Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Ducati ST3 reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

15 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

SteveM ST4s

Newport Beach, California

Reviewed on 2007-07-17

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Ducati ST3

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought the bike used with 5400 miles. I've since put more than 2K miles with just day rides. Love the ample power throughout the rev range. It is sooo light compared to my 2004 RT. After market pipes make it sound like a Ducati, but the loss of computer (as referenced above) is a shame (esp. for touring). The bike handles as well as my S4 Monster in the twisties but much more comforatble for those multi-hundred mile days. Need to install the throttlemeister cruise control ASAP. It is sitting on my desk waiting for the time. Bags are plenty large enough and don't seem to get in the way while lane splitting. A++++ for looks and style. I love this bike. I will probably keep the RT to lend to friends when I don't want to ride alone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tyler

Clearwater, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-02-20

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Ducati ST3

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought this bike on a bit of a whim, looking at a Triumph and the dealer had this leftover demo bike for a great discount. It fit very well so I snagged it. After a little over a month and over 2500 miles I am very satisfied. I have ridden it several times on 400-500 mile trips (I am working out of town) and local commuting and weekend riding. So far the transmission, which started out kinda clunky, has gotten much smoother. The panniers hold everything I need, the seat is wonderful, no need to change it. I changed the windscreen for cosmetic purposes only. The power is immediate and there's certainly more of it than I will ever need. My only complaints are the bars are too low, it needs adjustable risers. Also, it could use a throttle lock. Again as the bars are so low I can relax my left hand from time to time but not my right. I know the aftermarket can supply these things, but for an expensive bike these are simple items. One other thing, and not a big deal but my chain had too much slack in it, while attempting to adjust the axle I realized why there are aftermarket axle plates. The stock ones are junk.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Ferris

Los Angeles, California

Reviewed on 2006-11-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Ducati ST3

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Aftermarket exhaust modification (pipes)substantially throws off the computer calculations on all fuel statistics if you tweak the air/fuel mixture from the original factory settings. The computer is designed to only work with factory pipes and ratio settings. The sound and look cool, but you computer will become useless.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mr Hyde

Grosse Pointe, Michigan

Reviewed on 2006-07-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Ducati ST3

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
So this spring I was minding my own business when out of the blue came a voice that said unto me 'You need to check out the new Ducatis'. I don't normally hear voices, but this one was a muse that wouldn't be denied. After much due diligence on the web, I found myself at a brand new Ducati/MV Augusta dealership nearby, staring at the very first bike I saw the ST3. and I knew I'd have to own it. If the design hadn't hooked me, my test drive sure as heck did! Buckets of power, especially at the low end (I knew something was up when the front wheel left the ground and I hadn't dumped the clutch!), performance and handling like I'd never felt in a true sport touring machine (How many bikes allow you to drag a knee and comfortably ride 300 miles or more in a day?), bags included (in matching 'arrest-me' red), unbelieveable gas mileage, all for under $12K. Are you kiddin'?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Plaidman

Vero Beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-07-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Ducati ST3

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My new ST3 is really two bikes in one. I bought it looking for a more sport than touring, but discovered that it tours as comfortably as any Beemer I've ever owned. The real advantage is when I get to the twisties -- I'm loving the way it dives into the corners and pulls out of them with such phenomenal power. Three valves per cylinder was a great idea (great on gas too!). The value for my dollar makes this bike the best deal on the market if sport touring is your game. I can honestly say that this is the only bike I'll be needing for quite some time. Anybody want to buy my Beemers?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KO

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2005-10-19

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Ducati ST3

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the 2004 model in July '04 and rode it for 4500 miles until low-siding the bike on a little gravel in an Arkansas switchback in September '04. The bike only had cosmetic damage and I rode it 900 miles home, but the insurance company totaled it! Warning, Ducati plastic and gas tanks cost LOTS OF MONEY. Despite those problems, I really liked the bike so I went out and bought the 2005 model. I've used these bikes for the majority of my transportation needs on a seasonal basis. I ride to work, run errands, go for weekend rides, and have taken longer tours. I initially found the bike to be a little hard to handle around town, with this being related to the gearing and fueling. My previous bike was a Speed Triple which was much more a "city bike". However, after a little time on the bike I understood the quirks of riding around the city. Anyway, this bike was designed for sport touring and that it is what I bought it for. On the highway this thing is solid. I find the riding position to be just about perfect for me, and it is easy to ride from gas stop to gas stop without taking a break. I absolutely love the stock seat on the bike in terms of comfort, but it is a little hard to shift your weight from side to side. As indicated in some of the bike mag. reviews, the suspension is a little soft for hard riding in the corners, but during my weekend and tour riding I only push hard a small fraction of the time, so it doesn't bother me much. The bike turns into corners well and holds a nice line through the apex. I find that the bike does want to stand up a little early coming out of corners and I've adjusted for that. I really like riding this bike through the twisties at any speed except "stupid fast". The bike shines at multi-day touring and the hard bags are excellent. I rode the '04 bike 2800 miles to Arkansas and I rode the '05 bike 3300 miles out to the Tetons and Yellowstone and had a ball both times (except for my little mishap). The bikes just ate up the miles and I was smiling the whole time. As for reliability/maintenance, my 2004 had a fuel leak that was covered under warranty, and I have had no problems at all with the 2005. The stock tires on the '05 lasted 7000 miles and I have to replace the chain and sprocket now at 13500 miles. As everyone knows, the scheduled service costs for Ducati are higher than typical, but I believe the riding experience is worth the extra cost. That being said, I will buy another bike in the near future to handle my day to day riding, and will use the Duc only for longer rides.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Karpinskiki

Jacksonville, Oregon

Reviewed on 2005-10-03

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Ducati ST3

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great Bike. I toured with it for 8 days and 3000 miles with one 800 mile day, the other days were all 300-500 miles each. I love this bike, it's reliable, comfortable, has smooth power and sexy styling. I use it for commuting as well as touring. I looked at the Triumph Sprint ST, BMW R1200 ST, and BMW R1200 RT. I chose this one because it is sportier than the RT and more comfortable than the BMW ST. It was a toss up between the Triumph and this bike... the sound and sex appeal won out. All of the bikes I tried were excellent.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MRH

Stillwater, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2005-06-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Ducati ST3

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my ST3 in May and have loved it. I know of no other bike that offers such a nice combination of beauty, power, handling and comfort. The Ducati engine sounds great and it has amazing torque. This, combined with the bike's excellent suspension and modest weight (467lb.), make it a joy to ride through the twisties.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

G Rasmuson

Calgary, Alberta

Reviewed on 2004-10-16

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Ducati ST3

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I picked up my new ST3 in April and within 100 feet of riding I had this permanent smile on my face. I rode over 11,000 kms this summer in all types of conditions. 7 days of the most incredable twisties in BC, Washington, Idaho and Montana proved the ST3 is the best all around touring sport bike today. The engine is the best part, pulls great and excellent torque, very comfortable on the long straight runs and as nimble as any sport bike on the twisties. Loaded with gear I recieved 35% better fuel mileage than my partner's Honda 919. Snow tonight means a long rest for my trusted steed. Better get my skis waxed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy Gregg

Tracy, California

Reviewed on 2004-09-22

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Ducati ST3

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have put over 7,000 miles on my ST3, performance has been flawless, vibration indistinguishable, suspension good, brakes excellent, gas mileage great, saddle bags and trunk excellent with protection/appearance and size. I do have a small oil leak that showed up after the dealer serviced it, I haven't traced it out yet. The Michelin tires have been giving excellent wear and traction. Fairing provides good protection, except for hands. Mirrors offer a decent rear view. The bike has surpassed my expectations!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 15 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: