Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Ducati Supersport 900 reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

26 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Tommy Trauma

Ocala, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-07-06

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Ducati Supersport 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Like just about all who enter here; I've owned a few bikes. GXSR's, Ninjas, and an old Hurricane, this bike is by far the most elequent expression of two wheeled bliss I've ever owned. It handles like a dream, I can't honestly say any of my other have come close as far as handling. Egonomicly it can be a bit uncomfortable, especially for long trips of 200 miles or more; but if we're buzzing around town, it's fun when I'm carving out shortcuts. When I first bought it I had a few issues with being able to cruise around at lower rpm's; it would spit and sputter. I quickly fixed that by remapping, Giannelli exhaust, cutting out the air box and K&N filter, and going down a tooth on the front sprocket. Now it likes to ride on one wheel. As far as quality and dependability; Ducati's top notch. I've had no problems. If you want great performance but not worried about being the fastest man on two wheels, this bike will make you smile and stare at her, each and everyday you own her!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

pploo

mpls, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2004-02-02

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Ducati Supersport 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike might not be the fastest out there. But definitely one of the most artistic ones. The design is beautiful, not much extra hanging, overdone parts or space. The sound is lovely, even the Harley guys will turn their heads. The look of it is just a piece of art. Just knowing by having one is like having a piece of museum pieces. And for those speed kings out there. It is a wheelie machine... the top speed might lack compare to the inline 4's but I think the rest of the package just covers it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gerhard Jinks

Lexington, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2003-08-29

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Ducati Supersport 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
When you have a bike like this. She is sensuous and beautiful. If you can't see that, you won't like it. She appeals to the senses. She is eye candy and I love to wax her voluptuous curves as much as ride her. The sounds she makes are melodious. Her smell is intoxicating. She stacks curves in a graceful manner that other bikes can't touch. My wife is getting jealous of the attention I lavish upon her. Bravissimo Ducati!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ducce

Gothenburg, Sweden

Reviewed on 2003-03-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Supersport 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my first Duke last year, a new 900SSie full-fairing, and equipped it with the mandatory e-prom and well sounding pipes. I just must say that this is the best investment that I have done in and for my self. What a lovely bike! It is as beautiful shaped like a hot blooded curvy latina (you know well trimmed and curvy on the right places), has soul and personality that I haven't found on any other bike. It looks makes everybody turns their head, even an older woman asked me to start my Duke up, she said "I just love the way your bike sounds". Yes, I fulfilled her wish. The bike has enough performance for twisty roads and has very good corner capability and stability. The bike itself doesn't have any problems matching more high performing bikes on these type of roads. It depends on whose behind the fairing and that persons driving capability (this one is for you who complained that you got blown away by an R6). Anyone can go fast straight! Even though it is a sports bike you can go touring for 2 weeks with it. Of course you cannot bring the whole closet with you, if you want to do that buy a Sushi Goldwing. A tank bag and a saddle bag that you strap on the passenger seat is fine. Givi has a very good saddle bag. It even works at 120mph. Now I am just waiting to my Duke out for this years premiere ride. So far I have almost 6000 miles on her.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alberto Carreon

New York, New York

Reviewed on 2002-09-14

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Ducati Supersport 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My 900SS is by far the best handling motorcyle I've ever ridden. And I've ridden a CBR f4i, a kawasaki sportbike, and numerous Harleys. The biggest difference between a Jap sportbike and a Ducati is definitely the handling, where the CBR wiggles and fidgets, the Ducati is always rock solid and stable!!! The funny thing is that the CBR was actually voted as the best middleweight sportbike, with complements on its handling. Compared to the Ducati, it couldn't hold a candle to it.....Did I mention how great it sounds too? oh, and if you haven't noticed, only mature men, and not punk kids- ride Ducatis. Face it- jap sportbikes are ghetto bikes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bike&Mike

Lexington, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2002-08-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Supersport 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
At age 44 I traveled 240 miles north and purchased a new 99 900SS. As my wife drove away in our car, the young salesman gave me a quizzical look and asked, "How ya gonna get it home?" I just smiled and held out my hand for the key. If you buy this bike for the right reasons, you're going to love it. The right reasons are, it's a torquey, old technology L twin motor wrapped up in state of the art componentry. The motor is it's true beauty. There's nothing like reaching for a handful of throttle at 3500 RPM and feeling that long stroke, stump pulling power hit ya in the butt while the sound coming through the aftermarket carbon fiber twins sings in your ear. If satisfaction in the total motorcycling experience is what you're looking for, this is your bike. If quarter mile ET's and ultra high RPM/horsepower figures are what your looking for, look somewhere else,... until you develope some taste.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

iron mike

jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2002-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Ducati Supersport 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Does what it is designed to do. Its great having a bike that is rare. Ducs are built to last. Try to find one in a bike boneyard. Folks say " how can you ride that thing". I tell them ," I aint ready for no rockingchair".
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

drdave

West Chester

Reviewed on 2002-06-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Supersport 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
25 years ago, when I was a poor graduate student riding a 380 Suzuki as my only transportation, I lucked into a chance to ride a 900 Duc. I have always dreamed of owning one, and finally made the jump! My 2000 SS (Carbon pipes, performance chip, and Cycle Cat risers) puts a grin on my fave every ride! I ride for fun and have no interest in going 120 mph, but the Duc does sneak up into triple digits every once in a while... The bikes balance of handling, torque, riding position (with the risers) and SOUND make it a classic.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

A big duck fan

Boston, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2002-05-10

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Supersport 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a leftover 2001 900ss (full fairing) this spring and I can't ride it enough. It is incredible on the road and the track. Despite the price, you get every dollar worth in performance. A little more aggressive position than the jap bikes but easy to ride and many adjustable options (from levers to suspension) to make it a great track bike as well. As for the HP, a few mods here and there give it plenty to keep me satisfied. The key with this bike is the torque and sound. Makes for a very fun bike that turns heads whenever I go out. To the rider who got blown away by an R6, I suggest that it is more of a slow rider problem than a slow bike problem. Get out to the track and learn to ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

pilotace

Lompoc, California

Reviewed on 2002-04-20

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Ducati Supersport 900

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have owned a 2000 900ss for a year now and have put about 4500 miles on it. It is incredible!! I put the Ducati titanium pipes and performance chip in and it makes a diference in power as well as sound. I also put an Ohlins shock on the rear and bought the mono seat cowl. The seat cowl transform the looks of the bike and I highly recommend every '99-02' ss owner to go to Ducati.com and get it. If you love your Duc, dont let the brake and clutch fluid get dark. Just put a couple of paper towels into the containers and soak the stuff out after every third ride. But dont pull the levers when doing this.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 26 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: