Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles Reviews (26)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-07-06 1999 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like just about all who enter here; I've owned a few bikes. GXSR's, Ninjas, and an old Hurricane, this bike is by far the most elequent expression of two wheeled bliss I've ever owned. It handles like a dream, I can't honestly say any of my other have come close as far as handling. Egonomicly it can be a bit uncomfortable, especially for long trips of 200 miles or more; but if we're buzzing around town, it's fun when I'm carving out shortcuts. When I first bought it I had a few issues with being able to cruise around at lower rpm's; it would spit and sputter. I quickly fixed that by remapping, Giannelli exhaust, cutting out the air box and K&N filter, and going down a tooth on the front sprocket. Now it likes to ride on one wheel. As far as quality and dependability; Ducati's top notch. I've had no problems. If you want great performance but not worried about being the fastest man on two wheels, this bike will make you smile and stare at her, each and everyday you own her!
- Tommy Trauma, Ocala, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-02 1999 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike might not be the fastest out there. But definitely one of the most artistic ones. The design is beautiful, not much extra hanging, overdone parts or space. The sound is lovely, even the Harley guys will turn their heads. The look of it is just a piece of art. Just knowing by having one is like having a piece of museum pieces. And for those speed kings out there. It is a wheelie machine... the top speed might lack compare to the inline 4's but I think the rest of the package just covers it.
- pploo, mpls, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-29 1999 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When you have a bike like this. She is sensuous and beautiful. If you can't see that, you won't like it. She appeals to the senses. She is eye candy and I love to wax her voluptuous curves as much as ride her. The sounds she makes are melodious. Her smell is intoxicating. She stacks curves in a graceful manner that other bikes can't touch. My wife is getting jealous of the attention I lavish upon her. Bravissimo Ducati!
- Gerhard Jinks, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-11 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my first Duke last year, a new 900SSie full-fairing, and equipped it with the mandatory e-prom and well sounding pipes. I just must say that this is the best investment that I have done in and for my self. What a lovely bike! It is as beautiful shaped like a hot blooded curvy latina (you know well trimmed and curvy on the right places), has soul and personality that I haven't found on any other bike. It looks makes everybody turns their head, even an older woman asked me to start my Duke up, she said "I just love the way your bike sounds". Yes, I fulfilled her wish. The bike has enough performance for twisty roads and has very good corner capability and stability. The bike itself doesn't have any problems matching more high performing bikes on these type of roads. It depends on whose behind the fairing and that persons driving capability (this one is for you who complained that you got blown away by an R6). Anyone can go fast straight! Even though it is a sports bike you can go touring for 2 weeks with it. Of course you cannot bring the whole closet with you, if you want to do that buy a Sushi Goldwing. A tank bag and a saddle bag that you strap on the passenger seat is fine. Givi has a very good saddle bag. It even works at 120mph. Now I am just waiting to my Duke out for this years premiere ride. So far I have almost 6000 miles on her.
- Ducce, Gothenburg, Sweden

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-14 1999 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 900SS is by far the best handling motorcyle I've ever ridden. And I've ridden a CBR f4i, a kawasaki sportbike, and numerous Harleys. The biggest difference between a Jap sportbike and a Ducati is definitely the handling, where the CBR wiggles and fidgets, the Ducati is always rock solid and stable!!! The funny thing is that the CBR was actually voted as the best middleweight sportbike, with complements on its handling. Compared to the Ducati, it couldn't hold a candle to it.....Did I mention how great it sounds too? oh, and if you haven't noticed, only mature men, and not punk kids- ride Ducatis. Face it- jap sportbikes are ghetto bikes.
- Alberto Carreon, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-04 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At age 44 I traveled 240 miles north and purchased a new 99 900SS. As my wife drove away in our car, the young salesman gave me a quizzical look and asked, "How ya gonna get it home?" I just smiled and held out my hand for the key. If you buy this bike for the right reasons, you're going to love it. The right reasons are, it's a torquey, old technology L twin motor wrapped up in state of the art componentry. The motor is it's true beauty. There's nothing like reaching for a handful of throttle at 3500 RPM and feeling that long stroke, stump pulling power hit ya in the butt while the sound coming through the aftermarket carbon fiber twins sings in your ear. If satisfaction in the total motorcycling experience is what you're looking for, this is your bike. If quarter mile ET's and ultra high RPM/horsepower figures are what your looking for, look somewhere else,... until you develope some taste.
- Bike&Mike, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-07 1999 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Does what it is designed to do. Its great having a bike that is rare. Ducs are built to last. Try to find one in a bike boneyard. Folks say " how can you ride that thing". I tell them ," I aint ready for no rockingchair".
- iron mike, jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-30 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
25 years ago, when I was a poor graduate student riding a 380 Suzuki as my only transportation, I lucked into a chance to ride a 900 Duc. I have always dreamed of owning one, and finally made the jump! My 2000 SS (Carbon pipes, performance chip, and Cycle Cat risers) puts a grin on my fave every ride! I ride for fun and have no interest in going 120 mph, but the Duc does sneak up into triple digits every once in a while... The bikes balance of handling, torque, riding position (with the risers) and SOUND make it a classic.
- drdave, West Chester

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-10 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a leftover 2001 900ss (full fairing) this spring and I can't ride it enough. It is incredible on the road and the track. Despite the price, you get every dollar worth in performance. A little more aggressive position than the jap bikes but easy to ride and many adjustable options (from levers to suspension) to make it a great track bike as well. As for the HP, a few mods here and there give it plenty to keep me satisfied. The key with this bike is the torque and sound. Makes for a very fun bike that turns heads whenever I go out. To the rider who got blown away by an R6, I suggest that it is more of a slow rider problem than a slow bike problem. Get out to the track and learn to ride!
- A big duck fan, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-20 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a 2000 900ss for a year now and have put about 4500 miles on it. It is incredible!! I put the Ducati titanium pipes and performance chip in and it makes a diference in power as well as sound. I also put an Ohlins shock on the rear and bought the mono seat cowl. The seat cowl transform the looks of the bike and I highly recommend every '99-02' ss owner to go to Ducati.com and get it. If you love your Duc, dont let the brake and clutch fluid get dark. Just put a couple of paper towels into the containers and soak the stuff out after every third ride. But dont pull the levers when doing this.
- pilotace, Lompoc, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-02 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I Purchased a 2000 half faired 900SS in Dec 2000. Im 45 and I have owned 10 motorcycles since I was 14. The Duck has 11000 miles on her now and she just keeps getting better. Power comander II, FBF carbon Fibre cans, with SS headers. K&N air filter with lotsa holes drilled in the top of the airbox. No problems except two tickets in 13 months. I ride with a group up in Georgia sometimes and I have no problem hanging with the faster bikes until the speeds exceed 130. Around town and in the curves she is as fast as I am. I seldom get to use the motor to her full potential. But, the handling is there all the time. I have never owned a bike that makes me smile like this one. Sure the R-1 has more HP , but there are other reasons to own a motorcycle. The Duck massages those other reasons better than most. If drag racing is what you want to do, then go for one of the others...But if you are looking for a motorcycle with soul, then maybe the duck is for you. Oh did I mention the sound?
- Dave Turner, Tallahassee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-04 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First, excuse my English but the most important is coming now. I own a 2001 900SS and I can tell you that this bike is a jewel !!!! I have been riding bikes since 32 years (I am 47 years old). I had all kind of Sport bikes but never a Duke. What a waste of time but no regrets because you have to ride these bikes to appreciate even more your SS. I am riding my bike every day and I wake up early just to do a DETOUR before going to work. Of course, I have installed the pipes, chip and all sort of carbon goodies to fall in love just a little bit deeper... It's up to you !! This is the bike that I believe gives you the most heart beating and feelings that I ever had since I ride. Very stable, predictable (a steering damper help mainly with our bad roads) excellent power transfer to the wheel, easy instruments reading and more....and the most important: THE SOUND ! Believe me, it is something that no other machine can do. Just a great bike !!!!!
- Christian T., Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-22 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being a relative newcomer into the biking world, I have been privileged enough to purchase a 2001 900ss and have had the Ducati Performance Pipes and chip included. The bike sounded great standard but now it turns heads!! I've ridden the mighty R1 and yes it is an awesome bike but it doesn't inspire passion like a Duke can. don't get me wrong, I have always loved Jap bikes but I saw the 900ss about 2 years ago and finally bought one without even test riding it. I wasn't disappointed. I have a yellow one with carbon pipes and along with the looks and comments I get just about everywhere, it goes hard enough, brakes well and inspires confidence at every corner. What a magical bike.
- Rakesh, Sydney, Australia (Olympic City!!)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-18 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am writing this because I read in another review that a R-6 blew the 900SS away. The R-6 is slightly faster, but no way able to blow the 900SS away. How do I know this? Because I own a 900SS and my riding partner owns a R-6. Anyways: Great street bike, high torque, aggressive riding position, small gas tank, the mirrors vibrate, good wheelie bike.... and did I forget to mention its a Ducati. 'nough said.
- Mike Ramsey, Atherton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-30 1999 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My neighbor said it best,"My Porsche blows away my buddy's Ferrari, but it's not a Ferrari." I have owned a few bikes in 21 yrs of riding. This 900 was my first Ducati and my first bike over 600cc. I have to say that riding this bike 70 miles a day 5-6 days of the week that it is one of the best bikes on the road. I've ridden the 'Busa(rocket bus), the R1(fast but fat), even a guys 929, but I've always left them in the twisties. If your looking for braggin' rights you have to buy a Busa. It is THE fastest thing on the street. But if you want a Ferrari for twelve large....and it must be yellow. Warm it up with slip-ons, CPU, K&N and you are riding a beautiful machine with plenty of power for the street with a real sound. Not to mention no radiator, waterpump problems and 2/3 the maintanence cost of the 4-valve. My only complaint being a too firm suspension for crappy CA roads. Unfortunately a blue sedan has taken her from me, but you'll see me at the shop buying my next Ducati. Monster S4 anyone?
- blah blah blah, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-23 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Duke. It's not as fast as the cbr. But I sure get alot of babes on it. Than my friend does who owns a CBR. But just to tick him off I'm taking my Duke to Fast By Ferracci.
- Mike, New York City, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-08 1999 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There is nothing else on the market that has the beauty, sound, power, and handling combination that this bike does at a mid reasonable price. I have owned mine for about 1 1/2 years now, and I love it more now than when I bought it new. This is a rare piece. The last of the air cooled desmo sport bikes. Ride one and you'll understand.
- Chris, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-01 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a proud owner of a 2000 Ducati SS900. I am in love with it. I have bought over the years top of the range Japanese bikes which are efficient, fast, but not passionate.Having to pull up the side stand for the engine to run, having to wait 10-15 minutes before the engine is warm enough to ride normally, vibrating mirrors, all these things are forgivable when you come off the bike and take one look.
- Kazza, Tokyo, Japan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-10 1999 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ducati....I love it!! The pleasure of riding this bike is second to none. I've ridden R1's, GSXR's, there a blast; great adrenaline boosters and if I had the cash I'd own one of those also. But if you can only afford one bike, and you want something special, this is it. The only thing you may outgrow is the top end speed, but never, never the cornering ability or the beauty the bike holds. To own this bike is to own a small piece of Italian history. You also don't see them all over the tarmac on a Sunday ride as you do the R1 and Gixxer. It sounds great, looks cool, and just feels damn special. The 900SS is a great ride, 5 stars all around.
- Rick, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-03 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
People, you're right, the 900SS is not as fast as the 600 Japs. The latest R6, GSX-R 600, or CBR 600 will get by me in the straights, but when we all arrive at our destination...my bike stands out and gets more oh's and ah's then any Jap bike out there. It'll also corner better then most. 80 HP is not a lot, and the price tag is. But what you get in return is priceless. The joy of owning a Duke, even the little brother to the 996 and 748 is pure bliss always. How often do you need to get above the 140mph top end? If that's you're bag, great! Buy a Hayabusa. The ugliest bike on the road, you can blow past me, I don't want a beast like that near my beautiful Duke anyhow!! I love all bikes, and while the 900SS may have some flaws, when you stop worrying about the horsepower, you're left with pure perfection.
- Dela, Boca Raton, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-27 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't say anything negative about this motor-bike. Great acceleration out of the corners. Smooth throttle response. Very comfortable. Fun two-up. One question, the kick-stand sometimes drags the tarmac at full lean. Any ideas on how to remedy this possible perilous problem? Other than that, absolute motor-biking extravaganza. Really, I mean that, honest. Try it. Awe c'mon. 'fraid you'll like it? give it a whirl. Take her for a run. Best ten grand I ever spent, other than that night at the Mustang Ranch outside of Vegas. But that's a story for another time.
- LL-Cool-T, Lk Elsinore

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-16 1999 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Ducati and it may not put out 100 HP, but the 80 HP that the bike puts out pulls strong from 2500 rpm to redline. A really broad power range. Which makes it easy to ride around. Comfort level is a little cramp, but once used to it, it is comfortable enough to ride 130 miles. The only upgrades are Remus carbon fiber pipes, Corbin Gunfighter seat, raised the clip-ons to the top of the fork tube.
- Rudy O, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-18 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This review is not necessarily a review. I test rode a 900SS and was duly impressed. To the gentleman who had one and was blown away by an R6, I apologize. I apologize not because the SS is slow, or because the R6 is fast, but because you, my friend, have no passion for the sport of motorcycling. To the true enthusiast, riding is not about whose bike is the fastest, or handles the best, it's about what you derive from it. Ducati is a name known throughout the world for building beauty, as well as performance, at a price. The price is not set on how fast the bike is or how nimble it is, but rather on what you get. Included with every Ducati purchase is the heritage of a long line of beauty, rather art, racing history, and the timeless pursuit of the perfect machine. Ducatis are not cheap. True, you may be able to go out and buy a bike for half the price that can whip the hell out of it. But, for the truly passionate and those who lack the fainted of heart, this bike is a mecca, an escape. It is good that Ducatis are expensive. It keeps them out of the hands of the irresponsible riders who only are out the hurt themselves as well as the machines they abuse the right to ride on. So, to those of you who want a bike to ride, buy a Jap bike. But, for those of you who want a bike to cherish and be passionate about while riding it, get a Ducati.
- Libby, Blacksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-25 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got a brand new Ducati a few weeks ago, and was blown away by an R6.
- Chris Cyr, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-08 2000 Ducati Supersport 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a big fan of twins, this bike suits me. Great looks, awesome chassis and you don't see yourself coming and going, like the latest Japanese sport bikes. The engine is responsive and has plenty of power for the street. There is an endless list of hop-up parts if you (or your ego) need more power. The bike shifts like a dream, has great brakes, steers both quickly and precisely, and feels narrow between the legs. The fuel injection is flawless. The price is reasonable considering what you get in comparison to the 748/996 and the 900SS is a MUCH BETTER street bike. Complaints? Only two: the bars could be about an inch higher and the mirrors vibrate and shake so bad that they are useless, as well as ugly.
- Mark Trimmer, Warwick, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: