this purchase. I find the new seat to be very comfortable and the new fairing/windshield offers great wind protection. I would highly recommend it. However, I would test drive it first to make sure the setup is correct.
- Mike Hogston, Gastonia, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-13 2004 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my '04 ST3 last Saturday. I've had several dozen bikes and had toyed with buying one of Ducatis' sport touring bikes for some time. After reading about the ST3, I was convinced that they finally built one that covered all the bases that were important to me. More power than the the older ST2 and not as high strung as the ST4S. Although a recent article suggested that there was a low speed issue that caused it to run rough. I've not experienced it even in the worst traffic I've encountered. Well it's only been a week but with 450 miles, and I'm pleased as can be. I'm limited to 6000 RPM but I can tell this engine has plenty of power. The new seat is very comfortable. I rode 250 miles the other day and had no problem whatsoever. The reach to the bars seems longer than my BMW R1150RS but the height seems comparable. I wanted to rotate the bars slightly closer to the tank but unless I remove a pin that's in the fork tube that's not possible. I'm going to ride it for at least 1000 miles before I decide if it's necessary.
- Philip, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-03 2004 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own two Harleys and now a ST3. I have been riding for 44 years. The ST3 gives me the opportunity to take advantage of our beautiful "Texas Hill County" riding in a different manner if you know what I mean. This ST3 is truly a fabulous bike. I'm headed to Track Days to learn how to ride it safely and know its limits and my limits. I would recommend this bike to anybody my age (age 58) to have a new riding experience.
- Jack Bartels, Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: