Ducati Sport Bikes Reviews on Cycle Insider (83)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati Sport Bikes Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Ducati Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-11-22 2007 Ducati SportClassic GT1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is certainly a fine looking bike, different from almost everything else on the road. Out of the box it is a good bike, but with some improvements it becomes a great bike. I added Termignoni pipes and the bike suddenly sounds fabulous and has some extra hp. I replace the shocks with Ohlins and now the bike gobbles up the road with aplomb. It is a blast to ride; you can spend all day on it comfortably, or take it to the track. It's very versatile, has a wonderful engine and great brakes. It's so much fun. I am sorry Ducati cut the line for 2011. If you can pick up one of these bikes used, I'd recommend it for anyone interested in an all-around performer. It's very reliable, also, I might add.
- Michael K., New Hempstead, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-06 2006 Ducati Monster S2R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I moved from the UK to the US and couldn't find a suitable alternative to my UK owned and riden Honda SP1 sportsbike. Having researched and visited a lot of bike showrooms in Houston I found this baby. It's the best ride and the best bike I have ever had. It's comfortable, it's easy to ride and it molds itself around you. Perfect. You'll not regret buying this bike.
- Helen Ross, Sugarland, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-05 2004 Ducati Monster S4R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love these bikes. There is simply nothing like a Ducati. The sound, the feel are very special. Not only have I continually loved these bikes but people stare at them constantly because of their beauty! They are very reliable as well. Ducati has come such a long way simply because they have produced so many bikes and become more and more popular in the past 5 or so years. I would recommend a Monster to anyone! It's like a sport bike without the uncomfotable ergonomics.
- Bobby Aldighieri, Steamboat Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-28 2007 Ducati SportClassic GT1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love this bike. Styling-wise, the GT is a perfect balance between having a retro vibe but with modern handling and performance. The lines are Italian sexy, eye-catching, and just plain unique. It's a head turner I get a lot of compliments on, and it's the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden. The torquey acceleration is a blast and the braking is silky and confident. Handles like a dream too. I love the bike's dual personality. Up to around 3500 rpm you really feel the strong thumping pull through the bars, the seat, and the pegs - just like a big torquey twin should feel. Above 3500 rpms or so it smooths out nicely, yet not so much where you don't feel connected to the road like you can on a 4 cylinder shaftie. If you like retro but want something that can run with the real world big dogs, the GT is it. The only complaint is that due to the factory ECU being programmed lean for emissions reasons, the throttle can be a little jerky in gears 1-2 below 3000 rpm. The Fat Duc O2 Manipulator is a cheap plug and play solution for this which I plan on getting soon.
- Greg McCarty, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-07 2001 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Ducati ST2 last fall, when it had 18,000 miles on it. I absolutely love this bike. The seat could be a little bit more comfortable, but for the most part it is great. I love the features of the digital display. The speed and smoothness, in my opinion, is wonderful and the style is beautiful. I do have to say that the dry clutch is a little loud especially seeing that I don't have the stock cover on it, I have a vented cover. My bike has a chip and new pipes, so you can imagine how it goes and sounds, I would recommend making theses mods to any bike. The hard bags have been a huge plus, and the ease of taking them off and on is a plus. Some of my friends like the bikes look better with the bags on and some like the bike better with the bags off, even though the bracket is still there. The suspension is great, the power is great and over all I think that I made a great purchase.
- Brandon Moses, Ogden, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-11 2007 Ducati SportClassic GT1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finally found a unique bike that actually excites me. This bike has it all - Italian elegance, comfort and excellent canyon and freeway riding. It is smooth and has responsive power. I like the stock front brakes. The bike doesn't dive in quick stops. I love the vintage look with the modern performance and comfort. The stock engine has a cool thumping sound and it feels like a heart pounding softly. Going to work has never been so fun!
- allan, west hills, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-17 2005 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike used with 5400 miles. I've since put more than 2K miles with just day rides. Love the ample power throughout the rev range. It is sooo light compared to my 2004 RT. After market pipes make it sound like a Ducati, but the loss of computer (as referenced above) is a shame (esp. for touring). The bike handles as well as my S4 Monster in the twisties but much more comforatble for those multi-hundred mile days. Need to install the throttlemeister cruise control ASAP. It is sitting on my desk waiting for the time. Bags are plenty large enough and don't seem to get in the way while lane splitting. A++++ for looks and style. I love this bike. I will probably keep the RT to lend to friends when I don't want to ride alone.
- SteveM ST4s , Newport Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-03 2007 Ducati SportClassic GT1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All of Ducati's sport classic line reflects their heritage and past and continued glory of the two wheeled sport. The difference in the GT from the other models lies strongly in its' humane ergonomics great for those who are old enough to remember the original bikes. Ducati's venerable DS1000 once again provides a great stepping off point for the basis of a very real world friendly motorcycle. Classic L twin vibes with a wide power band and proven reliability. Add a cool looking trellis frame, retro inspired body work, spoke wheels and excellent brakes and you have a well thought out motorbike. The only down fall in this package seems to be the very average suspension components. Though light years ahead of the original's pieces, the forks and shocks are described as functional at best. All and all I'd have to say that Ducati has done a fantastic job of reinterpreting their own history without relying on copying anyone else's design unlike every other metric cruiser.
- Jonniedee, Plainwell, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-15 2002 Ducati ST4s Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Out of all the bikes I have owned (20+), this one tops the list. I have abused it and it never seems to stop ticking. It has taken me far and close from my home. Every time it leaves, it brings me back with a smile. Even riding to and from work I can find something it will astonish me with (a wheelie or two). Maintenance has been very low on it to date. Just several pairs of tires, pads and many oil changes. This bike scores an A+ on my favorite bike list.
- fastjoe, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-20 2004 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike on a bit of a whim, looking at a Triumph and the dealer had this leftover demo bike for a great discount. It fit very well so I snagged it. After a little over a month and over 2500 miles I am very satisfied. I have ridden it several times on 400-500 mile trips (I am working out of town) and local commuting and weekend riding. So far the transmission, which started out kinda clunky, has gotten much smoother. The panniers hold everything I need, the seat is wonderful, no need to change it. I changed the windscreen for cosmetic purposes only. The power is immediate and there's certainly more of it than I will ever need. My only complaints are the bars are too low, it needs adjustable risers. Also, it could use a throttle lock. Again as the bars are so low I can relax my left hand from time to time but not my right. I know the aftermarket can supply these things, but for an expensive bike these are simple items. One other thing, and not a big deal but my chain had too much slack in it, while attempting to adjust the axle I realized why there are aftermarket axle plates. The stock ones are junk.
- Tyler, Clearwater, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-08 2006 Ducati Monster S2R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my second bike and second Ducati. It's a great step up from the old 620's in performance, looks and craftsmanship. Easy to flick around in traffic, though it could use a little more low-end grunt. In 2nd/3rd at 4000rpm it really moves. Everyone wants to talk about it - next step: 999R or 1098...
- CD, Fairfax, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-05 2005 Ducati Monster S4R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The finance manager said it was gonna be stupid fun when I bought it, and he was right. Plenty of power on reserve, pulls hard through all gears, and is very quick/fast. It is a little intimidating, not for beginners. Riding position can get a little uncomfortable after a short while, handle bars are a little low. Sounds like a indy 500 car. Every one looks when you go by, but no one gets too rambunctious.
- joseph mckay, waldorf, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-30 2005 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Aftermarket exhaust modification (pipes)substantially throws off the computer calculations on all fuel statistics if you tweak the air/fuel mixture from the original factory settings. The computer is designed to only work with factory pipes and ratio settings. The sound and look cool, but you computer will become useless.
- Mark Ferris, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-10 2007 Ducati SportClassic GT1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is well thought out. It is very suitable for real world riding. It offers a very comfortable riding position, engaging engine, and suspension while not adjustable is spot on for spirited real world riding. Probably not the best choice to take to the track, buy a 999. Nothing drags with very spirited street cornering. The gearing sucks, I dropped the countershaft to 14 and find that a good compromise, though lower might be fun at some expense to the long leg highway cruise. I am getting close to 50mpg, but it only holds a tad over 3 gallons, they lie when they say 4. I ran it dry. Max range 130 miles to low fuel light then you have 30 miles left. Sorry for an all day sport tourer. The engine is great, the 1000DS makes the same power as the the 4 valve motors to about 7500 rpm, so in the real world you are not giving up much, unless you you want to cruise at 120mph, than buy something else, this one works great at 70-90. You need to augment the tools as basically there are none. The tubless tires are sure to make you mad if you ride it far enough. All in all I am super happy, a Ducati you can ride all day fast as you dare all while not looking at all like the squids.
- Bob, atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-07 2006 Ducati Monster S2R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great first 'big bike' due to the friendly nature of the 803cc engine, slipper clutch and the riding position. Pokey enough for all but the mentalist of fast sportsbike riders, it can really handle in the twisties. Add an aftermarket exhaust and you will only then really hear what owning a Duc is all about! The stock system is about 80 decibels, and the Zards I have fitted come in at about 102. There is no shortage of aftermarket parts and accessories, so making it your own isn't a problem. Totally recommended for all those who are bored of 186mph loonatic tools.
- Neil, Norwich, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-28 2007 Ducati SportClassic GT1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good seating position, engine pulls very hard from about 3,500 rpm. Gearing is too high, I will replace the rear sprocket with 3 or 4 more teeth. Otherwise, excellent gear box, smooth shifting, first 3 gears are spaced adequately. The bike is easy to handle and holds its line under all circumstances. Throttle response is very quick, no hick-ups. Acceleration @ 2,000 rpm is possible if throttle is opened slowly. Best rpm range is 3,000 - 6,000. My wife, after 2 decades of non-riding, lost all of her anxiousness after a few minutes. Very un-intimidating. Wonderful sound with Termignonis! The original pipes are real "silencers"! I also installed Ducati Classic handle bar end mirrors. The bike scratches the roads surface on the left side with the exhaust underneath the engine, in right corner with the rear brake lever. This of course happens only in very fast ridden corners. On day-to-day driving conditions the clearance is sufficient. Vibrations, especially on the right side grip (here the rubber is thinner) make my fingers to become completely numb after about 30 minutes of riding the bike. I still need to find a solution for this. Apparently I can not say much about the reliability. However, the workmanship is 1st class, no matter where you look. The front brakes are very responsive, no fading. The front fork could be a bit stiffer; the rear is definitely on the soft side. (I think about upgrading the back to Oehlins) Seating for 2-up is OK; however, my wife is 5.8 and could use a bit more room. Driving at darkness, I find the front light too dim. I will need to find a bulb that offers higher output. Overall a wonderful bike and I am looking forward to put many more miles on it. (With some more upgrades ;-)
- Martin Osterode, Beverly, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-12 2005 Ducati Monster S4R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is incredible to ride. Handling is so impressive and the power takes my breathe away at times. The look of the bike draws attention from everyone.
- Brian Reinwald, Brandon, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-30 2007 Ducati SportClassic GT1000 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Top rated for a sporty GT type bike. Performance & handling combined with excellent two up riding. Saddlebag option is a nice option with good looking mounts and very easy secure on/off.
- allen peat, kalamazoo, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-21 2003 Ducati ST4s Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike used because the price was right and the condition was perfect. I was in the market for a bike to take short trips on and commute to work. I choose the Duck over BMW because I could stand flat-footed and it felt more sporty. After putting 4000 miles on it I can say this bike is rock solid reliable, fast, handles great and is comfortable to ride for 100's of miles a day. It is a fantastic machine. Try one and you will be sold on Ducati forever.
- Kevin in KC, Olathe, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-13 2005 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So this spring I was minding my own business when out of the blue came a voice that said unto me 'You need to check out the new Ducatis'. I don't normally hear voices, but this one was a muse that wouldn't be denied. After much due diligence on the web, I found myself at a brand new Ducati/MV Augusta dealership nearby, staring at the very first bike I saw the ST3. and I knew I'd have to own it. If the design hadn't hooked me, my test drive sure as heck did! Buckets of power, especially at the low end (I knew something was up when the front wheel left the ground and I hadn't dumped the clutch!), performance and handling like I'd never felt in a true sport touring machine (How many bikes allow you to drag a knee and comfortably ride 300 miles or more in a day?), bags included (in matching 'arrest-me' red), unbelieveable gas mileage, all for under $12K. Are you kiddin'?
- Mr Hyde, Grosse Pointe, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-13 2005 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My new ST3 is really two bikes in one. I bought it looking for a more sport than touring, but discovered that it tours as comfortably as any Beemer I've ever owned. The real advantage is when I get to the twisties -- I'm loving the way it dives into the corners and pulls out of them with such phenomenal power. Three valves per cylinder was a great idea (great on gas too!). The value for my dollar makes this bike the best deal on the market if sport touring is your game. I can honestly say that this is the only bike I'll be needing for quite some time. Anybody want to buy my Beemers?
- Plaidman, Vero Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-31 2000 Ducati ST2 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just clicked 32k, it's tuned and ready for another summer. Nothing but standard maint. Phenominal bike.
- Gary Nelson, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-27 2006 Ducati Monster S4R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall, I am very happy with this bike. Comments are given left and right and it has gathered several crowds at work. Aftermarket parts only include Arrow carbon fibre tailpipes (which match the rest of the carbon fibre on the bike) and an open clutch cover (having found that clacking sound very satisfying). The only drawback in my opinion is the placement of the mirrors. They are perfectly position with the height of suv/truck mirrors, and so make squeezing between two such vehicles difficult. It really is uncanny at the number of SUV's in Los Angeles (where style offsets the practical), let alone how often these fuel cows stop right next to each other. <br /> Still, the mirror problem is minor, and simply fixed by rotating the handlebars past the adjacent mirrors, though it often means having to come to a near stop to do so.
- Eric , Lomita, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-10 2004 Ducati ST4 S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 yellow ST4s after I totaled my 2003 HD Sportster. Let's see why I would have considered the Ducati. Better bags, better handling, superior brakes (which I could have used before), performance beyond belief and looks that strike envy everywhere I go. Only folks who equal the attention my bike gets is my BMW friends. The other day I was at Portland International Raceway. About 200 bikes where there and immediately a crowd gathered around my bike. Okay, the chick who parked her Honda next to mine might have something to do with it.
- John Jenkins, Vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-19 2005 Ducati ST3 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2004 model in July '04 and rode it for 4500 miles until low-siding the bike on a little gravel in an Arkansas switchback in September '04. The bike only had cosmetic damage and I rode it 900 miles home, but the insurance company totaled it! Warning, Ducati plastic and gas tanks cost LOTS OF MONEY. Despite those problems, I really liked the bike so I went out and bought the 2005 model. I've used these bikes for the majority of my transportation needs on a seasonal basis. I ride to work, run errands, go for weekend rides, and have taken longer tours. I initially found the bike to be a little hard to handle around town, with this being related to the gearing and fueling. My previous bike was a Speed Triple which was much more a "city bike". However, after a little time on the bike I understood the quirks of riding around the city. Anyway, this bike was designed for sport touring and that it is what I bought it for. On the highway this thing is solid. I find the riding position to be just about perfect for me, and it is easy to ride from gas stop to gas stop without taking a break. I absolutely love the stock seat on the bike in terms of comfort, but it is a little hard to shift your weight from side to side. As indicated in some of the bike mag. reviews, the suspension is a little soft for hard riding in the corners, but during my weekend and tour riding I only push hard a small fraction of the time, so it doesn't bother me much. The bike turns into corners well and holds a nice line through the apex. I find that the bike does want to stand up a little early coming out of corners and I've adjusted for that. I really like riding this bike through the twisties at any speed except "stupid fast". The bike shines at multi-day touring and the hard bags are excellent. I rode the '04 bike 2800 miles to Arkansas and I rode the '05 bike 3300 miles out to the Tetons and Yellowstone and had a ball both times (except for my little mishap). The bikes just ate up the miles and I was smiling the whole time. As for reliability/maintenance, my 2004 had a fuel leak that was covered under warranty, and I have had no problems at all with the 2005. The stock tires on the '05 lasted 7000 miles and I have to replace the chain and sprocket now at 13500 miles. As everyone knows, the scheduled service costs for Ducati are higher than typical, but I believe the riding experience is worth the extra cost. That being said, I will buy another bike in the near future to handle my day to day riding, and will use the Duc only for longer rides.
- KO, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: